Education or genetics: what makes an intelligent child?

What makes an intelligent child? Is there a key to one person being smarter than another? There will be those who think not because intelligence is directly related to the genetic characteristics of the child. There will also be those who think that, as much, it will be possible to vary according to the role of parents in the education of their children and the way in which they encourage the development of their children's intelligence, through stimulation and other learning. .

But nevertheless, Scientific America offers an interesting theory that rElect the care of children with intelligence that they come to develop. This publication ensures that intelligence and care are directly related and, according to this hypothesis, our greater intellectual capacities are directly linked to another of the intrinsic characteristics of the human being: his greater helplessness when he is a baby.


The evolutionary explanation of intelligence

Scientific America refers to the hypothesis that Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences in one of his studies in which they refer to the pressures that the human being has had throughout his evolution. In this sense, the first men had to face the problems of selection both for their large brains and for the ability to walk upright.

At this point, the larger brains needed a wider pelvis to give birth, at the same time the fact of being bipedal limited the size of this area of ​​the body. These opposing pressures may have meant that females were born prematurely, when babies' skulls are still small. That is, women gave birth to more defenseless and weak children since they arrived in the world before the pregnancy ended.


This is where the researchers of this study raise this theory: the increased demand for care of these pups imposed on the parents a new evolutionary pressure that forced the human being to develop a greater intelligence to meet all these needs that arose. This in turn led to the need for earlier births, and that led to children being born more defenseless, which required greater intellectual skills in adults.

Greater intelligence is related to defenseless babies

The theory proposed by this work is clear: a superior intelligence should be associated with defenseless newborns. For this reason they wanted to test this hypothesis in other primates to verify to what extent this maxim is related to other hominids.

In order to carry out this check, they were set at the weaning of the offspring of said species.


The results of this work proved that a later weaning was synonymous with primates that had demonstrated greater intelligence in previous studies. This study even ensures that the helplessness of newborns was a greater predictor of intelligence than the size of the brain. According to the authors, it is more important how this body is organized than its volume.

The opinion of other authors

As in all theory there are always authors who try to refute it. This hypothesis has not been the exception and there are several people who find it wrong. This is the case of the anthropologist Dean Falk who maintains that when the human being began to be biped it brought with it altered motor systems in the brain, which translated into a greater helplessness of newborns. Falk ensures that this occurred millions of years before our species developed its greater intelligence so there would be no direct relationship between them.

Another anthropologist like Wenda Trevathan of the State University of New Mexico says that this theory greatly simplifies the complexity of human evolution. However, this author has also recognized that the needs of a more intense upbringing in newborn infants in the long term had a great impact on how our species changed. Which according to Trevathan would explain to a large extent what we are today.

Damián Montero

Video: Mom vs. Dad: What Did You Inherit?


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Bildung oder Genetik: Was macht ein intelligentes Kind aus?

Was macht ein intelligentes Kind aus? Gibt es einen Schlüssel für eine Person, die schlauer ist als eine andere? Es wird diejenigen geben, die nicht denken, weil Intelligenz in direktem Zusammenhang mit den genetischen Merkmalen des Kindes steht. Es wird auch diejenigen geben, die der Meinung sind, dass es möglich sein wird, je nach Rolle der Eltern bei der Erziehung ihrer Kinder und der Art und Weise, wie sie die Entwicklung der Intelligenz ihrer Kinder fördern, durch Stimulation und anderes Lernen zu variieren. .

Jedoch Wissenschaftliches Amerika bietet eine interessante Theorie, dass rWählen Sie die Betreuung von Kindern mit Intelligenz dass sie kommen, um sich zu entwickeln. Diese Veröffentlichung stellt sicher, dass Intelligenz und Fürsorge in direktem Zusammenhang stehen, und gemäß dieser Hypothese sind unsere größeren intellektuellen Fähigkeiten direkt mit einem anderen der inhärenten Merkmale des Menschen verbunden: seiner größeren Hilflosigkeit, wenn er ein Baby ist.


Die evolutionäre Erklärung der Intelligenz

Wissenschaftliches Amerika verweist auf die Hypothese, dass Verfahren der National Academy of Sciences in einer seiner Studien, in denen sie sich auf den Druck beziehen, den der Mensch während seiner gesamten Entwicklung hatte. In diesem Sinne mussten sich die ersten Männer mit den Problemen der Auswahl konfrontiert sehen, sowohl wegen ihres großen Gehirns als auch wegen der Fähigkeit, aufrecht zu gehen.

