How to teach children to express their emotions

Manifesting feelings is a very healthy habit, which is also learned and educated. But how can we teach children to express their emotions and to control them at the same time? A key moment in the acquisition of emotional self-regulation occurs after the onset of language and the associated cognitive changes.

At this stage, children can now express more clearly their emotions and, therefore, be more aware of what happens to them. An important guideline is for parents to help put into words what children feel at those times ("what happens is that you get angry not being able to open that lid ...") or the parents themselves ("now dad is angry with you because ... "). Identifying one's emotional states and knowing how to express them verbally is a fundamental step for the subsequent self-control.


The child's desire for autonomy in emotional self-regulation

Also at this stage, the child's desire for autonomy begins more clearly. The "I alone" implies the need to distance oneself from parents in order to gain autonomy. The tantrums, more frequent in these ages, can be understood as the contrast between the desire to make their decisions, with the immaturity to emotionally tolerate the first limits contrary to their pretensions. Helping children to handle these episodes is another elemental piece in the process of maturing their capacity for self-regulation.

Clear limits, essential for children


The clear and proportional limits are key in this stage. Overprotective educational styles (lacking in limits) would not facilitate the child's experience of tolerating frustration or discomfort and regain emotional control after failing to achieve its purpose, since they would only learn to calm down with the achievement of their desires.

On the other hand, excessively authoritarian educational styles would not facilitate emotional regulation either, although apparently the child does not have tantrums (it is not altered if a limit is imposed), they do not do it because they have acquired emotional control, but because they have learned to express themselves emotionally he is punished. These children usually present a great insecurity (since they only do what is expected of them without knowing how to make their own decisions) and run the risk of presenting in the future an important disability for emotional management, which is usually accompanied by anxiety pictures.


Take advantage of tantrums to work on emotional self-regulation

Taking advantage of these tantrums to work with children self-regulation strategies is very useful. When the tantrums occur, the child can be taken away from the place where they have been disturbed and try to help them calm down in a corner of the house (it can be called "the corner of peace or tranquility"). Once reassured you can reason with them and help them verbally express what has happened. Repeating these guidelines routinely will help create internal self-regulation strategies in the child.

As the child grows -and enters the school and social world- will find new situations to learn to regulate emotionally. It is important to remember that to achieve emotional maturity each child follows his own course. What some get quickly, others achieve it with more effort. The fundamental thing is to persevere and help them thinking that we are preparing them for adult life.

<

Video: How to Help Your Child Express Their Feelings


Interesting Articles

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

Treating dyslexia at home, what parents can do

The dyslexia it is one of the disorders that can most affect the children's equation. Those who go through these situations present a greater difficulty to read and therefore to understand those...

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

Changes in children from 10 to 12 years old

The changes that are observed in children from 10 to 12 years old are many and varied, not only because this age is precisely that of change from childhood to preadolescence, but also because they...

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

Young online, the profile of the bettor in Spain

The pathological It is a very serious problem that has increased in recent times as a result of the expansion of new technologies. Smartphones with an internet connection allow you to place bets...

Wie man Kindern beibringt, ihre Gefühle auszudrücken

Gefühle zu manifestieren ist eine sehr gesunde Gewohnheit, die auch gelernt und erzogen wird. Aber wie können wir? Kindern beibringen, ihre Gefühle auszudrücken und gleichzeitig zu kontrollieren? Ein Schlüsselmoment beim Erwerb der emotionalen Selbstregulation tritt nach dem Einsetzen der Sprache und den damit verbundenen kognitiven Veränderungen auf.

In dieser Phase können Kinder jetzt ihre Eindrücke klarer ausdrücken Emotionen und seid euch daher dessen bewusst, was mit ihnen geschieht. Eine wichtige Richtlinie besteht darin, dass Eltern dabei helfen, in Worte zu fassen, was Kinder zu dieser Zeit fühlen ("was passiert ist, dass man wütend wird, diesen Deckel nicht öffnen zu können ...") oder die Eltern selbst ("jetzt ist Papa wütend auf dich, weil ... "). Die eigenen emotionalen Zustände zu erkennen und zu wissen, wie man sie verbal ausdrücken kann, ist ein grundlegender Schritt für die spätere Selbstkontrolle.


