Educate in social skills: key to success

In the development of children, social skills they play an important role. Lacking them can be a cause of social problems both in childhood and in adulthood. Putting into practice skilful behaviors to grow in social skills will help your children not to have problems to relate with others.

As parents we want our children to be able to adapt to the circumstances that they have to live, both at school, where besides being interested in academic results we also emphasize how they relate to classmates, if accepted, if they participate in class and in games, etc. as outside the educational environment, where we teach them to be educated, respectful of others, kind, etc.


How many times has our son come saying that his classmate has hit him? or what has not allowed him to play? or what has taken the toy? Moreover, how many times has your child been accused of all these behaviors? If these behaviors are repetitive, something is failing in the socialization of children. Luckily, as parents we can teach you the necessary skills so that you know how to act in the best possible way. These skills are known as social skills.

What are social abilities?

By social skills we understand the set of behaviors as expressing feelings, attitudes, desires, opinions issued by a person within an interpersonal context in a way appropriate to the situation, respecting those behaviors in others and that generally helps to resolve the difficulties of the situation to the that we face. All this repertoire of behaviors makes people develop effectively in the social field.


In the infant stage, the development of social skills It is of vital importance since it helps children to adapt adequately to their environment, interacting effectively with their peers and friends, learning to express their emotions, their thoughts and opinions and respecting those of others, in addition to providing them the necessary tools to be able to function in the future as adults.

What are the dangers of lacking social skills?

If they do not develop properly, social skills In the early stages of development, children can end up becoming adults with problems when interacting with others. Some difficulties that can be found are;

- Difficulties at school. The discomfort generated by not having a good relationship in school, with peers, can influence their academic performance.


- Rejection of his colleagues. By not knowing how to relate correctly can generate that others do not want to be with him, which will result in low self-esteem in the child.

- Problems to express yourself. If they do not adequately develop the skilful behaviors in the social field they will have difficulties when it comes to expressing what they want and what they do not, what they think or feel.

- Relationship problems. They can become extremely shy, introverted children with great difficulties in making friends.

How can we enhance these skills in children?

Throughout childhood and adolescence are formed the necessary skills to function in the social environment, as parents we can help the youngest to promote skillful behaviors that allow them to interact in a healthy way in the future. Some guidelines we can follow to educate in social skills are the following:

1. Create moments. Involve your child in different social situations and encourage him to participate, in this way he will lose the fear of facing new situations and learning to handle himself.

2. It promotes your self-esteem. Helping them to have a positive image of themselves will affect their relationships and the way they face complicated situations respecting themselves and others.

3. Teach them. Since they are small we can teach them behaviors like greeting someone, giving our opinions, showing affection, saying no ... "Be their example." Children learn from what they see, listen to them and talk to them, in this way you foster their empathy, that they see in you an example of respect and tolerance towards them and others.

Rocío Navarro Psychologist Director of Psicolari, integral psychology

Video: 5 Keys to Social and Emotional Learning Success


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Lernen Sie soziale Fähigkeiten kennen: Schlüssel zum Erfolg

In der Entwicklung von Kindern soziale Fähigkeiten Sie spielen eine wichtige Rolle. Ihr Fehlen kann eine Ursache für soziale Probleme sowohl in der Kindheit als auch im Erwachsenenalter sein. Wenn Sie geschickte Verhaltensweisen einsetzen, um soziale Fähigkeiten zu entwickeln, können Ihre Kinder keine Probleme haben, mit anderen in Kontakt zu treten.

Als Eltern möchten wir, dass sich unsere Kinder an die Umstände anpassen können, in denen sie leben müssen, sowohl in der Schule, als neben dem Interesse an akademischen Ergebnissen auch betont wird, wie sie sich auf Klassenkameraden beziehen, wenn sie akzeptiert werden, wenn sie am Unterricht teilnehmen und in Spielen usw. als außerhalb des pädagogischen Umfelds, wo wir ihnen beibringen, erzogen zu werden, Respekt vor anderen, gütigen Menschen usw.


Wie oft hat unser Sohn gesagt, dass sein Klassenkamerad ihn geschlagen hat? oder was hat ihm nicht erlaubt zu spielen? oder was hat das spielzeug mitgenommen? Wie oft wurde Ihrem Kind all diese Verhaltensweisen vorgeworfen? Wenn sich diese Verhaltensweisen wiederholen, versagt etwas bei der Sozialisierung von Kindern. Glücklicherweise können wir Ihnen als Eltern die notwendigen Fähigkeiten vermitteln, damit Sie wissen, wie Sie sich bestmöglich verhalten. Diese Fähigkeiten sind bekannt als soziale Fähigkeiten.

