Alzheimer's, 5 tips to prevent this disease

During the last decades, many studies have looked for the risk factors of Alzheimer, looking for advice to prevent this disease. There is still much to know, but the combination of healthy dietary habits and regular physical exercise can reduce the risk of developing Alzheimer's disease.

These lifestyle changes for prevent Alzheimer's they present additional benefits, especially on weight, cardiovascular health and the risk of diabetes. These studies have helped to know how to reduce the risk of presenting a Alzheimer's or a dementia. And that is demonstrated and is clear. The risk of developing a dementia can be reduced, but not with a pill. It is a change in life habits, they are long-term changes.


5 tips to prevent Alzheimer's disease

If by saying "reduce risk" we mean "prevent", we can prevent Alzheimer disease and dementia, but you have to start looking after yourself soon. Sooner. Worth.

1. DreamWe must maintain a sleep routine with an amount of sleep of approximately 7-8 hours. It is important to evaluate and treat underlying sleep disorders, such as Obstructive Sleep Apnea Syndrome because sleep disorders have been linked to cognitive decline in older adults.

2. Physical exercise. We must include aerobic exercise in our routine, which is equivalent to walking briskly for 40 minutes 3 times a week. Physical activity is beneficial for an aging in health. It can also help maintain a good cognitive function in the elderly. There is evidence in favor that aerobic physical activity that improves cardiorespiratory health is beneficial for the cognitive function of older adults.


3. Cognitive stimulation.Exercising the brain is a fundamental part of a person's life and is something that we can also enjoy. It should be part of a healthy lifestyle in the same way that physical exercise does. Nor should we forget social activities, hobbies, leisure activities ... they form a major part of that lifestyle.

It is believed that by keeping the brain active we are building reserves for the brain and its connections. There is a concept called cognitive reserve that postulates that people who have a greater cognitive reserve (higher education, better nutritional habits or lower levels of stress, for example) may have a greater capacity to face aggressions to their brain or may take more time to reach the detection threshold of dementia. Therefore, people with more cognitive reserve would be less likely to have cognitive symptoms associated with dementia compared to individuals with the same brain alterations and lower cognitive reserve.


- Those activities that exercise the brain to prevent Alzheimer's pThey can collaborate on that cognitive reserve, in such a way that it can help compensate for the damage caused by Alzheimer's disease and other dementias. As the brain is able to compensate and continue to function properly, the onset of dementia can be delayed.

- There are no standardized exercises for everyone. The activities should be entertaining and, preferably, should be part of our life and our daily life. Almost any type of mental activity can be beneficial, but preferably it should involve a new learning and complex, varied and interesting reasoning. It is recommended that it does not take long, but that we are constant in it. Each day occupy a time in a task of mental activity, but without breaking our routines. For example, after breakfast and before leaving to do errands, but not after eating, when the situation is not so favorable to be concentrated and enjoy.

- Some of the activities that involve exercising the brain and that have been associated with a reduction in the risk of dementia are: reading, listening to the radio, visiting museums, signing up for a course, learning a new language, playing musical instruments, participating in leisure activities (sports, hobbies, dancing, gardening, cultural activities ...), crosswords, board games, puzzles, sudoku ...

- Many of these activities combine social interaction, physical exercise and mental activity. Recent studies suggest that combining these components offers a great benefit in terms of reducing the risk of dementia.

4. Control of vascular risk factors. We must not forget at any time a fundamental issue for the reduction of the risk of dementia, such as the control of what we call "vascular risk factors": hypertension, diabetes mellitus, hypercholesterolemia. Even if a person does not present any of these problems, we must monitor blood pressure, blood glucose and cholesterol with our Primary Care physician.Also, the consumption of snuff is another factor of risk of dementia that we can modify, since it almost doubles the probability of presenting an Alzheimer's disease.

5. Food

1. Reduce the intake of saturated fats or trans fats. Saturated fats are found mainly in dairy products, meats and some oils (palm oil or coconut oil, present in many prepared foods, although we are not aware of this). Trans fats can be found in snacks or in the category of "partially hydrogenated oils".

2. We must replace dairy and meat as main elements of our diet and prefer vegetables, legumes, fruit and whole grains.

3. Vitamin E It should come from food, instead of vitamin supplements. The sources of vitamin E are seeds, nuts, leafy greens and whole grains. The recommended daily amount of vitamin E is 15 mg.

4. Provide an adequate amount of vitamin B12 from both fortified foods and supplements. It is recommended to periodically perform blood tests with vitamin B12 levels, since many factors, such as age, can alter its absorption.

5. If you consume vitamin supplements, those that do not contain iron or copper are recommended. You should only take iron supplements when prescribed by your doctor.

