Co-sleeping and its benefits for the baby

The co-sleeping It is the custom for parents and baby to share a bed at night. This custom has been common in all cultures since time immemorial, but from the nineteenth century began to lose this custom in Europe. Now many groups are trying to make new parents aware of their benefits in order to recover the cohabitation.

Almost in memory is the publication in 1978 of the book The Family Bed, by Thine Thevenin, where the bed was presented as the ideal means to establish breastfeeding in the newborn and to strengthen ties with the baby. Currently, co-sleeping begins to gain followers, not because of space problems as before. Although babies have a crib and a room of their own, many parents already know the recommendations of numerous health institutions that "recommend that newborn babies and for at least 6 months sleep together, that is, practice co-sleeping. they recommend their practice even after 3 years ", explains Ana Villaseca, founder of Amarsupiel.


"The child is not prepared to sleep apart from the parents, this has been a relatively new trend since throughout history and in almost all cultures, the natural thing has always been to sleep together," adds this expert.

5 benefits of co-sleeping for children

The co-sleeping brings various benefits both the children and the parents who practice it. Ana Villaseca explains what are the main advantages of co-sleeping:

1. The child learns to sleep peacefully. Gaining the confidence and tranquility of being able to sleep without it supposes a state of fear and insecurity in the child can take years. "If that transition is made in a quiet way, increasing their security, staying together at night until the child does not need it, one day he will leave with assertiveness and without fear of his own room, having worked an attachment and a secure link ", explains the founder of Amarsupiel.


2. Higher quality sleep of the baby. Babies who sleep with their parents cry less than babies who sleep alone. Therefore, their level of well-being while they sleep is greater, in addition to encouraging good sleep habits.

3. Encourages breastfeeding. Breastfeeding is simple at night if the baby is next to the mother. "Simply, if it is small, it will be necessary to help him approaching him to the chest and, later on, he himself will approach the breast and will breast feed what he needs without scarcely awakening the mother," says the founder of Amarsupiel.

4. The rest of the parents is greater. Thanks to co-sleeping, parents can attend to their children without the need to get out of bed physically. "In addition, although babies who sleep with their mothers wake up more times to breastfeed, the time they spend awake is shorter, so the rest of the baby and mother is greater," says Ana Villaseca.


5. Strengthening of the father-daughter relationship. The bond between the parents and the baby is strengthened, since time is recovered from being together when full days of work are spent. The co-sleeping offers them an opportunity to recover that lost time and share more physical and emotional contact.

"90% of children around the world sleep accompanied, Western societies are those that have encouraged parents to prematurely separate their children at night over the past two centuries.Today there are many professionals and health institutions that recommend that the old habit of sleeping with them be resumed, "concludes Ana Villaseca, founder of Amarsupiel.

Marina Berrio

Video: Medical Mondays: Cosleeping & Your Baby-Creating A Safe Sleep Environment


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Co-Schlafen und seine Vorteile für das Baby

Die schlafend Es ist der Brauch, dass Eltern und Baby nachts ein Bett teilen. Dieser Brauch ist seit jeher in allen Kulturen üblich, aber seit dem 19. Jahrhundert begann dieser Brauch in Europa zu verlieren. Viele Gruppen versuchen nun, neue Eltern auf ihre Leistungen aufmerksam zu machen, um die Kinder wieder zu finden Zusammenleben.

Fast in Erinnerung ist die Veröffentlichung des Buches 1978 Das Familienbettvon Thine Thevenin, wo das Bett als ideales Mittel präsentiert wurde, um das Stillen beim Neugeborenen zu etablieren und die Bindung zum Baby zu stärken. Derzeit gewinnt das Co-Schlafen immer mehr Anhänger, nicht wie bisher aufgrund von Platzproblemen. Obwohl Babys ein Kinderbett und ein eigenes Zimmer haben, kennen viele Eltern bereits die Empfehlungen zahlreicher Gesundheitseinrichtungen, in denen "Neugeborene empfohlen werden und mindestens 6 Monate lang zusammen schlafen, dh gemeinsam schlafen. Sie empfehlen ihre Praxis auch nach 3 Jahren ", erklärt Ana Villaseca, Gründerin von Amarsupiel.


