Allergy cases increase in children due to climate change

The increase of the generalized temperature in all the seasons, due to the climatic change has increased the cases of allergy to the pollen in smaller and smaller children, according to has alerted the Spanish Society of Clinical Immunology, Allergology and Pediatric Asthma (SEICAP).

The cause is the rise in average temperatures, which lengthens the pollination seasons and intensifies them, which is causing an increase in the predisposition to suffer allergies in children that are getting smaller and smaller.

World Allergy Week: pollen and climate change

On the occasion of the celebration of the World Week of Allergy that this year is celebrated from April 4 to 10, the Working Group of Respiratory Allergy of the SEICAP wants to pay special attention to the group of allergies caused by pollen and climate change , and for this it offers a list of tips to start a treatment.


The pollinosis or pollen allergy manifests itself in the form of rhinitis, conjunctivitis and asthma, "because of the exaggerated reaction of the mucosa of the respiratory tract to the contact or inhalation of pollen," says Dr. Javier Torres, coordinator of the Group of Respiratory Allergy Work of the SEICAP. The most frequent symptoms are nasal, ocular, pharyngeal pruritus, on the palate; tearing sneezing secretion and nasal obstruction; cough or bronchial obstruction.

The treatment can be symptomatic with antihistamines or inhaled bronchodilators or anti-inflammatory when there is inflammation of the nasal or bronchial mucosa. "That is why it is convenient to use corticosteroids in a preventive way from the beginning of spring until the end," Dr. Torres points out. These drugs only treat the symptoms, "so they must be combined with specific immunotherapy by vaccines that contain proteins from pollen and whose function is to immunize the child so that they need less medication, it is the only cure," he adds. To obtain the best results, and to be done in a personalized way for each specific case, "it is essential that children with spring allergy symptoms are treated by pediatric allergists," he adds.


Pollen allergy and global warming

A Spanish study published in March in the magazine Environmental Monitoring and Assessment concludes that the highest concentrations of pollen are recorded between February and June, which is why they are the most critical months for allergic people. "In fact, it is at this time when the visits to the emergency room for children due to an asthma crisis increase," emphasizes Dr. Javier Torres, coordinator of the Respiratory Allergy Work Group of the SEICAP. One in five children between 13 and 14 years old worldwide suffer pollen allergy, according to the International Study of Asthma and Allergy in Children (ISAAC). "However, there are more and more cases of positive tests with only three years," he stresses.

The warming of the earth's surface "is responsible for the increase in the density of plant species in some areas, the amount of pollen produced by each and the lengthening of the pollination season," says Dr. Torres. Thus, during the spring, pollinate the majority of plants that produce allergy. However, "due to climate change many advance or even extend it during the summer," he says. A recent Australian research published in Current Opinion in Allergy and Clinical Immunology confirms that the rise of temperatures, precipitation and more extreme weather allow for longer pollination seasons, which results in greater exposure of these allergens.


Pollution and increased allergies

A review of studies published in December in the journal Multidisciplinary Respiratory Medicine emphasizes that urbanization, high levels of vehicle emissions and westernized lifestyle are related to a higher frequency of respiratory allergy, especially in people living in urban areas. "There are a number of multifactorial causes, such asl climate change, new lifestyles, excessive hygiene, that are causing, not only an increase in childhood allergies to pollen, but in general. In fact, it is significant the increase of those caused by food, or rhinitis and asthma, "warns Dr. Torres According to data from the SEICAP, allergic rhinitis affects one in three children, while asthma suffer one of every ten.

Another factor to consider is the contamination from the combustion of diesel, which worsens the symptoms of children with allergic rhinitis or asthma. "It multiplies the irritation of the airways and favors its inflammation, potentiate the allergenic action of the pollens and facilitate the accumulation of mucus," he says.

Advice for children allergic to pollen

The Respiratory Allergy Working Group of the Spanish Society of Clinical Immunology, Allergology and Pediatric Asthma has developed the following Decalogue of Advice for children allergic to pollen:

1. It is not advisable to go to the field, parks, gardens or places with abundant vegetation, between the months of March to May. Areas with grass should be avoided, especially if it is freshly cut.

2. It is recommended to protect the windows or balconies, especially the bedroom of the child, with a very thick lattice of plastic material (mosquito net), which should be cleaned daily with a damp cloth, without shaking.

3. Keep the windows closed or balconies of the minor's bedroom as long as possible, especially at night, when the concentration of atmospheric pollen increases.

4. Two hours before bedtime, with the windows closed, spray water, towards the ceiling, leaving the room closed until bedtime. With this, the pollen that floats in the air is sedimented.

5. On the outside, protect the eyes as much as possible with sunglasses in case of seasonal conjunctivitis, and approved antipolen masks.

6. If traveling by car, keep the windows closed. Check that the anti-pollen filters are in good condition.

7. Remove elements that may accumulate dust or pollen (stuffed animals, carpets, curtains or others). Do the cleaning of the house without shaking, with vacuum cleaner or damp cloth.

