Types of punishment, are they effective in the education of children?

At the time of put a punishment, always remember what kind of action it is and what you punish for justice, not for annoying you. From 9 or 10 years it may be convenient that propose what punishment they deserve for his behavior. They will be more committed.

When our children have done a wrong thing, the punishment it must be sought at the same level that it arose, resorting to another level does not solve it. The effectiveness of education can not be based on the strength of the screams, but on the evidence of the reasons.

Most of the educational problems are located in three levels or in the combination of them. We are going to deepen something in the knowledge of the motivations. What internal feeling moves us to do something?


Levels in educational problems

When our children have done a bad thing, the punishment it must be sought at the same level that it arose, resorting to another level does not solve it. Specifying more: a problem in the area of ​​studies (level 2) is not fixed by removing the payment (level 1) or a problem in level 3 (lies, answers, misbehaves, disobeys) will not be fixed without gifts (level one). Because behaving well for money or for a reward degrades the value of the action.


Real-life examples and types of punishments

FIGHT BETWEEN BROTHERS 

The first thing is to think about why the fights between brothers take place and analyze at what level it corresponds to those we have talked about before. When belonging to level 3 the punishments could be: make a service to the family in the house, for example cleaning, doing your brother a favor, staying out of a family reunion ...

Do not try to look for the culprit, because our children must be builders of peace. Rather, we must talk about how good we feel when we get along with our brothers. Think, as a father, in your attitude: if you always defend the child, or if you are the father, you defend the child (because she is a "weak little princess") or if you are the mother, you defend the child (because he is "so affectionate to me"). ).

BAD REPLIES AND LACK OF RESPECT FOR PARENTS


This situation is clearly level 3 and must be cut at the root, because no one can love those who do not respect the other. In this case, the first thing to always say is that this is not the treatment that is given to a father, with great firmness and seriousness. Convince yourself that it is more important to earn your son's respect than his friendship. Your son is not your equal, your colleague, you are much more for him. To equate with him is not to elevate the child, it is rather to spoil him.

This is the typical case in which you can escape a slap, after several replies. In addition, you have realized that your son can become a perfect shameless ... Here you should ask yourself how you are going with authority. Faced with the bad answers, the punishment could be: if you do not respect your parents, or adults, you can not participate that night in the family gathering. Never consent disrespect or say, "Do not treat me so I do not treat you like that." The respect of children to parents is above all and this does not mean authoritarianism, but authority. The respect that our children owe us is not at odds with the trust we can establish with them.

BAD GRADES 

This situation is level 2 (intelligence). Your child comes home with the grades and has only passed the sport, English and religion. Then you decide to take away the football, but your son is nothing less than the goalkeeper of his team, is where he feels happy and pretend that by taking away the best he has, study.

You think: "You have to give it where it hurts most". This is a mistake. There are always exceptions, but as a rule it is better to rely on your strengths (you are an athlete, you have a good heart, you want me) to pull the weak (study little, order less, arrive late ...). The idea is to convey to the child that he is not against his father, that it is his behavior that has to change. That he will punish himself with his behavior, that we would not want to punish him and that we suffer in doing so. What should serve to repair, to reflect and make change.

Faced with this situation, the punishment should always be aimed at remedying the situation: first, reflect with him why he gets bad grades and second, the best punishment is to set aside time for study, hours, dedication and quality.

DISORDER 

Another typical scene: "Today, Saturday, I had to leave the house soon and I left everyone in bed." On my return, I hoped it would occur to them ... normal: make the bed, order the pajamas, books, games ... But nothing, they had not done anything! They were watching television quietly and also, without breakfast. In this case the level is 3 and the appropriate punishment is put to order until finished. Why? Because a habit such as order is corrected based on repetition of acts, not talks or shouting, or reproaches.

EAT BAD AND ONLY WHAT YOU LIKE 

"It's exasperating, everything has to be with" ketchup. "Well, it could be very well fed ... but very impolite, we're at level 1. So, the punishment will be directed to that if you do not eat what you do not likeNor can he prove what he wants most because otherwise he would be infatuated and we would not be strengthening his will. Therefore, there is no ice cream, or there is no dessert that you like.

WHEN THEY BREAK SOMETHING OR DO NOT CARE FOR THEIR THINGS 

It is another situation of level 1 (material level) although it also has part of level 3 if they have disobeyed. "That Saturday we went to dinner and we forbade the children to put the films from when they were little but they were so funny that they disobeyed and the movie broke: it got stuck with the adapter." I remembered that famous anecdote of Gandhi when after having stolen money to his father and approaching him to ask for forgiveness, this one as a reply he answered crying, he always remembered and never stole again.

