How stroke affects the ability to communicate

Brain damage can affect all areas of human functioning. Deficits will depend on the type of injury, the location and initial severity of the injury ... as well as the characteristics of each affected person such as age, personality or abilities prior to the injury. The ictus frequently presents a wide variety of cognitive alterations, communication and behavior.

Stroke and alterations in communication capacity

In language disorders, the patient who has suffered a ictus It presents different disorders. Some of the most significant are the inability to emit sounds and words, passing through the affectation of speech, which becomes unintelligible. It may also happen that you do not understand conversations with family or neighbors, and problems of location on the street, inability to make purchases and problems with reading and writing.


Can they also have swallowing problems?

Indeed, in the stroke arises the difficulty to transport the food or saliva from the mouth to the esophagus (dysphagia) is a usual sequel, thus diminishing the effectiveness, understood as the nutritional and hydration contribution sufficient for human subsistence, nevertheless to eat It is not just an act of subsistence but a social act, it is part of our culture, the alteration of the swallowing process limits the quality of general life and increases clinical complications.

Swallowing problems after suffering a stroke

- Difficulties in the act of eating and swallowing food.
- Choking during the meal.
- Pain during swallowing.
- Difficulty chewing.
- Increased production of saliva, drooling.
- Difficulty to swallow.
- Changes of the voice.


Respiratory problems after stroke

- Sleep apnea.
- Bad respiratory coordination.

The speech therapist in the rehabilitation of patients after stroke

The speech therapist must be part of the interdisciplinary teams of patients who have suffered an icts because, a comprehensive rehabilitation is the most efficient when it comes to helping a person achieve the greatest independence possible after having suffered a stroke. Speech therapists work with the patient and the family in recovery and in adapting the effects of stroke. The objective of the rehabilitation is for the patient to develop their maximum potential in all areas.

The speech therapist can help with problems swallowing and eating after a cerebrovascular accident Dietary changes may be needed, such as thickening fluids or eating mashed foods. Some people will need a permanent feeding tube, called a gastrostomy tube, and will help in the rehabilitation of communication, speech, speech, and swallowing.


What are the benefits of speech therapy in stroke patients?

The evidence is that rehabilitation therapy must be started as soon as possible. The ideal time to start it is when the patient's life risk has been overcome, that is, in the subacute phase. In this way, there will be benefits for everyone. On the one hand, the patient will have more possibilities of recovering completely, and on the other hand, the duration of the rehabilitation will be less saving public health costs.

The early arrest of dysphagia in stroke is fundamental, it has been shown that better and faster recovery is achieved.

How do you intervene with these patients?

1. It consists of the first contact between the speech therapist, the patient and the family. The evaluation assesses: swallowing, condition of the orofacial musculature, voice and expressive and compressive language, speech, reading, writing and verbal and nonverbal communication.
2. A meeting with the family is held in order to deliver the speech therapy report and give a series of guidelines that facilitate communication with your family member.
3. The rehabilitation phase It will depend on the severity of the injury since each person has a ceiling of recovery, it is very difficult to know when the person will complete the recovery process. Therefore, this period will end when that ceiling is reached.

What should patients and family members know?

The speech therapist should be a support for the family when it comes to raising the real expectations of recovery of your family member. Working the same objectives, maintaining a fluid communication and valuing the contributions that we can offer each other, we will all work in one direction: the rehabilitation and improvement of the quality of life of people who have suffered brain damage.

Sofia of the Source. Speech therapist

It may interest you:

- Stroke has increased 40% in the last 15 years

- Exercise in childhood reduces the risk of cardiovascular diseases

- Caring for the heart: a question of education

- How to take care of children's hearts

Video: How to Speak with Someone After a Stroke-(Aphasia)


Interesting Articles

10 tips to avoid bad digestion

10 tips to avoid bad digestion

Burning, abdominal swelling and heaviness are the main symptoms of bad digestion or dyspepsia. According to Dr. Gonzalo Guerra Flecha, digestive specialist and founder of the Medical-Surgical Center...

The social reward: indispensable for teenagers

The social reward: indispensable for teenagers

Neuroimaging studies show how in adolescents social rejection is experienced as a threat to physical health. That explains why friendships and their breakup feel as if their lives depended on it,...

Wie wirkt sich Schlaganfall auf die Kommunikationsfähigkeit aus?

Hirnschäden können alle Bereiche des menschlichen Funktionierens betreffen. Die Defizite hängen von der Art der Verletzung, dem Ort und der ursprünglichen Schwere der Verletzung ab ... sowie von den Merkmalen jeder betroffenen Person, wie Alter, Persönlichkeit oder Fähigkeiten vor der Verletzung. Die Schlaganfall stellt häufig eine Vielzahl von kognitiven Veränderungen dar, Kommunikation und Verhalten.

Schlaganfall und Änderungen in der Kommunikationskapazität

Bei Sprachstörungen leidet der Patient, der a Schlaganfall Es präsentiert verschiedene Störungen. Einige der bedeutendsten sind die Unfähigkeit, Laute und Worte auszusenden, die die Sprache beeinflussen, die unverständlich wird. Es kann auch vorkommen, dass Sie Gespräche mit der Familie oder Nachbarn nicht verstehen, Probleme mit der Lage auf der Straße, Unfähigkeit, Einkäufe zu tätigen, und Probleme beim Lesen und Schreiben.


Können sie auch Schluckprobleme haben?

