This is how parents control the online movements of their teenagers

The digital world has opened a huge world without leaving home. This is mainly observed in the behaviors of the so-called digital natives, the adolescents, who have put 'against the ropes' the already outdated ways that parents had to control and care for their children. How have they adapted to this? We tell you how parents now control the online movements of their teenagers.

The digital world offers many potential benefits, as the connection between equals or access to educational content. However, parents are aware of the risks and dangers that involve adolescents' behavior when they are online, especially those related to the people with whom they interact: more and more experts are calling attention to the need to be careful with privacy, cyberbullying and security online.


About, Pew Research Center has conducted a survey among parents of adolescents between 13 and 17 years old to find how today's parents deal with this new reality and they try to protect the 'digital lives' of their children while encouraging them to make safe and responsible use of these new technologies. The surveys were conducted between September and October 2014 and February and March 2015 and their results have been published in January 2016.

Punishments and limits to new technologies

As they explain from this American research center, digital technology has become in something central to the lives of adolescents, who invest a very important part of their days in sharing content on social networks. That they are such an important part of their lives also makes parents use them as punishment: 65 percent of parents prohibit phones or Internet access as a form of punishment.


Yes, restrictions on the use of screens They are not always the result of teenagers' misbehavior, as parents often set standards about the frequency and time that teens can connect: 55 percent of parents say they limit the time their children can be online , according to this survey.

Survey on parents and adolescents regarding social networks

Among the most striking data of this survey, it is noteworthy that 61 percent (that is, six out of ten) of parents check which portals their children visit when they use the internet. Likewise, a very similar percentage of them (60 percent) monitors the profiles of their teenagers in social networks.

On the other hand, slightly less than half (48 percent) of respondents say they look at calls or messages from their children's smartphones, while 39 percent of parents use some type of parental control over the activities of your children online.


There are many less those who use these parental controlss to limit the use of mobile phones: only 16 percent do it, an identical percentage to that of parents who use monitoring tools to track the location of their children with their smartphones.

Education about internet dangers

Not only the children live in control: it is necessary to educate them in responsible use of new technologies because, however 'digital natives' may be, there are things that escape them and in which parents must influence. About this also has asked the survey of Pew Research Center, which shows that parents are increasingly concerned about talking with their children about these issues, although there is still much to be done.

In this line, the survey reveals that the majority of parents (56 percent) speaks "frequently" about the appropriate or inadequate behavior of their children in school, home and life in society. However, the percentage drops to 40 percent in the case of those who talk frequently about the dangers of sharing information online.

It is striking that 95 percent of parents He has had conversations with his children about what content they see online, although only 39 percent have done it frequently. In the case of conversations about content consumed on television, music, books and magazines, the percentage of parents who frequently speak of this is only 36 percent.

Worrying is that only 36 percent of parents speak frequently about the importance of maintain proper behavior towards others when we are online. 42 percent say they do it "occasionally", while 15 percent do it "rarely" and seven percent have never done it.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: What Teenagers Want You to Know | Roy Petitfils | TEDxVermilionStreet


Interesting Articles

The importance of cooperative learning in children

The importance of cooperative learning in children

Nowadays, there is a strong emphasis on the need to be the best, to stand out among the others. However, sometimes these messages make people forget solidarity because children forget cooperate with...

The importance of being a good father

The importance of being a good father

Fortunately, the strict father who has to harden his son to face the problems that will await him in the future and the caring, affectionate and protective mother, belong more and more to the world...

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

Spanish children, the most satisfied of the OECD

How is life going on? is the title of the 2015 welfare measurement report just released by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This organization has investigated the...

So kontrollieren Eltern die Online-Bewegungen ihrer Teenager

Die digitale Welt hat eine riesige Welt geöffnet, ohne das Haus zu verlassen. Dies ist vor allem in den Verhaltensweisen der sogenannten Digital Natives, den Jugendlichen, zu beobachten "gegen die Seile" die ohnehin überholten Möglichkeiten, wie Eltern ihre Kinder kontrollieren und betreuen mussten. Wie haben sie sich daran angepasst? Wir erzählen Ihnen, wie Eltern jetzt die Online-Bewegungen ihrer Teenager kontrollieren.

Die digitale Welt bietet viele potenzielle Vorteile, als Verbindung zwischen Gleichgestellten oder Zugang zu Bildungsinhalten. Eltern sind sich jedoch dessen bewusst die Gefahren und Gefahren Dies betrifft das Verhalten von Jugendlichen, wenn sie online sind, insbesondere im Zusammenhang mit den Menschen, mit denen sie interagieren: Immer mehr Experten machen auf die Notwendigkeit aufmerksam, auf Datenschutz, Cybermobbing und Sicherheit zu achten online


In dieser Hinsicht Pew-Forschungszentrum hat eine Umfrage unter Eltern von Jugendlichen zwischen 13 und 17 Jahren durchgeführt, um herauszufinden, wie die heutigen Eltern mit dieser neuen Realität umgehen Sie versuchen, das digitale Leben ihrer Kinder zu schützen und ermutigen sie, diese neuen Technologien sicher und verantwortungsbewusst einzusetzen. Die Umfragen wurden zwischen September und Oktober 2014 sowie zwischen Februar und März 2015 durchgeführt und ihre Ergebnisse wurden im Januar 2016 veröffentlicht.