6. Although the role of aluminum in Alzheimer's is still under investigation, Those who wish to reduce exposure to this metal, should avoid it in kitchen utensils, avoid excess consumption of antacids or baking powder or other products that contain it.

Dr. Carmen Terrón. Neurology. INEAMAD - Hospital Nuestra Señora del Rosario (Madrid)

Video: Reducing Alzheimer’s Disease Risk Video – Brigham and Women’s Hospital


Interesting Articles

When my son is not bad enough to stay at home

When my son is not bad enough to stay at home

Not all diseases require a child to stay at home. In some cases, prevention is only required to prevent the spread of the disease to others. Knowing something about how some diseases spread and...

The brain and the body development of children

The brain and the body development of children

At four years old we are still helpless creatures compared to other species, even those closest to us. Why is our childhood so long? One of the reasons why the childhood of humans is so long compared...

EduCaixa implements Big Data in schools

EduCaixa implements Big Data in schools

Digital data are present in our day to day and children must learn from childhood to use them with conscience. For this reason, EduCaixa has launched the first educational intelligence program of...

Alzheimer, 5 Tipps, um diese Krankheit zu verhindern

In den letzten Jahrzehnten haben viele Studien nach den Risikofaktoren von A gesuchtLzheimer, suchen Rat, um diese Krankheit zu verhindern. Es gibt noch viel zu wissen, aber die Kombination gesunder Ernährungsgewohnheiten und regelmäßiger körperlicher Bewegung kann das Risiko einer Alzheimer-Erkrankung verringern.

Diese Lebensweise ändert sich für Alzheimer verhindern Sie bieten zusätzliche Vorteile, vor allem im Hinblick auf Gewicht, Herz-Kreislauf-Gesundheit und das Risiko von Diabetes. Diese Studien haben geholfen zu wissen, wie man das Risiko einer Präsentation von a reduzieren kann Alzheimer oder eine Demenz. Und das ist bewiesen und klar. Das Risiko, eine Demenz zu entwickeln, kann reduziert werden, jedoch nicht mit einer Pille. Es ist eine Änderung der Lebensgewohnheiten, sie sind langfristige Veränderungen.


5 Tipps, um die Alzheimer-Krankheit zu verhindern

Wenn wir mit "Risiko reduzieren" "Vorbeugen" meinen, können wir das verhindern Alzheimer-Krankheit und Demenz, aber Sie müssen sich bald um sich selbst kümmern. Je früher Es lohnt sich

1. TraumWir müssen eine Schlafroutine mit einer Schlafmenge von ungefähr 7 bis 8 Stunden einhalten. Es ist wichtig, zugrunde liegende Schlafstörungen wie das obstruktive Schlafapnoe-Syndrom zu bewerten und zu behandeln, da Schlafstörungen mit einem kognitiven Rückgang bei älteren Erwachsenen in Verbindung stehen.

2. körperliche Übung. Wir müssen Aerobic-Übungen in unsere Routine einbeziehen, was einem dreimal wöchentlichen, zügigen Gehen von 40 Minuten entspricht. Körperliche Aktivität wirkt sich positiv auf das Altern der Gesundheit aus. Es kann auch helfen, eine gute kognitive Funktion bei älteren Menschen aufrechtzuerhalten. Es gibt Belege dafür, dass aerobe körperliche Aktivität, die die kardiorespiratorische Gesundheit verbessert, die kognitive Funktion älterer Menschen verbessert.


3. kognitive stimulation.Das Gehirn zu trainieren ist ein grundlegender Teil des Lebens einer Person und wir können es auch genießen. Es sollte Teil eines gesunden Lebensstils sein, genau wie körperliche Betätigung. Wir sollten auch soziale Aktivitäten, Hobbys, Freizeitaktivitäten nicht vergessen ... sie bilden einen wesentlichen Teil dieses Lebensstils.

Es wird angenommen, dass wir, indem wir das Gehirn aktiv halten, Reserven für das Gehirn und seine Verbindungen aufbauen. Es gibt ein Konzept, das als kognitive Reserve bezeichnet wird, das postuliert, dass Personen mit einer größeren kognitiven Reserve (höhere Bildung, bessere Ernährungsgewohnheiten oder ein geringerer Stresslevel) eine größere Fähigkeit haben, Aggressionen in ihrem Gehirn zu meistern oder mehr Zeit in Anspruch nehmen können die Erkennungsschwelle der Demenz erreichen. Daher haben Menschen mit einer höheren kognitiven Reserve weniger wahrscheinlich kognitive Symptome, die mit Demenz assoziiert sind, im Vergleich zu Personen mit den gleichen Gehirnveränderungen und niedrigerer kognitiver Reserve.


