Four ways to improve your resilience, according to psychology

Resilience can be defined as the ability of people to overcome periods of emotional pain and adverse situations. Etymologically it comes from the Latin of the word resilio, which means to go back from a jump, to bounce. Therefore, resilience is "the most powerful force that people can have", as explained by psychologist Celia Rodríguez.

Now, how can we improve our resilience? The psychologist Albert Bandura is known internationally for his theory on social learning that, more than a theory, is a model of behavior, as they recall in the journal Time.

This psychologist emphasizes the importance of learning by observation and the importance of choosing well the people we surround ourselves with. "Learning would be very difficult, not to mention complicated, if people would only look at the effects of their own actions to decide what to do," explains Bandura.


These are the four keys that this expert gives in his book Stronger: Develop the Resilience You Need to Succeed to explain the personal factors that most influence resilience.

How to improve resilience

1. Try to practice and repeat each of the five personal resilience factors. Success is a "powerful learning tool", so the first advice from this expert is the practice to achieve it. "If the challenge is too big or complex at first, start by taking small steps in the desired direction," he recommends.

In this sense, Bandura suggests that you do not try to reach too much at the beginning, but you should keep trying until you get it. "The first success is the most difficult," he sums up.


2. Observe resilient people. People with resilience can be role models in this regard. Thus, the psychologist insists on the idea of ​​learning by observing those people who "exhibit the skills we want to acquire".

In this way, he recommends reading books about people "who have overcome similar obstacles" to those who face you, as well as calling those people or writing asking them to share with you "their lessons learned." The objective: that their successes be "contagious".

3. Pursue the support of others with zeal. Join with people who support you and who are willing to give the best of themselves to be with you.

4. Practice self-control. In very stressful moments our body reacts with physiological and behavioral responses. Specifically, this psychologist explains that, physiologically, people experience a "fight or flight" response with a "cascade of hormones such as adrenaline" that increase heart rate, muscle strength and tension.


These physiological responses improve memory for certain things, while decreasing the ability to remember others. This can lead to "cold headaches, hands and feet, and even gastrointestinal problems". However, the most significant problem with these physical responses is that they interfere in "rational judgment and problem solving".

Self-control to achieve resilience

Self-control is the key to preventing this from happening. According to this psychologist, success will come if we manage to control the stress that surrounds us so that it is not excessive and thus avoid the usual behavior in stressful situations: act without thinking.

Now, the expert differentiates between controlling and suppressing stress: normally controlling it is very difficult and our body chooses to suppress it and deceive ourselves thinking that we are controlling it. "The suppression of stress is a horrible idea, especially in the long term," he argues.

The reason that the suppression of stress is negative is that in the end "this moves us towards fragility, far from robustness and resistance".

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: Psychological Resilience - How To Strengthen Your Willpower


Interesting Articles

5 tricks for a perfect snack

5 tricks for a perfect snack

There is a misconception about the need to distribute the meals in five takes to guarantee energy for the whole day. However, this distribution has other benefits, such as avoiding chopping between...

Types of postpartum strips and tips for their use

Types of postpartum strips and tips for their use

The Postpartum girdles are, like the 'normal' strips, products that They serve to stylize the figure of women, in this case after the changes produced in your belly after delivery. Beyond the pros...

I finish Baccalaureate, and now what study?

I finish Baccalaureate, and now what study?

Most young people would like to have a magical recipe or a crystal ball to ver the future and be able to decide what career to study after finishing Baccalaureate. And we would like to provide it to...

Why you should not use baby walker

Why you should not use baby walker

When the babies they start to walk Many parents may consider the need for cBuy a walker. That object that many will have had when they were children and that allowed children to "walk" while...

Vier Möglichkeiten zur Verbesserung der Widerstandsfähigkeit, je nach Psychologie

Resilienz kann als die Fähigkeit der Menschen definiert werden, Zeiten emotionalen Schmerzes und widriger Situationen zu überwinden. Etymologisch kommt es aus dem Lateinischen des Wortes Resilio, was bedeutet, von einem Sprung zurück zu springen, um zu springen. Daher ist Resilienz "die mächtigste Kraft, die Menschen haben können", erklärte die Psychologin Celia Rodríguez.

Wie können wir unsere Widerstandsfähigkeit verbessern? Der Psychologe Albert Bandura ist international bekannt für seine Theorie des sozialen Lernens, die mehr als eine Theorie ein Verhaltensmodell ist, wie sie sich in der Zeitschrift erinnern Zeit.

Dieser Psychologe betont die Wichtigkeit des Lernens durch Beobachtung und die Wichtigkeit, die Menschen, mit denen wir uns umgeben, gut zu wählen. "Das Lernen wäre sehr schwierig, ganz zu schweigen von der Schwierigkeit, wenn die Menschen nur die Auswirkungen ihrer eigenen Handlungen betrachten würden, um zu entscheiden, was sie tun sollen", erklärt Bandura.


