Trichotillomania, what do you do when you pull your hair?

Some people pull their hair compulsively, small tufts of various areas of the body, from the head, arms, legs, to the eyebrows, eyelashes ... Although it may seem something unusual, the tricoltilmania It is more common than we think, a little known disorder that causes misunderstanding and shame, and can have serious consequences for people who suffer from it.

It is usual to touch your hair and play with some strands. It is something that many times we do without realizing it, as an unconscious way of having our hands busy and calming our nerves. In some cases, these games with strands of hair, give rise to small pulls that tear the hair.


The trichotillomania it's the mania of tear off tufts of hair from any part of the body, from the head, arms, legs, to the eyebrows, eyelashes, armpits and even pubic hair. The mania is accompanied by a feeling of relief just after tearing the lock, and occurs compulsively without the person suffering from it can avoid it.

Trichotillomania as a disorder

The trichotillomania is an alteration collected in the DSM V (Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders), framed in the group of obsessive compulsive disorders and other related disorders. In previous versions of this manual, trichotillomania has been classified as a pulse control disorder.


As a disorder of the group of obsessive-compulsive disorders, we can understand the act of plucking hair as a compulsion that can not be avoided and that produces some relief. As a pulse control disorder, it is understood as a difficult impulse to control that causes well-being and serves to relieve tension. In any case, we talk about similar conditions. Frame the trichotillomancy within a group has not been an easy task, since it is usually accompanied by other conditions, such as depression, anxiety, eating disorders, etc.

Criteria for the diagnosis of trichotillomania

The DSM V, in its latest version, recognizes the following diagnostic criteria for hair pulling or trichotillomania:

A. Hair pulling recurrently, which leads to its loss in a perceptible way.
B. Repeated attempts to decrease or stop tearing the hair.
C. Plucking hair causes discomfort
clinically significant or deterioration in social, labor or other important areas of functioning.
D. The fact of plucking the hair is not explained better for the symptoms of another mental disorder.


Symptoms and signs of trichotillomania

Trichotillomania is a silent disease and sometimes the symptoms are not appreciated until the mania of tearing the hair is very advanced and the loss of hair is noticeable, and plaques may appear. Let's see the symptoms in detail:

1. The main symptom is tearing the hair. Normally they do it secretly, when nobody sees them and for that reason in many occasions we do not realize until it is appreciable.
2. Appearance of plaques and loss of hair volume.
3. Usually accompanied by high anxiety or stress
4. They are people who have trouble recognizing their problem, in most of the occasions they are ashamed of it, but they can not avoid it.
5. Before tearing the hair, some type of discomfort usually appears, stress, anxiety, and the act of plucking the hair, is a relief. Then there is the feeling of guilt, shame and discomfort.
6. The act of plucking the hair is not a deliberate or intentional act, It is an involuntary impulse.

When and how do they start to tear their hair

Trichotillomania is a disorder that usually originates in childhood and / or adolescence and, if not treated properly, lasts until adulthood. In most cases they do not know how they started to do it, they also can not say why they do it exactly, but when they start it ends up becoming a habit that is difficult to avoid.

Stress situations are usually those that provoke the act of tearing the hair. It is common for many boys and girls to start pulling their hair out when they study, as a way to keep their hands busy, to release their tension. The act of pulling their hair causes them a relief that helps them with their stress levels. But this help is a trap, since welfare is momentary and not real.

Consequences of trichotillomania

Although trichotillomania is not a serious disease in terms of physical deterioration of health, since apart from hair loss does not imply other deterioration of physical health, emotional and psychic has important and serious repercussions.

- The appearance of bald spots is something that is appreciated and not understood, therefore it can generate guilt and frustration difficult to handle.
- It is usually hidden and therefore these emotions are kept silent, can lead to more serious alterations such as depression.
- The self-esteem of the people who suffer it diminishes.
- Social relations are impaired.
- Academic functioning and in other areas is also affected.

What can we do when a child tears his hair? 6 tips

1. First of all, keep calm, Remember that it is not a serious illness, that it has treatment and that they can not avoid it.
2. Take care of the child's emotions. He can not help tearing his hair off, and he may not understand why he does it, and feel guilty. Therefore avoid scolding or criticizing him for his problem.
3. Give your support, Explain what trichotillomania is and help him understand it.
4. Show him alternative behaviors when he is nervous, look for an alternative in which you have to use your hands, in this way you will have them occupied (play with a pencil in your hand, anti-stress balls, etc.).
5. Teach relaxation techniques.
6. Go to a specialist.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Clinical health psychologist (collegiate number M-27405), specialist in pedagogy and child and youth psychology. Director of Educa and Learn. Author of the collection Stimulate Reading and Writing Processes.

