30% of children are not being treated by pediatricians

Addressing a child and an adult in terms of health are two very different things. However, 30% of children in Spain are being treated by doctors, not by specialists in Pediatrics. The evaluation of the child population requires the presence of specialists in pediatrics, and although in Spain there are 6,400 pediatric spaces of Primary Care, the AEPap denounces that they are not enough.

In the framework of the 13 Course of Updating in Pediatrics of the AEPap, Dr. Begoña Domínguez, president of the AEPap, has emphasized that "for years,The deficit of pediatricians is an indisputable reality"In fact, it emphasizes that" according to the different Autonomous Communities, up to 30% of the child population is being treated by non-specialists in pediatrics".


The investment in necessary material and human resources is fundamental for the Primary Care pediatric services to function correctly in the Public Health Service. Therefore, today, the priority is to ensure the presence of pediatricians in the first level of care, responsible for direct care of children. However, there are many problems in the profession.

The pediatric overflow service

According to the data provided, in 2014 there were 33 million PA pediatric consultations in the National Health System (SNS). And the main problems focus on increasing the frequency of consultations, increasing the ratio and the lack of substitutions.


1. Periodicity of assistance for children's consultation. Dr. Dominguez notes that "normally, each child usually goes to the pediatrician's office 5 times a year, but the truth is that 55% of the consultations are for children under 4 years old with a frequency of 9 consultations in the section of Age from 0 to 4 years ".

2. Increase in the ratio. In addition to the increase in frequency, "the number of children assigned to each pediatrician quota has increased from 1033 in 2011 to 1043 in 2014, increasing by 23% the number of pediatricians with ratios of more than 1,500 health cards", points out the president of AEPap.

Both parameters are of particular concern because the quality of care is being affected, since at least 7 out of 10 pediatricians treat more than 20 children a day in consultations. In fact, Dr. Domínguez confirms that "only 9% of paediatricians of PC have an average of less than 20 patients a day" and alerts that "43% treat between 20 and 30 patients daily, and 33% from 30 to 40 ".


3. Lack of substitutions. "90% of PAPs have to pass queries from colleagues supplying vacations, training permits or sick leave," he adds. To guarantee the quality of care, maximum ratios of 1,000 health cards per pediatrician are required. "For this, it is essential to increase the number of pediatricians in at least 275 and adequately size the number of cards considering the characteristics of the population served," he says.

Training and research of primary care pediatricians

In the training aspect, there are different open fronts that prevent the training of both specialists in pediatrics in the exercise of their profession as well as newcomers.

- Continuing Education. It would be possible thanks to the permits, but as reported by the president of AEPap, "14% of PAPs are not entitled to any training day"The AEPap considers it" essential that all pediatricians have the right, at least, to 6 days / year of continuous training. "However, as for each Health Center there are between one and three pediatricians, Dr. Dominguez states that this "It makes almost impossible the continuous training in the center itself, being necessary the permits for the training outside the place of work".

- MIR training. In the last five years, the number of places of residents does not increase, on the contrary it is practically the same.

In addition, "despite not receiving any compensation, almost 50% of pediatricians participate in the teaching of the MIR", but according to the surveys," only 57% of the residents rotate during 3 months by AP. The rest do it for 1 or 2 months. "

Although the MIR pediatric training in AP has improved, "it is essential to comply with the rotation rule for 3 months and take advantage of the teaching capacity of PAPs to improve the training of residents", confirms Dr. Dominguez.

The difficulties that pediatricians find to be able to investigate in PA are, according to the president of the AEPap, "the isolation of the professionals, the lack of time, the training deficits and the lack of funding".To solve the lack of time, "we propose to the health authorities, the need for 25% of the working day to be dedicated to teaching, training and research tasks evaluated and considered in the professional career," he concludes.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Should Children Take Vitamins | What Age Do Babies Need Vitamins | Best Childrens Baby Vitamins


Interesting Articles

Menorca as a family, a different destination

Menorca as a family, a different destination

The island of Menorca, located north of the Balearic archipelago, is one of the most beautiful paradises in the western Mediterranean. Thanks to being protected by UNESCO since 1993 as a Biosphere...

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

5 essential copper-rich foods in pregnancy

Copper is an essential mineral for health that helps to preventfetal malformations, anemia, growth problems or birth weight losses. For this reason, the pregnancy and lactation These are two periods...

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The dangers of sweets and sweets in children

The trinkets, sweets and pastries are part of the children's routine, but your intake can be very harmful to your health and the one of the majors since they contain great amounts of sugar and...

30% der Kinder werden nicht von Kinderärzten behandelt

Ein Kind und einen Erwachsenen in gesundheitlicher Hinsicht anzusprechen, sind zwei sehr unterschiedliche Dinge. Allerdings werden 30% der Kinder in Spanien von Ärzten behandelt, nicht von Pädiatrie-Spezialisten. Die Bewertung der Kinderbevölkerung erfordert die Anwesenheit von Spezialisten für Pädiatrie, und obwohl es in Spanien gibt 6.400 pädiatrische Räume Die AEPap denunziert, sie seien nicht ausreichend.

Im Rahmen des 13. Aktualisierungskurses in der Pädiatrie der AEPap betonte Dr. Begoña Domínguez, Präsident der AEPap, dass "seit Jahren"Das Defizit der Kinderärzte ist eine unbestreitbare Realität"Tatsächlich betont er das" nach Angaben der verschiedenen Autonomen Gemeinschaften bis zu 30% der Kinder werden von Nichtfachleuten in der Pädiatrie behandelt".


