Egg allergy: what you should know

It is one of the usual foods in the habitual diet, either as part of a dish or as ingredient of a recipe. Fried, cooked, poached, shakes, there are many ways in which this product appears on the menu. Indeed, we talk about egg, a food that in recent years has been more frequent that causes allergies in children.

In fact, the egg it is the food that more cases of allergy presents in children. Now, well, what should be known about this reaction that seems so widespread among the little ones? Can it be prevented, disappears with time? The Spanish Society of Clinical Immunology, Allergology and Pediatric Asthma, SEICAP, has compiled the information that should be in each house about this allergy.


What is egg allergy?

Egg allergy is caused by a immune alteration whereby the child synthesizes immunoglobulin E, an antibody, against egg proteins. This causes that when an egg is ingested or there is contact with this food, a allergic reaction Very fast, in some cases even instantaneous. In general, the egg allergy appears when eating the white of this product for the first time, however in other cases those affected present the reaction with the introduction of the yolk.

Usually the egg white of egg causes more cases of allergies than the yolk, since the amount of proteins it has is much higher. Children who have these reactions can tolerate the whole cooked egg, but when eating it less cooked, as it can be in the tortilla, it is when the symptoms appear. The development of this reaction has nothing to do with the intolerance to the meat of the birds.


What are your symptoms?

The symptoms of egg allergy they arise immediatelyIf not, they will do it an hour after having eaten this food. They may be mild, as it is the case of the itching of mouth or throat, with or without red spots around the mouth; or a lot more serious and that can endanger life. Symptoms can appear in isolation or in combination with each other:

- The most common is that patients have oral allergy, with spots and skin reactions around the mouth caused by direct contact with the egg. Although there may also be hives all over the face and body, and even swelling of the lips, eyelids or ears.

- In the first hour vomiting and diarrhea may occur.

- Respiratory affections, such as rhinitis or asthma, are less frequent. But these symptoms occur, you have to pay close attention because they can indicate that the reaction is more serious.


- The anaphylaxis it is the most serious symptom that can occur since it affects more than one organ, it is generalized and if it is combined with respiratory or cardiovascular affectation it can cause a shock and endanger the life of the patient.

Egg allergy is diagnosed with the detection of immunoglobulin E specific for this product through skin tests and, sometimes, also with a blood test. In cases where the results are not clear, it is necessary to administer the clear in progressively increasing amounts and in a very controlled manner in the hospital, to confirm or rule out this reaction

Can it be prevented?

No, egg allergy it has no prevention. It is necessary that once diagnosed, the child is prevented from eating dishes with this food as an ingredient. Allergists can provide detailed instructions on egg elimination diets and possible hidden sources to avoid accidental ingestion (pastries, sweets, batters, avoiding contaminated utensils, control of food labeling, etc.).

Does it disappear with time?

Egg allergy in children usually disappear after a variable period of time thanks to the exclusion diet, so it should be checked periodically if the child has overcome this reaction. Approximately in 50% of the children the allergy to the egg has been solved at 5 years and in the 75% around 7-9 years old.

However, some children may overcome this allergy. These cases are those that tend to have a high level of sensitization at risk of having a severe anaphylactic reaction after taking small amounts hidden in other foods such as masses of sweets.

While the egg allergy lasts, the fundamental treatment for egg allergy is a diet without this food nor products that can contain it like pastries, creams, sauces, etc. If the child has a reaction due to accidental exposure to the egg, it is recommended that this contact area be washed and that oral or injected antihistamines be administered.

In the event that the reaction is more severe, adrenaline must be administered urgently.In recent years, the active treatment of this allergy has been studied through oral immunotherapy or oral desensitization with egg. This treatment is considered for children older than 5 years who have a persistent egg allergy. However, this treatment is not free of risks and therefore must be carried out in equipped and experienced centers.

Damián Montero

Video: Allergy | Egg Allergy | StreamingWell.com


Interesting Articles

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Although it does not have a good reputation, children need a degree of discipline that does not oppose educating in freedom or affection. The value of discipline will be the key to success in all...

10 tips to care for atopic skin

10 tips to care for atopic skin

The atopic dermatitis, very common in children, is produced by a deficit in the production of ceramides from the skin. Ceramides are a family of natural lipids, thanks to them the cells are held...

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

The consumption of drugs such as alcohol, joints or pills can potentially be the most destructive activity in which our adolescent children can be involved. All drugs affect the health of people and...

Eiallergie: Was Sie wissen sollten

Es ist eines der üblichen Lebensmittel in der gewohnheitsmäßigen Ernährung, entweder als Teil eines Gerichts oder als Zutat von einem Rezept. Gebraten, gekocht, pochiert, schüttelt es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, wie dieses Produkt auf der Speisekarte erscheint. In der Tat reden wir darüber Ei, ein Lebensmittel, das in den letzten Jahren häufiger war und bei Kindern Allergien auslöst.

In der Tat die Ei Es ist das Essen, das mehr Fälle von Allergien bei Kindern darstellt. Nun, was sollte man über diese Reaktion wissen, die unter den Kleinen so verbreitet ist? Kann es verhindert werden, verschwindet mit der Zeit? Die spanische Gesellschaft für klinische Immunologie, Allergologie und pädiatrisches Asthma, SEICAP, hat die Informationen zusammengestellt, die in jedem Haus zu dieser Allergie vorhanden sein sollten.


Was ist eine Eiallergie?

