The danger of playing with a laser pointer

Despite the controls that public administrations exercise on toys to ensure that they are suitable for children, there are thousands of objects that slip into the market under the appearance of toys and that can be dangerous. A good example are the laser pointers.

Although in some establishments they are marketed as a toy, the laser pointers They can cause serious problems for children. It may seem that that Red light It has no danger, but in fact it has a very detrimental effect on the eyes of the little ones, since they do not know their risk.

This is what a study conducted by the ophthalmologist David Almedia and that collects the American Academy of Pediatrics. According to this work, parents usually do not give the importance they should to laser pointers. However, these products can cause serious problems such as permanent blurred vision and even complete loss of long-term vision.


 

Eye damage caused by laser pointers

Dr. Almeida based his study on cases of patients from 9 to 16 years in which the game with laser pointers ended up causing serious problems in the ocular tissue. These problems, in general, were caused in the back of the eye, that is, the area that is sensitive to light.

The study showed that these cases happen more frequently what they believe. Dr. Almeida says that most parents think that these problems caused by the laser pointer only occur "once in a million." It clarifies that although the cases of total vision loss they are rare, it is a negligence to think that the exposure of an eye to this beam of light is not going to have any consequence.


Never look at the laser pointer

Experts emphasize that the risk lies in looking directly at the beam of the laser pointer is the most dangerous what can be done. Either frontally or reflected in a mirror, if the light of this article, the retina suffers when it is reached in this way by the laser pointer. The head of the study also explains that "the retina is everything".

Therefore Almeida recalls one of the basic rules in the use of lasers: not to point directly at the eye. "If the laser reaches the eye at an angle, you may not notice anything and it is completely asymptomatic, but if it hits the eye, it could suffer from a dramatic loss of sight immediately. never recover", sentence.

In addition, he warns that, at present, few treatments really have an effect in cases of damage to the retina caused by laser pointers. Therefore, the best thing is always to prevent and, if you decide to buy one of these "toys", you have to remember the children rules of use and always watch that they comply.


Labeling problems in laser pointers

This investigation also tried to find out the origin of the laser pointers that parents gave to their children. Dr. Almeida was greatly surprised in this regard since most of these products were distributed through office supplies companies and online sales portals.

Especially the acquisition through the internet made it more possible to buy an item that does not suit the recommended health standards.

Previous studies had already shown that one of the fundamental problems of these products is their labeling. It specifies that the power of the laser is between 1 and 5 milliwatts, figure that in principle does not represent a problem for the eyes. However these laser pointers actually have a power greater than 5 milliwatts, which is quite dangerous for the eyeball.

At this point, ophthalmology professionals complain about how easy it is to acquire one of these products online. Therefore they ask for a more regulation in the distribution of laser pointers and greater attention by parents when buying them.

Damián Montero

Video: eBay laser pointers are DANGEROUS!!!


Interesting Articles

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Working during pregnancy is becoming more common

Have you been a mother and a worker? Did you continue with your full-time job while you were pregnant? This question has been asked in the United States, finding that thes women who work during...

September exams will be in June

September exams will be in June

Are we going to say goodbye to the September exams? The Education Departments of the different Autonomous Communities are now preparing the school calendar for the next academic year, 2016-2017. One...

How to become a leader

How to become a leader

In today's society, there are many situations that require people willing to decide, to set guidelines and to commit to some objectives. Definitely, leaders are needed. Society also needs people who...

How to teach them to accept their failures?

How to teach them to accept their failures?

Before Christmas arrives, we have to overcome an important annual procedure: the arrival of the school's grades. And they are not always good, sometimes they are darn bad or, at least, worse than...

Die Gefahr, mit einem Laserpointer zu spielen

Trotz der Kontrollen Wenn die öffentlichen Verwaltungen Spielzeug anwenden, um sicherzustellen, dass sie für Kinder geeignet sind, gibt es Tausende von Objekten, die unter dem Aussehen von Spielzeug auf den Markt gelangen und das kann gefährlich sein. Ein gutes Beispiel sind die Laserzeiger.

In einigen Betrieben werden sie zwar als Spielzeug vermarktet Laserzeiger Sie können ernste Probleme für Kinder verursachen. Es mag so aussehen rotes Licht Es hat keine Gefahr, aber in der Tat wirkt es sich sehr nachteilig auf die Augen der Kleinen aus, da sie ihr Risiko nicht kennen.

Das ist eine Studie des Augenarztes David Almedia und das sammelt die American Academy of Pediatrics. Nach dieser Arbeit geben Eltern normalerweise nicht die Wichtigkeit an, die sie sollten Laserzeiger. Diese Produkte können jedoch zu ernsthaften Problemen führen, z. B. zu dauerhaftem verschwommenem Sehen und sogar zum vollständigen Verlust des langfristigen Sehens.


