They propose to reduce by 40% the sugar in soft drinks to curb obesity

The sugary drinks are an important source of sugar intake, both in children and adults, and represent an important factor contributing to overweight and obesity-related diseases, such as type 2 diabetes. This is what has been revealed in a recent study published in the magazine The Lancet.

This study goes further and proposes that a gradual and staggered reduction over 5 years, 40 percent of the sugar added to soft drinks and juices could significantly reduce obesity and diabetes in the world population.

Less sugar, less obesity, overweight and diabetes

This study published in the section of Diabetes and Endocrinology of the magazine The Lancet has used data from the National Diet and Nutrition Survey and the annual reports of the British Soft Drinks Association to calculate the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages (with and without fruit juices) and their contribution to sugar and energy intake in the population of the United Kingdom.


The study method calculates the predicted reduction in energy consumption and reduction in body weight using a weight loss model.

The results estimate that a reduction of 40 percent in sugars added to sweetened beverages over more than 5 years, would lead to an average reduction of 20 kg in adults over 5 years.

This reduction would positively affect adults with overweight and obesity in the world and would prevent approximately 274,000 to 309,000 incidents of diabetes related to type 2 obesity, if the expected reduction in body weight is achieved during the two decades after .


If you exclude fruit juices from the category of sugar-sweetened beverages (due to possible challenges for reformulation), you could prevent from about 221,000 to 250,000 cases of type 2 diabetes, if during the two decades after the predicted reduction in body weight. The predicted effect would be higher in adolescents, young adults and people from low-income families, who consume more sugar-sweetened beverages.

How to get this healthy proposal?

Researchers believe that the reduction of 40 percent of sugar in soft drinks and sugary drinks such as juices would not have an increase in costs for the industry. However, it would have very significant health benefits to reduce the prevalence of overweight, obesity and type 2 diabetes. This study invites to follow the strategy proposed immediately, which could be used in combination with other approaches, such as fiscal policies for produce a more powerful effect.


Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Will a Tax on Soda Make Us Less Fat?


Interesting Articles

The top 10 of the master's degrees

The top 10 of the master's degrees

Nowadays the master is astudy necessary for academic preparation, because due to the high level of demand and competitiveness that exists in the labor market, a university career is not enough to...

Cabify offers child restraint seats

Cabify offers child restraint seats

The safety and protection of the smallest is a subject of great concern in public and private urban transport. Traffic accidents are the main cause of death among children under 14, with 40% of cases...

Harvard proposes 5 fun tricks to succeed

Harvard proposes 5 fun tricks to succeed

Our life is a constant search for happiness. On many occasions, we think that the only way to reach it is to lead a life full of successes and recognitions and this is a real mistake. It is important...

The pain of farewells: how to learn to say goodbye

The pain of farewells: how to learn to say goodbye

Goodbyes they are never simple, say goodbye It can become very complicated and painful. However, farewells are part of life, we can not avoid them, and that is why we must learn to say goodbye and in...

Sie schlagen vor, den Zucker in Erfrischungsgetränken um 40% zu reduzieren, um Fettleibigkeit einzudämmen

Die zuckerhaltige Getränke sind eine wichtige Quelle für die Aufnahme von Zucker sowohl bei Kindern als auch bei Erwachsenen und stellen einen wichtigen Faktor dar, der zu übergewichtigen und adipositas-bedingten Erkrankungen beiträgt, wie zum Beispiel Typ-2-Diabetes. Dies hat eine kürzlich veröffentlichte Studie ergeben in der zeitschrift Das lanzett.

Diese Studie geht weiter und schlägt vor, dass eine schrittweise und gestaffelte Reduktion über 5 Jahre hinweg, 40 Prozent des Zuckers, der zu Erfrischungsgetränken und Säften hinzugefügt wird, Fettleibigkeit und Diabetes in der Weltbevölkerung signifikant reduzieren kann.

Weniger Zucker, weniger Fettleibigkeit, Übergewicht und Diabetes

Diese Studie wurde im Abschnitt von veröffentlicht Diabetes und Endokrinologie der Zeitschrift Das lanzett hat Daten aus dem National Diet and Nutrition Survey und den Jahresberichten der British Soft Drinks Association verwendet, um den Verbrauch von zuckergesüßten Getränken (mit und ohne Fruchtsäften) und ihren Beitrag zur Zucker- und Energiezufuhr zu berechnen die Bevölkerung des Vereinigten Königreichs.


Die Studienmethode berechnet die vorhergesagte Verringerung des Energieverbrauchs und die Verringerung des Körpergewichts anhand eines Gewichtsverlustmodells.

Die Ergebnisse gehen davon aus, dass eine Verringerung der Zuckerzuckerzusätze von über fünf Jahren um 40 Prozent zu einer Senkung von 20 kg bei Erwachsenen über 5 Jahre führen würde.

Diese Verringerung würde sich positiv auf Erwachsene mit Übergewicht und Fettleibigkeit in der Welt auswirken und würde etwa 274.000 bis 309.000 Fälle von Diabetes im Zusammenhang mit Typ-2-Fettleibigkeit verhindern, wenn die erwartete Reduktion des Körpergewichts in den zwei Jahrzehnten danach erreicht wird .


Wenn Sie Fruchtsäfte aus der Kategorie zuckergesüßter Getränke ausschließen (aufgrund möglicher Umformulierungsherausforderungen), können Sie etwa 221.000 bis 250.000 Fälle von Typ-2-Diabetes verhindern, wenn dies zwei Jahrzehnte später geschieht die vorhergesagte Verringerung des Körpergewichts. Der prognostizierte Effekt wäre bei Jugendlichen, jungen Erwachsenen und Menschen aus einkommensschwachen Familien, die mehr zuckergesüßte Getränke konsumieren, höher.

Wie erhalte ich diesen gesunden Vorschlag?

Die Forscher gehen davon aus, dass die Reduzierung von 40 Prozent Zucker in Erfrischungsgetränken und zuckerhaltigen Getränken wie Säften die Kosten für die Industrie nicht erhöhen würde. Eine Verringerung der Prävalenz von Übergewicht, Adipositas und Typ-2-Diabetes hätte jedoch erhebliche gesundheitliche Vorteile. Diese Studie fordert die sofortige Verfolgung der vorgeschlagenen Strategie auf, die in Kombination mit anderen Ansätzen, z einen stärkeren Effekt erzeugen.


Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Raw Food Diet Documentary - part 1 of 2


Interessante Artikel

Dekalog, um mit dem Training zu beginnen

Dekalog, um mit dem Training zu beginnen

Zu den guten Zwecken, die wir alle vor allem in Bezug auf Gesundheit haben, gibt es eine von Übung. Das Tragen von Schuhen und Sportbekleidung ist im Prinzip nicht einfach, aber sicherlich ist es am...