Milks of growth and adapted: the dilemma

Lactose is getting worse press and this may be attributed to the abuse we have made of dairy products and their derivatives throughout the history of our societies. It is common to hear that milk is given to the child by mucus or that it prevents him from resting normally. However, it is important to know what is true and what is not in relation to the milks of growth and adapted milk.

Adapted milk and growth milk: two concepts

They are adapted milk those that have been designed to imitate breast milk and replace it when, for different reasons, it can not be given. It has a very specific composition and the quantities that have to be administered to the baby are perfectly stipulated according to the child's weight and other characteristics of their body and organism. The specialist is the one who determines when to use a adapted milk and in what quantity. Although the best for the baby during its first 6 months of life is breast milk on demand, as recommended by the WHO, when it is not possible to offer it, it can be fed with adapted milk also known as formula milk.


Milks of growth they can seem a priori to adapted milk, but lack of egislation, therefore, its use is not regulated. They serve to make a transition from an adapted or maternal milk to a cow's milk, that is, to a normal whole supermarket milk. The doctor José Manuel Moreno Villares, expert in clinical and medical nutrition at the University Hospital 12 de Octubre in Madrid, recommends the use of this type of milk if it provides a series of essential nutrients that are important for the proper development and growth of the baby.

Growth milk, yes or no? What a dilemma


The milks of growthAccording to Dr. Moreno Villares, "they are only one option, but not the only one." They are an alternative to the natural transition of the breastmilk or the cow. "Moreno says that" it is not essential to give the child a milk of growth. On the other hand, sometimes, this may be the best we have. When? Growth milk is usually recommended for children who have been premature or are well below their growth percentile, "those who, as the doctor says," are just growing "or those who do not eat enough or do not have a balanced and healthy diet.

"The child who grows well and eats everything does not have to use a growth milk," says the doctor, who speaks of these milks as "a good option that is not essential." He argues that they are advantageous in many cases, but that they are not the only alternative. They should use it until approximately three years of age who have been premature, according to the recommendations of this doctor. But we must take into account, as he himself reminds, that you can not generalize on nutrition issues because a diet is always a set of things and growth milks can be dispensable, recommended or essential depending on how the child eats, how he feels what he eats, how he moves, what life he leads ...


Adapted milk and false myths

The eternal and so popularized debate about lactose It is clarified when one speaks with Dr. Moreno Villares. "There are very few children who do not tolerate lactose in the first years of their lives," she confirms. The profile of those who can not digest this property of milk often coincides with that of those children who have had an acute infection. In any case, these intolerances are usually transitory. They only last a few months. Then the child digests the dairy products with total normality.

After five years, you can see some more intolerant and in adults the collective represents 30 percent of the population in Spain. It is important to emphasize, as the expert does, that not all intolerances are the same and that everything depends on the amount of lactose we consume. There are certain people who, just by drinking a glass of milk, have problems; others need a lot more milk or dairy products to find themselves really bad. What the doctor makes clear is that intolerances are generated throughout life for very different reasons, but that has nothing to do in principle lactose intolerance with having given the child breast milk. This means that adapted milk does not necessarily eliminate the risk that the baby will become intolerant sooner or later and that the consumption of breast milk does not necessarily lead to intolerance.

Nutrients of a good growth milk

It is the one that contains:

- Iron
- Omega 3 oils
- Less protein
- Less saturated fats (which are what we call "bad")
- More vitamins
- More minerals

All these things are essential in the child's diet. If they can be introduced into your diet by other means, fantastic. If you can not and the family economy allows it, growth milks are very advantageous.This does not mean that growth milks containing these things will prevent diseases but they could guarantee a healthy diet when a balanced diet is not taken for whatever reason. As the doctor says "if the child's diet is unbalanced, growth milk plays a more important role".

Whole and growing milk: recommended and alternative amounts

The amount of milk that a child takes a day is equivalent to Dr. Moreno Villares estimates to half a liter daily. Therefore, the differences in price between normal milk and one of growth are perfectly acceptable, because the milk that is ingested is very small. Generally, according to the doctor, the choice of one or the other milk does not depend as much on economic factors as on fashions and beliefs. The doctor is traditional to think that the bad press that has been given to the lactose It has to do with the fact that our culture has consumed dairy products, especially fermented, for many years.