In our case we decided to get very sad and we noticed that they were really sorry, and for a child the best motivation and the best reward is the joy of their parents. "These parents decided to punish their children with disappointment (this punishment corresponds to level 3 for disobedience).

Another way to punish them, focused on level 1, is for example, buy another video tape with their money, or clean the shirt they have messed up carelessly, and of course, not buy another ball immediately after losing the one they had , because they will not value things. What you can never do is fast replacement.

HE HAS DONE SOMETHING EVIL BUT HE HAS RECOGNIZED IT

Mom, but I told you the truth. " We parents ask ourselves: do I punish him or not? "Look, I've told her a thousand times not to jump in the bed that's going to break her, and in the end she's broken it." The correct thing is to explain that you punish him for his disobedience, because if he had also lied, the punishment would be double. He is recognized for his sincerity so that he repeats it again but he has to be aware of his act. He has broken the bed, because he will sleep with the bed "twisted" a few days so that he is aware of his performance.

Ideas to reflect on punishments

1. Do not be tempted to lift the punishment at his pleas. In addition to losing all authority, you son is accustomed to not face what he has deserved in justice.

2. Parents always have to agree with the punishment they have imposed. Your son can not see that "mom punishes him and dad raises the punishment" or vice versa.

3. Do not crush your child when you see him fall. It may be that the bad action or attitude is repeated, or the inability to do what we want. We all have bad times, and at that moment what your son needs is that you give him a hand giving him the opportunity to recover.

4. Let your child explain himself before punishing him and always reflects with him about his performance. However, in the face of disrespect, remember that your attitude must be firm. Do not be afraid to lose your son's friendship, because if he does not respect you, he will never be able to love you.

5. Remember the compliments. Instead of looking only at the wrong things we will have to make an effort to see and praise him for that well folded shirt (although the other six are in any way).

6. Relate the punishment with the punished action. Your son always has to conclude that what you are looking for is that he be responsible and consistent with his actions.

Maite Mijancos. Family counselor

Video: 8 Lessons You Should Avoid Teaching Children


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Arten der Bestrafung, sind sie wirksam bei der Erziehung von Kindern?

Zum Zeitpunkt von BestrafungDenken Sie immer daran, was für eine Handlung es ist und was Sie für Gerechtigkeit bestrafen, nicht um Sie zu ärgern. Ab 9 oder 10 Jahren kann das bequem sein vorschlagen, welche Strafe sie verdienen für sein Verhalten. Sie werden mehr engagiert sein.

Wenn unsere Kinder etwas falsch gemacht haben, das Strafe Es muss auf der gleichen Ebene gesucht werden, auf der es entstanden ist. Ein Rückgriff auf eine andere Ebene löst es nicht. Die Wirksamkeit von Bildung kann nicht auf der Stärke der Schreie beruhen, sondern auf den Beweisen der Gründe.

Die meisten Bildungsprobleme befinden sich auf drei Ebenen oder in einer Kombination davon. Wir werden im Wissen um die Motivationen etwas vertiefen. Welches innere Gefühl bewegt uns, etwas zu tun?


Stufen bei Bildungsproblemen

Wenn unsere Kinder etwas Schlechtes getan haben, die Strafe Es muss auf der gleichen Ebene gesucht werden, auf der es entstanden ist. Ein Rückgriff auf eine andere Ebene löst es nicht. Mehr spezifizieren: Ein Problem im Bereich der Studien (Stufe 2) wird nicht durch Entfernen der Zahlung (Stufe 1) behoben, oder ein Problem in Stufe 3 (Lügen, Antworten, Fehlverhalten, Nichtbeachtung) wird nicht ohne Geschenke (Stufe) behoben 1). Weil gutes Benehmen für Geld oder für eine Belohnung den Wert der Aktion verschlechtert.


Praxisbeispiele und Arten von Strafen

Kampf zwischen den Brüdern 

Als Erstes müssen wir darüber nachdenken, warum die Kämpfe zwischen Brüdern stattfinden, und analysieren, auf welcher Ebene sie denen entspricht, über die wir zuvor gesprochen haben. Wenn Sie zu Stufe 3 gehören, können die Strafen sein: einen Dienst für die Familie im Haus leisten, zum Beispiel putzen, deinem Bruder einen Gefallen tun, außerhalb einer Familientreffen bleiben ...

Versuchen Sie nicht, den Schuldigen zu suchen, weil unsere Kinder Frieden bauen müssen. Wir müssen vielmehr darüber sprechen, wie gut wir uns fühlen, wenn wir mit unseren Brüdern auskommen. Denken Sie als Vater in Ihrer Haltung nach: Wenn Sie das Kind immer verteidigen oder wenn Sie der Vater sind, verteidigen Sie das Kind (weil es eine "schwache kleine Prinzessin" ist) oder wenn Sie die Mutter sind, verteidigen Sie das Kind (weil es "so liebevoll zu mir" ist). ).

