Pregorexia: the fear of gaining weight in pregnancy

Staying thin during pregnancy is an obsession that affects more and more women, although it goes directly against the laws of nature. Weight gain in pregnancy is necessary for the good health of both mother and baby, and yet a new eating disorder is breaking into the pregnant women's world: pregorexia or the fear of gaining weight in pregnancy.

Show off oneextreme thinness during pregnancy, as in the case of some celebrities, has led to a new eating disorder, known as pregorexia, which is directly related to the fear of getting fat. Despite the recommendations of obstetricians and gynecologists on the importance of a moderate weight gain in pregnancy, there are many women who feel guilty when they see that they lose the line during their pregnancy.


Eating disorders in pregnancy under examination

A study conducted in the United Kingdom on the incidence of eating disorders in pregnancy revealed that 7.6% of the pregnant women studied had symptoms compatible with eating disorders, and 23.4% were very concerned about their weight and your figure.

Another study, on this Australian occasion, found that 41% of pregnant women who do not suffer from anorexia have problems controlling their weight and 20% believe that it is during this stage of their life when they are most concerned about their weight and diet.

In Paris, another study was conducted on eating disorders during pregnancy, involving 250 women from the maternity ward of a Parisian hospital. This research showed that pregnant women want to control what they eat so as not to gain too much weight (since after delivery it is very difficult to get rid of those extra kilos) and also to cover the nutritional needs of the baby. Thus, for many it is about reaching the balance between their own needs and those of the baby, which can not be diagnosed as pathology.


However, it is estimated that, in general, 30% of pregnant women do not gain weight correctly, although an exact percentage can not be determined to the so-called pregorexia.

Symptoms to detect pregorexia

Dr. Fulvia Mancini, medical manager of Clínicas Eva in Catalonia, has observed some guidelines with which to identify women who suffer pregorexia. "These are women who obsessively count calories, always try to eat alone or skip meals, train excessively and may get vomit." In the first three months of pregnancy, these symptoms can be masked with those of the Gestation: nausea and vomiting, mainly Some women have problems with what type of food and even lose their appetite.

"The normal thing, he adds, is that these patients do not recognize their problem and, in addition, reject the treatment .. It is very rare that they spontaneously admit that they have a problem of eating behavior."


Therefore, it is advisable that "family members and people of the environment of these women are attentive, especially if they have suffered eating disorders, such as anorexia and bulimia." Any change in the relationship with food, the couple or family members they should contact the gynecologist or the GP, the doctor himself should suspect it in a patient who does not increase or lose weight during pregnancy, "says gynecologist Mancini.

Consequences of pregorexia for mother and baby

Pregorexia can result in a risk pregnancy due to inadequate weight and have the following consequences:

For the mother: can develop anemia, bone decalcification, low milk production during postpartum and hair loss, among others.

For the baby: The consequences in the fetus can be very serious. During the first trimester, if the patient does not take vitamin supplements, the risk of neural tube changes such as spina bifida increases. It also increases the rate of spontaneous abortion. During the second and third trimesters, the risk of premature birth, intrauterine growth retardation, mental retardation or cerebral palsy, bone, digestive or cardiovascular malformations increases. In very serious cases, intrauterine death can be reached.

Weight gain in pregnancy

The weight gain in pregnancy should be progressive and maintaining good maternal nutrition during the nine months guarantees a healthy pregnancy for both the mother and the baby. This weight gain in pregnancy is directly related to the constitution of the mother, always taking into account the maxim that "you do not have to eat for two, but you have to eat better."

Thus, we must gain "the number of kilos appropriate for the body mass itself.If this is done correctly, once it has given birth, the weight loss is fast and physiological, that is, you will not have to do strict diets, or go hungry, "says the gynecologist.

But how many kilos should a woman increase during her pregnancy?

