Varicella cases increased 16% after withdrawal of the vaccine

After almost three years of absence of the varicella vaccine from pharmacies, from the 1st of February the varicella vaccine is already available again in all pharmacies of all the CC AA, as authorized by the Spanish Agency of Medicines and Health Products.

After being introduced last June in the official vaccination calendar by the Ministry of Health, all those children who since 2013 have not been able to get vaccinated against this viral disease that can be prevented, will have access to the vaccine again. Although it is a benign virus, varicella can lead to complications, most occur in healthy children and it is estimated that up to 5% of hospitalizations due to varicella can cause death.


Consequences of the disappearance of the varicella vaccine

The absence of varicella vaccine in pharmacies for almost three years has meant a increase in chickenpox cases by 16 percent during this time.

Dr. Federico Martinón, pediatrician and clinical researcher at the Hospital Clínico Universitario de Santiago has ensured that "a universal vaccination program with two doses that has shown a rapid reduction in the incidence of varicella cases of any severity thus showing a effectiveness of more than 98%. In fact, children who comply with Two doses of the vaccine are 95% less likely to suffer chickenpox, in front of the children who received a single dose ".


Chickenpox in figures

-   More than 200,000 cases a year in Spain before the commercialization of varicella vaccines in our country (1996-2006).

-   Up to 5% of hospitalizations because of chickenpox can cause death.

- Lcomplications and hospitalizations and deaths from varicella-related causes are more frequent in healthy children.

In addition, countries that have implemented universal vaccination against varicella in infants show a decrease in hospitalization rates and costs. For example, in Italy hospitalizations for chicken pox were reduced by almost 75%.

Varicella vaccine survey

The Community blogger Madresfera has reflected, through a survey conducted by Sanofi Pasteur MSD, the main concerns of parents, among which are the supply of vaccine, access to it, the recommended age of vaccination and the provision in its Autonomous Community. 150 families with children between 0 and 15 years old from Spain participated in the survey.


The vaccine against the varicella virus is one of the most worries and doubts generated among the parents.64% of the respondents have expressed a clear concern about the chickenpox vaccine, and 45% lack of knowledge about whether their child is properly vaccinated, por they have not been able to complete the second dose.

Also, among the main concerns expressed include the supply of the vaccine, access to it, the recommended age of vaccination and disposition in its Autonomous Community, as well as knowing if it will be financed by Social Security.

During the time that the varicella vaccine has been outside the pharmacy channel, the 41% of the families interviewed sought it out in private hospitals, 27% traveled to pharmacies in other Autonomous Regions, 9.5% went to other countries such as Portugal, and 6.8% said they had purchased it online.

Varicella vaccine returns

Dr. Federico Martinón, pediatrician and clinical researcher at the University Clinical Hospital of Santiago, notes that "the universal vaccination against varicella of all Spanish infants is excellent news and an important advance in global health for Spain, a disease less than the one worry from now on, and an important source of health savings ".

Since, in 2013, it was decided that the vaccine was only for hospital use, there are many voices that have been raised to make it accessible to everyone in the pharmacy channel; from parents to associations and scientific community. "Currently, as announced by the Ministry of Health, Social Affairs and Equality last summer, the varicella vaccine is included in the vaccination schedule as a routine vaccine, for children between 12 and 15 months, at risk and older groups 12 years who have not suffered from the disease, but all those families who want to acquire it to vaccinate their children who are above that age, may do so at any pharmacy office in Spain for 45.38 € / dose ", added Dr. María Garcés-Sánchez, pediatrician and member of the Vaccine Research Area of ​​the Center for Public Health Research (CSISP) of Valencia.

Some communities, even, will recover children who have been left unvaccinated during the years that the vaccine has been outside the pharmacies, such as Madrid and Castilla y León, while others will recapture those children who have been vaccinated. remained without the second dose, such as Andalusia, Castilla and La Mancha, Cantabria and La Rioja.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: October 2018 ACIP Meeting - General Recommendations; Influenza; Rabies; Meningococcal; Pertussis


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Varicella-Fälle stiegen um 16% nach Abnahme des Impfstoffs

Nach fast drei Jahren Abwesenheit des Varicella-Impfstoffs in Apotheken Ab dem 1. Februar ist der Varicella-Impfstoff bereits wieder in allen Apotheken erhältlich aller CC AA, wie von der spanischen Arzneimittel- und Gesundheitsbehörde genehmigt.

Nach der Einführung des offiziellen Impfkalenders im vergangenen Juni durch das Gesundheitsministerium haben alle Kinder, die seit 2013 nicht mehr gegen diese Viruserkrankung impfen können, die verhindert werden kann, Zugang zum Impfstoff. Obwohl es sich um ein gutartiges Virus handelt, können Varizellen zu Komplikationen führen. Die meisten treten bei gesunden Kindern auf und es wird geschätzt, dass bis zu 5% der Krankenhausaufenthalte aufgrund von Varizellen zum Tod führen können.


Folgen des Verschwindens des Varizellenimpfstoffs

Das Fehlen von Varicella-Impfstoff in Apotheken seit fast drei Jahren bedeutet a Anstieg der Windpockenfälle um 16 Prozent während dieser Zeit.

