Post-traumatic stress: how to overcome

Throughout life, any of us can live an experience that escapes our control, causes us fear and makes us feel terrified and horrified. These experiences can be very varied and traumatic: have a car accident, live a natural disaster, be victims of an assault, etc. are some of them and generate what is known as posttraumatic stress.

Most people, who go through a traumatic situation, end up recomposing themselves from the situation and continue with their lives. However, there are some people that you are traumatic experiences they provoke a series of reactions and symptoms that threaten their well-being and that do not allow them to continue and overcome the lived experience.


What is post-traumatic stress

One person suffers posttraumatic stress when he has experienced or witnessed a traumatic event where his physical integrity or that of others has been threatened and he has felt intense fear and horror.

The symptoms experienced by the person who suffers do not remain here, the person suffering from post-traumatic stress continues to relive the situation through nightmares or intrusive memories that he can not control, avoid all situations that remind him of the event or make him feel like He felt at that moment and lives a whole series of emotional reactions such as being more alert, having frights, etc.

Post-traumatic stress usually appears immediately after the traumatic event, although in some people, the symptoms start appearing after the traumatic experience.


Characteristics of post-traumatic stress

The person who is suffering from post-traumatic stress suffers a series of symptoms that prevent him from leaving the discomfort he feels and that if not treated properly will affect his psychological, emotional and social well-being. Some of these characteristics are:

1. Flashbacks, the person involuntarily relives aspects of the traumatic event in a very real way, acts and feels as if the traumatic situation experienced previously was happening again.

2. Recurring dreams that cause discomfort, revive in the form of nightmares or images the event lived.

3. Avoidance of memories related to trauma, This includes the people and situations associated with the traumatic event. They avoid thinking or talking about the event, they may not even remember important aspects of it.


4. Hyperactivation, these people can be always alert, looking for signs of danger, they startle easily, they feel irritated and they can have difficulties to fall asleep and concentrate.

5. Emotional instability, they have feelings of guilt, loss of interest in activities that they liked, and a decrease in the ability to live and show feelings.

How to overcome post-traumatic stress

Below are some tips that we can put into practice to feel better and be able to overcome:

1. Support, the support of our friends and family is needed, having someone with whom we can talk and express our feelings helps us to cope with the situation.

2. Healthy habits, it is necessary to increase the quality of life, for this it is important to have a good diet, perform activities that we like and keep us busy, exercise and have a good rest.

3. Learn to relax, Relaxation helps us to be less alert and to diminish the physical sensations that provoke anxiety.

4. Positive emotions, It is proven that thinking and feeling positively helps us to overcome trauma beforehand and allows us to find resources to cope with the discomfort.

5. Ask for help, If you can not get out of the situation by yourself, seek help from a professional who can guide and guide you in the recovery process.

Rocío Navarro Psychologist Director of Psicolari, integral psychology

Video: Mental Health Help : How to Overcome PTSD


Interesting Articles

The older brother's example

The older brother's example

With the arrival of new brothers and with the passage of time, the first child becomes the elder brother. It is not an easy role: on the one hand, it will have more freedoms and will be the one that...

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

You are in the tenth week of pregnancy and that means you have two and a half months of pregnancy. It has been a time of constant changes that will now be relieved while others arise. There are only...

Posttraumatischer Stress: Wie überwinden?

Jeder von uns kann im Laufe seines Lebens eine Erfahrung machen, die unserer Kontrolle entgeht, Angst verursacht und uns erschreckt und entsetzt macht. Diese Erlebnisse können sehr abwechslungsreich und traumatisch sein: Autounfall, Naturkatastrophe, Opfer eines Überfalls usw. sind einige von ihnen und erzeugen, was bekannt ist posttraumatischer Stress.

Die meisten Menschen, die sich in einer traumatischen Situation befinden, erneuern sich am Ende der Situation und setzen ihr Leben fort. Es gibt jedoch einige Leute, die Sie sind traumatische erfahrungen Sie provozieren eine Reihe von Reaktionen und Symptomen, die ihr Wohlbefinden gefährden und es ihnen nicht erlauben, die gelebte Erfahrung fortzusetzen und zu überwinden.


Was ist posttraumatischer Stress?

