Power struggles between parents and children

The Power struggles between parents and children They are complicated to solve and that is why parents are so worried. If we add that we can have a tyrant son, things can be twisted even more. But what is behind the lmany power between parents and children And what consequences can they have on family relationships when they are not solved? What role do we parents have to adopt in themany power?

Power struggles and limits

The Power struggles between parents and children they take place because the limits that exist at home have not been sufficiently clarified. Carmen Magro, educational psychologist and director of the School Park in Galapagar (Madrid), explains that "the limits begin to be put when the child has months of life," says Magro, who is convinced that the problem comes if we put the limits when Things start to get complicated. Then it may be too late. Therefore, the psychologist recommends setting limits and setting standards before the child reaches Primary Education. "From Primary, if there are no limits, the problem becomes very fat."


Power struggles and punishments

When a Power fight it takes place and the child is pigeonholed in him "I command more", he can be punished, but it is not always convenient. We have to think that if the child rebels it may be because we are not dedicating enough time. Or maybe if we do it, but not in the right way. "If when we are with them we are more in command and order than to play and enjoy, the children rebel," says Magro.

In this sense, the expert refers to a study that shows that spending an hour more with our children reduces by 50 percent the time that parents spend in the psychologist's office for discussions with the child, power struggles and , in general, problems in the behavior of the child that generate, in turn, domestic complications. For the child to comply with the limits set at home, he must feel "loved and motivated", in the words of Carmen Magro.


Closeness and listening are two of the keys that must be given to a child to ensure that he behaves appropriately. "If the child only feels sent and punished, he will not comply with the limits," says Carmen Magro. What concerns us, therefore, as parents is to find the middle ground between vice and defect.

What's behind each of the warring parties

For Carmen Magro, the "Here I command" of one of our children is a form of rebellion of the child because he is not being treated as he deserves. In a way, what he wants to achieve is to get our attention. He wants us to listen to him, so we can not respond to his mandate with an "I can do more". At the other extreme, according to the psychologist, when the father says "I command" he is only attending to his need, but not to the child's.


That adult need to feel empowered comes from time to time, but not always. If we behave authoritatively at all times, what we are causing is that children have either low self-esteem or very aggressive. Once again, virtue lies at the midpoint.

Power struggles are not motivated by the school environment

Children spend many hours at school and the social environment they breathe is important. Therefore, to achieve balance in their behavior, the solution passes, according to Magro, for "finding a school that accompanies our way of educating". The expert points out that the basis of education is at home, although she recognizes that a joint work between parents and educators is necessary at all times. The family, he insists, has to follow the guidelines he receives from the teachers so that the educational process can be effective. In Spain we have a wide and varied educational offer to select only the ideal option.

Power struggles are reduced if parents and teachers work together

In case of conflict between our son and a partner, what we can not do in any way is to interfere. Sometimes, we should be content if our children suffer because if we give too much importance to their problems, although we should not detract from the importance that they have for them and make them see that they are insignificant, children can grow and tend to exaggerate. There is, therefore, no need to defend them in excess.

We have to dialogue with them and teach them to value. Carmen Magro makes it very clear: "we must know how to manage the suffering of children to prevent them from exaggerating, something that happens when they see that we pay too much attention to them.There is no need to overprotect children and there must be joint work between school and family. "

Elisa García
Advice: Carmen Magro, educational psychologist and director of the Park School in Galapagar (Madrid)

Video: Simple Words to Avoid Power Struggles


Interesting Articles

10 tips to enjoy a day at the beach

10 tips to enjoy a day at the beach

The summer and the vacations of the youngest of the house have arrived. Together with the other members of the family, they face an era marked by free time and high temperatures. There are numerous...

Invest in a good adolescence from early childhood

Invest in a good adolescence from early childhood

I have good news and a bad one. The bad news is that adolescence is practically obligatory. The good news is that in all cases, it happens. It is "a disease that heals over time". But the healing...

Alert the risk of buying breast milk online

Alert the risk of buying breast milk online

We are in the age of Internet and new technologies. Internet purchases have become the order of the day, to such an extent that we can find hundreds of products on the web that were unthinkable until...

Machtkämpfe zwischen Eltern und Kindern

Die Machtkämpfe zwischen Eltern und Kindern Sie sind kompliziert zu lösen und deswegen machen sich Eltern Sorgen. Wenn wir hinzufügen, dass wir einen Tyrannensohn haben können, können die Dinge noch mehr verdreht werden. Aber was steckt hinter dem lviel Macht zwischen Eltern und Kindern Und welche Konsequenzen können sie für Familienbeziehungen haben, wenn sie nicht gelöst werden? Welche Rolle müssen wir Eltern in der EU übernehmen?viele macht?

Machtkämpfe und Grenzen

Die Machtkämpfe zwischen Eltern und Kindern Sie finden statt, weil die Grenzen, die zu Hause bestehen, nicht ausreichend geklärt sind. Carmen Magro, pädagogische Psychologin und Direktorin des School Parks in Galapagar (Madrid), erklärt, dass "die Grenzen ansetzen, wenn das Kind über Monate hinweg lebt", sagt Magro, der überzeugt ist, dass das Problem dadurch entsteht, dass wir die Grenzen setzen Die Dinge werden kompliziert. Dann kann es zu spät sein. Daher empfiehlt der Psychologe, Grenzwerte festzulegen und Standards festzulegen, bevor das Kind die Grundschulausbildung erreicht. "Wenn es keine Grenzen gibt, wird das Problem sehr schwer."


