Hypochondriacs: how to stop living obesity due to diseases

Nobody wants to be sick, the disease is not a dish of good taste and surely at some point in our lives we have all been concerned about our health and that has made us more aware of ourselves, our body, our sensations etc. And all the worries have vanished the moment we feel better or we go to the doctor and he tells us that we are healthy.

However, what about people who are constantly worried about their health? What do you really believe are sick? How can it be that these people never stop worrying? The answer is because they suffer from a psychological disorder called hypochondria.


What does it mean to be a hypochondriac?

A person suffering from hypochondria she has a high conviction that she is sick, that is, that she truly believes that she is suffering from a serious or potentially fatal illness.

This belief of being really sick arises from a misinterpretation of the symptoms they feel, such as coughing, having a wound, strong and rapid heartbeats ... In view of all these symptoms, hypochondriacs they interpret that they are or may be sick and scared, they immediately seek to be safe, and for that they can take some medication, get checked to see that they have nothing, look for information about what they feel, go to the doctor ... However, even though hypochondriacs go to the doctor or have evidence that nothing is wrong, they do not believe they have no disease.


The essential characteristic of hypochondria is the worry and fear of suffering, or the conviction of having a serious illness, based on the personal interpretation of some bodily sensation or other sign that appears in the body.

As expected, all areas of the life of the person suffering from hypochondria are affected. This disorder affects family members, personal relationships, work, etc. Since on the one hand the hypochondriacs suffer and feel misunderstood, since no one understands what is happening to them, everyone tells them they have nothing and on the other hand, the people around them do not know how to help them, because the hypochondriac does not believe everything in what they say.

How to know if I am a hypochondriac?

The person who suffers from hypochondria is overly afraid of having a disease which leads him to be constantly worried about whether he suffers from it and even comes to the certainty that he has the disease.


Some of the symptoms presented by hypochondriacs are:

1. Excessive anxiety for fear of suffering from the disease.
2. Control and attention of one's own body, the person is constantly checking that he has nothing, or paying attention to the sensations he feels and interprets as symptoms of the disease.
3. They speak to acquaintances and not known of their ailments and symptoms focusing all conversations around health and illness.
4. They look for information to be able to confirm that they are sick, they ask other sick people, they look on the internet, they read ...
5. Increase in visits to doctors and specialists the relationship with them deteriorates more and more, because they do not finish trusting in what the experts tell them.

What can I do if I am a hypochondriac?

The best thing in these cases is that you have the help of a health professional who can help you correctly interpret the signals and can give you tools to control your anxiety, worry and restore all areas of your life that have been affected.

However, some of the guidelines that you can start to perform to combat hypochondria are:

1. Change the focus of attention. Try to stop looking at all the sensations you notice and the terrible consequences that could result from suffering the disease and focus on those healthy sensations of your own body, seeking more realistic interpretations of health and disease.

2. Learn relaxation techniques. In this way, we reduce anxiety and all the symptoms it causes, thus reducing discomfort and generating pleasant and rewarding sensations.

3. Stop talking about diseases, look for information, etc. Talking about what happens to us or looking for more information is a way to alleviate the discomfort that causes us in the short term, but it is worse for a long time because we are constantly making it present.

4. Contrast your concerns with the evidence. Surely you have gone to the doctor many times, you have done tests and the result has always been the same: you're fine.

Rocío Navarro Psychologist Director of Psicolari, integral psychology

Video: The Most Common Disease You’ve Never Heard Of | Shannon Cohn | TEDxUniversityofMississippi


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Hypochondrien: Wie kann die Adipositas aufgrund von Krankheiten beendet werden?

Niemand möchte krank sein, die Krankheit ist kein Gericht des guten Geschmacks und sicherlich haben wir uns irgendwann in unserem Leben Sorgen um unsere Gesundheit gemacht, und das hat uns mehr über uns selbst, unseren Körper, unsere Empfindungen usw. bewußt gemacht. Und alle Sorgen sind verschwunden, sobald wir uns besser fühlen oder wir zum Arzt gehen, und er sagt uns, dass wir gesund sind.

Was ist jedoch mit Menschen, die sich ständig um ihre Gesundheit sorgen? Was glaubst du wirklich, sind krank? Wie kann es sein, dass diese Leute nie aufhören, sich Sorgen zu machen? Die Antwort ist, weil sie an einer psychischen Störung leiden, die man nennt Hypochondrie.


Was bedeutet es, ein Hypochonder zu sein?

Eine Person, die darunter leidet Hypochondrie Sie ist der festen Überzeugung, dass sie krank ist, das heißt, dass sie wirklich glaubt, an einer schweren oder möglicherweise tödlichen Krankheit zu leiden.

