How to improve the difficulties of children in reading

The main objective that is presented to children when they access the school system is learn to read and write. Soon they will pass from this, to read to write and learn, which implies that the skills related to the written language they are tools that must necessarily be handled with dexterity from an early age, since they are essential for future academic success as well as for professional development.

To understand how can we improve the difficulties of children in reading, it is necessary to know how they learn to distinguish the possible deficiencies of children when learning to read.


Understand language and recognize words

The mechanisms of reading consist of two main components: recognition of written words and understanding of language.

1. Recognition of written words. To learn to read it is necessary to decode the alphabetic code, that is, to see the letters as sound signals and not as images, learning the grapheme-phoneme correspondence rules and automating the relationship between the visual and the phonological. The characteristics of this recognition, essential for reading well, are that it be carried out with precision, speed and expressiveness.


In this phase, children often make mistakes due to confusion, inversion, omission or addition of phonemes; changes of syllables or words; syllabication, repetitions or hesitations; as well as writing in a mirror. All these are symptoms of inexperienced reading that, although they are normal at the beginning of the learning process of literacy, if they persist over time they can become a problem and lead, among other disorders, to dyslexia.

There is a broad consensus that the origin of these difficulties lies in deficiencies in segmental, suprasegmental phonological processing and in the rise time of sounds; since children with reading disorders or dyslexia make mistakes or are slow in phonological awareness tasks (manipulate letters, syllables and word fragments), name colors, objects, remember lists and classify words, follow rhythmic patterns and even recognize sounds and voices. All this is due to the fact that they have developed non-specific phonological representations, with added prosodic deficits, which prevent a correct connection between graphemes and phonemes.


2. Reading comprehension. Other children have difficulties when it comes to understanding what they read, they keep the superficial or literal part of the texts and can not make the necessary inferences to follow the argument with fluency. It is believed that these difficulties are due to linguistic problems in high level functions, such as semantics (meaning of words), lexical (vocabulary) and grammar (morphology and syntax). In addition, the problems to extract inferences are related to the scarcity of previous knowledge, the difficulty for the logical reasoning and the connection of these knowledge to each other, and the metacognitive control of the understanding.

Keys to improve children's difficulties with reading

These two major components of reading give rise to different difficulties with different origins, whose treatment must be differentiated. A typical program of activities to be carried out to improve these difficulties is grouped into four categories:

1. Improvement of phonological processes: phonological awareness skills

2. Rhythmic and musical training: multimodal intervention with linguistic and non-linguistic elements

3. Reader training: fluency and reading speed, reading aloud, reading to two voices, vocabulary, previous knowledge, recognition of the structure and characters of texts.

4. Metacognitive training: verbal and logical reasoning, metacognition skills.

Psychopedagogical keys to improve children's reading

To improve the response capacity of children with reading difficulties, there are teaching factors to consider:

1. Early and preventive. The children's period is the best time to detect and tackle the difficulties, the accumulated failure of several years is difficult to trace.

2. Explicit.Children learn according to patterns they extract from the environment, imitating language and drawing conclusions about causality, what is called implicit learning (by observation). Several studies indicate that children with dyslexia have problems for implicit learning, for this reason the intervention should make explicit what they should learn.

3. Intensive. To be effective, the intervention must be individualized to the maximum, be regular, provide daily attention and use multisensory modalities.

4. Emotional. Do not forget the emotional aspects, especially self-esteem, motivation and perseverance; The collaboration of the family to extend the activities, games and reading habit to the home environment is also important.

In this way, we offer children with learning and literacy development difficulties, the right tools so that they can become competent people in this skill so necessary for their future life.

Ana Barrantes. Teacher of Primary Education. Author of the blog Neuropsychology and Learning

Video: Tell Me a Story: Reading Program Helps Child with ADHD Find Focus


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Wie können die Schwierigkeiten von Kindern beim Lesen verbessert werden?

Das Hauptziel, das den Kindern beim Zugang zum Schulsystem präsentiert wird, ist Lesen und schreiben lernen. Bald werden sie von hier aus übergehen lesen zu schreiben und lernen, was bedeutet, dass die Fertigkeiten im Zusammenhang mit der Schriftsprache Sie sind Werkzeuge, die notwendigerweise schon früh mit Fingerspitzengefühl behandelt werden müssen, da sie für den künftigen akademischen Erfolg sowie für die berufliche Entwicklung unerlässlich sind.

Zu verstehen Wie können wir die Schwierigkeiten von Kindern beim Lesen verbessernEs ist notwendig zu wissen, wie sie lernen, die möglichen Defizite von Kindern beim Lesenlernen zu unterscheiden.


Sprache verstehen und Wörter erkennen

Die Mechanismen des Lesens bestehen aus zwei Hauptkomponenten: Erkennen von geschriebenen Wörtern und Sprachverständnis.

1. Erkennung von geschriebenen Wörtern Um das Lesen zu lernen, muss man den alphabetischen Code decodieren, dh die Buchstaben als Tonsignale und nicht als Bilder sehen, die Graphem-Phonem-Entsprechungsregeln erlernen und die Beziehung zwischen dem Visuellen und dem Phonologischen automatisieren. Die für ein gutes Lesen wesentlichen Merkmale dieser Erkenntnis bestehen darin, dass sie mit Präzision, Schnelligkeit und Ausdruckskraft ausgeführt wird.