- Diese Aktivitäten, die das Gehirn trainieren, um Alzheimer zu verhindernSie können an dieser kognitiven Reserve so zusammenarbeiten, dass sie die durch die Alzheimer-Krankheit und andere Demenz verursachten Schäden kompensieren kann. Da das Gehirn in der Lage ist, zu kompensieren und weiterhin ordnungsgemäß zu funktionieren, kann sich der Beginn einer Demenz verzögern.

- Es gibt keine standardisierten Übungen für alle. Die Aktivitäten sollten unterhaltsam sein und sollten vorzugsweise Teil unseres Lebens und unseres täglichen Lebens sein. Fast jede Art von geistiger Aktivität kann von Vorteil sein, sollte aber vorzugsweise neues Lernen und komplexe, abwechslungsreiche und interessante Überlegungen beinhalten. Es wird empfohlen, dass es nicht lange dauert, aber wir sind konstant darin. Jeder Tag beschäftigt sich mit einer Zeit der geistigen Aktivität, ohne jedoch unsere Routinen zu beeinträchtigen. Zum Beispiel nach dem Frühstück und vor dem Verlassen, um Besorgungen zu erledigen, aber nicht nach dem Essen, wenn die Situation nicht so günstig ist, konzentriert und genossen zu werden.

- Einige Aktivitäten, bei denen das Gehirn trainiert wird und die mit einer Verringerung des Demenzrisikos einhergehen, sind: Lesen, Radio hören, Museen besuchen, sich für einen Kurs anmelden, eine neue Sprache lernen, Musikinstrumente spielen, an Freizeitaktivitäten teilnehmen (Sport, Hobbies, Tanzen, Gartenarbeit). Kulturelle Aktivitäten ...), Kreuzworträtsel, Gesellschaftsspiele, Rätsel, Sudoku ...

- Viele dieser Aktivitäten kombinieren soziale Interaktion, körperliche Bewegung und geistige Aktivität. Neuere Studien legen nahe, dass die Kombination dieser Komponenten einen großen Vorteil hinsichtlich der Verringerung des Demenzrisikos bietet.

4. Kontrolle vaskulärer Risikofaktoren. Wir dürfen zu keinem Zeitpunkt ein grundlegendes Thema für die Verringerung des Demenzrisikos wie die Kontrolle von sogenannten "vaskulären Risikofaktoren" vergessen: Hypertonie, Diabetes mellitus, Hypercholesterinämie. Auch wenn eine Person keine dieser Probleme aufweist, müssen wir Blutdruck, Blutzucker und Cholesterin mit unserem Hausarzt überwachen.Außerdem ist der Konsum von Schnupftabak ein weiterer Risikofaktor für Demenz, den wir modifizieren können, da er die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer Alzheimer-Krankheit fast verdoppelt.

5. Essen

1. Reduzieren Sie die Aufnahme von gesättigten Fetten oder Transfetten. Gesättigte Fette sind hauptsächlich in Milchprodukten, Fleisch und einigen Ölen (Palmöl oder Kokosnussöl, die in vielen zubereiteten Lebensmitteln enthalten sind, obwohl wir uns dessen nicht bewusst sind). Transfette können in Snacks oder in der Kategorie "teilweise gehärtete Öle" gefunden werden.

2. Wir müssen Milchprodukte und Fleisch ersetzen als Hauptbestandteile unserer Ernährung und bevorzugen Sie Gemüse, Hülsenfrüchte, Obst und Vollkornprodukte.

3. Vitamin E Es sollte von Nahrungsmitteln kommen, anstatt von Vitaminpräparaten. Die Quellen für Vitamin E sind Samen, Nüsse, Blattgemüse und Vollkornprodukte. Die empfohlene tägliche Menge an Vitamin E beträgt 15 mg.

4. Stellen Sie ausreichend Vitamin B12 zur Verfügung aus angereicherten Lebensmitteln und Ergänzungsmitteln. Es wird empfohlen, regelmäßig Blutuntersuchungen mit Vitamin-B12-Spiegel durchzuführen, da viele Faktoren, wie das Alter, dessen Aufnahme beeinflussen können.

5. Wenn Sie Vitaminpräparate einnehmen, Diejenigen, die kein Eisen oder Kupfer enthalten, werden empfohlen. Sie sollten nur Eisenpräparate einnehmen, wenn Sie von Ihrem Arzt verordnet werden.

6. Obwohl die Rolle von Aluminium bei Alzheimer noch untersucht wird, Wer die Exposition gegenüber diesem Metall reduzieren möchte, sollte dies in Küchengeräten vermeiden, übermäßigen Verbrauch von Antazida oder Backpulver oder anderen Produkten, die es enthalten, vermeiden.

Dr. Carmen Terrón. Neurologie INEAMAD - Krankenhaus Nuestra Señora del Rosario (Madrid)

Video: 5 Tipps um Alzheimer und Demenz zu vermeiden


Interessante Artikel