42.3% of seniors prefer to live at home rather than with their children

There comes an age when people become somewhat more dependent. Whether due to illness or due to the aches and pains of years, the truth is that there is a moment in life when we see how close and dear people, like our parents or in-laws, begin to lose faculties ... and we have to decide. Do we take them home with our family? According to a recent study, almost half of the elderly do not want this option: they prefer to continue living in their own home.

Specific, the report of the Obra Social "la Caixa" and the Gerontological Institute reveals an important change in trend: the 42.3 percent of the older people surveyed prefer to live in their own home, Meanwhile he 4.5 percent refuse to live at home with their children.


The study, which has been titled First people: Caring how we would like to be cared for, also assures that, after the preference of living in the own home, the grandparents would choose a residence for people like them (28.6%) and, at a great distance, an adapted home (7.4%).

Most grandparents refuse to live with their children

It also highlights a significant fact: the 4.5 percent of respondents do not want to live in the children's house, a figure that goes down to the 2 percent in the generation between 55 and 74 years.


The study, coordinated by the two entities mentioned above, aims to be a participatory research on care and dependence on the elderly. To reach their conclusions, a total of 4,784 people have been surveyed, of whom 3,696 were citizens and 1,088 were professionals.

Of the total number of participants in the study, it is noteworthy that one in four cares for some other elderly person, something that occurs mainly in those who are between 35 and 54 years old (38.3%), which would coincide with adults who take care of their parents and older.

The benefits of caring for an elderly person

Although Spaniards prefer not to live in their children's homes when they are elderly, most respondents look after someone who is elderly. What consequences does this have? Asked by the caregivers, 84.1 percent of the respondents talk about emotional benefits thanks to the creation of a "feeling of usefulness and satisfaction". Of course, most mentions as the main opposition that leisure and leisure time is reduced.


The study also wanted to know what is considered good care for an elderly person. In this line, 30.9 percent of the sample believes that the most important thing is to have time to devote to the person in question. The second most mentioned option has been to have support and professional services (26.7 percent), followed by training (22.8 percent) and have information and advice.

Non-professional care for the elderly

These needs mentioned by the respondents are more important than it may seem. This is recalled by the report, which states that in Spain there are 4.4 million people who perform non-professional care tasks in the domestic sphere. Of these, it is estimated that more than 700,000 are over 65 years old.

"They are joined by hundreds of thousands of women who perform paid care tasks from their position as domestic workers", add the report in this same line.
To conclude, a note of the future: by 2050 it is estimated that in Spain there will be twice as many older people: a total of 16 million. Of these, almost half will be over 80 years old. Likewise, it is estimated that by the middle of this century there will be more than 172,000 people with more than one hundred years of life, which is 13 times more than at present.

Damián Montero

Video: Soulmate Full Length Film


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

42,3% der Senioren leben lieber zu Hause als mit ihren Kindern

Es gibt ein Zeitalter, in dem Menschen etwas abhängiger werden. Ganz gleich, ob aufgrund von Krankheiten oder aufgrund jahrelanger Schmerzen und Schmerzen, die Wahrheit ist, dass es einen Moment im Leben gibt, in dem wir sehen, wie nahe und liebe Menschen, wie unsere Eltern oder Schwiegereltern, ihre Fähigkeiten verlieren ... und wir müssen entscheiden Nehmen wir sie mit unserer Familie mit nach Hause? Einer aktuellen Studie zufolge will fast die Hälfte der älteren Menschen diese Option nicht: Sie ziehen es vor, weiterhin in ihrem eigenen Zuhause zu leben.

Insbesondere der Bericht des Obra Social "la Caixa" und des Gerontologischen Instituts zeigt eine wichtige Trendänderung: die 42,3 Prozent der Befragten leben lieber in ihrem eigenen Zuhausewährend der 4,5 Prozent weigern sich, mit ihren Kindern zu Hause zu leben.


