Pollution causes 400,000 premature deaths annually

In Europe, 400,000 people die prematurely due to air pollution. To put a stop to this growing process, the group of pulmonologists of the Spanish Society of Pulmonology and Thoracic Surgery (SEPAR) are asking the authorities to rethink the permitted levels of air pollution.

The reason is that the European Commission has decided that diesel vehicles can double their polluting emissions until 2019 and from that year the flexibility is limited to 50 percent. The United Kingdom and Germany have led this position that has supported other countries such as Italy, France, Spain and Sweden with interests in the automotive industry.

And it is that annually, pollutants in the air such as nitrogen dioxide or sulfur dioxide cause 3.7 million premature deaths worldwide and 400,000 premature deaths annually in Europe. These figures convert air pollution into the first environmental cause of death and disease, and in the ninth absolute cause ahead of cholesterol or lack of physical exercise.


The impact of contamination on babies and on pregnancy

The negative effects of air pollution affect mainly children, especially pregnancy and newborns. "Exposure to polluting substances during pregnancy increases the risk of lower respiratory tract infections and otitis in one-year-old babies, and it has also been observed that the baby's weight at birth may decrease due to exposure to contamination due to traffic in the prenatal stage, with the consequent implications for lung development, "says pulmonologist Mireia Gascón, a researcher at CREAL (Center for Research in Environmental Epidemiology, Barcelona.


Several studies have shown that environmental pollution negatively affects the respiratory health of children and the proper development of their lungs. Currently, acute respiratory infections account for 20 percent of annual deaths in children under 5 years of age worldwide, however this percentage is higher in developing countries where levels of air pollution are much higher than in Europe. . In addition, for people with COPD, a chronic respiratory disease, exposure to contaminated air is a risk factor, especially in the long term.

Health pollution risks

Breathing clean air is essential to enjoy good health and pollution represents a major threat, especially for children, who are the population most sensitive to exposure to these environmental pollutants, "says Dr. Carmen Diego, Area coordinator of the Environment of SEPAR. "Pneumologists and respiratory health professionals, in general, urge the competent authorities to reconsider the decision to increase the permitted levels of air pollution. We also demand that the respective local authorities implement the appropriate measures so that air quality criteria that help protect health are met, "he added.


Other health problems such as strokes, heart disease, lung cancer and chronic and acute respiratory diseases, such as asthma are also related to air pollution, as confirmed by several studies. Currently, 14 percent of deaths caused by air pollution are due to respiratory problems.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Air pollution in cities


Interesting Articles

Parasites in summer, how to avoid their bites

Parasites in summer, how to avoid their bites

Although all year round parasites they have a high presence, from spring and summer these small beings increase their incidence. Parks, natural areas and other locations with vegetation are...

How to succeed with extracurricular activities

How to succeed with extracurricular activities

Beyond the doors of the classroom, children can learn many other skills and acquire new knowledge thanks to the extracurricular activities. But you have to know how to choose them so that they adapt...

Chairs and strollers: classic and modern

Chairs and strollers: classic and modern

The sample of chairs and strollers for the baby It is as broad as diverse are the needs of families who are looking for the perfect model for their children. A newborn baby will use the stroller for...

Child allergy or catarrh

Child allergy or catarrh

Sneezing, coughing, nasal itching, tearing and swelling of the eyelids are some of the annoying symptoms of pollen allergy, symptoms that can be confused with a common cold. The fact of not...

Umweltverschmutzung verursacht jährlich 400.000 vorzeitige Todesfälle

In Europa 400.000 Menschen sterben vorzeitig an Luftverschmutzung. Um diesem Wachstumsprozess ein Ende zu setzen, bittet die Gruppe der Pulmonologen der spanischen Gesellschaft für Pneumologie und Thoraxchirurgie (SEPAR) die Behörden, die zulässigen Luftverschmutzungswerte zu überdenken.

Der Grund ist, dass die Europäische Kommission entschieden hat, dass Dieselfahrzeuge ihre Schadstoffemissionen bis 2019 verdoppeln können. Ab diesem Jahr ist die Flexibilität auf 50 Prozent beschränkt. Großbritannien und Deutschland haben diese Position angeführt, die andere Länder wie Italien, Frankreich, Spanien und Schweden mit Interessen in der Automobilindustrie unterstützt hat.

