I am diabetic and I want to be a mom

One of the frequent concerns in women with Diabetes Mellitus who want to become mothers is how their pregnancy can affect their own diabetes or their future child. Fortunately, and although scientific studies from more than a decade ago assumed that in diabetic women the fertile period was shortened by about six years and that the average age of menopause was 41.6 years, Today we know that well-controlled diabetes does not affect a woman's reproductive life.

However, as Dr. José Luis Prieto, a specialist in Obstetrics Gynecology at the Hospital Nuestra Señora del Rosario, recognizes, a diabetic woman "can get pregnant at any time she wishes, but she must be aware that the physiological changes of pregnancy can alter the balance situation you have in your metabolism. "


He warns, however, that "there are some cases of diabetic women who have pathologies associated with the disease, such as diabetic nephropathy (kidney damage), severe retinopathy (loss of important sight), poor control of diabetes despite the use of Insulin or ischemic heart disease where pregnancy is absolutely discouraged. "

I am diabetic, what care should I have before and during pregnancy?

Before pregnancy: a complete study

It must go through a adequate control of hyperglucemic statea and a complete study to verify that, "really the above-mentioned disorders are not present or are beginning to develop because then the diabetes can worsen during pregnancy," says Dr. Prieto.


Likewise, the control of blood sugar levels through nutritional control and the antidiabetic medication adapted to the situation of each person, either as oral or parenteral treatment such as insulin.

During pregnancy: exhaustive self-monitoring of glucose levels

It's fundamental self-control exhaustively blood glucose levels. In case of an alteration occurs should go to the doctor to reach an adequate control and assess possible changes in the body that is suffering from the future mother.

The physical exercise It is a good ally in pregnancy. In the case of diabetic women even more since it can help an adequate metabolic control. If before pregnancy, there was no physical activity, it is recommended that at least walk half an hour at least 3-4 days a week.


When should I see a doctor?

The pregnancy of a diabetic patient requires a more thorough control than that of a healthy woman, which may include:

- Need to perform some extra ultrasound, such as the one recommended around week 28 of gestation to control the heart of the fetus.

- Before any alteration of the glycemia, both by excess and by defect.

I am diabetic, how will the birth be?

It will depend on how the pregnancy has developed week after week, says Dr. Jose Luis Prieto, but in most cases, in which there have been no problems, wait for the woman to reach the end of pregnancy and the pregnancy. childbirth develops spontaneously.

In those cases in which there has not been a good metabolic control both for hyperglycemia and for hypoglycaemia, the pregnancy would be interrupted before reaching term.

And after pregnancy

Here the woman returns to recover the measures prescribed by her doctor before becoming pregnant. At this time, to prevent diabetes after pregnancy, the mother should also consult with your doctor if you have decided to feed your child through breast or artificial milk.

Marina Berrio
Advice: Dr. José Luis Prieto, specialist in Obstetrics Gynecology of the Hospital Nuestra Señora del Rosario

Video: Living With Diabetes and Without Junk Food


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Ich bin Diabetiker und möchte Mutter werden

Bei Frauen mit Diabetes Mellitus, die Mütter werden möchten, besteht häufig die Sorge, wie ihre Schwangerschaft ihren eigenen Diabetes oder ihr zukünftiges Kind beeinflussen kann. Glücklicherweise und obwohl wissenschaftliche Studien aus mehr als einem Jahrzehnt zuvor davon ausgegangen waren, dass bei diabetischen Frauen die fruchtbare Periode um etwa sechs Jahre verkürzt wurde und das Durchschnittsalter der Menopause 41,6 Jahre betrug, Heute wissen wir, dass gut kontrollierter Diabetes das Fortpflanzungsleben einer Frau nicht beeinträchtigt.

