Parenting styles and their influence on the behavior of children

Parents have a great influence on the behavior of their children. Parenting styles that we carry out with our children will influence in a decisive way in their development. It is important to pay attention to our parenting style and encourage positive parenting styles that contribute to healthy development. Negative parenting styles can have negative consequences on the development of children.

What are parenting styles?

Dr. John Gottman defines the parenting styles as "the way that parents have to react and respond to the emotions of children".
The parenting style is a pattern of action that, as parents we carry out, and includes a set of emotions, thoughts, behaviors and attitudes that parents develop around the raising of children. Our parenting style is immersed in a process of social interaction and how it will interfere directly with the other person.


Why are parenting styles important for families?

The parenting styles they are very important, because the way in which parents interact with their sons and daughters, will be the basis of their social and emotional development, and therefore of their current and future well-being. The styles of parenting will make the child feel a certain way with himself and with others, which is essential for their development and will also determine future social interactions and affective relationships.

What are the different styles of parenting?

The different styles of parenting are characterized by two main factors:

1. Sensitivity and interest. It refers to the sensitivity shown by fathers and mothers with the emotions of their sons and daughters, the ability to understand our children emotionally and respond to their needs. More than our sensitivity and interest the fundamental thing is how the child perceives sensitivity and interest.


2. Demand and firmness. The other determining factor to define the styles of parenting is the level of demand and firmness of parents with respect to their children, and as with the previous factor, as the child perceives this requirement.

Parenting styles

- Authoritarian style. The level of demand and firmness is very high and, on the other hand, the perceived sensitivity and interest are not always positive. It is a style in which the child is not allowed to develop his autonomy and in which he sometimes demands too much.

- Permissive style. The permissive style is at the opposite extreme in terms of demand and firmness. The levels of demand and firmness are null or nonexistent. The child needs rules to know what is expected of him or her. They usually perceive an adequate level of sensitivity and interest.


- Negligent style. It is a style in which the parents do not take care of their children. The levels of demand are low and also the sensitivity.

- Democratic style. The democratic style defines the attitude that finds the middle ground between demand and sensitivity.

Parenting styles that affect children in a negative way

Parenting styles that negatively affect the behavior of children would be those that have negative consequences on the child's development.

- Authoritarian style. The requirement is too high. The boy or girl feels pressured and does not perceive sensitivity. It can affect your self-esteem, and the development of your autonomy. An authoritarian style can turn children into dependent and insecure people.

- Permissive style. The absence of demands is also counterproductive to their development. The child grows up without learning to tolerate frustration, thinking that he is at the center of everything, will not accept criticism and will have difficulties to relate in a healthy and balanced way.

- Negligent style. It is the most negative style of all, since the negative consequences of previous styles can develop.

A positive parenting style: the democratic style

The positive parenting style involves addressing the emotional needs of children and at the same time employing positive discipline. It is a style that consists of democratically agreeing on the decisions and rules to let the children develop their autonomy and confidence. It is not always easy to carry out a positive parenting style, the trick is to seek balance.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Clinical health psychologist. Specialist in pedagogy and child and youth psychology. Director of Educa and Learn. Author of the collection Stimulate Reading and Writing Processes.

Video: Parenting Styles and Their Effects on Children


Interesting Articles

Menorca as a family, a different destination

Menorca as a family, a different destination

The island of Menorca, located north of the Balearic archipelago, is one of the most beautiful paradises in the western Mediterranean. Thanks to being protected by UNESCO since 1993 as a Biosphere...

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

Copper is an essential mineral for health that helps to preventfetal malformations, anemia, growth problems or birth weight losses. For this reason, the pregnancy and lactation These are two periods...

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The trinkets, sweets and pastries are part of the children's routine, but your intake can be very harmful to your health and the one of the majors since they contain great amounts of sugar and...

Erziehungsstile und ihr Einfluss auf das Verhalten von Kindern

Eltern haben großen Einfluss auf das Verhalten ihrer Kinder. Erziehungsstile das wir mit unseren Kindern durchführen, wird ihre Entwicklung entscheidend beeinflussen. Es ist wichtig, auf unseren Erziehungsstil zu achten und positive Erziehungsstile zu fördern, die zu einer gesunden Entwicklung beitragen. Negative Erziehungsstile können negative Auswirkungen auf die Entwicklung von Kindern haben.

Was sind Erziehungsstile?

Dr. John Gottman definiert die Erziehungsstile als "die Art und Weise, wie Eltern auf die Emotionen von Kindern reagieren müssen".
Der Erziehungsstil ist ein Handlungsmuster, das wir als Eltern ausführen, und umfasst eine Reihe von Emotionen, Gedanken, Verhaltensweisen und Einstellungen, die Eltern im Zusammenhang mit der Erziehung von Kindern entwickeln. Unser Erziehungsstil ist in einen Prozess sozialer Interaktion eingetaucht und wie er direkt mit der anderen Person interferieren wird.


Warum sind Erziehungsstile für Familien wichtig?

