One in three adults with ADHD use cocaine

Between 30 and 40 percent of adults with ADHD (Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder) are habitual users of alcohol or other drugs and may present disorders of addictive behavior more frequently than the rest of the population. The substance of abuse that is usually observed in adults with ADHD is cocaine, according to a study carried out in the Nisa Hospital.

Cocaine as 'self-medication' in adults with ADHD

Each time a greater correlation between adults diagnosed with ADHD and substance abuse or dependence. This relationship is not strange from the point of view of drug use as a 'self-medication', which means that users of substances make use of them seeking a regulation of discomfort when they do not receive the therapeutic approach they need, in order to a medication that avoids suffering.


The substance of abuse that is usually observed in adults with ADHD is cocaine, which often raises questions about the apparent contradiction of the process: if ADHD is characterized by high nervousness, restlessness and lack of concentration, between Other symptoms, how is it possible that a stimulant drug like cocaine could have calming effects?

Cocaine focuses attention on patients with ADHD

The answer is simple: cocaine use has the effect of reducing the focus of attention on a few manageable things for the person. ADHD causes too much information and details of our environment to be captured, to such an extent that our brain is unable to process everything captured and, therefore, reacts with nervousness, impulsivity, motor hyperactivity and the whole series of symptoms that characterize this disorder. . As the cocaine use closes the focus of attention to a few things, the brain relaxes and is able to focus better on one or a few activities or stimuli, being able to concentrate on only one or two things.


This is consistent with the contrasted medication that is usually prescribed to children with this same disorder, the psychostimulants and that as their own words indicate, causes an action of psychological approach in patients suffering from ADHD, according to experts.

As a prevention of this situation, experts from the Nisa Hospital assure that "we must advocate for maximum rationalization of both reliable and multidisciplinary diagnoses by expert professionals, as well as propose effective therapeutic, biological, psychological and educational alternatives. the childhood the maximum possible welfare to these children and to avoid an acquired vulnerability so that psychological difficulties or mental disorder develop in the adolescence and, consequently, to diminish the current prevalence of drug consumption and addictions in adult people who suffer ADHD ".


Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Ritalin makes Nellie hyper (methylphenidate) | Drugslab


Interesting Articles

10 Christmas carols to sing with children

10 Christmas carols to sing with children

At present, Christmas carols are known in all Spanish-speaking countries and their genre is the star of all the celebrations of the Christmas festivities. Thisfamilywelove has selected 10 Christmas...

Jeder dritte Erwachsene mit ADHS konsumiert Kokain

Zwischen 30 und 40 Prozent der Erwachsenen mit ADHS (Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit-Hyperaktivitätsstörung) sind gewohnheitsmäßige Konsumenten von Alkohol oder anderen Drogen und können häufiger zu Suchtverhalten führen als der Rest der Bevölkerung. Laut einer im Nisa-Krankenhaus durchgeführten Studie ist die Substanz des Missbrauchs, die normalerweise bei Erwachsenen mit ADHS beobachtet wird, Kokain.

Kokain als "Selbstmedikation" bei Erwachsenen mit ADHS

Jedes Mal ein größere Korrelation zwischen Erwachsenen, bei denen ADHS diagnostiziert wurde, und Drogenmissbrauch oder Abhängigkeit. Diese Beziehung ist unter dem Gesichtspunkt des Drogenkonsums als "Selbstmedikation" nicht ungewöhnlich, was bedeutet, dass die Benutzer von Substanzen von ihnen Gebrauch machen, um eine Regelung der Beschwerden zu finden, wenn sie nicht den therapeutischen Ansatz erhalten, den sie benötigen ein Medikament, das Leiden vermeidet.


Die Substanz des Missbrauchs, die üblicherweise bei Erwachsenen mit ADHS beobachtet wird, ist Kokain, was häufig die Frage nach dem scheinbaren Widerspruch des Prozesses aufwirft: Wenn ADHS durch hohe Nervosität, Unruhe und Konzentrationsschwäche gekennzeichnet ist, dazwischen Andere Symptome, wie ist es möglich, dass ein stimulierendes Medikament wie Kokain beruhigende Wirkungen haben kann?

Kokain richtet die Aufmerksamkeit auf Patienten mit ADHS

Die Antwort ist einfach: Der Konsum von Kokain reduziert den Fokus der Aufmerksamkeit auf wenige handhabbare Dinge für die Person. ADHS führt dazu, dass zu viele Informationen und Details unserer Umgebung erfasst werden, und zwar in einem solchen Ausmaß, dass unser Gehirn nicht in der Lage ist, alles Aufgenommene zu verarbeiten und reagiert daher mit Nervosität, Impulsivität, motorischer Hyperaktivität und der gesamten Reihe von Symptomen, die diese Störung kennzeichnen. . Wie der Kokainkonsum schließt den Fokus auf einige Dinge, das Gehirn entspannt sich und kann sich besser auf eine oder wenige Aktivitäten oder Reize konzentrieren und kann sich nur auf ein oder zwei Dinge konzentrieren.


Dies steht im Einklang mit den kontrastierten Medikamenten, die normalerweise Kindern mit der gleichen Erkrankung verschrieben werden, den Psychostimulanzien und die, wie ihre eigenen Worte zeigen, eine psychologische Wirkung bei Patienten mit ADHS hervorrufen, so Experten.

Um dies zu verhindern, versichern Experten des Nisa-Krankenhauses, dass "wir uns für die maximale Rationalisierung zuverlässiger und multidisziplinärer Diagnosen durch Fachleute einsetzen und wirksame therapeutische, biologische, psychologische und pädagogische Alternativen vorschlagen müssen. der Kindheit das größtmögliche Wohlergehen dieser Kinder und die Vermeidung einer erworbenen Anfälligkeit, so dass sich psychische Probleme oder psychische Störungen in der Adoleszenz entwickeln und folglich die derzeitige Prävalenz des Drogenkonsums und der Sucht bei Erwachsenen, die an ADHS leiden, verringert wird. "


Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: 15. AZK: Hyperaktivität und ADS. Warum Ritalin keine Lösung ist. | 13.09.18 | kla.tv


Interessante Artikel

Spiele und Spielzeug zum Lernen

Spiele und Spielzeug zum Lernen

Das Spiel ist von grundlegender Bedeutung für die kognitive Entwicklung von Kindern und der beste Weg, um mit ihrer Umgebung in Beziehung zu treten. Spielen hat nicht nur Spaß, sondern auch die...