Dr. José Luis Prieto, Facharzt für Frauenheilkunde und Geburtshilfe im Krankenhaus Nuestra Señora del Rosario, erkennt jedoch an, dass eine Diabetikerin "jederzeit schwanger werden kann", sie muss jedoch wissen, dass die physiologischen Veränderungen der Schwangerschaft dies können Ändern Sie die Gleichgewichtssituation in Ihrem Stoffwechsel. "


Er warnt jedoch davor, dass "es einige Fälle von diabetischen Frauen gibt, die mit der Krankheit assoziierte Pathologien haben, wie diabetische Nephropathie (Nierenschaden), schwere Retinopathie (Verlust des Sehvermögens), schlechte Kontrolle des Diabetes trotz der Verwendung von Insulin oder ischämische Herzkrankheit, bei der eine Schwangerschaft absolut nicht empfohlen wird. "

Ich bin Diabetiker, welche Pflege sollte ich vor und während der Schwangerschaft haben?

Vor der Schwangerschaft: eine vollständige Studie

Es muss durch gehen angemessene Kontrolle des hyperglukämischen Zustandsa und eine vollständige Studie, die bestätigt, dass "die oben genannten Erkrankungen tatsächlich nicht vorhanden sind oder sich entwickeln, weil sich der Diabetes während der Schwangerschaft verschlimmern kann", sagt Dr. Prieto.


Ebenso die Kontrolle des Blutzuckerspiegels durch Ernährungskontrolle und das auf die Situation jeder Person abgestimmte Antidiabetikum, entweder als orale oder parenterale Behandlung wie Insulin.

Während der Schwangerschaft: umfassende Selbstüberwachung des Blutzuckerspiegels

Das ist grundlegend Selbstkontrolle erschöpfend Blutzuckerspiegel. Im Falle einer Veränderung sollte ein Arzt konsultiert werden, um eine ausreichende Kontrolle zu erhalten und mögliche Veränderungen in dem Körper zu beurteilen, der an der zukünftigen Mutter leidet.

Die körperliche Übung Es ist ein guter Verbündeter in der Schwangerschaft. Bei Diabetikern sogar, da dies zu einer ausreichenden Stoffwechselkontrolle beitragen kann. Wenn vor der Schwangerschaft keine körperlichen Aktivitäten stattfanden, wird empfohlen, mindestens eine halbe Stunde mindestens 3-4 Tage pro Woche zu gehen.


Wann sollte ich zum Arzt gehen?

Die Schwangerschaft eines Diabetikers erfordert eine gründlichere Kontrolle als die einer gesunden Frau, die Folgendes umfassen kann:

- Sie müssen zusätzliche Ultraschalluntersuchungen durchführen, z. B. einen, der in der 28. Schwangerschaftswoche empfohlen wird, um das Herz des Fötus zu kontrollieren.

- Vor jeder Veränderung der Glykämie, sowohl durch Übermaß als auch durch Defekt.

Ich bin Diabetiker, wie wird die Geburt sein?

Es wird davon abhängen, wie sich die Schwangerschaft Woche für Woche entwickelt hat, sagt Dr. Jose Luis Prieto, doch in den meisten Fällen, in denen es keine Probleme gab, warten Sie, bis die Frau das Ende der Schwangerschaft und der Schwangerschaft erreicht hat. Geburt entsteht spontan.

In den Fällen, in denen es keine gute metabolische Kontrolle sowohl bei Hyperglykämie als auch bei Hypoglykämie gegeben hat, wird die Schwangerschaft vor Erreichen der Frist unterbrochen.

Und nach der Schwangerschaft

Hier kehrt die Frau zurück, um die von ihrem Arzt verordneten Maßnahmen einzuholen, bevor sie schwanger wird. Um Diabetes nach der Schwangerschaft zu verhindern, sollte die Mutter zu diesem Zeitpunkt auch Ihren Arzt konsultieren, wenn Sie beschlossen haben, Ihr Kind durch Muttermilch oder künstliche Milch zu füttern.

Marina Berrio
Hinweis: Dr. José Luis Prieto, Facharzt für Frauenheilkunde und Geburtshilfe im Krankenhaus Nuestra Señora del Rosario

Video: Kann ich mit Diabetes schwanger werden?


Interessante Artikel

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Die dritte Generation des Touran beträgt 13 Zentimeter länger als die vorherige Version, hat sieben Sitze Serie und hat eine Größerer Kofferraum Es stellt sich heraus a Familienauto Dies muss für...