Der Wunsch des Kindes nach Autonomie bei der emotionalen Selbstregulierung

Auch in diesem Stadium beginnt der Wunsch des Kindes nach Autonomie deutlicher. Das "Ich allein" impliziert die Notwendigkeit, sich von den Eltern zu distanzieren, um Autonomie zu erlangen. Die Wutausbrüche, die in diesen Zeitaltern häufiger sind, können als Kontrast zwischen dem Wunsch, ihre Entscheidungen zu treffen, verstanden werden, mit der Unreife, die ersten Grenzen im Gegensatz zu ihren Ansprüchen emotional zu tolerieren. Kindern zu helfen, mit diesen Episoden umzugehen, ist ein weiteres Element bei der Reifung ihrer Fähigkeit zur Selbstregulierung.

Klare Grenzen, unerlässlich für Kinder


Die klaren und proportionalen Grenzwerte sind in dieser Phase von entscheidender Bedeutung. Überprotektive Erziehungsstile (die keine Grenzen haben) würden die Erfahrung des Kindes, Frustration oder Unwohlsein zu tolerieren, nicht erleichtern und die emotionale Kontrolle wiedererlangen, wenn es seinen Zweck verfehlt, da es nur lernen würde, sich mit der Erfüllung seiner Wünsche zu beruhigen.

Andererseits würden übermäßig autoritäre Erziehungsstile die emotionale Regulierung nicht erleichtern, obwohl das Kind offenbar keinen Wutanfall hat (es wird nicht geändert, wenn eine Begrenzung auferlegt wird) emotional wird er bestraft. Diese Kinder sind in der Regel eine große Unsicherheit (da sie nur das tun, was von ihnen erwartet wird, ohne zu wissen, wie sie ihre eigenen Entscheidungen treffen können) und riskieren, in Zukunft eine wichtige Behinderung für das emotionale Management darzustellen, die normalerweise von Angstbildern begleitet wird.


Nutzen Sie Wutanfälle, um an der emotionalen Selbstregulierung zu arbeiten

Diese Wutanfälle für die Arbeit mit Selbstregulierungsstrategien von Kindern zu nutzen, ist sehr nützlich. Wenn die Wutanfälle auftreten, kann das Kind von dem Ort entfernt werden, an dem es gestört wurde, und versucht, ihm zu helfen, sich in einer Ecke des Hauses zu beruhigen (es kann als "Ecke des Friedens oder der Ruhe" bezeichnet werden). Einmal beruhigt, können Sie mit ihnen argumentieren und ihnen helfen, das Geschehene verbal auszudrücken. Wenn Sie diese Richtlinien regelmäßig wiederholen, können Sie im Kind interne Strategien zur Selbstregulierung entwickeln.

Wenn das Kind wächst und in die Schule und in die soziale Welt eintritt, werden sich neue Situationen ergeben, in denen man lernen kann, emotional zu regulieren. Es ist wichtig zu wissen, dass jedes Kind seinen eigenen Verlauf nimmt, um seine emotionale Reife zu erreichen. Was manche schnell bekommen, andere schaffen es mit mehr Aufwand. Die grundlegende Sache ist, beharrlich zu sein und ihnen zu helfen zu denken, dass wir sie auf das Erwachsenenleben vorbereiten.

<

Video: Diese 8 Dinge solltest du deinem Kind nicht beibringen


Interessante Artikel

Die Bedeutung des kooperativen Lernens bei Kindern

Die Bedeutung des kooperativen Lernens bei Kindern

Heutzutage wird das Bedürfnis nachdrücklich betont sei der besteunter den anderen hervorstechen. Manchmal jedoch lassen diese Botschaften die Menschen die Solidarität vergessen, weil Kinder es...

Nein, Muttermilch produziert keinen Schleim

Nein, Muttermilch produziert keinen Schleim

Wie sehr macht sich die Gesundheit eines Babys Sorgen, wie schwierig ist es jedoch, mit ihm zu kommunizieren, um zu wissen, was mit ihm passiert. Die Jüngsten des Hauses dominieren nicht in der...

Zwei wichtige Apps für Kinder mit Autismus

Zwei wichtige Apps für Kinder mit Autismus

Internet hat unser Leben verändert. Heute erleichtern viele mobile Anwendungen unser Leben. Bei vielen Gelegenheiten haben wir hervorgehoben "Apps" zum Spielen mit unseren Kindern Wir lernen zwar,...