Eiallergie wird durch eine verursacht Immunveränderung wodurch das Kind Immunoglobulin E, einen Antikörper, gegen Eiproteine ​​synthetisiert. Dies führt dazu, dass, wenn ein Ei eingenommen wird oder Kontakt mit diesem Futter besteht, a allergische Reaktion Sehr schnell, in manchen Fällen sogar sofort. Im Allgemeinen tritt die Ei-Allergie auf, wenn das Weiß dieses Produkts zum ersten Mal verzehrt wird. In anderen Fällen treten jedoch bei den Betroffenen Reaktionen auf, wenn das Eigelb eingeführt wird.

Normalerweise das klar von Ei verursacht mehr Fälle von Allergien als das Eigelb, da die Menge an Eiweiß viel höher ist. Kinder, die diese Reaktionen haben, können das ganze gekochte Ei tolerieren, aber wenn sie gegessen werden, ist das weniger gekocht, da es in der Tortilla sein kann, wenn die Symptome auftreten. Die Entwicklung dieser Reaktion hat nichts mit der Intoleranz gegenüber dem Fleisch der Vögel zu tun.


Was sind die Symptome?

Die Symptome einer Eiallergie Sie entstehen sofortWenn nicht, werden sie es eine Stunde nach dem Essen tun. Sie können sein mildwie es der Juckreiz von Mund oder Rachen mit oder ohne rote Flecken um den Mund ist; oder viel ernsthafter und das kann das Leben gefährden. Symptome können isoliert oder in Kombination miteinander auftreten:

- Die häufigste ist, dass Patienten haben orale Allergiemit Flecken und Hautreaktionen um den Mund herum, die durch direkten Kontakt mit dem Ei verursacht werden. Es kann jedoch auch überall im Gesicht und am Körper Nesselsucht und sogar Schwellungen der Lippen, Augenlider oder Ohren geben.

- In der ersten Stunde können Erbrechen und Durchfall auftreten.

- Atemwegserkrankungen wie Rhinitis oder Asthma treten seltener auf. Diese Symptome treten jedoch auf, Sie müssen genau darauf achten, dass die Reaktion schwerwiegender ist.


- Die Anaphylaxie Dies ist das schwerwiegendste Symptom, das auftreten kann, da es mehr als ein Organ betrifft, generalisiert ist und wenn es mit respiratorischer oder kardiovaskulärer Beeinflussung kombiniert wird, kann es zu einem Schock kommen und das Leben des Patienten gefährden.

Bei einer Eiallergie wird der Nachweis von für dieses Produkt spezifischem Immunglobulin E durch nachgewiesen Hauttests und manchmal auch mit einer Blutuntersuchung. In Fällen, in denen die Ergebnisse nicht eindeutig sind, ist es erforderlich, das Clear in progressiv ansteigenden Mengen und auf sehr kontrollierte Weise im Krankenhaus zu verabreichen, um diese Reaktion zu bestätigen oder auszuschließen

Kann es verhindert werden?

Nein, Eiallergie es hat keine vorbeugung. Es ist notwendig, dass das Kind nach der Diagnose daran gehindert wird, Speisen mit diesem Lebensmittel als Zutat zu essen. Allergiker können detaillierte Anweisungen zur Eliminierungsdiät und möglichen verborgenen Quellen geben, um versehentliches Verschlucken zu vermeiden (Gebäck, Süßigkeiten, Teigwaren, Vermeidung von kontaminierten Utensilien, Kontrolle der Lebensmittelkennzeichnung usw.).

Verschwindet es mit der Zeit?

Eierallergien bei Kindern verschwinden in der Regel nach einer variablen Zeit dank der AusschlussdiätDaher sollte regelmäßig überprüft werden, ob das Kind diese Reaktion überwunden hat. Etwa bei 50% der Kinder wurde die Allergie gegen das Ei nach 5 Jahren gelöst und in der 75% um 7-9 Jahre alt.

Einige Kinder können jedoch diese Allergie überwinden. Diese Fälle neigen dazu, ein hohes Maß an Sensibilisierung zu haben, wenn das Risiko einer schweren anaphylaktischen Reaktion besteht, nachdem kleine Mengen, die in anderen Nahrungsmitteln verborgen wurden, wie etwa Süßwarenmassen, eingenommen wurden.

Während die Eierallergie andauert, ist die grundlegende Behandlung der Eierallergie eine Diät ohne dieses Essen noch Produkte, die es enthalten können, wie Gebäck, Cremes, Saucen usw. Wenn das Kind aufgrund einer versehentlichen Exposition mit dem Ei reagiert, wird empfohlen, diese Kontaktfläche zu waschen und orale oder injizierte Antihistaminika zu verabreichen.

Falls die Reaktion schwerwiegender ist, muss Adrenalin dringend verabreicht werden.In den letzten Jahren wurde die aktive Behandlung dieser Allergie durch orale Immuntherapie untersucht orale Desensibilisierung mit ei Diese Behandlung wird für Kinder ab 5 Jahren in Betracht gezogen, die an einer persistierenden Eiallergie leiden. Diese Behandlung ist jedoch nicht risikolos und muss daher in ausgestatteten und erfahrenen Zentren durchgeführt werden.

Damián Montero

Video: Brotaufstriche bei Autoimmunerkrankungen


Interessante Artikel

Anforderungen an den Pool für Babys

Anforderungen an den Pool für Babys

Es wird empfohlen, dass Sie bis zum warten fünf oder sechs Monate des Lebens des Babys für Bringen Sie Ihren Kleinen zum Pool, da er in diesem Alter sein Immunsystem stärker entwickelt hat. Denken...

Paar, wie man es zum Laufen bringt

Paar, wie man es zum Laufen bringt

Was ist der Grund, warum es Paare gibt, die Konflikte erfolgreich lösen, während andere stagnieren? In unserer Hand ist es jeden Tag richtig, aber wir sind zwei im Paar, wie man es gut machen kann....