Dies sind die vier Schlüssel, die dieser Experte in seinem Buch gibt Stärker: Entwickeln Sie die Widerstandsfähigkeit, die Sie zum Erfolg brauchen um die persönlichen Faktoren zu erklären, die die Resilienz am meisten beeinflussen.

Wie kann man die Widerstandsfähigkeit verbessern?

1. Versuchen Sie, jeden der fünf Faktoren für die persönliche Belastbarkeit zu üben und zu wiederholen. Erfolg ist ein "leistungsfähiges Lernwerkzeug", daher ist der erste Ratschlag dieses Experten die Praxis, um dies zu erreichen. "Wenn die Herausforderung zunächst zu groß oder zu komplex ist, machen Sie zunächst kleine Schritte in die gewünschte Richtung", empfiehlt er.

In diesem Sinne schlägt Bandura vor, dass Sie am Anfang nicht zu viel erreichen wollen, aber Sie sollten es weiter versuchen, bis Sie es bekommen. "Der erste Erfolg ist der schwierigste", resümiert er.


2. Beobachten Sie widerstandsfähige Menschen. Menschen mit Resilienz können dabei Vorbilder sein. Daher besteht der Psychologe auf der Idee des Lernens, indem er die Menschen beobachtet, die "die Fähigkeiten zeigen, die wir erwerben wollen".

Auf diese Weise empfiehlt er, Büchern über Menschen, "die ähnliche Hindernisse überwunden haben", denen, die sich Ihnen gegenüber sehen, zu lesen, diese Personen anzurufen oder zu schreiben und sie aufzufordern, "erlernte Lektionen" mit Ihnen zu teilen. Das Ziel: Ihre Erfolge "ansteckend" sein.

3. Verfolge die Unterstützung anderer mit Eifer. Verbinden Sie sich mit Menschen, die Sie unterstützen und bereit sind, das Beste von sich zu geben, um mit Ihnen zusammen zu sein.

4. Übe die Selbstkontrolle. In sehr stressigen Momenten reagiert unser Körper mit physiologischen und Verhaltensreaktionen. Insbesondere erklärt dieser Psychologe, dass Menschen physiologisch eine Reaktion auf "Kampf oder Flucht" mit einer "Kaskade von Hormonen wie Adrenalin" erfahren, die die Herzfrequenz, die Muskelkraft und die Spannung erhöhen.


Diese physiologischen Reaktionen verbessern das Gedächtnis für bestimmte Dinge und verringern gleichzeitig die Fähigkeit, sich an andere zu erinnern. Dies kann zu "kalten Kopfschmerzen, Händen und Füßen und sogar Magen-Darm-Problemen" führen. Das größte Problem bei diesen körperlichen Reaktionen besteht jedoch darin, dass sie in "rationales Urteilsvermögen und Problemlösung" eingreifen.

Selbstkontrolle, um Belastbarkeit zu erreichen

Selbstkontrolle ist der Schlüssel, um dies zu verhindern. Laut diesem Psychologen wird der Erfolg erzielt, wenn es uns gelingt, den uns umgebenden Stress so zu kontrollieren, dass er nicht übermäßig ist, und so das übliche Verhalten in Stresssituationen zu vermeiden: Handeln Sie ohne nachzudenken.

Nun unterscheidet der Experte zwischen Kontrolle und Unterdrückung von Stress: Normalerweise ist das Kontrollieren sehr schwierig und unser Körper entscheidet sich dafür, ihn zu unterdrücken und uns zu täuschen, wenn er denkt, dass wir ihn kontrollieren. "Die Unterdrückung von Stress ist vor allem auf lange Sicht eine schreckliche Idee", argumentiert er.

Der Grund dafür, dass die Unterdrückung von Stress negativ ist, liegt darin, dass dies letztendlich "uns in Richtung Zerbrechlichkeit bewegt, weit weg von Robustheit und Widerstand".

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: How to practice emotional first aid | Guy Winch


Interessante Artikel

Beschäftigung, eine Waffe gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen

Beschäftigung, eine Waffe gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen

Bisher in diesem Jahr In Spanien sind 39 Frauen an häuslicher Gewalt gestorbentrotz der Tatsache, dass im ersten Halbjahr 2016 a Zunahme der Beschwerden um 13% gegenüber dem gleichen Zeitraum des...

Phrasen, mit denen man in der Familie lächeln kann

Phrasen, mit denen man in der Familie lächeln kann

Das Lächeln ist eines der schönsten Geschenke, die wir unserer Familie und Freunden schenken können. Aus diesem Grund bieten wir Ihnen einige Phrasen an, mit denen Sie sich daran erinnern müssen, wie...