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt brauchten die größeren Gehirne ein breiteres Becken, um gebären zu können, wobei die Tatsache, dass der Zweibeiner die Größe dieser Körperregion einschränkte, gleichzeitig begrenzt war. Diese gegensätzlichen Belastungen haben möglicherweise dazu geführt, dass Frauen zu früh geboren wurden, als die Schädel von Babys noch klein sind. Das heißt, Frauen haben wehrlosere und schwächere Kinder geboren, seit sie vor dem Ende der Schwangerschaft auf der Welt angekommen sind.


Hier bringen die Forscher dieser Studie diese Theorie auf: Die erhöhte Nachfrage nach Pflege dieser Welpen zwang die Eltern zu einem neuen evolutionären Druck, der den Menschen dazu zwang, eine größere Intelligenz zu entwickeln, um all diesen Bedürfnissen gerecht zu werden. Dies wiederum führte zu der Notwendigkeit früherer Geburten, und dies führte dazu, dass Kinder wehrloser geboren wurden, was bei Erwachsenen größere intellektuelle Fähigkeiten erforderte.

Größere Intelligenz bezieht sich auf wehrlose Babys

Die in dieser Arbeit vorgeschlagene Theorie ist klar: Eine überlegene Intelligenz sollte mit wehrlosen Neugeborenen in Verbindung gebracht werden. Aus diesem Grund wollten sie diese Hypothese bei anderen Primaten testen, um zu überprüfen, inwieweit diese Maxime mit anderen Hominiden zusammenhängt.

Um diese Prüfung durchzuführen, wurden sie auf die Entwöhnung der Nachkommen dieser Arten eingestellt.


Die Ergebnisse dieser Arbeit haben gezeigt, dass eine spätere Entwöhnung gleichbedeutend mit Primaten ist, die in früheren Studien eine größere Intelligenz gezeigt hatten. Diese Studie stellt sogar sicher, dass die Hilflosigkeit von Neugeborenen ein besserer Prädiktor für Intelligenz ist als die Größe des Gehirns. Den Autoren zufolge ist es wichtiger, wie dieser Körper organisiert ist als sein Volumen.

Die Meinung anderer Autoren

Wie in jeder Theorie gibt es immer Autoren, die es zu widerlegen versuchen. Diese Hypothese war nicht die Ausnahme und es gibt mehrere Leute, die das falsch finden. Dies ist der Fall des Anthropologen Dean Falk, der behauptet, als der Mensch mit dem Biped begann, brachte er veränderte motorische Systeme im Gehirn mit sich, was zu einer größeren Hilflosigkeit von Neugeborenen führte. Falk stellt sicher, dass dies Millionen von Jahren vor der Entwicklung unserer Spezies stattgefunden hat, bevor die Spezies ihre größere Intelligenz entwickelte, so dass keine direkte Beziehung zwischen ihnen besteht.

Ein anderer Anthropologe wie Wenda Trevathan von der State University von New Mexico sagt, dass diese Theorie die Komplexität der menschlichen Evolution stark vereinfacht. Dieser Autor hat jedoch auch erkannt, dass die Erfordernisse einer intensiveren Erziehung bei Neugeborenen langfristig einen großen Einfluss auf die Veränderung unserer Spezies hatten. Was laut Trevathan das, was wir heute sind, weitgehend erklären würde.

Damián Montero

Video: Bestimmt deine Herkunft deine Intelligenz?


Interessante Artikel

Vermeiden Sie Betrug im Sprachunterricht

Vermeiden Sie Betrug im Sprachunterricht

Der Verband der Sprachunterrichtszentren der Autonomen Gemeinschaft Madrid (ACEDIM) hat begonnen Kampagne zur Vermeidung von Betrug in SprachunterrichtszentrenBesonders im Sommer eine der...

Die 15 Hauptziele der Eltern

Die 15 Hauptziele der Eltern

Wenn ein Jahr endet und das nächste Jahr beginnt, setzen wir uns alle eine Reihe von Zielen, die uns zu besseren Menschen machen. Als Eltern führen wir auch eine Reflexion durch, um eine Liste guter...

Was tun, wenn Ihr Kind Fieber hat?

Was tun, wenn Ihr Kind Fieber hat?

Während des Winters sind häufige Temperaturschwankungen, die Viruskrankheiten bei den Kindern des Hauses begünstigen. Sie sind typisch für den Winter, einige Erkrankungen wie Erkältungen, Grippe,...