Dr. Federico Martinón, Kinderarzt und klinischer Forscher am Hospital Clínico Universitario de Santiago, hat dafür gesorgt, dass "ein universelles Impfprogramm mit zwei Dosen eine rasche Verringerung der Häufigkeit von Varizellenfällen aller Schweregrade bedeutet und somit ein deutliches Ergebnis zeigt Wirksamkeit von mehr als 98%. In der Tat, Kinder, die sich daran halten Bei zwei Impfdosen besteht eine um 95% geringere Wahrscheinlichkeit für Windpocken. vor den Kindern, die eine Einzeldosis erhielten ".


Windpocken in Zahlen

-   Mehr als 200.000 Fälle pro Jahr in Spanien vor der Vermarktung von Varizellenimpfstoffen in unserem Land (1996-2006).

-   Bis zu 5% der Krankenhauseinweisungen wegen Windpocken kann zum Tod führen.

- LKomplikationen und Krankenhausaufenthalte und Todesfälle aufgrund von Varizellen sind häufiger in gesunde Kinder.

Darüber hinaus weisen Länder, die eine universelle Impfung gegen Varizellen bei Säuglingen eingeführt haben, einen Rückgang der Krankenhausaufenthaltsraten und -kosten auf. In Italien beispielsweise wurden die Krankenhausaufenthalte für Windpocken um fast 75% reduziert.

Varicella-Impfstoffumfrage

Der Community - Blogger Madresfera hat in einer von Sanofi Pasteur MSD durchgeführten Umfrage die Hauptbedenken der Eltern zum Ausdruck gebracht, darunter die Impfstoffversorgung, der Zugang zu diesem Medikament, das empfohlene Impfalter und die Impfpflicht seiner autonomen Gemeinschaft. An der Umfrage nahmen 150 Familien mit Kindern zwischen 0 und 15 Jahren aus Spanien teil.


Der Impfstoff gegen das Varicella-Virus ist eine der größten Sorgen und Bedenken der Eltern.64% der Befragten äußerten eine klare Besorgnis über den Windpockenimpfstoff und 45% hatten keine Kenntnis darüber, ob ihr Kind ordnungsgemäß geimpft ist, poder sie konnten die zweite Dosis nicht abschließen.

Zu den wichtigsten Bedenken, die zum Ausdruck gebracht wurden, zählen die Bereitstellung des Impfstoffs, der Zugang zum Impfstoff, das empfohlene Impfalter und die Disposition in seiner Autonomen Gemeinschaft sowie das Wissen, ob der Impfstoff von der Sozialversicherung finanziert wird.

Während der Zeit, in der der Varicella-Impfstoff außerhalb des Apothekenkanals war, 41% der befragten Familien suchten es in privaten Krankenhäusern, 27% reisten zu Apotheken in anderen autonomen Regionen, 9,5% gingen in andere Länder wie Portugal und 6,8% gaben an, sie hätten sie online gekauft.

Varizellenimpfstoff kehrt zurück

Dr. Federico Martinón, Kinderarzt und klinischer Forscher an der Universitätsklinik von Santiago, merkt an, dass "die universelle Impfung gegen Varizellen aller spanischen Säuglinge eine hervorragende Nachricht ist und ein wichtiger Fortschritt für die globale Gesundheit von Spanien ist, eine Krankheit, die weniger ist als die Sorge jetzt und eine wichtige Quelle für Gesundheitseinsparungen ".

Da im Jahr 2013 beschlossen wurde, dass der Impfstoff nur für den Krankenhausgebrauch bestimmt war, gibt es viele Stimmen, die erhoben wurden, um ihn allen im Apothekenkanal zugänglich zu machen. von den Eltern zu Vereinigungen und wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaften. "Wie vom Ministerium für Gesundheit, Soziales und Gleichstellung im letzten Sommer angekündigt, ist der Varicella-Impfstoff derzeit als Routineimpfstoff für Kinder zwischen 12 und 15 Monaten, gefährdete und ältere Gruppen in den Impfplan aufgenommen Zwölf Jahre, die nicht an der Krankheit gelitten haben, aber alle Familien, die sie zur Impfung ihrer Kinder erwerben möchten, die über diesem Alter sind, können dies in jeder Apotheke in Spanien für 45,38 € / Dosis tun ", fügte sie hinzu Dr. María Garcés-Sánchez, Kinderarzt und Mitglied der Forschungsabteilung für Impfstoffe des Zentrums für Gesundheitsforschung (CSISP) von Valencia.

Einige Gemeinden werden sogar Kinder erholen, die während der Jahre, in denen der Impfstoff außerhalb der Apotheken war, ungeimpft geblieben sind, wie Madrid und Castilla y León, während andere die geimpften Kinder zurückerobern werden. blieb ohne die zweite Dosis wie Andalusien, Castilla und La Mancha, Cantabria und La Rioja.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: 3 Arguments Why Marijuana Should Stay Illegal Reviewed


Interessante Artikel

Woche 20. Schwangerschaft für Woche

Woche 20. Schwangerschaft für Woche

Foto: THINKSTOCK Foto vergrößern Körperliche und psychische Veränderungen von schwangeren FrauenSicherlich siehst du mit deiner Tripita von zwanzig Wochen sehr hübsch aus. Aufgrund der Hormone, die...

In Spanien haben fast 17% der Kinder ein Smartphone

In Spanien haben fast 17% der Kinder ein Smartphone

Neue Technologien haben viele Formen angenommen. Computer, Videokonsolen und in den letzten Jahren die Smartphones. Smartphones sind im Leben vieler Menschen zu einem gängigen Werkzeug geworden,...