Video: How to Stop Pulling Your Hair Out (Trichotillomania)


Interesting Articles

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Guidelines for teaching discipline to children

Although it does not have a good reputation, children need a degree of discipline that does not oppose educating in freedom or affection. The value of discipline will be the key to success in all...

10 tips to care for atopic skin

10 tips to care for atopic skin

The atopic dermatitis, very common in children, is produced by a deficit in the production of ceramides from the skin. Ceramides are a family of natural lipids, thanks to them the cells are held...

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

Drug use: 6 tips for parents

The consumption of drugs such as alcohol, joints or pills can potentially be the most destructive activity in which our adolescent children can be involved. All drugs affect the health of people and...

Trichotillomanie, was machen Sie, wenn Sie an den Haaren ziehen?

Einige Leute ziehen sich zwanghaft die Haare, kleine Büschel aus verschiedenen Bereichen des Körpers, vom Kopf, den Armen, den Beinen, bis zu den Augenbrauen, den Wimpern ... Obwohl es etwas ungewöhnlich erscheinen mag, scheint das Tricoltilmania Es ist häufiger als wir denken, eine wenig bekannte Erkrankung, die zu Missverständnissen und Scham führt und schwerwiegende Folgen für Menschen haben kann, die darunter leiden.

Es ist üblich, Ihre Haare zu berühren und mit einigen Strähnen zu spielen. Es ist etwas, was wir oft tun, ohne es zu merken, als unbewusste Art, unsere Hände zu beschäftigen und unsere Nerven zu beruhigen. In einigen Fällen führen diese Spiele mit Haarsträhnen zu kleinen Zügen, die das Haar reißen.


Die Trichotillomanie Es ist die Manie von Büschel abreißen von Haaren aus jedem Körperteil, von Kopf, Armen, Beinen bis zu Augenbrauen, Wimpern, Achselhöhlen und sogar Schamhaaren. Die Manie wird unmittelbar nach dem Abreißen des Schlosses von einem Gefühl der Erleichterung begleitet und tritt zwangsweise auf, ohne dass die Person, die darunter leidet, es vermeiden kann.

Trichotillomanie als Störung

Die Trichotillomanie ist eine im DSM V (diagnostische und statistische Anleitung für psychische Störungen) gesammelte Veränderung, die in die Gruppe der Zwangsstörungen und anderer verwandter Störungen gerahmt ist. In früheren Versionen dieses Handbuchs wurde Trichotillomanie als eine Pulssteuerungsstörung eingestuft.


Als Störung der Gruppe der Zwangsstörungen können wir das verstehen Haare rupfen als ein Zwang, der nicht zu vermeiden ist und eine gewisse Erleichterung bringt. Unter einer Pulssteuerungsstörung versteht man einen schwer zu kontrollierenden Impuls, der das Wohlbefinden verursacht und zur Entspannung dient. In jedem Fall sprechen wir über ähnliche Bedingungen. Rahmen Sie den Trichotillomanie innerhalb einer Gruppe war keine leichte Aufgabe, da sie normalerweise von anderen Erkrankungen wie Depressionen, Angstzuständen, Essstörungen usw. begleitet wird.

Kriterien für die Diagnose der Trichotillomanie

Das DSM V erkennt in seiner neuesten Version die folgenden Diagnosekriterien für das Ziehen von Haaren oder Trichotillomanie an:

A. Haare ziehen immer wieder, was zu einem Verlust auf spürbare Weise führt.
B. Wiederholte Versuche, das Haar zu reißen oder zu stoppen.
C. Das Zupfen von Haaren verursacht Unbehagen
klinisch signifikant oder verschlechtert sich in sozialen, arbeitsrechtlichen oder anderen wichtigen Tätigkeitsbereichen.
D. Die Tatsache des Zupfens der Haare wird nicht erklärt besser für die Symptome einer anderen psychischen Störung.


