Diabetes, the disease of sweets

Thirst, fatigue and weight loss are some diabetes symptoms. On November 14th, the World Diabetes Day. It is a chronic disorder that affects the correct functioning of our pancreas and is discovered in 80,000 people in the world every year.

But, do you know why? There are several types of diabetes. On the one hand, we have Type 1 diabetes which is what most often affects children and occurs when the pancreas does not produce enough insulin. On the other hand, we find type 2 diabetes, which occurs when the body does not efficiently use the insulin it produces, normally associated with obesity. Special mention deserves gestational diabetes, which causes hyperglycemia during pregnancy. It is important to know that if you have had diabetes when you were expecting a baby this does not necessarily mean that he will have it too.


Diabetes, when does it appear and who has it?

Type 1 diabetes, which is the most frequent in childhood, is a disease that can be considered frequent in our country. They usually have 20-25 of every 100 thousand people and it is essential to know the details of their treatment, because being a chronic disease this can not be suspended at any time. In Spain there are currently 29,000 children under 15 years with this type of diabetes and it is estimated that 17.7 cases of children under 14 years of age per 100,000 inhabitants are discovered each year, which means 1,235 new cases per year.

It is true that, when the children are first diagnosed, they can do what has been called a "honeymoon", which consists in that the insulin needs are very low for a short period of time, in order to recover the usual needs later. Isabel González Casado, Head of the Pediatric Endocrinology Service of the La Paz Hospital in Madrid, underlines the importance of parents, guardians and caregivers knowing the procedure to be followed for maintain correct blood sugar levels in the child. Especially when, Casado recalls, "an increase in the percentage of diabetes has been detected in children under five years of age".


Among the problems derived from a poorly managed treatment of type 1 diabetes, microvascular diseases stand out, mainly blindness, a problem that can appear in the long term if, as we have commented, the patient has poor control of his diabetes. Hence the importance of trying to keep sugar levels as close to normal.

Diabetes can appear at any age

We can have diabetes at any age and can appear even at as young as 10 months. In these cases, parents should take extreme control of childhood diabetes and arrange frequent pediatric check-ups to stabilize blood sugar levels and make necessary modifications.

González Casado points out that from about age 9 the children can start to self-inject the insulin dose that the doctor has indicated to achieve that stabilization we are talking about. Because we must not forget that what happens to children is that their pancreas does not produce enough insulin and must be administered by the subcutaneous route, that is, punctured under the skin. In addition, frequent checks of the blood sugar levels by means of devices that are called glucometers. You also have to ensure that they eat adequately and at the right time, the carbohydrates they need to not have sugar drops (hypoglycemia), or rises.


For all this, in the school teachers must be aware of their illness. In this sense, the doctor maintains that it would be necessary to have qualified personnel in the schools to be able to help the children with diabetes. In this way, it calls for the reinforcement of health care in schools so that children with diabetes can lead a normal school life without their parents having to stop working.

Sugar drops, frequent in diabetes

In any case, the pediatrician emphasizes the importance of telling the child how to proceed if he feels dizzy. Sugar lows or hypoglycaemia are relatively common when you have diabetes. If you have eaten less than the account or have done a lot of exercise, these can be a usual consequence. What should be done in case of falling sugar? The first is to resort to a food with a high content of carbohydrates that is quickly absorbed, such as sugary drinks such as fruit juices, glucose pills or a glass of water with sugar. "It is important that the child always has something on top that can help him in this situation," he tells us. The doctor points out that if hypoglycaemia is more severe, even intramuscular punctured glucagon may be needed.

Hospitals facilitate the treatment of diabetes

There are devices for measuring blood glucose (glucometers) that works through a few test strips. With a slight prick on the finger you get a drop of blood that is analyzed on the test strip and tell the patient what their sugar level is. The child and / or their parents should know how much insulin they have to inject depending on their sugar levels and what they are going to eat. To handle all these situations, children and their caregivers learn thanks to the diabetological education that is given to them in the hospital.

The treatment has to be strictly followed because if it is not possible to produce long-term microvascular complications, as we already mentioned. It is a disease that can not be cured, but with proper follow-up, you can lead a completely normal life. It is recommended, however, a healthy lifestyle, take a good diet and perform moderate exercise regularly.

Elisa García

Video: Craving for Sweets and Starchy Foods may Indicate Pre Diabetes


Interesting Articles

Educate from the tranquility

Educate from the tranquility

Being a parent is not an easy task, nobody has taught us educate from the tranquility and the day to day does not make the task easy, from the alarm clock until we go back to bed we have done a lot...

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

As they get older, our children will have to assume new roles at home. Around 9 or 10 years old, these are some of the daily Homeworks that they should be able to do for themselves.8 skills that...

Reasons to encourage running in the family

Reasons to encourage running in the family

The sport is necessary. Go for a run or to do 'Running' It can be a very good option to exercise and, in addition, it is fashionable. But why not practice it in family? The truth is that, although...

