Lack of sleep causes depression and anxiety

Did you know that a person who lives between 75 and 80 years will have spent about 25 years of his life asleep? The truth is that we have to sleep a considerable proportion of our existence because the lack of sleep and inadequate night rest causes fatigue, drowsiness, decreased attention and concentration, slow thinking and irritability.

From the psychological point of view, the fHigh chronic sleep often promotes the development of depression and anxiety, according to Dr. Juan Pareja Grande, head of the Sleep Unit of the University Hospital Quirónsalud Madrid.

How is normal sleep

It is of little use to sleep eight hours if it is frequently interrupted by alarms that fragment it and, in short, make it unrefreshing, says Dr. Pareja, who assures that a quality dream is continuous, without awakenings and without interruption along the way. night.


A restful sleep helps to recover what was spent throughout the day: "During sleep, metabolites consumed during wakefulness are restored and, in addition, hormones are secreted, such as growth hormone, of great metabolic importance and for the development of the individual. important synaptic circuits are activated for the consolidation of memory and learning and to maintain the synaptic competence of deteriorated or little used systems during wakefulness ".

Tips to improve sleep quality

1. Try to match the time in bed with the time of sleep.


2. The bed is for sleeping, not for being awake and doing wakeful activities (watching television, reading or eating). The reason for this recommendation is that if you stay in bed awake, not only increase frustration and nervousness, but the brain learns that in bed you can be awake and, therefore, insomnia is amplified.

3. Avoid alcohol and stimulants (coffee and others) at night.

4. Maintain stable sleep-wake schedules.

5. Practice sports before 19 o'clock

6. Procure favorable conditions of the room and the bed, both in terms of ambient noise and temperature, as well as the comfort of a mattress, mattress and pillow.

Chronic rest deprivation also has other consequences. For example, apnea is the most frequent cause of nocturnal sleep fragmentation, an important risk factor for hypertension, myocardial infarction and cerebrovascular diseases.


Alberto Bartolomé
Advice: doctor Juan Pareja Grande, responsible for the Sleep Unit of the University Hospital Quirón Salud Madrid.

Video: Anxiety : How to Sleep With Severe Anxiety


Interesting Articles

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Read babies from the cradle: long-term benefits

Of the many studies and figures that there are about reading, there is one in particular that is extraordinarily striking. The difference in the number of words that children of three years know,...

Mangel an Schlaf verursacht Depressionen und Angstzustände

Wussten Sie, dass eine Person, die dazwischen lebt? 75 und 80 Jahre werden ungefähr 25 Jahre seines Lebens im Schlaf verbracht haben? Die Wahrheit ist, dass wir einen beträchtlichen Teil unserer Existenz schlafen müssen, weil der Mangel an Schlaf und unzureichende Nachtruhe Müdigkeit, Schläfrigkeit, verminderte Aufmerksamkeit und Konzentration, langsames Denken und Reizbarkeit verursacht.

Aus psychologischer Sicht ist der fEin hoher chronischer Schlaf fördert oft die Entwicklung von Depressionen und AngstzuständenLaut Dr. Juan Pareja Grande, Leiter der Schlafabteilung des Universitätskrankenhauses Quirónsalud Madrid.

Wie ist normaler Schlaf?

Es macht wenig Sinn, acht Stunden lang zu schlafen, wenn er häufig durch Alarmmeldungen unterbrochen wird, die ihn fragmentieren und kurz gesagt, erfrischend sind, sagt Dr. Pareja, der sichert, dass ein Qualitätstraum ohne Aufwachen und ohne Unterbrechung unterwegs ist. Nacht


Ein erholsamer Schlaf hilft dabei, sich zu erholen, was den ganzen Tag verbracht hat: "Während des Schlafes werden die während des Wachens verbrauchten Stoffwechselprodukte wiederhergestellt und zusätzlich werden Hormone wie Wachstumshormone ausgeschieden, die für die Entwicklung des Individuums von großer Bedeutung sind. Wichtige synaptische Schaltungen werden aktiviert, um das Gedächtnis und das Lernen zu konsolidieren und die synaptische Kompetenz verschlechterter oder wenig genutzter Systeme während des Wachzustandes aufrechtzuerhalten. "

Tipps zur Verbesserung der Schlafqualität

1. Versuchen Sie, die Zeit im Bett an die Schlafzeit anzupassen.


2. Das Bett dient zum Schlafen, nicht zum Aufwachen und Wachen zu tun (Fernsehen, Lesen oder Essen). Der Grund für diese Empfehlung ist, dass, wenn Sie im Bett wach bleiben, nicht nur Frustration und Nervosität zunehmen, sondern dass das Gehirn lernt, dass Sie im Bett wach werden können und dass dadurch Schlaflosigkeit verstärkt wird.

3. Vermeiden Sie Alkohol und Stimulanzien (Kaffee und andere) in der Nacht.

4. Behalten Sie stabile Schlaf-Wach-Zeitpläne bei.

5. Sport treiben vor 19 uhr

6. günstige Bedingungen für das Zimmer und das Bett besorgen, sowohl in Bezug auf Umgebungsgeräusche und Temperatur als auch auf den Komfort einer Matratze, Matratze und Kissen.

Chronischer Ruheentzug hat auch andere Folgen. Beispielsweise ist Apnoe die häufigste Ursache für nächtliche Schlaffragmentierung, ein wichtiger Risikofaktor für Bluthochdruck, Herzinfarkt und zerebrovaskuläre Erkrankungen.


Alberto Bartolomé
Rat: Arzt Juan Pareja Grande, verantwortlich für die Schlafabteilung des Universitätskrankenhauses Quirón Salud Madrid.

Video: Hypnose MP3 - Selbstheilung von Depression und Angst


Interessante Artikel

Die großen Museen von Madrid mit Kindern

Die großen Museen von Madrid mit Kindern

Bevor Sie einen Besuch in den großen Museen von Madrid mit Kindern organisieren, sollten Sie am besten die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten aufzeigen, mit denen Sie dem Besuch begegnen können. Eine...