The reason for this practice is that we have lived close to animals that produce milk, which perhaps at the same time has opted for an abuse of lactose. Abuses are not good and as can happen with any other food if we eat too much milk can sit badly without necessarily being intolerant. Milk is always a food easily assumed by children, but neither its abuse is good or stop giving it rules out potential intolerances.

The nutrients of milk

The nutrients in milk, which are mostlyl phosphorus and calcium, not only found in this food but also in the fDried nuts and some fish. Broccoli also provides a good amount. So if the child can not drink milk can compensate for the lack of these minerals by other routes. What you can not do is dispense with milk just because. If the child needs a higher vitamin intake, we use the milk milks that supplement the deficiencies that can not be solved by means of modifications in their diet for various reasons. "

You can not stop eating fruit and vegetables by eating a dairy, "says Villares, who also adds that you have to" reach a balance. "The definitive advice given by the doctor is to take into account the particularities of the child because the Adapted milk or growth milk can be especially advantageous in some cases (not in others). It also recommends not forgetting that a diet is always the result of combining many factors and that Drinking a little milk is not a problem but that, during the first years of the child's life, tomar milk less is an unnecessary risk.

Elisa García
Advice:José Manuel Moreno Villares, expert in clinical and medical nutrition at the University Hospital 12 de Octubre de Madrid

Video: Women's Edition: 5 POWERFUL Lessons A Millionaire Taught Me About Life, Wealth & Success (Audiobook)


Interesting Articles

Paternity leave generates fear in 30% of parents

Paternity leave generates fear in 30% of parents

Paternity has evolved in recent years, involving new figures in the care of the baby. The role of the father has grown, however, the paternity leave still generates fear of employment discrimination...

Palaces and houses museum of Madrid

Palaces and houses museum of Madrid

Among the best plans with children that can be carried out in a big city, the visit to museums stands out, but to bring children to the ancient history nothing better than a tour of the old houses,...

The twelve grapes, a healthy tradition for the heart

The twelve grapes, a healthy tradition for the heart

Take the twelve grapes of luck during Christmas, in the year-end chimes, means to start the next one improving the cardiac function and reducing the artery tension and it is a healthy tradition for...

Wachstumsmilch und angepasst: das Dilemma

Laktose wird in der Presse immer schlimmer und dies kann auf den Missbrauch von Milchprodukten und ihrer Derivate in der Geschichte unserer Gesellschaften zurückgeführt werden. Es ist üblich zu hören, dass dem Kind Milch durch Schleim gegeben wird oder dass es verhindert, dass es normal ruht. Es ist jedoch wichtig zu wissen, was wahr ist und was nicht in Beziehung steht Wachstumsmilch und angepasste Milch.

Angepasste Milch und Wachstumsmilch: zwei Konzepte

Sie sind angepasste Milch solche, die entwickelt wurden, um Muttermilch nachzuahmen und zu ersetzen, wenn sie aus verschiedenen Gründen nicht gegeben werden kann. Es hat eine sehr spezifische Zusammensetzung, und die Mengen, die dem Baby verabreicht werden müssen, sind perfekt auf das Gewicht des Kindes und andere Merkmale des Körpers und des Organismus abgestimmt. Der Spezialist ist derjenige, der bestimmt, wann a verwendet wird angepasste Milch und in welcher menge. Obwohl das Baby in den ersten 6 Lebensmonaten das Beste für ihn ist, ist Muttermilch auf Verlangen, wie von der WHO empfohlen, wenn es nicht möglich ist, es anzubieten, kann es damit gefüttert werden angepasste Milch auch als Formelmilch bekannt.


Milch des Wachstums Sie können der angepassten Milch a priori vorkommen, aber mangelnde Beständigkeit ist ihre Verwendung daher nicht reguliert. Sie dienen dazu, von einer angepassten oder Muttermilch zu einer Kuhmilch überzugehen, dh zu einer normalen Supermarktmilch. Der arzt José Manuel Moreno Villares, Experte für klinische und medizinische Ernährung am Universitätskrankenhaus 12 de Octubre in Madrid, empfiehlt die Verwendung dieser Art von Milch, wenn sie eine Reihe essentieller Nährstoffe enthält, die für die richtige Entwicklung und das Wachstum des Babys wichtig sind.