"Das Kind ist nicht bereit, getrennt von den Eltern zu schlafen. Dies ist ein relativ neuer Trend, da es in der Geschichte und in fast allen Kulturen immer normal war, zusammen zu schlafen", fügt dieser Experte hinzu.

5 Vorteile des Co-Schlafs für Kinder

Die Co-Schlafen bringt verschiedene Vorteile sowohl die Kinder als auch die Eltern, die es praktizieren. Ana Villaseca erklärt, was die Hauptvorteile des Mitschlafens sind:

1. Das Kind lernt, friedlich zu schlafen. Wenn Sie das Vertrauen und die Ruhe gewinnen möchten, ohne schlafen zu können, kann ein Zustand der Angst und der Unsicherheit des Kindes Jahre dauern. "Wenn dieser Übergang auf eine ruhige Art und Weise erfolgt, die Sicherheit erhöht und nachts zusammen bleibt, bis das Kind es nicht braucht, wird er eines Tages mit Durchsetzungsvermögen und ohne Angst vor seinem eigenen Zimmer gehen, nachdem er eine Bindung und eine sichere Verbindung hergestellt hat ", erklärt der Gründer von Amarsupiel.


2. Höherer Schlafqualität des Babys. Babys, die mit ihren Eltern schlafen, weinen weniger als Babys, die alleine schlafen. Daher ist ihr Wohlbefinden während des Schlafens höher und fördert gute Schlafgewohnheiten.

3. Ermutigt das Stillen. Stillen ist nachts einfach, wenn sich das Baby neben der Mutter befindet. "Wenn es klein ist, muss es ihm helfen, sich ihm an die Brust zu nähern. Später wird er sich der Brust nähern und stillen, was er braucht, ohne die Mutter kaum zu wecken", sagt der Gründer von Amarsupiel.

4. Der Rest der Eltern ist größer. Dank Co-Sleeping können Eltern sich um ihre Kinder kümmern, ohne körperlich aus dem Bett steigen zu müssen. "Obwohl Babys, die mit ihren Müttern schlafen, mehrmals zum Stillen aufwachen, ist die Zeit, die sie wach verbringen, kürzer, so dass der Rest des Babys und der Mutter größer ist", sagt Ana Villaseca.


5. Stärkung der Vater-Tochter-Beziehung. Die Bindung zwischen den Eltern und dem Baby wird gestärkt, da sich die Zeit nach dem Zusammensein voller Arbeitstage erholt. Das Mitschlafen bietet ihnen die Gelegenheit, die verlorene Zeit wieder zu erlangen und mehr körperlichen und emotionalen Kontakt miteinander zu teilen.

"90% der Kinder auf der ganzen Welt schlafen in Begleitung. Westliche Gesellschaften sind diejenigen, die Eltern dazu ermutigt haben, ihre Kinder in den letzten zwei Jahrhunderten vorzeitig zu trennen. Heute gibt es viele Fachleute und Gesundheitseinrichtungen, die empfehlen, die alte Gewohnheit, mit ihnen zu schlafen, wieder aufzunehmen, "schließt Ana Villaseca, Gründerin von Amarsupiel.

Marina Berrio

Video: Familienbett: Wie gut ist das für die Kinder? | SAT.1 Frühstücksfernsehen | TV


Interessante Artikel

Tabelle der Einführung von Lebensmitteln in das Baby

Tabelle der Einführung von Lebensmitteln in das Baby

Das Füttern des Babys während seines ersten Lebensjahres ist sehr speziell. Es besteht aus verschiedenen Stadien, die sich auf ihr Alter beziehen und welche Lebensmittel in jedem von ihnen getestet...

40% der Kinder leiden an Karies

40% der Kinder leiden an Karies

Mundgesundheit ist ein weiterer Punkt, der beim Wohlergehen der Kleinen zu berücksichtigen ist. Obwohl dies a priori nicht so wichtig erscheint, sollten andere Aspekte niemals vergessen werden. Ein...