Limits on education: why should we set standards for children?

The limits are like a road map that we offer to our children. As they grow, they learn through limits: what is "yes", what is "no" and what is "you choose", because there are things that are optional. The limits do not force the person, the limits mark routes. They are maps, and one can take one route or another, but the important thing is to know that there are different routes and that child, from our hand, will learn to decide with daily practice, guided by us.

Of all the series of skills, strategies and knowledge that we acquire throughout life, there are some fundamentals: the rules of coexistence and social relationship, which are, neither more nor less, the limits that we encounter every day. All of us, as adults, have limits to function. If you want to drive 140 km / h on a city street, you will meet someone who is going to fine you; If you want to get to the office at any time, surely someone will tell you what day you do not have to return, etc.


Why should we set limits and standards for our children?

The limits give children many positive qualities:

1. Security A child learns to walk through life knowing what he can do and what he can not do; what is allowed and what is not allowed You have to know, in addition, that children will try to pass that limit because it is a way of knowing what it is. And he's going to check if what we told him we did afterwards. If I start to leave because I'm tired, because I do not feel like it, because my head hurts, because "well, tomorrow I talk to him", in reality, the message is "mom or dad says you do not play, but you can play " Children do not learn with words, they learn with behaviors.


Loading the video ....

2. Protection. Children learn early on that if an adult takes the trouble to explain, to punish him, to expect him to comply, to get him out of trouble, to explain to him again ... it is because he wants to protect him. Obviously, they will not say it with words: "Thanks, mom, for leaving me without television because I know you want to protect me." That is why, through repetition, over the years they understand it.

3. Facing social situations successfully. The limits make children more successful in different social situations, because something that limits teach is to respect the right of the other. We, when we limit our children, we teach them that there is a point for everything, and that when we try to pass that barrier, we find the rights of another, that we should not invade.


4. Development of a high self-esteem. Self-esteem is how we see ourselves, how we love each other, how much we love each other and how we value what we are and what we do.

5. Self-control They learn the responsibility of their own behavior, they learn to function knowing that one does something and everything that one does has its consequence. And since they learn that at home, outside the home they do not find it strange, and they learn to accept responsibility for their actions. All our choices have their consequences; Sometimes, we make mistakes when choosing, and it also has its consequences.

6. Moral development. Knowing how the world works, knowing where a person's rights start, where my rights end, what I can do and what I can not do, good things and bad things, things allowed and things not allowed, is fundamental to moral development.

Ignacio Iturbe

Video: Good boundaries free you | Sarri Gilman | TEDxSnoIsleLibraries


Interesting Articles

The older brother's example

The older brother's example

With the arrival of new brothers and with the passage of time, the first child becomes the elder brother. It is not an easy role: on the one hand, it will have more freedoms and will be the one that...

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

You are in the tenth week of pregnancy and that means you have two and a half months of pregnancy. It has been a time of constant changes that will now be relieved while others arise. There are only...

Grenzen der Bildung: Warum sollten wir Standards für Kinder setzen?

Die Grenzen sind wie eine Straßenkarte, die wir unseren Kindern anbieten. Wenn sie wachsen, lernen sie durch Grenzen: Was ist "Ja", Was ist "Nein" und Was ist "Sie wählen", weil es Dinge gibt, die optional sind. Die Grenzen zwingen die Person nicht, die Grenzen markieren die Routen. Es sind Karten, und man kann die eine oder andere Route nehmen, aber das Wichtigste ist, das zu wissen Es gibt verschiedene Wege und dieses Kind wird aus unserer Hand lernen, mit der von uns geleiteten täglichen Praxis zu entscheiden.

Von allen Fertigkeiten, Strategien und Kenntnissen, die wir im Laufe des Lebens erwerben, gibt es einige Grundlagen: die Regeln des Zusammenlebens und der sozialen Beziehung, das sind nicht mehr und weniger die Grenzen, denen wir täglich begegnen. Wir alle haben als Erwachsene Grenzen, um zu funktionieren. Wenn Sie auf einer Stadtstraße 140 km / h fahren möchten, treffen Sie jemanden, der Sie bestraft. Wenn Sie jederzeit ins Büro kommen möchten, wird Ihnen sicherlich jemand sagen, an welchem ​​Tag Sie nicht zurückkehren müssen, usw.


Warum sollten wir unseren Kindern Grenzen und Standards setzen?

Die Grenzen geben Kindern viele positive Eigenschaften:

1. Sicherheit Ein Kind lernt, durch das Leben zu gehen und zu wissen, was es kann und was nicht. was ist erlaubt und was ist nicht erlaubt Sie müssen außerdem wissen, dass Kinder versuchen, diese Grenze zu überschreiten, weil dies eine Möglichkeit ist, zu wissen, was es ist. Und er wird prüfen, ob das, was wir ihm gesagt haben, wir danach getan haben. Wenn ich anfange zu gehen, weil ich müde bin, weil ich mich nicht danach fühle, weil mein Kopf schmerzt, denn "Nun, morgen spreche ich mit ihm", in Wirklichkeit lautet die Nachricht "Mama oder Papa sagt, Sie spielen nicht, aber Sie können spielen " Kinder lernen nicht mit Worten, sie lernen mit Verhalten.


Video wird geladen ....

2. Schutz. Kinder lernen früh, dass, wenn ein Erwachsener sich die Mühe macht, zu erklären, ihn zu bestrafen, von ihm zu erwarten, dass er sich einverstanden erklärt, ihn aus Schwierigkeiten herausbringt, ihn wieder zu erklären ... weil er ihn beschützen will. Offensichtlich werden sie es nicht mit Worten sagen: "Danke, Mama, dass du mich ohne Fernsehen verlassen hast, weil ich weiß, dass du mich beschützen willst." Deshalb verstehen sie es durch Wiederholung im Laufe der Jahre.

3. Sozialen Situationen erfolgreich begegnen. Die Grenzen machen Kinder in verschiedenen sozialen Situationen erfolgreicher, denn etwas, das Grenzen unterrichten, besteht darin, das Recht des anderen zu respektieren. Wenn wir unsere Kinder einschränken, lehren wir sie, dass für alles ein Punkt besteht, und wenn wir versuchen, diese Barriere zu überwinden, finden wir die Rechte eines anderen, auf das wir nicht eindringen dürfen.


4. Entwicklung eines hohen Selbstwertgefühls. Selbstwertgefühl ist, wie wir uns selbst sehen, wie wir uns lieben, wie sehr wir uns lieben und wie wir schätzen, was wir sind und was wir tun.

5. Selbstkontrolle Sie lernen die Verantwortung für ihr eigenes Verhalten, sie lernen zu funktionieren und wissen, dass man etwas tut und alles, was man tut, hat seine Konsequenz. Und da sie das zu Hause lernen, finden sie es außerhalb des Hauses nicht seltsam und sie lernen, Verantwortung für ihr Handeln zu übernehmen. Alle unsere Entscheidungen haben ihre Konsequenzen. Manchmal machen wir Fehler bei der Auswahl, und das hat auch Konsequenzen.

6. Moralische Entwicklung. Zu wissen, wie die Welt funktioniert, zu wissen, wo die Rechte eines Menschen beginnen, wo meine Rechte enden, was ich tun kann und was ich nicht tun kann, gute und schlechte Dinge, erlaubte Dinge und nicht erlaubte Dinge, ist von grundlegender Bedeutung moralische Entwicklung.

Ignacio Iturbe

Video: Der Wahnsinn mit der "Atomaren Abschreckung" - Peter Haisenko bei SteinZeit


Interessante Artikel