 

Augenschäden durch Laserpointer

Dr. Almeida stützte seine Studie auf Fälle von Patienten von 9 bis 16 Jahren in dem das Spiel mit Laserzeigern letztendlich zu ernsthaften Problemen im Augengewebe führte. Diese Probleme wurden im Allgemeinen im hinteren Teil des Auges verursacht, dh in dem Bereich, der lichtempfindlich ist.

Die Studie zeigte, dass diese Fälle vorkommen öfter was sie glauben Dr. Almeida sagt, dass die meisten Eltern glauben, dass diese durch den Laserpointer verursachten Probleme nur einmal in einer Million auftreten. Es stellt klar, dass obwohl die Fälle von Totaler Sehverlust Sie sind selten, es ist fahrlässig zu glauben, dass die Einwirkung dieses Lichtstrahls auf ein Auge keine Folgen hat.


Schauen Sie niemals auf den Laserpointer

Experten betonen, dass das Risiko darin besteht, direkt auf den Strahl des Laserpointers zu blicken am gefährlichsten was kann getan werden Entweder frontal oder in einem Spiegel reflektiert, leidet das Licht dieses Artikels, wenn die Netzhaut auf diese Weise vom Laserpointer erreicht wird. Der Leiter der Studie erklärt auch, dass "die Netzhaut alles ist".

Deshalb erinnert sich Almeida an eine der Grundregeln beim Einsatz von Lasern: nicht direkt auf das Auge zu zeigen. "Wenn der Laser das Auge in einem Winkel erreicht, bemerken Sie möglicherweise nichts und es ist völlig asymptomatisch, aber wenn er das Auge trifft, kann er sofort unter einem dramatischen Sehverlust leiden. nie erholen", Satz.

Außerdem warnt er, dass sich derzeit nur wenige Behandlungen in Fällen von Netzhautschäden durch Laserpointer tatsächlich auswirken. Daher ist es das Beste, immer zu verhindern, und wenn Sie sich entscheiden, eines dieser "Spielzeuge" zu kaufen, müssen Sie sich an die Kinder erinnern Nutzungsregeln und immer darauf achten, dass sie sich daran halten.


Beschriftungsprobleme bei Laserzeigern

Diese Untersuchung hat auch versucht, das herauszufinden Herkunft der Laser-Zeiger, die Eltern ihren Kindern gaben. Dr. Almeida war in dieser Hinsicht sehr überrascht, da die meisten dieser Produkte über Bürobedarfsfirmen und Online-Verkaufsportale vertrieben wurden.

Insbesondere die Anschaffung über das Internet machte es möglich, einen Artikel zu kaufen, der nicht zum Internet passt empfohlene Gesundheitsstandards.

Frühere Studien hatten bereits gezeigt, dass eines der grundlegenden Probleme dieser Produkte die Kennzeichnung ist. Es gibt an, dass die Leistung des Lasers zwischen 1 und 5 Milliwatt liegt, was im Prinzip für die Augen kein Problem darstellt. Diese Laserpointer haben jedoch tatsächlich eine Leistung mehr als 5 Milliwatt, was für den Augapfel ziemlich gefährlich ist.

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt beklagen Augenheilkundler, wie einfach es ist, eines dieser Produkte online zu erwerben. Deshalb bitten sie um eine mehr regulierung bei der Verteilung von Laserzeigern und größerer Aufmerksamkeit der Eltern beim Kauf.

Damián Montero

Video: Teenager-Streich? Laserpointer-Spielchen sorgen für Autounfälle | Die Ruhrpottwache | SAT.1 TV


Interessante Artikel

Wie nutzen Sie Reisen, um zu erziehen

Wie nutzen Sie Reisen, um zu erziehen

Wenn Sommer gleichbedeutend mit Feiertag ist, bedeutet es auch, über diese Freizeit zu sprechen Ausflüge. Diese Momente der Erholung werden genutzt, um andere Orte kennenzulernen, entweder aufgrund...

Machen Sie Ihrem Kind Spaß beim Lesen

Machen Sie Ihrem Kind Spaß beim Lesen

Lesen Es ist einer der größten Freuden für Erwachsene. Darüber hinaus ist Lesen ein Weg, um in Freiheit zu wachsen und alle Arten von Wissen und Erfahrungen zu erwerben, die ohne diese nicht erreicht...

Lieder, die den Herbst mit Kindern begrüßen

Lieder, die den Herbst mit Kindern begrüßen

Der Herbst ist da! Nach mehr als verdienten Sommerferien und einer notwendigen Rückkehr in die Schule begrüßen wir am 23. September um 10 Uhr morgens die dritte Saison des Jahres: der Herbst. Eine...