Was sind soziale Fähigkeiten?

Warum? soziale Fähigkeiten Wir verstehen die Gruppe von Verhaltensweisen als Ausdruck von Gefühlen, Einstellungen, Wünschen und Meinungen, die von einer Person in einem zwischenmenschlichen Kontext in einer der Situation angemessenen Weise zum Ausdruck gebracht werden, und respektieren diese Verhaltensweisen in anderen Personen dass wir uns stellen All dieses Verhaltensrepertoire bewirkt, dass sich die Menschen effektiv im sozialen Bereich entwickeln.


In der Säuglingsphase die Entwicklung sozialer Fähigkeiten Es ist von entscheidender Bedeutung, da es Kindern dabei hilft, sich angemessen an ihre Umgebung anzupassen, effektiv mit Gleichaltrigen und Freunden zu interagieren, zu lernen, ihre Emotionen, ihre Gedanken und Meinungen auszudrücken und die anderer zu respektieren, zusätzlich zu deren Bereitstellung die notwendigen Werkzeuge, um als Erwachsene in der Zukunft funktionieren zu können.

Was sind die Gefahren des Mangels an sozialen Fähigkeiten?

Wenn sie sich nicht richtig entwickeln, soziale Fähigkeiten In den frühen Stadien der Entwicklung können Kinder zu Erwachsenen werden, die Probleme haben, wenn sie mit anderen interagieren. Einige Schwierigkeiten, die gefunden werden können, sind;

- Schwierigkeiten in der Schule. Das Unbehagen, das entsteht, wenn in der Schule keine guten Beziehungen zu Gleichaltrigen bestehen, kann ihre akademische Leistung beeinflussen.


- Ablehnung seiner Kollegen. Wenn man nicht weiß, wie man sich richtig verhält, kann man erzeugen, dass andere nicht mit ihm zusammen sein wollen, was zu einem geringen Selbstwertgefühl des Kindes führt.

- Probleme, sich auszudrücken. Wenn sie die geschickten Verhaltensweisen im sozialen Bereich nicht angemessen entwickeln, werden sie Schwierigkeiten haben, auszudrücken, was sie wollen und was sie nicht tun, was sie denken oder fühlen.

- Beziehungsprobleme. Sie können extrem schüchterne, introvertierte Kinder werden und haben große Schwierigkeiten, Freunde zu finden.

Wie können wir diese Fähigkeiten bei Kindern verbessern?

Im Laufe der Kindheit und Jugend bilden sich die notwendigen Fähigkeiten, um im sozialen Umfeld zu funktionieren. Als Eltern können wir den jüngsten helfen, geschickte Verhaltensweisen zu fördern, die es ihnen ermöglichen, in Zukunft auf gesunde Weise zu interagieren. Einige Richtlinien, die wir befolgen können, um soziale Kompetenzen zu vermitteln, sind folgende:

1. Momente schaffen. Beziehen Sie Ihr Kind in verschiedene soziale Situationen ein und ermutigen Sie es, daran teilzunehmen. Auf diese Weise verliert es die Angst, sich neuen Situationen zu stellen und zu lernen, mit sich selbst umzugehen.

2. Es fördert Ihr Selbstwertgefühl. Wenn man ihnen hilft, ein positives Bild von sich selbst zu haben, wird dies ihre Beziehungen und die Art und Weise beeinflussen, in der sie sich mit komplizierten Situationen auseinandersetzen, die sich und andere respektieren.

3. Lehre sie. Da sie klein sind, können wir ihnen Verhaltensweisen beibringen, wie zum Beispiel jemanden begrüßen, unsere Meinung äußern, Zuneigung zeigen, nein sagen ... "Seien Sie ihrem Beispiel." Kinder lernen von dem, was sie sehen, hören ihnen zu und sprechen mit ihnen. dass sie in dir ein Beispiel für Respekt und Toleranz gegenüber ihnen und anderen sehen.

Rocío Navarro Psychologe Direktor von Psicolari, integrale Psychologie

Video: 5 MINUTEN die dein LEBEN VERÄNDERN


Interessante Artikel

Toledo mit Kindern: die 10 wichtigsten Orte

Toledo mit Kindern: die 10 wichtigsten Orte

Jede Jahreszeit ist ideal für eine PauseUnd die Wahrheit ist, dass Spanien voll von idealen Reisezielen für Paare und Freunde und natürlich Familien ist. Diesmal reisen wir nach Toledo, um Ihnen die...