In dieser Phase machen Kinder oft Fehler aufgrund von Verwirrung, Umkehrung, Auslassung oder Hinzufügung von Phonemen; Änderungen von Silben oder Wörtern; Silbenschrift, Wiederholungen oder Zögern; sowie in einen Spiegel schreiben. All dies sind Symptome unerfahrenen Lesens. Obwohl sie zu Beginn des Lernprozesses der Alphabetisierung normal sind, können sie, wenn sie im Laufe der Zeit bestehen bleiben, zu einem Problem werden und unter anderem zu Legasthenie führen.

Es besteht weitgehend Einigkeit darüber, dass der Ursprung dieser Schwierigkeiten in Mängeln der segmentalen suprasegmentalen phonologischen Verarbeitung und in der Anstiegszeit von Tönen liegt; da Kinder mit Lesestörungen oder Legasthenie Fehler machen oder bei phonologischen Wahrnehmungsaufgaben nur langsam vorgehen (Buchstaben, Silben und Wortfragmente manipulieren), Farben, Objekte benennen, Listen speichern und Wörter klassifizieren, rhythmischen Mustern folgen und sogar Geräusche erkennen und Stimmen. All dies ist auf die Tatsache zurückzuführen, dass sie unspezifische phonologische Repräsentationen entwickelt haben, mit zusätzlichen prosodischen Defiziten, die eine korrekte Verbindung zwischen Graphemen und Phonemen verhindern.


2. Leseverständnis. Andere Kinder haben Schwierigkeiten, zu verstehen, was sie lesen, sie behalten den oberflächlichen oder wörtlichen Teil der Texte bei und können nicht die notwendigen Schlüsse ziehen, um dem Argument fließend zu folgen. Es wird angenommen, dass diese Schwierigkeiten auf sprachliche Probleme in Funktionen auf hoher Ebene zurückzuführen sind, wie zum Beispiel Semantik (Bedeutung von Wörtern), lexikalisch (Vokabular) und Grammatik (Morphologie und Syntax). Außerdem beziehen sich die Probleme, um Schlussfolgerungen zu ziehen, auf die Verknappung von Vorwissen, die Schwierigkeit für das logische Denken und die Verbindung dieses Wissens miteinander und die metakognitive Kontrolle des Verstehens.

Schlüssel zur Verbesserung der Schwierigkeiten von Kindern beim Lesen

Diese beiden Hauptkomponenten des Lesens führen zu unterschiedlichen Schwierigkeiten mit unterschiedlichen Ursprüngen, deren Behandlung differenziert werden muss. Ein typisches Aktivitätenprogramm zur Verbesserung dieser Schwierigkeiten ist in vier Kategorien unterteilt:

1. Verbesserung phonologischer Prozesse: phonologische Bewusstseinsfähigkeiten

2. Rhythmisches und Musiktraining: multimodale Intervention mit sprachlichen und nichtsprachlichen Elementen

3. Leserschulung: Fließ- und Lesegeschwindigkeit, Vorlesen, Lesen zu zwei Stimmen, Wortschatz, Vorkenntnisse, Erkennen von Struktur und Zeichen von Texten.

4. Metakognitives Training: verbales und logisches Denken, Metakognitionsfähigkeiten.

Psychopädagogische Schlüssel zur Verbesserung des Kinderlesens

Um die Reaktionsfähigkeit von Kindern mit Leseschwierigkeiten zu verbessern, müssen folgende Faktoren berücksichtigt werden:

1. Früh und vorbeugend Die Kinderzeit ist der beste Zeitpunkt, um die Schwierigkeiten zu erkennen und zu bewältigen. Das akkumulierte Versagen von mehreren Jahren ist schwer zu verfolgen.

2. Explizit.Kinder lernen nach Mustern, die sie aus der Umgebung extrahieren, die Sprache imitieren und Rückschlüsse auf Kausalität ziehen, was als implizites Lernen (durch Beobachtung) bezeichnet wird. Mehrere Studien weisen darauf hin, dass Kinder mit Legasthenie Probleme beim impliziten Lernen haben. Aus diesem Grund sollte das Eingreifen explizit machen, was sie lernen sollten.

3. Intensiv Um wirksam zu sein, muss die Intervention bis zum Maximum individualisiert sein, regelmäßig sein, tägliche Aufmerksamkeit bieten und multisensorische Modalitäten verwenden.

4. Emotional. Vergessen Sie nicht die emotionalen Aspekte, insbesondere das Selbstwertgefühl, die Motivation und Ausdauer. Die Zusammenarbeit der Familie, um die Aktivitäten, Spiele und Lesegewohnheiten auf die häusliche Umgebung auszuweiten, ist ebenfalls wichtig.

Auf diese Weise bieten wir Kindern mit Lernschwierigkeiten und Lernschwierigkeiten die richtigen Werkzeuge, um zu kompetenten Menschen mit dieser für ihr zukünftiges Leben notwendigen Fähigkeit zu werden.

Ana Barrantes. Lehrer der Grundschulbildung. Autor des Blogs Neuropsychologie und Lernen

Video: Vorlesen in der Schule - Tipps und Tricks


Interessante Artikel

Was ist das Wissenschaftssache?

Was ist das Wissenschaftssache?

Von Emilio López-Barajas. UniversitätsprofessorDie wissenschaftliche Methode Angewendet, um Wissen zu erlangen, erlaubt es nicht immer eine vollständige Erfassung der Realität. Derjenige, der in der...

Kinder und Fette: finden Sie den Mittelpunkt

Kinder und Fette: finden Sie den Mittelpunkt

Es ist bewiesen: zu Kinder sie lieben das "fettige" Mahlzeiten. Nuggets, Hamburger, Hot Dogs, Chips usw. Die Fetteinfach so Proteine, die Hydrate oder die Vitamineist für seine Entwicklung...