Mindfulness, the benefits of mindfulness

Being aware of the present moment and of reality is the basis of the new current Mindfulness with which psychology and psychiatry aim to help people suffering from a variety of psychological illnesses, in particular, anxiety, depression and stress.

The new term in vogue is the Mindfulness or mindfulness centered on the reality of the present moment. There are already schools that teach this discipline of mindfulness, which is triumphing in the United States and has just arrived in Spain. One of the beneficial consequences derived from this exercise is precisely the quality of resilience acquired by those who practice it, by learning to cope with complicated situations.


Lately we heard a lot of the word resilience, even Estée Lauder has brought to light a campaign that speaks about the club of resilient women. Resilience is defined in psychology as the ability of a person to overcome traumatic circumstances.

Mindfulness or mindfulness as a concept

Mindfulness is not a new method. It is translated as "fully" and links the terms "mind" and "full". It was part of the life of Buddhists about 2,500 years ago. However, the current practice is to think only of the here and now. Become aware of where we are at each moment and feel our body without thinking about what we did a few minutes ago, the day before yesterday or even last year. To one side are the memories. To the other, future plans. It is not an exercise of reflection but of concentration in the present.


The conceptual keys of mindfulness

- Internal balance
- Conscious concentration in the present moment
- Body-mind connection
- Channeling of energies
- Tranquility as a constant
- Acceptance of oneself and reality as it is

The practice of mindfulness

Mindfulness does not consist in traveling mentally. We do not move anywhere. What it is about is knowing how one is and being aware of where one is. The first thing we have to do is adopt a meditation posture, for which it is recommended to have a small cushion or zafú. We will sit on this forming a triangle with our knees and keep the back straight and relaxed at the same time. The shoulders away from the neck and this in line with our spine. We will place our hands in a comfortable position, for example, on our knees and focus only on our breathing with our eyes closed. We have to mentally locate the part of our body that is feeling the most breath at every moment. It can be the nose, the lungs, the abdomen ... Everyone has to find theirs. The natural thing is that after a few minutes we get distracted, but mindfulness consists precisely in re-focusing concentration on the breath.


The benefits of mindfulness

When a person realizes that he is distracted and that his mind is not focused on a specific thing, he automatically activates the central part of his brain, which is called salience network, which perhaps reminds us of the concept of resilience that we introduced at first. Unintentional coincidence because this part of the brain is in charge of self-control. On the other hand, to recover that lost attention, if we concentrate on the breathing again doing of course a great effort, we can activate the prefrontal cortex of our brain. This is what is achieved with mindfulness and reports great benefits such as:

- Work and overcome pain and stress
- Cultivation of kindness
- Identification of one's emotions
- Suppression of prejudices
- Development of empathy
- Labor productivity
- Reduction of absenteeism
- Emotional well-being
- Improvement of the immune system
- Stress reduction

For these reasons, psychology and medicine have shaken hands in the Western world in favor of the activation of these neural mechanisms. Not only face-to-face workshops are taught, but there are also online versions. It is proven that with 20 minutes of daily mindfuness exercise the results improve a lot. Books that uncover the secrets of the exercise are also being sold and there are multiplicity of videos on YouTube.

In the hustle and bustle of our society it is not bad to stop to think or not to think. A priori to breathe does not need to be aware but what mindfulness is about is precisely doing that exercise.

Elisa García

Video: Mindfulness for Health and Wellbeing | UCLA Mindful Awareness Research Center


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Achtsamkeit, die Vorteile von Achtsamkeit

Die Kenntnis des gegenwärtigen Moments und der Realität ist die Grundlage der neuen Strömung Achtsamkeit mit denen Psychologie und Psychiatrie Menschen mit verschiedenen psychischen Erkrankungen, insbesondere Angstzuständen, Depressionen und Stress, helfen sollen.

Der neue Begriff ist der Achtsamkeit oder Achtsamkeit zentriert auf die Realität des gegenwärtigen Moments. Es gibt bereits Schulen, die diese Disziplin der Achtsamkeit vermitteln, die in den Vereinigten Staaten siegreich ist und gerade in Spanien angekommen ist. Eine der positiven Auswirkungen, die sich aus dieser Übung ergeben, ist genau die Qualität der Resilienz, die die Übenden erwerben, indem sie lernen, mit komplizierten Situationen umzugehen.


In letzter Zeit haben wir viel von dem Wort Resilienz gehört, selbst Estée Lauder hat eine Kampagne ans Licht gebracht, die über den Club der widerstandsfähigen Frauen spricht. Resilienz wird in der Psychologie als die Fähigkeit eines Menschen definiert, traumatische Umstände zu überwinden.