Die Studie, die betitelt wurde Erste Leute: Kümmern uns darum, wie wir betreut werden möchtenversichert auch, dass die Großeltern, nachdem sie es vorgezogen haben, im eigenen Heim zu wohnen, eine wählen würden Wohnsitz für Menschen wie sie (28,6%) und in großer Entfernung ein angepasstes Zuhause (7,4%).

Die meisten Großeltern weigern sich, mit ihren Kindern zu leben

Es zeigt auch eine wichtige Tatsache: die 4,5 Prozent der Befragten möchten nicht im Kinderhaus wohneneine Figur, die bis in die 2 Prozent in der Generation zwischen 55 und 74 Jahren.


Die Studie, die von den beiden oben genannten Einrichtungen koordiniert wird, zielt auf eine partizipative Erforschung der Pflege und der Abhängigkeit von älteren Menschen ab. Insgesamt wurden 4.784 Personen befragt, davon 3.696 Bürger und 1.088 Fachleute.

Bei der Gesamtzahl der Teilnehmer an der Studie ist es bemerkenswert, dass jeder Vierte sich um einen anderen älteren Menschen kümmert, was vor allem bei Personen zwischen 35 und 54 Jahren (38,3%) der Fall ist, die mit Erwachsenen zusammenfallen würden die sich um ihre Eltern und ältere kümmern.

Die Vorteile der Pflege einer älteren Person

Obwohl die Spanier es vorziehen, im Alter nicht älter zu werden, kümmern sich die meisten Befragten um einen älteren Menschen. Welche Konsequenzen hat das? Nach Befragung der Betreuungspersonen sprechen 84,1 Prozent der Befragten über emotionale Vorteile, da sie ein "Gefühl der Nützlichkeit und Zufriedenheit" schaffen. Natürlich wird in den meisten Fällen als Hauptwiderspruch erwähnt, dass Freizeit und Freizeit reduziert werden.


Die Studie wollte auch wissen, was als gute Pflege für eine ältere Person angesehen wird. In dieser Hinsicht glauben 30,9 Prozent der Stichprobe, dass es am wichtigsten ist, Zeit zu haben, um sich der betreffenden Person zu widmen. Die zweitwichtigste Option war die Unterstützung und professionelle Dienstleistungen (26,7 Prozent), gefolgt von Schulungen (22,8 Prozent) sowie Informationen und Ratschläge.

Nicht-professionelle Pflege für ältere Menschen

Diese von den Befragten genannten Bedürfnisse sind wichtiger als es scheinen mag. Daran erinnert der Bericht, der besagt, dass es in Spanien 4,4 Millionen Menschen gibt, die nicht-professionelle Pflegeaufgaben im häuslichen Bereich ausführen. Schätzungen zufolge sind mehr als 700.000 über 65 Jahre alt.

"Sie werden von Hunderttausenden Frauen begleitet, die aus ihrer Position als Hausangestellte bezahlte Pflegeaufgaben übernehmen", fügt der Bericht in derselben Zeile hinzu.
Abschließend noch ein Hinweis auf die Zukunft: Bis 2050 wird es in Spanien doppelt so viele ältere Menschen geben: insgesamt 16 Millionen. Davon wird fast die Hälfte über 80 Jahre alt sein. Es wird geschätzt, dass es bis zur Mitte dieses Jahrhunderts mehr als 172.000 Menschen mit mehr als hundert Lebensjahren geben wird, was 13-mal mehr ist als derzeit.

Damián Montero

Video: Die Armuts-Rentner [Dokumentation deutsch]


Interessante Artikel

Spanien, am Ende Europas in Muttermilchbanken

Spanien, am Ende Europas in Muttermilchbanken

Spanien ist eines der europäischen Länder mit weniger Muttermilchbanken, da es nur sechs hat, eine Zahl deutlich unter Frankreich, dem Vereinigten Königreich oder den nordischen Ländern, die die...