8. Consult (press, television, internet) data on pollination. Take precautions when there are more than 50 grains of pollen per cubic millimeter of air, since from that amount can produce symptoms.

9. It is advisable that the child always carries bronchodilators in his backpack during the time of greatest risk. or antihistamines if you have allergy symptoms.

10. Go to the allergist pediatrician in case of persistence of symptoms so that you can make a correct diagnosis and assess the need to perform a personalized treatment with immunotherapy.

Rocío Jiménez
Advice: Doctor Javier Torres. Respiratory Allergy Work Group of the SEICAP

Video: Cracking the peanut allergy | TechKnow


Interesting Articles

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Get a good lactation in the first days after the birth of the baby is the basis of good nutrition. In addition, breastfeeding also creates a very special bond between mothers and children. These two...

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

The large number of different products that exist for babies they force us to be very alert not to make mistakes and regret later. If you are thinking about getting a Changer for your little one, the...

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

When you talk about how important it is eat fruit and vegetables, all nutritionists advise especially take those that are seasonal. However, today in supermarkets you can find practically everything...

Allergiefälle nehmen bei Kindern aufgrund des Klimawandels zu

Der Anstieg der generalisierten Temperatur in allen Jahreszeiten aufgrund der Klimaveränderung hat die Pollenallergie bei immer kleineren Kindern zugenommen, so die spanische Gesellschaft für klinische Immunologie, Allergologie und pädiatrisches Asthma (SEICAP).

Die Ursache ist der Anstieg der Durchschnittstemperaturen, der die Bestäubungsperioden verlängert und sie intensiviert, wodurch die Prädisposition erhöht wird, bei immer kleiner werdenden Kindern Allergien zu leiden.

Weltallergiewoche: Pollen und Klimawandel

Anlässlich der Feier der Weltwoche der Allergie, die in diesem Jahr vom 4. bis 10. April gefeiert wird, möchte die Arbeitsgruppe Atemwegsallergien der SEICAP der durch Pollen und Klimawandel verursachten Allergiegruppe besondere Aufmerksamkeit schenken Hierfür gibt es eine Liste mit Tipps, um eine Behandlung zu beginnen.


Die Pollinose oder Pollenallergie äußert sich in Form von Rhinitis, Konjunktivitis und Asthma, "aufgrund der übertriebenen Reaktion der Schleimhaut der Atemwege auf den Kontakt oder das Inhalieren von Pollen", sagt Dr. Javier Torres, Koordinator der Gruppe Atemwegsallergiearbeit der SEICAP. Die häufigsten Symptome sind am Gaumen Nasal-, Augen-, Rachen-Pruritus; reißen Niesen Sekretion und Nasenverstopfung; Husten oder bronchiale Obstruktion.

Die Behandlung kann symptomatisch mit Antihistaminika oder inhalierten Bronchodilatatoren oder entzündungshemmend sein, wenn eine Entzündung der Nasen- oder Bronchialschleimhaut vorliegt. "Deshalb ist es ratsam, Kortikosteroide vom Frühlingsanfang bis zum Ende präventiv einzusetzen", betont Dr. Torres. Diese Medikamente behandeln nur die Symptome, "also müssen sie mit spezifischen Immuntherapien durch Impfstoffe kombiniert werden, die Proteine ​​aus Pollen enthalten und deren Funktion darin besteht, das Kind zu immunisieren, so dass es weniger Medikamente braucht", fügt er hinzu. Um die besten Ergebnisse zu erzielen und in jedem Einzelfall individuell zu gestalten, "ist es unerlässlich, dass Kinder mit Frühlingsallergiesymptomen von pädiatrischen Allergikern behandelt werden", fügt er hinzu.


Pollenallergie und globale Erwärmung

Eine spanische Studie wurde im März in der Zeitschrift veröffentlicht Umweltüberwachung und -bewertung kommt zu dem Schluss, dass die höchsten Pollenkonzentrationen zwischen Februar und Juni gemessen werden, weshalb sie für Allergiker die kritischsten Monate sind. "In der Tat nehmen zu dieser Zeit die Besuche in der Notaufnahme für Kinder aufgrund einer Asthma-Krise zu", betont Dr. Javier Torres, Koordinator der Arbeitsgruppe "Respiratory Allergy" der SEICAP. Laut der Internationalen Studie für Asthma und Allergie bei Kindern (ISAAC) leidet weltweit jedes fünfte Kind zwischen 13 und 14 Jahren an Pollenallergien. "Es gibt jedoch immer mehr positive Fälle mit nur drei Jahren", betont er.

"Die Erwärmung der Erdoberfläche" ist für die Zunahme der Pflanzendichte in einigen Gebieten, die Menge des erzeugten Pollens und die Verlängerung der Bestäubungsperiode verantwortlich ", sagt Dr. Torres. So bestäuben im Frühling die meisten Pflanzen, die Allergien auslösen. "Allerdings ist es aufgrund des Klimawandels während des Sommers viel vorzuziehen oder sogar auszudehnen", sagt er. Eine kürzlich veröffentlichte australische Studie, die in Current Opinion in Allergy und Clinical Immunology veröffentlicht wurde, bestätigt, dass der Anstieg von Temperaturen, Niederschlag und extremerem Wetter längere Bestäubungsperioden zulässt, was zu einer erhöhten Exposition dieser Allergene führt.