Machtkämpfe und Strafen

Wenn a Machtkampf es findet statt und das Kind ist in ihm eingeordnet "Ich befehle mehr", es kann bestraft werden, aber es ist nicht immer bequem. Wir müssen denken, wenn das Kind rebelliert, kann es daran liegen, dass wir nicht genug Zeit investieren. Oder vielleicht, wenn wir es tun, aber nicht auf die richtige Weise. "Wenn wir bei ihnen sind, sind wir mehr in Befehl und Ordnung, als zu spielen und zu genießen, die Kinder rebellieren", sagt Magro.

In diesem Sinne verweist der Experte auf eine Studie, die zeigt, dass eine Stunde mehr Zeit mit unseren Kindern die Zeit reduziert, die Eltern im Büro des Psychologen für Diskussionen mit dem Kind, Machtkämpfe und andere Probleme verbringen im Allgemeinen Probleme im Verhalten des Kindes, die wiederum zu häuslichen Komplikationen führen. Damit das Kind die zu Hause gesetzten Grenzen einhalten kann, muss es sich "geliebt und motiviert" fühlen, wie Carmen Magro sagt.


Nähe und Zuhören sind zwei der Schlüssel, die einem Kind gegeben werden müssen, um sicherzustellen, dass es sich entsprechend verhält. "Wenn sich das Kind nur gesandt und bestraft fühlt, wird es die Grenzwerte nicht einhalten", sagt Carmen Magro. Deshalb geht es uns als Eltern darum, den Mittelweg zwischen Laster und Defekt zu finden.

Was steht hinter den Kriegsparteien?

Für Carmen Magro ist das "Here I command" eines unserer Kinder eine Form der Rebellion des Kindes, weil es nicht so behandelt wird, wie er es verdient. In gewisser Weise möchte er unsere Aufmerksamkeit auf sich ziehen. Er möchte, dass wir ihm zuhören, damit wir nicht mit einem "Ich kann mehr" auf sein Mandat reagieren können. Am anderen Extrem, so der Psychologe, kümmert sich der Vater, wenn er "Ich befehle" sagt, nur um seine Bedürfnisse, nicht aber um die des Kindes.


Dieses erwachsene Bedürfnis, sich ermächtigt zu fühlen, kommt von Zeit zu Zeit, aber nicht immer. Wenn wir uns zu jeder Zeit autoritativ verhalten, führen wir dazu, dass Kinder entweder ein geringes Selbstwertgefühl haben oder sehr aggressiv sind. Wieder liegt die Tugend im Mittelpunkt.

Machtkämpfe werden nicht durch die Schulumgebung motiviert

Kinder verbringen viele Stunden in der Schule und das soziale Umfeld, in dem sie atmen, ist wichtig. Um ein Gleichgewicht in ihrem Verhalten zu erreichen, besteht die Lösung laut Magro darauf, "eine Schule zu finden, die unsere Art der Erziehung begleitet". Die Expertin weist darauf hin, dass die Basis der Bildung zu Hause ist, obwohl sie anerkennt, dass eine gemeinsame Arbeit zwischen Eltern und Erzieherinnen jederzeit notwendig ist. Die Familie, so beharrt er, muss den Richtlinien der Lehrer folgen, damit der Bildungsprozess effektiv sein kann. In Spanien haben wir ein breites und vielfältiges Bildungsangebot, um nur die ideale Option auszuwählen.

Machtkämpfe werden reduziert, wenn Eltern und Lehrer zusammenarbeiten

Bei Konflikten zwischen unserem Sohn und einem Partner können wir in keiner Weise eingreifen. Manchmal sollten wir zufrieden sein, wenn unsere Kinder leiden, wenn wir ihren Problemen zu viel Bedeutung beimessen, obwohl wir die Bedeutung, die sie für sie haben, nicht beeinträchtigen dürfen und sie sich als unbedeutend ansehen, dass Kinder wachsen und dazu neigen, zu übertreiben. Es besteht daher keine Notwendigkeit, sie im Übermaß zu verteidigen.

Wir müssen mit ihnen in Dialog treten und sie zu Wertschätzung beibringen. Carmen Magro macht es ganz klar: "Wir müssen wissen, wie wir mit dem Leiden von Kindern umgehen können, damit sie nicht übertrieben werden. Dies geschieht, wenn sie feststellen, dass wir ihnen zu viel Aufmerksamkeit schenken. Es besteht keine Notwendigkeit, Kinder zu überfordern und es muss gemeinsame Arbeit geben Schule und Familie. "

Elisa García
Hinweis: Carmen Magro, pädagogischer Psychologe und Direktor der Park School in Galapagar (Madrid)

Video: Das Kind gehört mir! Eltern im Scheidungskrieg - Das Sorgerecht


Interessante Artikel

Cyberdependenz: mobile Sucht

Cyberdependenz: mobile Sucht

Es gibt neue oder unbekannte Begriffe innerhalb der Cyberabhängigkeit und das hat mit der mobilen Sucht zu tun Wissen wir was es ist Nomophobie und Mobilfia? Die Nomophobie ist die Angst vor Angst,...