Pre-reading: guidelines for developing the ability to read

The first school situation in which children are subjected to pressure is learning to read. At the age of seven all children are ready to learn to read, but at age 4, which is the traditional age in Spanish schools to begin with vowels, not all have the necessary degree of maturity. However, it is possible to initiate children inthe pre-reading with guidelines to develop the ability to read.

At four years, children are at a stage where other skills are more fundamental, such as psychomotricity, socialization or symbolic play, and magical thinking has more presence in them than logic.

Learn to read: are you ready?

So that children candevelop the ability to read and reading comprehension combine factors of very different orders:


1. Physiological such as lateralization, vision and hearing, which are developed thanks to motor and sensory activities.

2. Psychological as the acquisition of a good corporal outline and spatial orientation.

3. Cognitive as symbolization and conceptualization.

4. Emotional as the motivation.

5. Environmental as the presence of written stimuli.

For this reason, there are countries such as Finland or pedagogical systems such as Waldorf that do not present reading until they are 7 years old, and instead they multiply the opportunities to experience sensations, to explore space and movement, to learn by intrinsic gratification, and enrich the environment


Pre-reading: how to develop the ability to read

The pre-reading It is a process that aims to develop the ability to read of children through motivation through the prepared environment. It involves choosing within the home a place where objects of each of the family members are kept. They can be drawers, cobblers ... If you do not have anything similar you can think, for example, a cup to drink water or the place where the toothbrush is hung. The important thing is that it is a fixed location and that the content clearly belongs to each member of the family.

In these locations we will place a sign with the name of the person to whom it belongs, with special importance "dad", "mom" and the name of the child. The choice of words is affective and cognitive.


1. In the affective aspect, the proper noun, the initial of the proper name and "mama" and "papa" are the words with the greatest positive affective charge. Imagine a drawer full of initials, will not we feel, seeing the name, what is "our"?

As for the mystery of written words, let's put ourselves in the egocentric point of view of a three-year-old child (a little less than ours). What does a child feel when he / she learns that this gibberish is his / her "name", that is, the most important word in his / her world? Undoubtedly they are the most attractive letters and words to awaken the curiosity of the child.

2. In the cognitive aspect, "Dad" and "Mom" have a series of unique characteristics. The syllabic consciousness is prior to phonetics, so presenting words with repeated syllables is the simplest stimulus of syllabic awareness. But in addition they are two words that repeat the vowel and change the consonant, so it facilitates the phonetic awareness, more difficult to acquire. Joined to the syllables and letters of the child's name, they will be a perfect set for initiation.

The characteristics of the posters for pre-reading

Neuroscience has confirmed that clarity in perception facilitates cognitive processing. That is why when writing, looking for maximum clarity, we will use large and thick letters with the maximum contrast, in red on white or in black on white.

In addition, the letters must be an English model, that is, calligraphic and separated. Calligraphic means as similar as possible to the letters you will first learn to read and write. And separated to facilitate the identification of graphemes, which in the letter spun becomes more complex.

Once our son has already been interested in the house signs and seems to recognize the letters, if we want to go a little further, we can add the letter "o", which is round like our mouth, and the "s" that is wavy like a snake, which are the two most intuitive letters because they are almost pictographic. We can teach them by pronouncing them and drawing them while making the corresponding movement with our body and hands: the "o" running through the circle of our mouth and the "s" drawing in the air with our hands. By combining these letters our son will be able to read many words and will have reached a very high level of abstraction, in addition to symbolism.

If you achieve this, do not hesitate: once you have learned the correspondence between a sound and a drawing and between a series of symbols and a concept, you will have no difficulty in learning how many letters the alphabet has and how to read comprehensively.

We wish you good luck in the experience and a lot of amazement when your child lives the miracle of learning to read, whatever age it may be.

Elena Furnace Educational Innovation Consultant. Founder of Crianza Con Sentido and of the little school of Arturo Soria.

Video: How to Encourage Children to Read | Reading Lessons


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Vorlesen: Richtlinien für die Entwicklung der Lesefähigkeit

Die erste schulische Situation, in der Kinder unter Druck geraten, heißt Lesen lernen. Im Alter von sieben Jahren sind alle Kinder bereit, Lesen zu lernen, aber im Alter von 4 Jahren, das ist das traditionelle Alter in spanischen Schulen, um mit Vokalen zu beginnen, haben nicht alle den erforderlichen Reifegrad. Es ist jedoch möglich, Kinder in einzuleitendas Vorlesen mit Richtlinien zur Entwicklung der Lesefähigkeit.

Mit vier Jahren befinden sich Kinder in einem Stadium, in dem andere Fähigkeiten grundlegender sind, wie Psychomotorik, Sozialisation oder symbolisches Spiel, und magisches Denken hat mehr Präsenz als Logik.

Lesen lernen: Bist du bereit?

Damit Kinder das könnendie Fähigkeit zum Lesen entwickeln und Leseverständnis kombinieren Faktoren unterschiedlichster Ordnung:


1. Physiologisch wie Lateralisation, Sehen und Hören, die durch motorische und sensorische Aktivitäten entwickelt werden.

2. Psychologisch als Erwerb einer guten körperlichen Gliederung und räumlichen Orientierung.

3. kognitiv als symbolisierung und konzeptualisierung.

4. Emotional als die Motivation.

5. Umwelt als das Vorhandensein von schriftlichen Reizen.

Aus diesem Grund gibt es Länder wie Finnland oder pädagogische Systeme wie Waldorf, die das Lesen erst ab einem Alter von 7 Jahren präsentieren und stattdessen die Möglichkeiten zum Erleben von Empfindungen, zur Erkundung von Raum und Bewegung, zum Lernen durch intrinsische Befriedigung und zu vielfältigen Möglichkeiten nutzen die Umwelt bereichern


Vorlesen: Wie entwickelt man die Lesefähigkeit?