1. A woman with low weight: the normal thing is that it gains between 13 and 18 kg.

2. An obese woman: between 5 and 9 kg.

3. A woman with normal weight: the standard is between 11 and 16 kg.

These values ​​change if the pregnancy is twins.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Advice: Dr. Fulvia Mancini. Gynecologist and Medical Responsible of Eva Clinics in Catalonia.

Video: Weight gain during pregnancy after an eating disorder...


Interesting Articles

Skoda Fabia Combi. Capable and orderly

Skoda Fabia Combi. Capable and orderly

We only need to look inside our vehicle to know what kind of family we are and how much we store in the car. The new Fabia Combi adapts to our needs and prepares for the arrival of suitcases, drinks...

Generosity, tricks to teach children

Generosity, tricks to teach children

Teaching a child to be generous is not easy, especially considering that children are in a stage of natural selfishness and do not know how to put themselves in the place of those around them. These...

Drug treatment treatments: when are they necessary?

Drug treatment treatments: when are they necessary?

When parents discover that their children are using drugs, initial reactions often include feelings of guilt, anger, shame or even not wanting to accept reality. In the middle of this gale of...

Pregorexie: die Angst vor einer Gewichtszunahme in der Schwangerschaft

Dünn bleiben während der Schwangerschaft ist eine Obsession, von der immer mehr Frauen betroffen sind, obwohl sie direkt gegen die Naturgesetze verstößt. Eine Gewichtszunahme in der Schwangerschaft ist für die Gesundheit von Mutter und Baby notwendig, und dennoch bricht eine neue Essstörung in die Welt der schwangeren Frauen ein: Pregorexie oder die Angst vor Gewichtszunahme in der Schwangerschaft.

Führen Sie einen vorextrem dünn während der Schwangerschafthat, wie einige Prominente, zu einer neuen Essstörung geführt, die als bekannt ist Pregorexie, was direkt mit der Angst vor dem Fettwerden zusammenhängt. Trotz der Empfehlungen von Geburtshelfern und Gynäkologen bezüglich der Wichtigkeit einer moderaten Gewichtszunahme in der Schwangerschaft gibt es viele Frauen, die sich schuldig fühlen, wenn sie sehen, dass sie während der Schwangerschaft die Linie verlieren.


Essstörungen in der untersuchten Schwangerschaft

Eine im Vereinigten Königreich durchgeführte Studie zur Inzidenz von Essstörungen in der Schwangerschaft ergab, dass 7,6% der untersuchten Schwangeren Symptome hatten, die mit Essstörungen vereinbar waren, und 23,4% waren sehr besorgt Gewicht und Ihre Figur.

Bei einer anderen australischen Studie wurde festgestellt, dass 41% der schwangeren Frauen, die nicht an Magersucht leiden, Probleme haben, ihr Gewicht zu kontrollieren.

In Paris wurde eine weitere Studie zu Essstörungen während der Schwangerschaft mit 250 Frauen aus der Entbindungsstation eines Pariser Krankenhauses durchgeführt. Diese Forschung zeigte, dass schwangere Frauen kontrollieren wollen, was sie essen, um nicht zu viel zuzunehmen (da es nach der Geburt sehr schwierig ist, diese zusätzlichen Kilos loszuwerden) und auch die Ernährungsbedürfnisse des Babys decken. Für viele geht es darum, das Gleichgewicht zwischen den eigenen Bedürfnissen und denen des Babys zu erreichen, die nicht als Pathologie diagnostiziert werden können.


Es wird jedoch geschätzt, dass im Allgemeinen 30% der schwangeren Frauen nicht richtig an Gewicht zunehmen, obwohl ein genauer Prozentsatz für die sogenannten nicht bestimmt werden kann Pregorexie.

Symptome, um Pregorexie zu erkennen

Dr. Fulvia Mancini, Ärztliche Leiterin von Clínicas Eva in Katalonien, hat einige Richtlinien beachtet, anhand derer Frauen identifiziert werden können, die leiden Pregorexie. "Dies sind Frauen, die obsessiv Kalorien zählen, immer versuchen, alleine zu essen oder Mahlzeiten auszulassen, zu viel trainieren und möglicherweise Erbrechen bekommen." Schwangerschaft: Übelkeit und Erbrechen, hauptsächlich Einige Frauen haben Probleme mit welcher Art von Essen und verlieren sogar ihren Appetit.

