Refugees seek protection for their human rights

Refugees, who now number around 20 million around the world, claim today International Day of Human Rights, your rights and your freedoms to live without fear. The Convention on the Status of Refugees recognizes the right of refugees to obtain in the contracting countries the right to work, housing, public assistance and education.

Precisely, the International Day of Human Rights commemorates the date on which, in 1948, the General Assembly of the United Nations approved the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. This year, in addition, the 50th anniversary of the two international human rights pacts. Both agreements, together with the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, constitute the International Bill of Human Rights, which establishes the civil, political, cultural, economic and social rights that every person has from birth.


The problem of refugees and their families

Refugees are those who have chosen to flee their countries, looking for a place where they can recover their rights and fundamental freedoms. Currently, the governments of each country are responsible for guaranteeing the basic human rights of their citizens. But, once these citizens are forced to flee their countries, due to well-founded fears of being persecuted for reasons of race, religion, nationality, belonging to a certain social group or political opinions they become refugees, and this guarantee of protection of human rights disappears.

According to UNHCR, until December 2014 there were 59.5 million people in the world who had been forced to move. 19.5 million are refugee population because they have crossed borders. Of these, 14.4 million are under the mandate of UNHCR: 3.8 million (27%) resided in countries in Asia and the Pacific, 3.7 million (26%) in sub-Saharan Africa, Europe welcomed about 3.1 million (22%), Middle East and North Africa to 3 million (21%) and America to 769,000 (5%). The remaining 5.1 million are Palestinian refugees registered by the United Nations Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Middle East. In relation to its population, the countries that host the largest number of refugees are Lebanon, with 232 refugees for every 1,000 nationals and Jordan, with 87 for every 1,000.


The status of refugees

To guarantee the protection of the human rights of refugees, the Convention on the Status of Refugees was established in 1951. This international treaty recognizes that refugees in the contracting countries will have the right to work, housing, public assistance and education, among others. It is a way to restore and guarantee the exercise of the human rights of refugees, to recover the important freedom to live without fear; that Franklin D. Roosevelt pointed out in his speech on the four freedoms.

Restore the human rights of refugees

Various humanitarian organizations, such as Entreculturas, work to address the causes of conflicts, to offer education to those who do not receive it, and to influence political representatives and society to create a culture of hospitality and respect for the human rights of people. refugees.


The majority of the world's refugees come from the Syrian Arab Republic. Lebanon, a country of 4.5 million inhabitants, has 2 million Syrian refugees, plus those who arrive every day.

In South Sudan, more than 2 million people have been forced to flee: 500,000 have been able to cross the border into neighboring countries and 1.5 million continue in the country as internally displaced persons.

And in Latin America, in the border provinces of Colombia with Ecuador, there are tens of thousands of Colombians living in conditions of refuge or in conditions of need for international protection.

Advice: Entreculturas

Video: Asylum, Human Rights and International Law


Interesting Articles

How to extract and preserve breast milk

How to extract and preserve breast milk

There are various reasons that can lead a mother to require Take your own milk to give to your baby through the bottle. This decision, whether taken by first-time mothers or already experienced,...

We have couple problems, why are they slow to solve?

We have couple problems, why are they slow to solve?

When the problems of coexistence appear in the first years of marriage, we have two possibilities. The first and natural is usually to be scared, to despair, to think that everything will go badly...

Positive rebellion

Positive rebellion

Recently I heard a mother and friend encouraging us to another group of mothers to question everything. He assured that those people who do not look for the whys of life, of their beliefs, of the...

Flüchtlinge suchen Schutz für ihre Menschenrechte

Flüchtlinge, die heute weltweit rund 20 Millionen Menschen zählen, behaupten heute Internationaler Tag der MenschenrechteIhre Rechte und Freiheiten, ohne Angst zu leben. Das Übereinkommen über die Rechtsstellung der Flüchtlinge erkennt das Recht der Flüchtlinge an, in den Vertragsländern das Recht auf Arbeit, Wohnraum, öffentliche Unterstützung und Bildung zu erhalten.