Achtsamkeit oder Achtsamkeit als Konzept

Achtsamkeit ist keine neue Methode. Es wird als "vollständig" übersetzt und verbindet die Begriffe "Geist" und "Voll". Es war vor 2500 Jahren Teil des Lebens der Buddhisten. Die gegenwärtige Praxis besteht jedoch darin, nur an das Hier und Jetzt zu denken. Machen Sie sich bewusst, wo wir uns gerade befinden, und fühlen Sie unseren Körper, ohne darüber nachzudenken, was wir vor ein paar Minuten, vorgestern oder sogar vor einem Jahr getan haben. Auf einer Seite sind die Erinnerungen. Zum anderen Zukunftspläne. Es ist keine Übung des Nachdenkens, sondern der Konzentration in der Gegenwart.


Die konzeptionellen Schlüssel der Achtsamkeit

- Internes Gleichgewicht
- Bewusste Konzentration im gegenwärtigen Moment
- Körper-Geist-Verbindung
- Kanalisierung von Energien
- Ruhe als Konstante
- Akzeptanz von sich selbst und der Realität, wie sie ist

Die Praxis der Achtsamkeit

Achtsamkeit besteht nicht darin, mental zu reisen. Wir bewegen uns nirgendwohin. Worum es geht, ist zu wissen, wie man ist und sich bewusst zu sein, wo man ist. Als Erstes müssen wir eine Meditationshaltung einnehmen, für die ein kleines Kissen oder Zafú empfohlen wird. Wir werden uns mit den Knien zu einem Dreieck zusammensetzen und den Rücken gerade und entspannt halten. Die Schultern sind vom Hals weg und dies stimmt mit unserer Wirbelsäule überein. Wir werden unsere Hände in eine bequeme Position bringen, z. B. auf die Knie, und uns nur auf unsere Atmung mit geschlossenen Augen konzentrieren. Wir müssen den Teil unseres Körpers, der in jedem Moment den größten Atemzug spürt, geistig lokalisieren. Es kann die Nase, die Lunge, der Bauch sein ... Jeder muss seine finden. Das natürliche ist, dass wir nach wenigen Minuten abgelenkt werden, aber Achtsamkeit besteht gerade darin, die Konzentration wieder auf den Atem zu konzentrieren.


Die Vorteile von Achtsamkeit

Wenn jemand erkennt, dass er abgelenkt ist und sein Geist sich nicht auf eine bestimmte Sache konzentriert, aktiviert er automatisch den zentralen Teil seines Gehirns, das als Salience-Netzwerk bezeichnet wird, was uns vielleicht an das Konzept der Resilienz erinnert, das wir eingeführt haben am Anfang Unbeabsichtigter Zufall, weil dieser Teil des Gehirns für die Selbstkontrolle zuständig ist. Auf der anderen Seite, um diese verlorene Aufmerksamkeit wiederzugewinnen, können wir, wenn wir uns wieder auf die Atmung konzentrieren, natürlich eine große Anstrengung machen, den präfrontalen Kortex unseres Gehirns aktivieren. Dies wird mit Achtsamkeit erreicht und zeigt große Vorteile wie:

- Arbeiten und Schmerzen und Stress überwinden
- Kultivierung der Freundlichkeit
- Identifikation der eigenen Gefühle
- Unterdrückung von Vorurteilen
- Entwicklung der Empathie
- Arbeitsproduktivität
- Verringerung der Fehlzeiten
- Emotionales Wohlbefinden
- Verbesserung des Immunsystems
- Stressabbau

Aus diesen Gründen haben Psychologie und Medizin in der westlichen Welt die Hand für die Aktivierung dieser neuronalen Mechanismen geschüttelt. Es werden nicht nur Face-to-Face-Workshops vermittelt, sondern es gibt auch Online-Versionen. Es ist erwiesen, dass sich die Ergebnisse mit 20 Minuten täglicher Mindfuness-Übung erheblich verbessern. Bücher, die die Geheimnisse der Übung aufdecken, werden ebenfalls verkauft und es gibt eine Vielzahl von Videos auf YouTube.

In der Hektik unserer Gesellschaft ist es nicht schlecht, aufhören zu denken oder nicht zu denken. A priori atmen muss nicht bewusst sein, aber was Achtsamkeit ist, macht genau diese Übung.

Elisa García

Video: Achtsamkeit + Meditation lernen | Die 11 Vorteile der Meditation


Interessante Artikel

10 politische Vorschläge, Frau und Mutter zu sein

10 politische Vorschläge, Frau und Mutter zu sein

Die Gesellschaft verändert sich in ihren kulturellen Grundlagen, ihren Modellen und ihren Bestrebungen. Die Mutterschaft von Frauen ist nach wie vor ein Schlüsselelement der Sozialstruktur. In den...

Die Gehirn- und Körperentwicklung von Kindern

Die Gehirn- und Körperentwicklung von Kindern

Im Alter von vier Jahren sind wir im Vergleich zu anderen Arten, selbst denen, die uns am nächsten sind, immer noch hilflose Kreaturen. Warum ist unsere Kindheit so lange? Einer der Gründe, warum die...