Die Investition in Material und Humanressourcen ist grundlegend, damit die pädiatrischen Dienste der Grundversorgung im Gesundheitswesen ordnungsgemäß funktionieren. Daher ist es heute vorrangig, die Anwesenheit von Kinderärzten in der ersten Pflegeebene sicherzustellen, die für die direkte Betreuung von Kindern verantwortlich ist. Es gibt jedoch viele Probleme im Beruf.

Der pädiatrische Überlaufdienst

Den vorgelegten Daten zufolge gab es 2014 im Nationalen Gesundheitssystem (SNS) 33 Millionen pädiatrische Konsultationen der PA. Die Hauptprobleme konzentrieren sich darauf, die Häufigkeit der Konsultationen zu erhöhen, das Verhältnis und das Fehlen von Substitutionen zu erhöhen.


1. Periodizität der Unterstützung für die Beratung von Kindern. Dr. Dominguez stellt fest, dass "normalerweise jedes Kind fünfmal im Jahr in das Kinderarztamt geht, aber die Wahrheit ist, dass 55% der Konsultationen für Kinder unter 4 Jahren mit einer Häufigkeit von 9 Konsultationen in der Abteilung von Alter von 0 bis 4 Jahren ".

2. Steigern Sie das Verhältnis. Neben der Erhöhung der Häufigkeit stieg die Zahl der Kinder, die jeder Kinderarztquote zugewiesen wurden, von 1033 im Jahr 2011 auf 1043 im Jahr 2014, wodurch die Zahl der Kinderärzte mit einem Anteil von mehr als 1.500 Gesundheitskarten um 23% stieg. weist auf den Präsidenten von AEPap hin.

Beide Parameter sind besonders besorgniserregend, da die Versorgungsqualität beeinträchtigt wird, da mindestens 7 von 10 Kinderärzten täglich mehr als 20 Kinder in Konsultationen behandeln. In der Tat bestätigt Dr. Domínguez, dass "nur 9% der PC-Kinderärzte durchschnittlich weniger als 20 Patienten pro Tag haben" und dies warnt "43% behandeln täglich zwischen 20 und 30 Patienten und 33% von 30 bis 40 ".


3. Mangel an Substitutionen. "90% der PAPs müssen Anfragen von Kollegen stellen, die Urlaube, Ausbildungsgenehmigungen oder Krankheitsurlaub anbieten", fügt er hinzu. Um die Qualität der Pflege zu gewährleisten, sind maximal 10 Gesundheitskarten pro Kinderarzt erforderlich. "Dazu ist es unerlässlich, die Anzahl der Kinderärzte auf mindestens 275 zu erhöhen und die Anzahl der Karten unter Berücksichtigung der Merkmale der Bevölkerung angemessen zu bemessen", sagt er.

Ausbildung und Forschung von Kinderärzten in der Primärversorgung

Im Ausbildungsbereich gibt es verschiedene offene Fronten, die sowohl die Ausbildung von Fachärzten für Pädiatrie in der Ausübung ihres Berufs als auch von Neuankömmlingen verhindern.

- Kontinuierliches Training. Es wäre dank der Genehmigungen möglich, aber wie vom Präsidenten von AEPap berichtet, "14% der PAP haben keinen Anspruch auf einen Schulungstag"Die AEPap hält es für unabdingbar, dass alle Kinderärzte das Recht haben, mindestens 6 Tage / Jahr fortlaufend zu trainieren." Da es jedoch für jedes Gesundheitszentrum zwischen ein und drei Kinderärzte gibt, erklärt dies Dr. Dominguez "Das kontinuierliche Training im Zentrum selbst macht es fast unmöglich, die Genehmigungen für das Training außerhalb des Arbeitsplatzes zu benötigen".

- MIR-Training. In den letzten fünf Jahren nimmt die Zahl der Einwohner nicht zu, im Gegenteil ist sie praktisch gleich.

Darüber hinaus "obwohl keine Entschädigung erhalten wurde, Fast 50% der Kinderärzte nehmen am Unterricht des MIR teil", aber den Umfragen zufolge" wechseln nur 57% der Bewohner innerhalb von 3 Monaten nach AP. Der Rest macht es für 1 oder 2 Monate. "

Obwohl sich die pädiatrische MIR-Ausbildung in AP verbessert hat, "ist es unerlässlich, die Rotationsregel für 3 Monate einzuhalten und die Lehrkapazität von PAPs zu nutzen, um die Ausbildung der Bewohner zu verbessern", bestätigt Dr. Dominguez.

Nach Ansicht des AEPap-Präsidenten sind Kinderärzte in der Lage, in PA untersucht zu werden, "die Isolation der Fachkräfte, Zeitmangel, Ausbildungsdefizite und fehlende Finanzierung".Um den Mangel an Zeit zu beheben, "schlagen wir den Gesundheitsbehörden vor, die Notwendigkeit, 25% des Arbeitstages für Lehr-, Ausbildungs- und Forschungsaufgaben zu verwenden, die in der beruflichen Laufbahn bewertet und berücksichtigt werden", schließt er.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Kinderbeine 4: Der Innengang bei Kindern und Jugendlichen - warum, wieso und die Folgen


Interessante Artikel

Muttermilch: Die Vorteile des Stillens Ihres Babys

Muttermilch: Die Vorteile des Stillens Ihres Babys

Die Geburt unseres Sohnes wird uns mit Freude erfüllen, aber auch Zweifel daran, ob es günstiger ist, zu stillen oder zu trinken. Die unbestreitbaren Vorteile des Stillens lassen jedoch keinen...