Schlechte Antworten und mangelnde Rücksichtnahme auf Eltern


Diese Situation ist eindeutig Stufe 3 und muss an der Wurzel geschnitten werden, denn niemand kann diejenigen lieben, die den anderen nicht respektieren. In diesem Fall muss immer zuerst gesagt werden, dass dies nicht die Behandlung ist, die ein Vater mit großer Festigkeit und Ernsthaftigkeit erhält. Überzeugen Sie sich davon, dass der Respekt Ihres Sohnes wichtiger ist als seine Freundschaft. Ihr Sohn ist nicht gleichwertig, Ihr Kollege, Sie sind viel mehr für ihn. Mit ihm gleichzusetzen heißt nicht, das Kind zu erheben, sondern es zu verderben.

Dies ist der typische Fall, in dem Sie nach mehreren Antworten eine Ohrfeige verlassen können. Darüber hinaus haben Sie erkannt, dass Ihr Sohn ein perfekter Schamloser werden kann. Hier sollten Sie sich fragen, wie Sie mit Autorität vorgehen. Angesichts der schlechten Antworten könnte die Strafe lauten: Wenn Sie Ihre Eltern oder Erwachsene nicht respektieren, können Sie an diesem Abend nicht an der Familienzusammenkunft teilnehmen. Niemals zustimmungslos respektieren oder sagen: "Behandle mich nicht, damit ich dich nicht so behandle." Der Respekt der Kinder gegenüber den Eltern ist vor allem und bedeutet nicht Autoritarismus, sondern Autorität. Der Respekt, den unsere Kinder uns schulden, steht nicht im Widerspruch zu dem Vertrauen, das wir ihnen entgegenbringen können.

SCHLECHTE HINWEISE 

Diese Situation ist Stufe 2 (Intelligenz). Ihr Kind kommt mit den Noten nach Hause und hat nur Sport, Englisch und Religion bestanden. Dann beschließen Sie, den Fußball wegzunehmen, aber Ihr Sohn ist nichts weniger als der Torhüter seiner Mannschaft. Dort fühlt er sich glücklich und tut so, als würde er das Beste wegnehmen, was er hat.

Du denkst: "Du musst es geben, wo es am meisten weh tut". Das ist ein Fehler. Es gibt immer Ausnahmen, aber in der Regel ist es besser, sich auf Ihre Stärken zu verlassen (Sie sind ein Athlet, Sie haben ein gutes Herz, Sie wollen mich), um die Schwachen zu ziehen (wenig studieren, weniger bestellen, spät ankommen). Die Idee ist, dem Kind zu vermitteln, dass es nicht gegen seinen Vater ist, dass sich sein Verhalten ändern muss. Dass er sich mit seinem Verhalten bestrafen wird, dass wir ihn nicht bestrafen wollen und dass wir darunter leiden. Was soll reparieren, reflektieren und verändern.

Angesichts dieser Situation sollte die Strafe immer darauf ausgerichtet sein, die Situation zu verbessern: Erstens, überlegen Sie, warum er schlechte Noten bekommt, und zweitens ist die beste Strafe, Zeit für das Lernen, Stunden, Hingabe und Qualität vorzusehen.

Störung 

Eine andere typische Szene: "Heute, Samstag, musste ich bald das Haus verlassen und ich ließ alle im Bett liegen." Bei meiner Rückkehr hoffte ich, dass es ihnen einfallen würde ... normal: das Bett machen, die Pyjamas bestellen, Bücher bestellen, Spiele ... Aber nichts, sie hatten nichts getan, sie sahen ruhig und auch ohne Frühstück fern. In diesem Fall ist das Level 3 und die entsprechende Strafe wird bis zum Abschluss angeordnet. Weil eine Gewohnheit wie Ordnung aufgrund von Wiederholungen von Handlungen korrigiert wird, nicht von Gesprächen oder Schreien oder Vorwürfen.

Essen Sie schlecht und nur, was Sie wollen 

"Es ist ärgerlich, alles muss mit" Ketchup "sein. Nun, es könnte sehr gut ernährt werden ... aber sehr unhöflich, wir sind auf Stufe 1. Also, Die Strafe wird darauf gerichtet, wenn Sie nicht essen, was Sie nicht mögenEr kann auch nicht beweisen, was er am meisten will, denn sonst wäre er verrückt und wir würden seinen Willen nicht stärken. Daher gibt es kein Eis oder es gibt kein Dessert, das Sie mögen.