Jährlich verursachen Schadstoffe in der Luft wie Stickstoffdioxid oder Schwefeldioxid weltweit 3,7 Millionen vorzeitige Todesfälle und jährlich 400.000 vorzeitige Todesfälle in Europa. Diese Zahlen wandeln Luftverschmutzung in erste Umweltursache für Tod und Krankheitund in der neunten absoluten Ursache vor Cholesterin oder Mangel an körperlicher Bewegung.


Die Auswirkungen der Kontamination auf Babys und auf die Schwangerschaft

Die negativen Auswirkungen der Luftverschmutzung betreffen hauptsächlich Kinder, insbesondere Schwangerschaften und Neugeborene. "Die Exposition gegenüber verschmutzenden Substanzen während der Schwangerschaft erhöht das Risiko von Infektionen der unteren Atemwege und der Otitis bei einjährigen Babys, und es wurde auch beobachtet, dass das Gewicht des Babys bei der Geburt aufgrund von Kontaminationsbelastung abnehmen kann Aufgrund des Verkehrs in der vorgeburtlichen Phase mit den daraus folgenden Folgen für die Entwicklung der Lunge ", sagt die Pulmonologin Mireia Gascón, Forscherin am CREAL (Forschungszentrum für Umweltepidemiologie in Barcelona).


Mehrere Studien haben gezeigt, dass die Umweltverschmutzung die Atemwegsgesundheit von Kindern und die ordnungsgemäße Entwicklung ihrer Lunge negativ beeinflusst. Derzeit machen akute Infektionen der Atemwege 20 Prozent der jährlichen Todesfälle bei Kindern unter 5 Jahren weltweit aus. In Entwicklungsländern, in denen die Luftverschmutzung weitaus höher ist als in Europa, ist dieser Prozentsatz jedoch höher. . Darüber hinaus ist die Exposition gegenüber kontaminierter Luft für Menschen mit COPD, einer chronischen Atemwegserkrankung, insbesondere auf lange Sicht ein Risikofaktor.

Gesundheitsgefährdungsrisiken

Saubere Luft zu atmen ist für die Gesundheit von grundlegender Bedeutung, und Umweltverschmutzung stellt eine große Bedrohung dar, insbesondere für Kinder, die die Bevölkerung am empfindlichsten gegenüber diesen Umweltschadstoffen sind ", sagt Dr. Carmen Diego, Koordinatorin der Area der Umwelt von SEPAR. "Pneumologen und Fachleute für Atemwegserkrankungen fordern die zuständigen Behörden im Allgemeinen dazu auf, die Entscheidung, die zulässige Luftverschmutzung zu erhöhen, zu überdenken. Wir fordern auch, dass die jeweiligen lokalen Behörden die geeigneten Maßnahmen ergreifen, damit Luftqualitätskriterien zum Schutz der Gesundheit erfüllt werden ", fügte er hinzu.


Andere Gesundheitsprobleme wie Schlaganfälle, Herzkrankheiten, Lungenkrebs und chronische und akute Atemwegserkrankungen wie Asthma stehen ebenfalls in Zusammenhang mit der Luftverschmutzung, wie mehrere Studien belegen. Derzeit sind 14 Prozent der durch Luftverschmutzung verursachten Todesfälle auf Atmungsprobleme zurückzuführen.

Marisol Nuevo Espín

Video: Why Big Oil Conquered The World


Interessante Artikel

Variieren Sie von Tag zu Tag

Variieren Sie von Tag zu Tag

Frauen sind in der Regel sehr gewissenhaft bei Veränderungen unseres Gewichts. Wenn Sie jemals gemerkt haben, dass sich Ihr Gewicht von Tag zu Tag drastisch ändert, müssen Sie sich selbst versichern,...

Sprachprobleme bei Kindern: Alarmsignale

Sprachprobleme bei Kindern: Alarmsignale

Sprache ist ein charakteristisches Merkmal der menschlichen Spezies. Für seine Entwicklung sind eine Reihe von Fähigkeiten und Fähigkeiten erforderlich, die mit der psychomotorischen, psychologischen...