Bronchiolitis: cases increase this winter

The bronchiolitis epidemic is collapsing consultations of pediatric services. This infant respiratory disease has taken hundreds of families to pediatric emergencies, where they have received up to an average of 50 patients, children under two years, a day.

In some places, up to 200 children per day have been registered, with an average of 20 hospitalizations per day. Even so, pediatricians point out that "although there is more bronchiolitis than other years, There is no reason for the alarm. "According to Dr. Paloma Nacher, responsible for the pediatric emergency service of the Hospital La Milagrosa," this year the Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV), the virus responsible for bronchiolitis that causes the inflammation of the bronchioles, is being more virulent than other years affecting to a large extent babies under 6 months, especially ".


On the other hand, exposure to levels of environmental pollution, as in Madrid, is another factor that greatly influences the spread of this virus.

What is bronchiolitis and how does it appear in babies?

The bronchiolitis It is a disease of the respiratory system that affects the tiny airways called "bronchioles", which flow into the lungs. The inflammation of these routes causes them to swell and fill with mucus, which makes breathing difficult. It is a common disease and sometimes serious.

Caused primarily by the respiratory syncytial virus, bronchiolitis is very common in infants and children because their airways are small and clogged more easily. It usually occurs more frequently between three and six months of age and disappears as the child grows and his lungs mature. Bornquiolitis is a serious illness that sometimes requires hospitalization, especially in babies under 12 months.


How to prevent bronchiolitis in babies?

The bronchiolitis virus spreads if it comes into direct contact with the secretions of the nose and throat of someone who has the disease (coughing, sneezing ...). Therefore, Dr. Nacher indicates a series of recommendations to avoid transmission, in addition to those indicated in each case by the doctor.

- Wash your hands frequently it is a measure that is usually effective especially during the colds season.

- Keep the baby or child away from tobacco smoke.

- Ensure sufficient rest and a healthy diet to help the body to defend against diseases.

Symptoms of bronchiolitis

Bronchiolitis begins as a mild infection of the upper respiratory tract. After two or three days, the child has more respiratory problems, such as wheezing and coughing.


The symptoms of bronchiolitis can appear as follows:

- Purple skin due to lack of oxygen . In this case, urgent treatment is needed
- Respiratory difficulty, which includes wheezing and shortness of breath
- Cough
- Fatigue
- Fever
- Run: the muscles around the ribs sink when the child breathes
- The nostrils of the baby widen when breathing
- Rapid and agitated breathing

Treatment of bronchiolitis

Bronchiolitis usually lasts about 12 days, but children who suffer more severe cases may continue to cough for weeks. In general, the disease reaches the point of greatest intensity between the second and third days after the onset of coughing and breathing difficulties and then subsides gradually.

Antibiotics, in this case, are not useful because bronchiolitis is a respiratory disease caused by a viral infection and antibiotics are only effective in bacterial infections. Sometimes the professional may consider medication necessary to help unclog the child's expiratory tract.

In the most severe cases, the hospitalization of the child is required in order to provide oxygen and help him breathe until his complete improvement.

Development of the first bronchiolitis vaccine

A group of Chilean scientists have just developed the first vaccine against the Sincicial Respiratory Virus (RSV) and they hope it will be available to the public within four years.

Dr. Paloma Nacher. Neonatologist and head of the Pediatric Emergency Service of La Milagrosa Hospital in Madrid

Video: Bronchiolitis - Causes and Risk factors


Interesting Articles

Educate from the tranquility

Educate from the tranquility

Being a parent is not an easy task, nobody has taught us educate from the tranquility and the day to day does not make the task easy, from the alarm clock until we go back to bed we have done a lot...

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

As they get older, our children will have to assume new roles at home. Around 9 or 10 years old, these are some of the daily Homeworks that they should be able to do for themselves.8 skills that...

Reasons to encourage running in the family

Reasons to encourage running in the family

The sport is necessary. Go for a run or to do 'Running' It can be a very good option to exercise and, in addition, it is fashionable. But why not practice it in family? The truth is that, although...

Bronchiolitis: Fälle verstärken diesen Winter

Die Bronchiolitis-Epidemie bricht die Konsultationen der pädiatrischen Dienste zusammen. Diese Atemwegserkrankung bei Säuglingen hat Hunderte von Familien für pädiatrische Notfälle gebracht, in denen bis zu 50 Patienten pro Tag, Kinder unter zwei Jahren, behandelt wurden.

An einigen Orten wurden bis zu 200 Kinder pro Tag registriert, mit durchschnittlich 20 Krankenhauseinweisungen pro Tag. Trotzdem weisen Kinderärzte darauf hin, dass "obwohl es gibt mehr Bronchiolitis als in anderen Jahren, Es gibt keinen Grund für den Alarm. "Laut Dr. Paloma Nacher, zuständig für den pädiatrischen Notfalldienst des Krankenhauses La Milagrosa", ist in diesem Jahr der Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV), der Virus, verantwortlich Bronchiolitis das verursacht die Entzündung der Bronchiolen, ist virulenter als andere Jahre und betrifft in hohem Maße Babys unter 6 Monaten, besonders ".