Eine Person leidet posttraumatischer Stress wenn er ein traumatisches Ereignis erlebt oder erlebt hat, bei dem seine körperliche Unversehrtheit oder die von anderen bedroht wurde und er intensive Angst und Entsetzen verspürt hat.

Die Symptome, die der Betroffene erlebt, bleiben nicht hier, der Betroffene erlebt die Situation durch Albträume oder aufdringliche Erinnerungen, die er nicht kontrollieren kann, alle Situationen, die ihn an das Ereignis erinnern, oder lässt ihn fühlen Er fühlte in diesem Moment eine ganze Reihe emotionaler Reaktionen, wie z. B. aufmerksamer zu sein, Angst zu haben usw.

Posttraumatischer Stress tritt normalerweise unmittelbar nach dem traumatischen Ereignis auf, obwohl bei manchen Menschen die Symptome nach dem traumatischen Erlebnis auftreten.


Merkmale von posttraumatischem Stress

Die Person, die an posttraumatischem Stress leidet, leidet an einer Reihe von Symptomen, die sie daran hindern, das Unbehagen zu verlassen, das sie empfindet, und dass, wenn sie nicht ordnungsgemäß behandelt wird, das psychische, emotionale und soziale Wohlbefinden beeinträchtigt wird. Einige dieser Eigenschaften sind:

1. Rückblenden, Die Person erlebt unwillkürlich Aspekte des traumatischen Ereignisses auf sehr reale Weise, handelt und fühlt sich so an, als ob die zuvor erlebte traumatische Situation erneut vor sich ging.

2. wiederkehrende Träume, die Unbehagen verursachen, in Form von Albträumen oder Bildern wiederbeleben, die das Ereignis gelebt hat.

3. Vermeidung von Erinnerungen im Zusammenhang mit Traumata Dies umfasst die Personen und Situationen, die mit dem traumatischen Ereignis verbunden sind. Sie vermeiden, über das Ereignis nachzudenken oder darüber zu sprechen, sie erinnern sich möglicherweise nicht einmal an wichtige Aspekte des Ereignisses.


4. HyperaktivierungDiese Menschen können immer wachsam sein, nach Anzeichen von Gefahr Ausschau halten, erschrecken leicht, fühlen sich irritiert und können Schwierigkeiten haben, einzuschlafen und sich zu konzentrieren.

5. Emotionale Instabilität Sie haben Schuldgefühle, den Verlust des Interesses an Aktivitäten, die sie mochten, und eine Abnahme der Fähigkeit, zu leben und Gefühle zu zeigen.

Wie kann posttraumatischer Stress überwunden werden?

Nachfolgend einige Tipps, die wir in die Praxis umsetzen können, um uns besser zu fühlen und überwinden zu können:

1. UnterstützungDie Unterstützung unserer Freunde und Familie ist notwendig, jemanden zu haben, mit dem wir unsere Gefühle sprechen und ausdrücken können, hilft uns, mit der Situation fertig zu werden.

2. Gesunde Gewohnheiten, es ist notwendig, die Lebensqualität zu verbessern, dafür ist es wichtig, eine gute Diät zu haben, Tätigkeiten auszuführen, die wir mögen, uns zu beschäftigen, sich zu bewegen und sich gut zu erholen.

3. lernen sich zu entspannen, Entspannung hilft uns, weniger wach zu sein und die körperlichen Empfindungen zu reduzieren, die Angst auslösen.

4. Positive Emotionen Es ist erwiesen, dass positives Denken und Fühlen uns hilft, Traumata im Voraus zu überwinden und Ressourcen zu finden, um mit dem Unbehagen fertig zu werden.

5. Bitten Sie um Hilfe, Wenn Sie die Situation nicht selbst verlassen können, suchen Sie Hilfe von einem Fachmann, der Sie im Wiederherstellungsprozess begleiten kann.

Rocío Navarro Psychologe Direktor von Psicolari, integrale Psychologie

Video: Posttraumatische Belastungsstörung - Tipp wie du JEDES Trauma AUFLÖSEN kannst!


Interessante Artikel

Wie können Kinder zum Lernen motiviert werden?

Wie können Kinder zum Lernen motiviert werden?

Beim Betreten eines Klassenzimmers für frühkindliche Erziehung wird leicht wahrgenommen, dass Jungen und Mädchen in den ersten Schuljahren durch eine Vielzahl von Aktivitäten lernen, in denen es...