Die Vorlesung Es ist ein Prozess, der darauf abzielt die Fähigkeit zum Lesen entwickeln von Kindern durch Motivation durch die vorbereitete Umgebung. Es geht darum, innerhalb des Hauses einen Ort auszuwählen, an dem Gegenstände von jedem Familienmitglied aufbewahrt werden. Sie können Schubladen, Schuster sein ... Wenn Sie nichts ähnliches haben, können Sie zum Beispiel an eine Tasse zum Trinken von Wasser denken oder an die Stelle, an der die Zahnbürste aufgehängt ist. Wichtig ist, dass es sich um einen festen Ort handelt und dass der Inhalt eindeutig jedem Familienmitglied gehört.

An diesen Orten werden wir ein Schild mit dem Namen der Person platzieren, zu der es gehört, mit besonderer Bedeutung "Papa", "Mutter" und dem Namen des Kindes. Die Wortwahl ist affektiv und kognitiv.


1. Im affektiven Aspekt, das Eigenname, die Initiale des Eigennamens und "Mama" und "Papa" sind die Wörter mit der größten positiven affektiven Ladung. Stellen Sie sich eine Schublade voller Initialen vor. Werden wir nicht fühlen, wenn Sie den Namen sehen, was ist "unser"?

Was das Geheimnis der geschriebenen Worte angeht, so stellen wir uns in den egozentrischen Standpunkt eines dreijährigen Kindes (etwas weniger als unseres). Was fühlt ein Kind, wenn es erfährt, dass dieses Kauderwelsch sein "Name", dh das wichtigste Wort in seiner / ihrer Welt ist? Zweifellos sind dies die attraktivsten Buchstaben und Wörter, um die Neugier des Kindes zu wecken.

2. Im kognitiven Aspekt"Papa" und "Mama" haben eine Reihe von einzigartigen Eigenschaften. Das syllabische Bewusstsein steht vor der Phonetik, daher ist das Präsentieren von Wörtern mit sich wiederholenden Silben der einfachste Stimulus des silbischen Bewusstseins. Aber es sind auch zwei Wörter, die den Vokal wiederholen und den Konsonanten verändern, so dass das phonetische Bewusstsein schwieriger zu erlernen ist. Sie sind mit den Silben und Buchstaben des Namens des Kindes verbunden und eignen sich hervorragend für die Initiation.

Die Eigenschaften der Poster zum Vorlesen

Die Neurowissenschaften haben bestätigt, dass eine klare Wahrnehmung die kognitive Verarbeitung erleichtert. Aus diesem Grund verwenden wir beim Schreiben auf maximale Klarheit große und dicke Buchstaben mit maximalem Kontrast, in Rot auf Weiß oder in Schwarz auf Weiß.

Außerdem müssen die Buchstaben ein englisches Modell sein, dh kalligraphisch und getrennt. Kalligraphisch bedeutet so ähnlich wie möglich zu den Buchstaben, die Sie zuerst lesen und schreiben lernen. Und getrennt, um die Identifizierung von Graphemen zu erleichtern, die im Buchstabenkreisel komplexer werden.

Wenn unser Sohn sich bereits für die Hauszeichen interessiert hat und die Buchstaben zu erkennen scheint, können wir, wenn wir noch ein wenig weiter gehen möchten, den Buchstaben "o" hinzufügen, der rund ist wie unser Mund, und das "s", das gewellt ist Wie eine Schlange, die beiden intuitivsten Buchstaben, weil sie fast piktografisch sind. Wir können sie lehren, indem wir sie aussprechen und zeichnen, während sie die entsprechende Bewegung mit unserem Körper und unseren Händen machen: das "o", das durch den Mundkreis läuft, und das "s", das mit unseren Händen in die Luft zieht. Durch die Kombination dieser Buchstaben kann unser Sohn viele Wörter lesen und hat neben der Symbolik auch eine sehr hohe Abstraktion erreicht.

Wenn Sie dies erreichen, zögern Sie nicht: Wenn Sie erst einmal die Entsprechung zwischen einem Klang und einer Zeichnung sowie einer Reihe von Symbolen und einem Konzept gelernt haben, werden Sie keine Schwierigkeiten haben, zu erfahren, wie viele Buchstaben das Alphabet hat und wie umfassend gelesen wird.

Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Glück bei der Erfahrung und viel Erstaunen, wenn Ihr Kind das Wunder des Lesens lernen wird, egal wie alt es ist.

Elena Furnace Berater für Bildungsinnovationen. Gründer von Crianza Con Sentido und der kleinen Schule von Arturo Soria.

Video: Bibliotheksgesetz - 53.Plenarsitzung - 23.07.2015


Interessante Artikel

Die Vorteile von Lachen beim Lernen von Kindern

Die Vorteile von Lachen beim Lernen von Kindern

Lachen Es ist eine Aktivität, die sich aus verschiedenen Gründen lohnt: Sie löst Stress, schafft unauslöschliche Erinnerungen, lässt uns Spaß haben und Kinder lernen schneller. Zu diesem Schluss...

Cannabis: 36% der neuen Verbraucher sind Teenager

Cannabis: 36% der neuen Verbraucher sind Teenager

Cannabis ist die am meisten konsumierte Droge von Minderjährigen, wenn sie beginnen, toxische Substanzen zu verbrauchen und sogar Tabak zu übertreffen. Dies ist eine der Schlussfolgerungen, die sich...