Der Internationale Tag der Menschenrechte erinnert genau an den Tag, an dem die Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen 1948 die Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte billigte. Dieses Jahr zusätzlich die 50-jähriges Jubiläum der beiden internationalen Menschenrechtspakte. Beide Abkommen bilden zusammen mit der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte die Internationale Bill of Human Rights, die die bürgerlichen, politischen, kulturellen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Rechte darstellt, die jeder Mensch von Geburt an hat.


Das Problem der Flüchtlinge und ihrer Familien

Flüchtlinge sind diejenigen, die beschlossen haben, aus ihren Ländern zu fliehen, auf der Suche nach einem Ort, an dem sie ihre Rechte und Grundfreiheiten wiederherstellen können. Derzeit sind die Regierungen der einzelnen Länder dafür verantwortlich, die grundlegenden Menschenrechte ihrer Bürger zu gewährleisten. Sobald diese Bürger jedoch gezwungen sind, aus ihren Ländern zu fliehen, werden sie aufgrund begründeter Befürchtungen, aus Gründen der Rasse, der Religion, der Nationalität, der Zugehörigkeit zu einer bestimmten sozialen Gruppe oder politischen Ansichten verfolgt zu werden, zu Flüchtlingen und zu diesem Schutz der Menschenrechte verschwindet.

Laut UNHCR gab es bis Dezember 2014 weltweit 59,5 Millionen Menschen, die gezwungen waren, umzuziehen. 19,5 Millionen sind Flüchtlinge, weil sie Grenzen überschritten haben. Davon unterstehen 14,4 Millionen UNHCR-Mandaten: 3,8 Millionen (27%) lebten in Ländern in Asien und im Pazifik, 3,7 Millionen (26%) in Afrika südlich der Sahara, Europa begrüßte etwa 3,1 Millionen (22%), Naher Osten und Nordafrika auf 3 Millionen (21%) und Amerika auf 769.000 (5%). Die verbleibenden 5,1 Millionen sind palästinensische Flüchtlinge, die bei der Agentur der Vereinten Nationen für Palästinaflüchtlinge im Nahen Osten registriert sind. Der Libanon beherbergt im Verhältnis zu seiner Bevölkerung die meisten Flüchtlinge, mit 232 Flüchtlingen pro 1.000 Einwohner und Jordanien mit 87 Flüchtlingen pro 1.000 Einwohner.


Der Status der Flüchtlinge

Um den Schutz der Menschenrechte von Flüchtlingen zu gewährleisten, wurde 1951 die Konvention über den Status der Flüchtlinge eingeführt. In diesem internationalen Vertrag wird anerkannt, dass Flüchtlinge in den Vertragsländern unter anderem das Recht haben zu arbeiten, zu wohnen, öffentliche Hilfe und Bildung zu erhalten. Es ist ein Weg, um die Ausübung der Menschenrechte von Flüchtlingen wiederherzustellen und zu gewährleisten, um die wichtige Freiheit wiederzuerlangen, ohne Angst zu leben; dass Franklin D. Roosevelt in seiner Rede zu den vier Freiheiten darauf hingewiesen hat.

Wiederherstellung der Menschenrechte von Flüchtlingen

Verschiedene humanitäre Organisationen wie Entreculturas arbeiten daran, die Ursachen von Konflikten zu bekämpfen, denjenigen, die sie nicht erhalten, Bildung anzubieten und politische Vertreter und die Gesellschaft zu beeinflussen, um eine Kultur der Gastfreundschaft und der Achtung der Menschenrechte zu schaffen. Flüchtlinge


Die Mehrheit der weltweiten Flüchtlinge stammt aus der Arabischen Republik Syrien. Der Libanon, ein Land mit 4,5 Millionen Einwohnern, hat 2 Millionen syrische Flüchtlinge sowie die, die täglich ankommen.

Im Südsudan waren mehr als 2 Millionen Menschen zur Flucht gezwungen: 500.000 Menschen konnten die Grenze in Nachbarländer überschreiten und 1,5 Millionen bleiben als Binnenvertriebene im Land.

In Lateinamerika, in den Grenzprovinzen Kolumbiens mit Ecuador, gibt es Zehntausende Kolumbianer, die unter Zufluchtsbedingungen oder unter Bedingungen des internationalen Schutzes leben.

Hinweis: Entreculturas

Video: Neue Flüchtlingsdeals: Ausverkauf von Menschenrechten


Interessante Artikel