Doing more exercise does not mean burning more calories

There are certain times of the year when gyms (and other sports centers) are filled with people who are looking for lower those 'kilitos' of more: after Christmas, before the summer with the so-called bikini operation and, of course, after 'spending a little' in the summer season. In those moments, and many others, you hear a lot of new athletes repeat that they do a lot of sport ... because That way they burn more calories. Is this true?

According to a recent study by a team of researchers from the University of the City of New York, not to spend more time to deport you lose more weight, at least not in the long term. The reason, according to the investigation, is that Our body adapts to the energy expenditure from a certain amount of exercise.


Our body adapts to exercise

This means that the consumption of calories stabilizes once our body gets used to doing a sport for a certain time. In other words: Doubling the amount of physical exercise does not mean consuming twice as many calories, as exemplified in Scientific American, who have echoed the news.

To reach these conclusions, the researchers, led by Herman Pontzer, analyzed the eating habits and physical exercise of more than 300 people (men and women) during a week. The interesting thing about the study is that the authors could register a relationship between physical activity and caloric expenditure at the beginning, but later they observed that the consumption of energy stabilized over time.


Scientific American recalls that a previous work, published in PLos ONE, "the researchers found the same results in members of the Hadza population, an ethnic hunter-gatherer group from northern Tanzania: they showed a saturation in the energy consumption".

That is, although you might think that, por the important physical activity they perform daily, this ethnic group required higher energy amounts, "it is not like that". As the researchers explain, the daily expenditure of human energy is a physiological feature that has evolved without taking into account the cultural differences between regions.

Energy consumption when exercising

Based on these studies, this page specializes in science that explains that the total energy expenditure increases with physical exercise at low activity levels, but that it stabilizes once the degrees of exercise are higher "since the body adapts to maintain the total energy consumption within a narrow march".


In other words, those people who make a lot of physical exercise (sports or not) consume a similar amount of calories as those individuals whose physical activity is more moderate. "Scientists suspect that the body adapts and it tries to maintain the demand for food in a certain range, even if the physical effort is high, "they explain in Scientific American, who postulate:" this is achieved through efficient energy expenditure ".

A final note: these data do not question that physical activity is healthy, because it is not: sports are necessary for health. In the words of the main author of the study: "Movement is very important for health." The investigation only comes to discard the popular belief that says that greater physical activity carries with it a greater consumption of calories.

Angela R. Bonachera

You may also like:

- The dangers of bikini operation

- Are you looking for a bikini body? This woman will make you think

- Knowing the calories of food in restaurants does not change consumption habits

Video: Cardio vs Weights (Best Way to Burn Fat)


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Mehr Bewegung bedeutet nicht, mehr Kalorien zu verbrennen

Es gibt bestimmte Zeiten im Jahr, in denen Fitnessstudios (und andere Sportzentren) mit Menschen gefüllt sind, die suchen senken Sie diese "Kilitos" von mehr: nach Weihnachten, vor dem Sommer mit der sogenannten Bikini-Operation und natürlich nach etwas "Verweilen" in der Sommersaison. In diesen und vielen anderen Momenten hört man viele neue Athleten wiederholen, dass sie viel Sport treiben ... weil Auf diese Weise verbrennen sie mehr Kalorien. Ist das wahr?

Laut einer kürzlich durchgeführten Studie eines Forscherteams der Universität der Stadt New York sollte man nicht mehr Zeit für die Deportation aufwenden, um mehr Gewicht zu verlieren, zumindest nicht auf lange Sicht. Der Grund dafür ist der Untersuchung zufolge Unser Körper passt sich dem Energieaufwand ab einer bestimmten Übung an.


Unser Körper passt sich der Übung an

Dies bedeutet, dass sich der Verbrauch von Kalorien stabilisiert, sobald sich unser Körper für eine bestimmte Zeit an einen Sport gewöhnt. Mit anderen Worten: Die Verdoppelung der körperlichen Anstrengung bedeutet nicht, doppelt so viele Kalorien zu sich zu nehmen, wie in Scientific American veranschaulicht, die die Nachrichten wiederholt haben.

Um diese Schlussfolgerungen zu ziehen, analysierten die Forscher unter der Leitung von Hermann Pontzer die Essgewohnheiten und körperlichen Aktivitäten von mehr als 300 Menschen (Männern und Frauen) in einer Woche. Das Interessante an der Studie ist das Die Autoren konnten zu Beginn einen Zusammenhang zwischen körperlicher Aktivität und Kalorienverbrauch feststellenSpäter stellten sie jedoch fest, dass sich der Energieverbrauch im Laufe der Zeit stabilisierte.


Scientific American erinnert daran, dass eine frühere Arbeit in PLos ONE veröffentlicht wurde. "Die Forscher fanden die gleichen Ergebnisse bei Mitgliedern der Hadza-Bevölkerung, einer ethnischen Jäger-Sammler-Gruppe aus dem nördlichen Tansania: Sie zeigten eine Sättigung des Energieverbrauchs".

Das heißt, obwohl Sie vielleicht denken, por die wichtige körperliche Aktivität, die sie täglich ausführenDiese ethnische Gruppe benötigte höhere Energiemengen, "so ist es nicht". Wie die Forscher erklären, ist der tägliche Verbrauch menschlicher Energie ein physiologisches Merkmal, das sich entwickelt hat, ohne die kulturellen Unterschiede zwischen den Regionen zu berücksichtigen.

Energieverbrauch beim Training

Basierend auf diesen Studien ist diese Seite auf die Wissenschaft spezialisiert. Sie erklärt, dass der Gesamtenergieaufwand mit körperlicher Anstrengung bei niedrigem Aktivitätsniveau steigt, sich aber stabilisiert, sobald die Übungsgrade höher sind "da sich der Körper anpasst, um den Gesamtenergieverbrauch in einem engen Marsch zu halten".


Mit anderen Worten, Menschen, die viel körperliche Bewegung ausüben (Sport oder nicht), verbrauchen eine ähnliche Menge an Kalorien wie Personen, deren körperliche Aktivität gemäßigter ist. "Wissenschaftler vermuten, dass sich der Körper anpasst und es versucht, die Nachfrage nach Nahrungsmitteln in einem bestimmten Bereich zu halten, selbst wenn die körperliche Anstrengung hoch ist ", erklären sie in Scientific American, der postuliert:" Dies wird durch einen effizienten Energieaufwand erreicht ".

Eine letzte Anmerkung: Diese Daten stellen nicht in Frage, dass körperliche Aktivität gesund ist, weil dies nicht der Fall ist: Sport ist für die Gesundheit notwendig. In den Worten des Hauptautors der Studie: "Bewegung ist sehr wichtig für die Gesundheit." Die Untersuchung kommt nur dazu, den verbreiteten Glauben zu verwerfen, der besagt, dass eine größere körperliche Aktivität einen höheren Kalorienverbrauch mit sich bringt.

Angela R. Bonachera

Sie könnten auch interessiert sein:

- Die Gefahren des Bikinibetriebs

- Suchen Sie einen Bikini-Body? Diese Frau wird dich zum Nachdenken bringen

- Die Kenntnis der Kalorien von Lebensmitteln in Restaurants ändert die Konsumgewohnheiten nicht

Video: 8 Fehler, die dich davon abhalten, schnell Fett zu verbrennen


Interessante Artikel