Wachstumsmilch, ja oder nein? Was für ein Dilemma


Die Milch des WachstumsMoreno Villares zufolge "sind sie nur eine Option, aber nicht die einzige." Sie sind eine Alternative zum natürlichen Übergang der Muttermilch oder die Kuh. "Moreno sagt:" Es ist nicht wesentlich, dem Kind eine Milch des Wachstums zu geben. Andererseits ist dies manchmal das Beste, was wir haben. Wann Wachstumsmilch wird normalerweise für Kinder empfohlen, die verfrüht sind oder weit unter ihrem prozentualen Wachstumsniveau liegen, "diejenigen, die, wie der Arzt sagt," nur wachsen "oder diejenigen, die nicht genug essen oder keine haben ausgewogene und gesunde Ernährung.

"Das Kind, das gut wächst und alles isst, muss keine Wachstumsmilch verwenden", sagt der Arzt, der von diesen Milch spricht, als "eine gute Option, die nicht unbedingt erforderlich ist". Er argumentiert, dass sie in vielen Fällen von Vorteil sind, aber nicht die einzige Alternative sind. Sie sollten es gemäß den Empfehlungen dieses Arztes bis zum Alter von ungefähr drei Jahren anwenden, die verfrüht waren. Aber wir müssen berücksichtigen, wie er selbst daran erinnert, dass Sie sich nicht auf Ernährungsfragen verallgemeinern können, da eine Diät immer eine Reihe von Dingen ist und Wachstumsmilch überflüssig, empfehlenswert oder wesentlich ist, je nachdem, wie das Kind isst. Wie er fühlt, was er isst, wie er sich bewegt, welches Leben er führt ...


Angepasste Milch und falsche Mythen

Das Ewige und so populär Debatte über Laktose Es ist klargestellt, wenn man mit Dr. Moreno Villares spricht. "Es gibt sehr wenige Kinder, die in den ersten Lebensjahren Laktose nicht vertragen", bestätigt sie. Das Profil derjenigen, die diese Eigenschaft der Milch nicht verdauen können, stimmt häufig mit dem der Kinder überein, die eine akute Infektion hatten. In jedem Fall sind diese Unverträglichkeiten vorübergehend. Sie dauern nur wenige Monate. Dann verdaut das Kind die Milchprodukte mit völliger Normalität.

Nach fünf Jahren sieht man etwas mehr Intoleranz und bei Erwachsenen macht das Kollektiv 30 Prozent der Bevölkerung in Spanien aus. Es ist wichtig zu betonen, wie der Experte es tut, dass nicht alle Unverträglichkeiten gleich sind und dass alles von der Menge an Laktose abhängt, die wir verbrauchen. Es gibt bestimmte Menschen, die Probleme haben, wenn sie nur ein Glas Milch trinken. Andere brauchen viel mehr Milch oder Milchprodukte, um sich wirklich schlecht zu fühlen. Der Arzt macht deutlich, dass Unverträglichkeiten aus ganz unterschiedlichen Gründen im Laufe des Lebens entstehen, was aber im Prinzip nichts mit Laktoseintoleranz zu tun hat, wenn das Kind Muttermilch erhalten hat. Dies bedeutet, dass die angepasste Milch das Risiko, dass das Baby früher oder später intolerant wird, nicht unbedingt ausschließt und dass der Konsum von Muttermilch nicht unbedingt zu einer Intoleranz führt.

Nährstoffe einer guten Wachstumsmilch

Es ist das, das enthält:

- Eisen
- Omega-3-Öle
- Weniger Eiweiß
- weniger gesättigte Fette (was wir als "schlecht" bezeichnen)
- Mehr Vitamine
- Weitere Mineralien

All diese Dinge sind für die Ernährung des Kindes unerlässlich. Wenn sie auf andere Weise in Ihre Ernährung aufgenommen werden können, ist das fantastisch. Wenn Sie dies nicht können und die Familienwirtschaft es erlaubt, sind Wachstumsmilch sehr vorteilhaft.Dies bedeutet nicht, dass Wachstumsmilch, die diese Substanzen enthält, Krankheiten vorbeugen kann. Sie können jedoch eine gesunde Ernährung gewährleisten, wenn aus irgendeinem Grund keine ausgewogene Ernährung eingenommen wird. Wie der Arzt sagt, "wenn die Ernährung des Kindes unausgewogen ist, spielt Wachstumsmilch eine wichtigere Rolle".