WENN SIE ETWAS PASSIEREN ODER IHRE DINGE NICHT PFLEGEN 

Es ist eine andere Situation von Stufe 1 (materielle Stufe), obwohl sie auch Teil von Stufe 3 ist, wenn sie nicht gehorcht haben. "An jenem Samstag waren wir zum Essen gegangen und wir hatten den Kindern verboten, die Filme zu veröffentlichen, als sie noch klein waren, aber sie waren so lustig, dass sie ungehorsam waren und der Film kaputt ging: Der Adapter blieb hängen." Ich erinnerte mich an diese berühmte Anekdote von Gandhi, als ich Geld gestohlen hatte Als er sich seinem Vater näherte und ihn bat, um Vergebung zu bitten, antwortete er weinend, er erinnerte sich immer daran und stahl sich nie wieder.

In unserem Fall haben wir beschlossen, sehr traurig zu werden, und haben festgestellt, dass es ihnen wirklich leid tut. Für ein Kind ist die Freude und die beste Belohnung die Freude der Eltern. "Diese Eltern beschlossen, ihre Kinder mit Enttäuschung zu bestrafen (diese Bestrafung entspricht) Stufe 3 für Ungehorsam).

Eine andere Möglichkeit, sie zu bestrafen, konzentriert sich auf Level 1, zum Beispiel, indem Sie mit ihrem Geld ein weiteres Videoband kaufen oder das Shirt, das sie unachtsam gemacht haben, reinigen und natürlich nicht sofort nach dem Verlust des Balls einen anderen Ball kaufen , weil sie die Dinge nicht wertschätzen. Was Sie nie tun können, ist ein schneller Austausch.

Er hat etwas Böses getan, aber er hat es erkannt

Mom, aber ich habe dir die Wahrheit gesagt. " Wir Eltern fragen uns, ob ich ihn bestraft oder nicht? "Sieh mal, ich habe ihr tausendmal gesagt, nicht in das Bett zu springen, das sie brechen würde, und am Ende hat sie es gebrochen." Das Richtige ist zu erklären, dass Sie ihn für seinen Ungehorsam bestrafen, denn wenn er auch gelogen hätte, wäre die Bestrafung doppelt so hoch. Er wird für seine Aufrichtigkeit anerkannt, so dass er es wiederholt, aber er muss sich seiner Tat bewusst sein. Er hat das Bett zerbrochen, weil er ein paar Tage mit dem "verdrehten" Bett schlafen wird, damit er sich seiner Leistung bewusst wird.

Ideen zum Nachdenken über Strafen

1. Seien Sie nicht in der Versuchung, die Bestrafung nach seinem Willen aufzuheben. Sie verlieren nicht nur jede Autorität, sondern auch Sie Der Sohn ist es gewohnt, sich nicht dem Gerechtigen gegenüberzustellen, was er verdient hat.

2. Eltern müssen immer zustimmen mit der Strafe, die sie verhängt haben. Ihr Sohn kann nicht sehen, dass "Mama ihn bestraft und Papa die Strafe erhöht" oder umgekehrt.

3. Zerdrücken Sie Ihr Kind nicht, wenn Sie es fallen sehen. Es kann sein, dass die schlechte Handlung oder Einstellung wiederholt wird oder die Unfähigkeit, das zu tun, was wir wollen. Wir haben alle schlechte Zeiten, und in diesem Moment braucht Ihr Sohn, dass Sie ihm die Hand geben und ihm die Gelegenheit geben, sich zu erholen.

4. Lassen Sie Ihr Kind sich erklären, bevor Sie es bestrafen und reflektiert immer mit ihm über seine Leistung. Bedenken Sie jedoch, dass Ihre Haltung angesichts von Respektlosigkeit fest sein muss. Fürchte dich nicht davor, die Freundschaft deines Sohnes zu verlieren, denn wenn er dich nicht respektiert, wird er dich niemals lieben können.

5. Erinnern Sie sich an die Komplimente. Anstatt nur die falschen Dinge zu betrachten, müssen wir uns bemühen, ihn für das gut gefaltete Hemd zu sehen und zu loben (obwohl die anderen sechs in irgendeiner Weise sind).

6. Beziehen Sie die Bestrafung mit der bestraften Handlung zusammen. Ihr Sohn muss immer zu dem Schluss kommen, dass das, was Sie suchen, darin besteht, dass er verantwortlich und konsistent mit seinen Handlungen ist.

Maite Mijancos. Familienberater

Video: Wie man Kinder Erzieht 1


Interessante Artikel

Die großen Museen von Madrid mit Kindern

Die großen Museen von Madrid mit Kindern

Bevor Sie einen Besuch in den großen Museen von Madrid mit Kindern organisieren, sollten Sie am besten die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten aufzeigen, mit denen Sie dem Besuch begegnen können. Eine...