Symptome und Anzeichen einer Trichotillomanie

Trichotillomanie ist eine stille Erkrankung, und manchmal werden die Symptome nicht gewürdigt, bis die Manie des Zerreißens der Haare sehr weit fortgeschritten ist und der Haarverlust spürbar ist und Plaques auftreten können. Lassen Sie uns die Symptome im Detail sehen:

1. Das Hauptsymptom zerreißt die Haare. Normalerweise tun sie es insgeheim, wenn niemand sie sieht, und aus vielen Gründen erkennen wir es erst, wenn es merklich ist.
2. Aussehen von Plaques und Verlust des Haarvolumens.
3. Normalerweise begleitet von hoher Angst oder Stress
4. Es sind Menschen, die Schwierigkeiten haben, ihr Problem zu erkennenIn den meisten Fällen schämen sie sich dafür, aber sie können es nicht vermeiden.
5. Vor dem Zerreißen der Haare treten normalerweise einige Beschwerden aufStress, Angstzustände und das Zupfen der Haare sind eine Erleichterung. Dann gibt es das Gefühl von Schuld, Scham und Unbehagen.
6. Das Zupfen der Haare ist keine vorsätzliche oder vorsätzliche Handlung. Es ist ein unwillkürlicher Impuls.

Wann und wie fangen sie an, sich die Haare zu reißen

Trichotillomanie ist eine Erkrankung, die in der Regel im Kindesalter und / oder in der Adoleszenz auftritt und, wenn sie nicht ordnungsgemäß behandelt wird, bis zum Erwachsenenalter anhält. In den meisten Fällen wissen sie nicht, wie sie angefangen haben, sie können auch nicht sagen, warum sie es genau tun, aber wenn sie anfangen, wird dies zu einer Gewohnheit, die schwer zu vermeiden ist.

Stresssituationen sind normalerweise solche, die das Reißen der Haare auslösen. Es ist üblich, dass viele Jungen und Mädchen anfangen, sich beim Lernen die Haare herauszuziehen, um ihre Hände zu beschäftigen und ihre Anspannung zu lösen. Das Ziehen an den Haaren bewirkt eine Erleichterung, die ihnen beim Stress hilft. Aber diese Hilfe ist eine Falle, da Wohlstand momentan und nicht real ist.

Folgen der Trichotillomanie

Obwohl Trichotillomanie im Hinblick auf die körperliche Verschlechterung der Gesundheit keine schwerwiegende Erkrankung darstellt, da neben dem Haarausfall keine andere Verschlechterung der körperlichen Gesundheit impliziert, haben emotionale und psychische Auswirkungen wichtige und schwerwiegende Auswirkungen.

- Das Auftreten von kahlen Stellen ist etwas, das geschätzt und nicht verstanden wird, sodass Schuld und Frustration schwer zu handhaben sind.
- Es ist normalerweise versteckt und daher werden diese Emotionen stumm gehalten, was zu ernsthaften Veränderungen wie Depressionen führen kann.
- Das Selbstwertgefühl der Menschen, die darunter leiden, nimmt ab.
- Die sozialen Beziehungen sind beeinträchtigt.
- Das akademische Funktionieren und in anderen Bereichen ist ebenfalls betroffen.

Was können wir tun, wenn ein Kind ihm die Haare zerreißt? 6 Tipps

1. Vor allem ruhig bleiben, Denken Sie daran, dass es sich nicht um eine schwere Krankheit handelt, dass sie behandelt wird und sie sich nicht vermeiden lassen.
2. Achten Sie auf die Emotionen des Kindes. Er kann nicht umhin, sich die Haare abzureißen, und er versteht möglicherweise nicht, warum er es tut, und fühlt sich schuldig. Vermeiden Sie daher, ihn für sein Problem zu schimpfen oder zu kritisieren.
3. Unterstützen Sie Erklären Sie, was Trichotillomanie ist, und helfen Sie ihm, es zu verstehen.
4. Zeigen Sie ihm alternative Verhaltensweisen, wenn er nervös ist, Suchen Sie nach einer Alternative, bei der Sie Ihre Hände verwenden müssen. Auf diese Weise werden Sie sie beschäftigen (mit einem Bleistift in der Hand spielen, Anti-Stress-Bälle usw.).
5. Lehre Entspannungstechniken.
6. Gehen Sie zu einem Spezialisten.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Klinischer Gesundheitspsychologe (Kollegiumnummer M-27405), Facharzt für Pädagogik und Kinder- und Jugendpsychologie. Direktor von Educa und Lernen. Autor der Sammlung Regen Lese- und Schreibprozesse an.

Video: Mein Leben mit Trichotillomanie


Interessante Artikel

3 wichtige Buchten auf Ibiza für Kinder

3 wichtige Buchten auf Ibiza für Kinder

Wenn wir Eltern sind, werden wir anspruchsvoller und vorsichtiger bei der Wahl eines Urlaubsziels und lernen unser Urlaubsziel kennen InselnNatürlich ist es eine der besten Möglichkeiten. Und zwar...