Dieser Glaube, wirklich krank zu sein, beruht auf einer Fehlinterpretation der Symptome, die er empfindet, wie Husten, Wunden, starken und schnellen Herzschlägen ... Angesichts all dieser Symptome Hypochondrien Sie interpretieren, dass sie krank oder verängstigt sind oder Angst haben, sie suchen sofort nach Sicherheit, und damit sie Medikamente einnehmen können, überprüft werden, ob sie nichts haben, nach Informationen suchen, was sie fühlen, zum Arzt gehen ... Obwohl Hypochondrien zum Arzt gehen oder Beweise dafür haben, dass nichts falsch ist, glauben sie nicht, dass sie keine Krankheit haben.


Die wesentliches Merkmal der Hypochondrie ist die Sorge und die Angst vor dem Leiden, oder die Überzeugung, eine schwere Krankheit zu haben, basierend auf der persönlichen Interpretation irgendeines körperlichen Gefühls oder eines anderen Anzeichen, das im Körper erscheint.

Erwartungsgemäß sind alle Bereiche des Lebens der an Hypochondrie erkrankten Person betroffen. Diese Störung betrifft Familienmitglieder, persönliche Beziehungen, Arbeit usw. Da einerseits die Hypochonder leiden und missverstanden fühlen, weil niemand versteht, was mit ihnen geschieht, sagt jeder ihnen, sie hätten nichts und andererseits wissen die Menschen um sie herum nicht, wie sie ihnen helfen können, weil der Hypochonder nicht glaubt alles was sie sagen.

Woher weiß ich, ob ich ein Hypochonder bin?

Die Person, die an Hypochondrie leidet, hat zu große Angst vor einer Krankheit, die dazu führt, dass sie ständig besorgt ist, ob sie daran leidet, und sogar die Gewissheit hat, dass sie an der Krankheit leidet.


Einige der Symptome bei Hypochonder sind:

1. Übermäßige Angst aus Angst, an der Krankheit zu leiden.
2. Kontrolle und Aufmerksamkeit des eigenen KörpersDie Person überprüft ständig, ob sie nichts hat, oder achtet auf die Empfindungen, die sie als Symptome der Krankheit empfindet und interpretiert.
3. Sie sprechen Bekannte an und sind nicht über ihre Beschwerden und Symptome informiert Konzentration auf alle Gespräche rund um Gesundheit und Krankheit.
4. Sie suchen nach Informationen, um zu bestätigen, dass sie krank sind. sie fragen andere kranke menschen, sie schauen im internet nach, sie lesen ...
5. Zunehmende Besuche bei Ärzten und Spezialisten Die Beziehung zu ihnen verschlechtert sich immer mehr, weil sie nicht auf das vertrauen, was die Experten ihnen sagen.

Was kann ich tun, wenn ich ein Hypochonder bin?

Das Beste in diesen Fällen ist, dass Sie die Hilfe eines Angehörigen der Gesundheitsberufe haben, der Ihnen helfen kann, die Signale richtig zu interpretieren und Ihnen Werkzeuge zur Verfügung stellen kann, um Ihre Angstzustände zu kontrollieren, sich Sorgen zu machen und alle betroffenen Bereiche Ihres Lebens wiederherzustellen.

Einige der Richtlinien, die Sie zur Bekämpfung von Hypochondrien anwenden können, sind jedoch:

1. Ändern Sie den Fokus der Aufmerksamkeit. Versuchen Sie aufzuhören, alle Empfindungen, die Sie bemerken, und die schrecklichen Konsequenzen, die sich aus dem Leiden der Krankheit ergeben könnten, zu betrachten, und konzentrieren Sie sich auf diese gesunden Empfindungen Ihres eigenen Körpers und suchen Sie nach realistischeren Interpretationen von Gesundheit und Krankheit.

2. Erlernen Sie Entspannungstechniken. Auf diese Weise reduzieren wir Angstzustände und alle damit verbundenen Symptome, wodurch Unannehmlichkeiten reduziert und angenehme und lohnende Empfindungen erzeugt werden.

3. Hören Sie auf, über Krankheiten zu sprechen, suchen Sie nach Informationen usw. Über das, was mit uns passiert, zu suchen oder nach weiteren Informationen zu suchen, ist ein Weg, um die Unannehmlichkeiten zu lindern, die uns kurzfristig verursachen, aber es ist noch lange schlimmer, weil wir es ständig präsent machen.

4. Stellen Sie Ihre Bedenken den Beweisen gegenüber. Sicher sind Sie viele Male zum Arzt gegangen, Sie haben Tests gemacht und das Ergebnis war immer dasselbe: Ihnen geht es gut.

Rocío Navarro Psychologe Direktor von Psicolari, integrale Psychologie

Video: Uprooting the Leading Causes of Death


Interessante Artikel

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Weltlehrertag: Die Bedeutung des Lehrers bei Kindern

Die Schule ist zusammen mit der Familie der zweitwichtigste Ort in der Entwicklung von Kindern. In den Fluren und Klassenzimmern der Schule verbringen die Kleinen Stunden und Stunden damit, Werte zu...