Bestrafungen und Grenzen neuer Technologien

Wie sie von diesem amerikanischen Forschungszentrum aus erklären, ist die digitale Technologie geworden in etwas zentraler für das Leben von Jugendlichen, die einen sehr wichtigen Teil ihrer Tage in den Austausch von Inhalten in sozialen Netzwerken investieren. Die Tatsache, dass sie ein so wichtiger Teil ihres Lebens sind, führt auch dazu, dass Eltern sie als Bestrafung verwenden: 65 Prozent der Eltern verbieten Handys oder den Internetzugang als Form der Bestrafung.


Ja, Einschränkungen bei der Verwendung von Bildschirmen Sie sind nicht immer das Ergebnis des Fehlverhaltens von Teenagern, da die Eltern häufig Maßstäbe in Bezug auf Häufigkeit und Zeit setzen, mit der Jugendliche eine Verbindung herstellen können laut dieser Umfrage.

Umfrage zu Eltern und Jugendlichen zu sozialen Netzwerken

Unter den auffälligsten Daten dieser Umfrage ist es bemerkenswert, dass 61 Prozent (dh sechs von zehn) der Eltern prüfen, welche Portale ihre Kinder besuchen, wenn sie das Internet nutzen. Ein sehr ähnlicher Prozentsatz von ihnen (60 Prozent)) überwacht die Profile ihrer Teenager in sozialen Netzwerken.

Auf der anderen Seite geben etwas weniger als die Hälfte (48 Prozent) der Befragten an, Anrufe oder Nachrichten vom Smartphone ihrer Kinder aus zu betrachten, während 39 Prozent der Eltern dies nutzen eine Art elterliche Kontrolle über die Aktivitäten Ihrer Kinder online.


Es gibt viel weniger diejenigen, die diese nutzen elterliche Kontrolles zur Einschränkung der Nutzung von Mobiltelefonen: Nur 16 Prozent tun dies, ein identischer Prozentsatz wie Eltern, die mithilfe von Überwachungstools den Standort ihrer Kinder mit ihren Smartphones ermitteln.

Aufklärung über Internetgefahren

Nicht nur die Kinder leben unter Kontrolle: Es ist notwendig, sie im verantwortungsvollen Umgang zu erziehen von neuen Technologien, auch wenn Digital Natives so sein mögen, gibt es Dinge, die sich ihnen entziehen und auf die Eltern Einfluss nehmen müssen. Darüber hat sich auch die Umfrage von Pew Research Center, was zeigt, dass Eltern zunehmend besorgt sind, mit ihren Kindern über diese Probleme zu sprechen, obwohl noch viel zu tun bleibt.

In dieser Zeile zeigt die Umfrage, dass die Mehrheit der Eltern (56 Prozent) spricht "häufig" über das angemessene oder unangemessene Verhalten ihrer Kinder in der Schule, zu Hause und in der Gesellschaft. Bei denjenigen, die häufig über die Gefahren des Online-Austauschs von Informationen sprechen, sinkt der Prozentsatz jedoch auf 40 Prozent.

Es fällt auf, dass 95 Prozent der Eltern Er hat mit seinen Kindern Gespräche darüber geführt, welche Inhalte sie online sehenobwohl nur 39 Prozent es häufig getan haben. Bei Gesprächen über Inhalte, die in Fernsehen, Musik, Büchern und Zeitschriften konsumiert werden, beträgt der Prozentsatz der Eltern, die häufig davon sprechen, nur 36 Prozent.

Besorgniserregend ist, dass nur 36 Prozent der Eltern häufig über die Bedeutung von sprechen halten Sie ein richtiges Verhalten gegenüber anderen, wenn wir online sind. 42 Prozent geben an, "gelegentlich" zu tun, 15 Prozent "selten" und sieben Prozent haben es noch nie getan.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: The Howling Mines | Critical Role | Campaign 2, Episode 6


Interessante Artikel

Wie können Kinder zum Lernen motiviert werden?

Wie können Kinder zum Lernen motiviert werden?

Beim Betreten eines Klassenzimmers für frühkindliche Erziehung wird leicht wahrgenommen, dass Jungen und Mädchen in den ersten Schuljahren durch eine Vielzahl von Aktivitäten lernen, in denen es...