Vollmilch und wachsende Milch: empfohlene und alternative Mengen

Die Milchmenge dass ein Kind einen Tag braucht, entspricht Dr. Moreno Villares einem halben Liter täglich. Daher sind die Preisunterschiede zwischen normaler und Wachstumsmilch durchaus akzeptabel, da die aufgenommene Milch sehr klein ist. Nach Ansicht des Arztes hängt die Wahl der einen oder anderen Milch im Allgemeinen nicht so sehr von wirtschaftlichen Faktoren ab wie von Moden und Überzeugungen. Der Arzt ist traditionell der Meinung, dass die schlechte Presse, die an die gegeben wurde Laktose Es hat damit zu tun, dass unsere Kultur Milchprodukte, vor allem fermentierte, seit vielen Jahren konsumiert.

Der Grund für diese Praxis ist, dass wir in der Nähe von Tieren leben, die Milch produzieren, die sich vielleicht gleichzeitig für einen Missbrauch von Laktose entschieden haben. Missbräuche sind nicht gut und wie jedes andere Essen auch passieren kann, wenn wir zu viel Milch essen, kann schlecht sitzen, ohne notwendigerweise intolerant zu sein. Milch ist immer eine Nahrung, die von Kindern leicht angenommen wird, aber der Missbrauch ist nicht gut oder hört auf, potenzielle Intoleranzen auszuschließen.

Die Nährstoffe der Milch

Die Nährstoffe in der Milch, die meistens sindl Phosphor und Kalzium, nicht nur in diesem Essen gefunden, sondern auch in der fGetrocknete Nüsse und etwas Fisch. Brokkoli bietet auch eine gute Menge. Wenn also das Kind keine Milch trinken kann, kann der Mangel an diesen Mineralien auf anderen Wegen ausgeglichen werden. Was Sie nicht tun können, ist nur, weil Sie auf Milch verzichten. Wenn das Kind eine höhere Vitaminzufuhr benötigt, verwenden wir die Milchmilch, um die Mängel zu ergänzen, die aus verschiedenen Gründen nicht durch Änderungen der Ernährung behoben werden können. "

Sie können nicht aufhören, Obst und Gemüse zu essen, indem Sie eine Molkerei essen ", sagt Villares. Er fügt hinzu, dass Sie" ein Gleichgewicht erreichen "müssen Adaptierte Milch oder Wachstumsmilch kann in einigen Fällen (nicht in anderen) besonders vorteilhaft sein, und es wird auch empfohlen, nicht zu vergessen, dass eine Diät immer das Ergebnis einer Kombination vieler Faktoren ist Ein bisschen Milch zu trinken ist kein Problem aber das, in den ersten Lebensjahren des Kindes, tMilch weniger ist ein unnötiges Risiko.

Elisa García
Hinweis:José Manuel Moreno VillaresExperte für klinische und medizinische Ernährung am Universitätskrankenhaus 12 de Octubre de Madrid

Interessante Artikel

Was ist das Wissenschaftssache?

Was ist das Wissenschaftssache?

Von Emilio López-Barajas. UniversitätsprofessorDie wissenschaftliche Methode Angewendet, um Wissen zu erlangen, erlaubt es nicht immer eine vollständige Erfassung der Realität. Derjenige, der in der...

Kinder und Fette: finden Sie den Mittelpunkt

Kinder und Fette: finden Sie den Mittelpunkt

Es ist bewiesen: zu Kinder sie lieben das "fettige" Mahlzeiten. Nuggets, Hamburger, Hot Dogs, Chips usw. Die Fetteinfach so Proteine, die Hydrate oder die Vitamineist für seine Entwicklung...