Die Erziehungsstile Sie sind sehr wichtig, weil die Art und Weise, in der Eltern mit ihren Söhnen und Töchtern interagieren, die Grundlage für ihre soziale und emotionale Entwicklung und damit für ihr gegenwärtiges und zukünftiges Wohlbefinden sein wird. Durch die Erziehungsstile fühlt sich das Kind mit sich selbst und mit anderen in einer bestimmten Weise wohl, was für ihre Entwicklung wesentlich ist und auch zukünftige soziale Interaktionen und affektive Beziehungen bestimmt.

Was sind die verschiedenen Erziehungsstile?

Die verschiedenen Erziehungsstile sind durch zwei Hauptfaktoren gekennzeichnet:

1. Sensibilität und Interesse. Es bezieht sich auf die Sensibilität, die Väter und Mütter mit den Gefühlen ihrer Söhne und Töchter zeigen, die Fähigkeit, unsere Kinder emotional zu verstehen und auf ihre Bedürfnisse zu reagieren. Mehr als unsere Sensibilität und unser Interesse ist das Grundlegende, wie das Kind Sensibilität und Interesse wahrnimmt.


2. Nachfrage und Festigkeit Der andere entscheidende Faktor für die Definition der Erziehungsstile ist der Bedarf und die Festigkeit der Eltern in Bezug auf ihre Kinder und ebenso wie der vorherige Faktor, wenn das Kind diese Anforderung wahrnimmt.

Erziehungsstile

- autoritärer Stil. Die Nachfrage und Festigkeit ist sehr hoch und andererseits sind die empfundene Sensibilität und das Interesse nicht immer positiv. Es ist ein Stil, in dem das Kind seine Autonomie nicht entwickeln darf und in dem es manchmal zu viel verlangt.

- Freizügiger Stil. Der freizügige Stil ist in Bezug auf Nachfrage und Festigkeit extrem. Die Nachfrage- und Festigkeitsstufen sind null oder nicht vorhanden. Das Kind braucht Regeln, um zu wissen, was von ihm erwartet wird. Sie nehmen normalerweise ein angemessenes Maß an Sensibilität und Interesse wahr.


- fahrlässiger Stil. Es ist ein Stil, in dem sich die Eltern nicht um ihre Kinder kümmern. Die Nachfrage ist gering und auch die Sensibilität.

- Demokratischer Stil. Der demokratische Stil definiert die Haltung, die den Mittelweg zwischen Forderung und Sensibilität bildet.

Erziehungsstile, die sich negativ auf Kinder auswirken

Erziehungsstile, die sich negativ auf das Verhalten von Kindern auswirken, wären solche, die negative Auswirkungen auf die Entwicklung des Kindes haben.

- autoritärer Stil. Die Anforderung ist zu hoch. Der Junge oder das Mädchen fühlt sich unter Druck gesetzt und nimmt keine Sensibilität wahr. Es kann sich auf Ihr Selbstwertgefühl und die Entwicklung Ihrer Autonomie auswirken. Ein autoritärer Stil kann Kinder zu abhängigen und unsicheren Menschen machen.

- Freizügiger Stil. Das Fehlen von Forderungen wirkt sich auch kontraproduktiv aus. Das Kind wächst auf, ohne gelernt zu haben, Frustration zu ertragen. Er denkt, dass es im Zentrum von allem steht, keine Kritik akzeptiert und Schwierigkeiten hat, sich auf gesunde und ausgewogene Weise zu verständigen.

- fahrlässiger Stil. Es ist der negativste Stil von allen, da die negativen Konsequenzen vorheriger Stile sich entwickeln können.

Ein positiver Erziehungsstil: der demokratische Stil

Der positive Erziehungsstil besteht darin, auf die emotionalen Bedürfnisse von Kindern einzugehen und gleichzeitig positive Disziplin anzuwenden. Es ist ein Stil, der darin besteht, demokratisch die Entscheidungen und Regeln zu vereinbaren, damit die Kinder ihre Autonomie und ihr Vertrauen entwickeln können. Es ist nicht immer einfach, einen positiven Erziehungsstil auszuüben, der Trick besteht darin, nach Gleichgewicht zu suchen.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Klinischer Gesundheitspsychologe. Spezialist für Pädagogik und Kinder- und Jugendpsychologie. Direktor von Educa und Lernen. Autor der Sammlung Regen Lese- und Schreibprozesse an.

Video: Die Erziehungskrise – Ist autoritäre Erziehung (psychische) Misshandlung? (14.12.2017 Nano)


Interessante Artikel

Spielzeug für Kinder von 18 bis 24 Monaten

Spielzeug für Kinder von 18 bis 24 Monaten

Wenn das Kind 18 Monate alt ist, hat es eine vollständige Mobilität, die ihm neue Erkundungsmöglichkeiten in Bezug auf seine Umgebung und größere Unabhängigkeit bietet. Es wird also sein in der Lage,...

Fairplay im Fußball: Freundschaft und Kameradschaft

Fairplay im Fußball: Freundschaft und Kameradschaft

Fußball ist ein Mannschaftssport, der Leidenschaften weckt und Millionen Anhänger auf der ganzen Welt hat. Die FIFA war sich der Popularität dieses Sports bewusst und entwickelte ein Programm mit dem...