In der Tat entsteht beim Schlaganfall die Schwierigkeit, die Nahrung oder den Speichel vom Mund zum Ösophagus (Dysphagie) zu transportieren, eine übliche Folge, die die Wirksamkeit verringert, verstanden als der für die menschliche Ernährung ausreichende Nährstoff- und Flüssigkeitszufuhrbeitrag, dennoch zu essen Es ist nicht nur ein Akt des Lebensunterhalts, sondern ein sozialer Akt, es ist Teil unserer Kultur. Die Veränderung des Schluckvorgangs begrenzt die Lebensqualität und erhöht die klinischen Komplikationen.

Schluckbeschwerden nach einem Schlaganfall

- Schwierigkeiten beim Essen und Schlucken von Lebensmitteln.
- Ersticken während des Essens.
- Schmerzen beim Schlucken.
- Schwierigkeiten beim Kauen.
- Erhöhte Speichelproduktion, sabbern.
- Schwierigkeiten beim Schlucken.
- Änderungen der Stimme.


Atemprobleme nach Schlaganfall

- Schlafapnoe.
- Schlechte Atmungskoordination.

Der Logopäde bei der Rehabilitation von Patienten nach Schlaganfall

Der Sprachtherapeut muss Teil eines interdisziplinären Teams von Patienten sein, die einen ITS erlitten haben. Eine umfassende Rehabilitation ist die effizienteste, wenn es darum geht, einer Person zu helfen, die größtmögliche Unabhängigkeit nach einem Schlaganfall zu erreichen. Sprachtherapeuten arbeiten mit dem Patienten und der Familie zusammen, um sich zu erholen und die Auswirkungen eines Schlaganfalls anzupassen. Ziel der Rehabilitation ist es, dass der Patient in allen Bereichen sein maximales Potenzial entfalten kann.

Der Sprachtherapeut kann bei Problemen beim Schlucken und Essen nach einer Krankheit helfen zerebrovaskulärer Unfall Änderungen in der Ernährung können erforderlich sein, z. B. Verdickungsflüssigkeiten oder Essen von Püree. Einige Menschen benötigen eine permanente Sonde, die als Gastrostomie bezeichnet wird, und helfen bei der Rehabilitation von Kommunikation, Sprache, Sprache und Schlucken.


Welche Vorteile bietet die Sprachtherapie bei Schlaganfallpatienten?

Der Beweis ist, dass die Rehabilitationstherapie so schnell wie möglich begonnen werden muss. Der ideale Startzeitpunkt ist, wenn das Lebensrisiko des Patienten überwunden ist, dh in der subakuten Phase. Auf diese Weise ergeben sich Vorteile für alle. Auf der einen Seite hat der Patient mehr Möglichkeiten, sich vollständig zu erholen, und auf der anderen Seite wird die Dauer der Rehabilitation die Kosten für die öffentliche Gesundheit senken.

Die frühe Einstellung der Dysphagie bei Schlaganfällen ist von grundlegender Bedeutung. Es wurde gezeigt, dass eine bessere und schnellere Genesung erreicht wird.

Wie intervenieren Sie mit diesen Patienten?

1. Es besteht aus dem ersten Kontakt zwischen dem Logopäden, der Patient und die Familie. Die Bewertung bewertet: Schlucken, Zustand der orofazialen Muskulatur, Stimme und Ausdrucks- und Drucksprache, Sprache, Lesen, Schreiben und verbale und nonverbale Kommunikation.
2. Ein Treffen mit der Familie wird abgehalten Um den Logotherapiebericht vorzulegen und eine Reihe von Richtlinien zu geben, die die Kommunikation mit Ihrem Familienmitglied erleichtern.
3. Die Rehabilitationsphase Es hängt von der Schwere der Verletzung ab, da für jede Person eine Obergrenze für die Genesung besteht. Es ist sehr schwierig zu wissen, wann die Person den Genesungsprozess abschließen wird. Daher endet diese Frist, wenn diese Obergrenze erreicht ist.

Was sollten Patienten und Familienmitglieder wissen?

Der Logopäde sollte die Familie unterstützen, wenn es darum geht, die tatsächlichen Erwartungen der Genesung Ihres Familienmitglieds zu steigern. Wenn wir die gleichen Ziele verfolgen, eine fließende Kommunikation aufrechterhalten und die Beiträge bewerten, die wir einander bieten können, arbeiten wir alle in einer Richtung: der Rehabilitation und Verbesserung der Lebensqualität von Menschen, die an Hirnschäden leiden.

Sofia der Quelle. Sprachtherapeut

Es kann Sie interessieren:

- Der Schlaganfall hat in den letzten 15 Jahren um 40% zugenommen

- Bewegung im Kindesalter reduziert das Risiko von Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen

- Fürsorge für das Herz: eine Frage der Erziehung

- Wie man auf Kinderherzen aufpasst

Video: 6 Warnzeichen vor einem Schlaganfall


Interessante Artikel

Führungsstile: Führertypen

Führungsstile: Führertypen

Sei ein Anführer Es bedeutet, über eine Reihe von Fähigkeiten und Fähigkeiten zu verfügen, die es ermöglichen, eine Gruppe von Personen auf organisierte Weise zu führen ein gemeinsames Ziel...

Farben gegen Legasthenie

Farben gegen Legasthenie

Unbeholfen, langsam, problematisch ... sind nur einige der Begriffe, mit denen Kinder definiert werden, die an bestimmten Lernproblemen leiden. Sie sind nicht in der Lage, mit der gleichen...