"Normalerweise fügt er hinzu, dass diese Patienten ihr Problem nicht erkennen und außerdem die Behandlung ablehnen. Es ist sehr selten, dass sie spontan zugeben, dass sie ein Problem mit dem Essverhalten haben."


Daher ist es ratsam, dass "Familienmitglieder und Personen des Umfelds dieser Frauen aufmerksam sind, insbesondere wenn sie an Essstörungen wie Anorexie und Bulimie leiden." Sie sollten sich mit dem Frauenarzt oder dem Hausarzt in Verbindung setzen, der Arzt selbst sollte es bei einem Patienten vermuten, der während der Schwangerschaft nicht zunimmt oder abnimmt ", sagt der Frauenarzt Mancini.

Folgen einer Pregorexie für Mutter und Kind

Pregorexie kann aufgrund von unzureichendem Gewicht zu einer Risikoschwangerschaft führen und folgende Konsequenzen haben:

Für die mutter: kann unter anderem Anämie, Knochenentkalkung, geringe Milchproduktion während der Geburt und Haarausfall entwickeln.

Für das Baby: Die Folgen beim Fötus können sehr ernst sein. Wenn der Patient im ersten Trimenon keine Vitaminpräparate einnimmt, steigt das Risiko von Neuralrohrveränderungen wie Spina bifida. Es erhöht auch die Rate der spontanen Abtreibung. Während des zweiten und dritten Trimesters steigt das Risiko einer Frühgeburt, einer intrauterinen Wachstumsretardierung, einer geistigen Retardierung oder einer Zerebralparese, von Knochen, Verdauungsstörungen oder kardiovaskulären Fehlbildungen. In sehr schweren Fällen kann ein intrauteriner Tod erreicht werden.

Gewichtszunahme in der Schwangerschaft

Die Gewichtszunahme in der Schwangerschaft sollte progressiv sein und die Aufrechterhaltung einer guten mütterlichen Ernährung während der neun Monate garantiert eine gesunde Schwangerschaft sowohl für die Mutter als auch für das Baby. Diese Gewichtszunahme während der Schwangerschaft hängt direkt mit der Konstitution der Mutter zusammen, wobei immer die Maxime berücksichtigt wird, dass "Sie nicht für zwei Personen essen müssen, aber Sie müssen besser essen."

Daher müssen wir die für die Körpermasse selbst geeignete Kilogrammmenge gewinnen.Wenn dies richtig gemacht wird, ist der Gewichtsverlust nach der Geburt schnell und physiologisch, das heißt, Sie müssen keine strengen Diäten machen oder hungern, "sagt der Frauenarzt.

Aber wie viel Kilogramm sollte eine Frau während der Schwangerschaft aufbauen?

1. Eine Frau mit geringem Gewicht: Normalerweise nimmt es zwischen 13 und 18 kg zu.

2. Eine fettleibige Frau: zwischen 5 und 9 kg.

3. Eine Frau mit normalem Gewicht: Der Standard liegt zwischen 11 und 16 kg.

Diese Werte ändern sich, wenn die Schwangerschaft Zwillinge ist.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Hinweis: Dr. Fulvia Mancini. Gynäkologe und medizinische Verantwortliche von Eva Clinics in Katalonien.

Video: MAGERSUCHT - Youtuberin HUNGERT sich zu TODE ????????


Interessante Artikel

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Das An- und Ausziehen Ihres Babys ist eine Aufgabe, die Sie fast mit geschlossenen Augen erledigen müssen. Zu Beginn kann es jedoch kompliziert sein, vor allem wenn Sie ein neues Elternteil sind. Die...