Verschmutzung und erhöhte Allergien

Eine Überprüfung der im Dezember in der Zeitschrift veröffentlichten Studien Multidisziplinäre Atemwegsmedizin betont, dass die Verstädterung, die hohen Fahrzeugemissionen und der westliche Lebensstil mit einer höheren Häufigkeit von Atemwegsallergien zusammenhängen, insbesondere bei Menschen, die in städtischen Gebieten leben. "Es gibt eine Reihe multifaktorieller Ursachen, wie zl Klimawandel, neue Lebensstile, übermäßige Hygiene, das verursacht nicht nur eine Zunahme von Allergien gegen Pollen in der Kindheit, sondern im Allgemeinen. Tatsächlich ist dies ein signifikanter Anstieg der durch Nahrungsmittel, Rhinitis und Asthma verursachten Erkrankungen ", warnt Dr. Torres. Laut Angaben der SEICAP betrifft die allergische Rhinitis jedes dritte Kind, während Asthma darunter leidet einer von zehn.

Ein weiterer zu berücksichtigender Faktor ist die Kontamination durch die Verbrennung von Diesel, die die Symptome von Kindern mit allergischer Rhinitis oder Asthma verschlimmert. "Es vervielfacht die Reizung der Atemwege und begünstigt deren Entzündung, verstärkt die allergene Wirkung der Pollen und erleichtert die Ansammlung von Schleim", sagt er.

Beratung für Kinder, die gegen Pollen allergisch sind

Die Respiratory Allergy-Arbeitsgruppe der spanischen Gesellschaft für klinische Immunologie, Allergologie und pädiatrisches Asthma hat den folgenden Ratgeber für Kinder entwickelt, die gegen Pollen allergisch sind:

1. Es ist nicht ratsam, zum Feld zu gehen, Parks, Gärten oder Orte mit üppiger Vegetation zwischen März und Mai. Bereiche mit Gras sollten vermieden werden, insbesondere wenn es frisch geschnitten wird.

2. Es wird empfohlen, die Fenster oder Balkone zu schützen. vor allem das schlafzimmer des kindes, mit einem sehr dicken gitter aus kunststoffmaterial (moskitonetz), das täglich mit einem feuchten tuch gereinigt werden sollte, ohne zu zittern.

3. Halten Sie die Fenster geschlossen oder Balkone des Schlafzimmers so lange wie möglich, besonders in der Nacht, wenn die Konzentration von atmosphärischem Pollen steigt.

4. Zwei Stunden vor dem Zubettgehen bei geschlossenem Fenster, Spritzwasser, zur Decke, so dass der Raum bis zum Schlafengehen geschlossen bleibt. Damit wird der in der Luft schwebende Pollen sedimentiert.

5. Schützen Sie die Augen außen so gut wie möglich mit einer Sonnenbrille bei saisonaler Konjunktivitis und zugelassenen Antipolenmasken.

6. Wenn Sie mit dem Auto anreisen, halten Sie die Fenster geschlossen. Prüfen Sie, ob die Pollenfilter in gutem Zustand sind.

7. Entfernen Sie Elemente, die Staub oder Pollen ansammeln können (ausgestopfte Tiere, Teppiche, Vorhänge oder andere). Reinigen Sie das Haus ohne zu schütteln, mit einem Staubsauger oder einem feuchten Tuch.

8. Informieren Sie sich (Presse, Fernsehen, Internet) über die Bestäubung. Treffen Sie Vorsichtsmaßnahmen, wenn mehr als 50 Pollen pro Kubikmillimeter Luft vorhanden sind, da ab dieser Menge Symptome auftreten können.

9. Es ist ratsam, dass das Kind in der Zeit des größten Risikos immer Bronchodilatatoren im Rucksack trägt. oder Antihistaminika, wenn Sie Allergiesymptome haben.

10. Gehen Sie zum Allergologen-Kinderarzt bei anhaltenden Symptomen, damit Sie eine korrekte Diagnose stellen und die Notwendigkeit einer personalisierten Behandlung mit Immuntherapie einschätzen können.

Rocío Jiménez
Hinweis: Doktor Javier Torres. Arbeitsgruppe für Atemwegsallergien der SEICAP

Video: Diskussion zu den Vorträgen über antiinflammatorische Diät und Essen wir uns krank?


Interessante Artikel

Trends, um das Zimmer Ihres Babys zu dekorieren

Trends, um das Zimmer Ihres Babys zu dekorieren

Zeichnungen an den Wänden, Kissen mit Formen, Gedichte an der Decke ... machen den Raum der Kleinen zu einem magischen Ort, der Ihre Fantasie anregt! Dort schlafen sie, sie machen ihre Hausaufgaben,...