Andererseits ist die Belastung durch die Umweltverschmutzung wie in Madrid ein weiterer Faktor, der die Verbreitung dieses Virus stark beeinflusst.

Was ist Bronchiolitis und wie erscheint sie bei Babys?

Die Bronchiolitis Es ist eine Erkrankung des Atmungssystems, die sich auf die winzigen Atemwege (Bronchiolen) auswirkt, die in die Lunge fließen. Durch die Entzündung dieser Wege schwellen sie an und füllen sich mit Schleim, was das Atmen erschwert. Es ist eine häufige Krankheit und manchmal schwerwiegend.

Bronchiolitis, die hauptsächlich durch das respiratorische Synzytialvirus verursacht wird, tritt bei Säuglingen und Kindern sehr häufig auf, da ihre Atemwege klein und leichter verstopft sind. Sie tritt normalerweise häufiger im Alter zwischen drei und sechs Monaten auf und verschwindet, wenn das Kind wächst und seine Lungen reifen. Die Bornquiolitis ist eine schwere Erkrankung, die manchmal ins Krankenhaus eingeliefert werden muss, insbesondere bei Säuglingen unter 12 Monaten.


Wie kann man Bronchiolitis bei Babys verhindern?

Das Bronchiolitis-Virus breitet sich aus, wenn es in direktem Kontakt mit den Sekreten der Nase und des Rachens einer Erkrankten (Husten, Niesen ...) kommt. Daher gibt Dr. Nacher eine Reihe von Empfehlungen an, um die Übertragung zusätzlich zu den jeweils vom Arzt angegebenen zu vermeiden.

- Waschen Sie häufig Ihre Hände Dies ist eine Maßnahme, die vor allem in der kalten Jahreszeit wirksam ist.

- Halten Sie das Baby oder Kind von Tabakrauch fern.

- Sorgen Sie für ausreichend Ruhe und eine gesunde Ernährung, die dem Körper hilft, sich gegen Krankheiten zu wehren.

Symptome einer Bronchiolitis

Bronchiolitis beginnt als milde Infektion der oberen Atemwege. Nach zwei oder drei Tagen hat das Kind mehr Atemprobleme, wie Keuchen und Husten.


Die Symptome einer Bronchiolitis können wie folgt aussehen:

- Purpurrote Haut aufgrund von Sauerstoffmangel . In diesem Fall ist eine dringende Behandlung erforderlich
- Atembeschwerden, die Keuchen und Atemnot einschließt
- Husten
- Müdigkeit
- Fieber
- Run: Die Muskeln um die Rippen sinken, wenn das Kind atmet
- Die Nasenlöcher des Babys weiten sich beim Atmen
Schnelle und aufgeregte Atmung

Behandlung der Bronchiolitis

Die Bronchiolitis dauert normalerweise etwa 12 Tage, aber Kinder, die an schwerwiegenderen Fällen leiden, können wochenlang weiter husten. Im Allgemeinen erreicht die Krankheit zwischen dem zweiten und dem dritten Tag nach dem Auftreten von Husten und Atembeschwerden den größten Intensitätspunkt und klingt dann allmählich ab.

Antibiotika sind in diesem Fall nicht nützlich, da Bronchiolitis eine durch eine Virusinfektion verursachte Atemwegserkrankung ist und Antibiotika nur bei bakteriellen Infektionen wirksam sind. Manchmal hält der Fachmann Medikamente für notwendig, um die Ausatemwege des Kindes freizulegen.

In den schwersten Fällen ist der Krankenhausaufenthalt des Kindes erforderlich, um Sauerstoff bereitzustellen und ihm zu helfen, bis zu seiner vollständigen Besserung zu atmen.

Entwicklung des ersten Impfstoffs gegen Bronchiolitis

Eine Gruppe chilenischer Wissenschaftler hat gerade den ersten Impfstoff gegen das Sincicial Respiratory Virus (RSV) entwickelt und hofft, dass er in vier Jahren der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung stehen wird.

Dr. Paloma Nacher. Neonatologe und Leiter des Pädiatrischen Notdienstes des Krankenhauses La Milagrosa in Madrid

Video: THE POOL IS LAVA | WINTER EDITION | We Are The Davises


Interessante Artikel

Attendis, drei Vorschläge für städtische Sommerlager

Attendis, drei Vorschläge für städtische Sommerlager

Die erwarteten Sommerferien kommen, und die Attendis-Schulen öffnen auch ihre Türen. Sie bieten drei verschiedene Vorschläge für Sommerkurse an, deren Ziel es ist, den Schülern und ihren Familien zu...

Niederlage akzeptieren: Der Wert von Sportlichkeit

Niederlage akzeptieren: Der Wert von Sportlichkeit

Wie gerne, aber was gewinnen bitter ist die Niederlage. Verlieren ist jedoch ein Teil des Lebens, und Sie sollten diese Ereignisse nicht als Versagen betrachten, sondern als einen Moment, in dem Sie...