Diabetes, die Krankheit von Süßigkeiten

Durst, Müdigkeit und Gewichtsverlust sind einige Symptome von Diabetes. Am 14. November fand die Weltdiabetestag. Es ist eine chronische Erkrankung, die die korrekte Funktion unserer Bauchspeicheldrüse beeinträchtigt und jedes Jahr bei 80.000 Menschen auf der Welt entdeckt wird.

Aber weißt du warum? Es gibt mehrere Arten von Diabetes. Zum einen haben wir Typ-1-Diabetes Dies ist, was am häufigsten Kinder betrifft und tritt auf, wenn die Bauchspeicheldrüse nicht genügend Insulin produziert. Auf der anderen Seite finden wir Typ-2-Diabetes Dies tritt auf, wenn der Körper das von ihm produzierte Insulin nicht effizient nutzt, normalerweise im Zusammenhang mit Fettleibigkeit. Besondere Erwähnung verdient Gestationsdiabetes, der während der Schwangerschaft Hyperglykämie verursacht. Es ist wichtig zu wissen, dass wenn Sie Diabetes hatten, als Sie ein Baby erwarteten, dies nicht notwendigerweise bedeutet, dass auch er dies hat.


Diabetes, wann erscheint es und wer hat es?

Typ-1-Diabetes, der häufigste in der Kindheit, ist eine Erkrankung, die in unserem Land als häufig anzutreffen ist. Sie haben in der Regel 20-25 von 100 Tausend Menschen und es ist wichtig, die Details ihrer Behandlung zu kennen, da diese als chronische Krankheit nicht jederzeit aufgehoben werden kann. In Spanien gibt es derzeit 29.000 Kinder unter 15 Jahren mit dieser Art von Diabetes, und es wird geschätzt, dass jährlich 17,7 Fälle von Kindern unter 14 Jahren pro 100.000 Einwohner entdeckt werden. Dies bedeutet 1.235 neue Fälle pro Jahr.

Es ist wahr, dass, wenn die Kinder zum ersten Mal diagnostiziert werden, sie das tun können, was als "Flitterwochen" bezeichnet wird, was darin besteht, dass der Insulinbedarf für eine kurze Zeit sehr gering ist, um die Insulinversorgung zu verbessern Gewöhnliche Bedürfnisse später. Isabel González Casado, Leiterin des pädiatrischen Endokrinologiedienstes des Krankenhauses La Paz in Madrid, unterstreicht die Bedeutung von Eltern, Erziehungsberechtigten und Betreuern, die wissen, welche Prozedur zu befolgen ist Aufrechterhaltung des richtigen Blutzuckerspiegels im Kind. Vor allem, wenn Casado erinnert, "wurde ein Anstieg des Diabetes-Prozentsatzes bei Kindern unter fünf Jahren festgestellt".


Unter den Problemen, die sich aus einer schlecht behandelten Behandlung von Typ-1-Diabetes ergeben, sind mikrovaskuläre Erkrankungen hervorzuheben, vor allem Blindheit. Dieses Problem kann auf lange Sicht auftreten, wenn der Patient, wie bereits erwähnt, eine schlechte Kontrolle über seinen Diabetes hat. Daher ist es wichtig zu versuchen, den Zuckerspiegel auf einem normalen Niveau zu halten.

Diabetes kann in jedem Alter auftreten

Wir können in jedem Alter an Diabetes leiden und bereits ab 10 Monaten auftreten. In diesen Fällen sollten Eltern eine extreme Kontrolle des Diabetes in der Kindheit einnehmen und regelmäßige pädiatrische Untersuchungen durchführen, um den Blutzuckerspiegel zu stabilisieren und notwendige Änderungen vorzunehmen.

González Casado weist darauf hin, dass die Kinder ab etwa neun Jahren die Insulindosis selbst injizieren können, die der Arzt zur Stabilisierung angegeben hat, über die wir sprechen. Denn wir dürfen nicht vergessen, dass bei Kindern das Pankreas nicht genug Insulin produziert und subkutan verabreicht werden muss, dh unter die Haut punktiert. Außerdem häufige Kontrollen der Blutzuckerspiegel mittels Geräten, die Glukometer genannt werden. Sie müssen auch sicherstellen, dass sie ausreichend und zum richtigen Zeitpunkt essen, die Kohlenhydrate, die sie benötigen, um keine Zuckertropfen (Hypoglykämie) zu haben oder steigen.


Für all dies müssen sich die Lehrer in der Schule ihrer Krankheit bewusst sein. In diesem Sinne behauptet der Arzt, es müsste qualifiziertes Personal in den Schulen vorhanden sein, um dem helfen zu können Kinder mit Diabetes. Auf diese Weise fordert es eine Stärkung der Gesundheitsversorgung in Schulen, damit Kinder mit Diabetes ein normales Schulleben führen können, ohne dass ihre Eltern aufhören zu arbeiten.

Zuckertropfen, häufig bei Diabetes

In jedem Fall betont der Kinderarzt, wie wichtig es ist, dem Kind mitzuteilen, wie es vorgehen soll, wenn ihm schwindelig wird. Zuckerkrankheiten oder Hypoglykämie sind relativ häufig, wenn Sie an Diabetes leiden. Wenn Sie weniger als das Konto gegessen haben oder sich viel bewegt haben, kann dies eine übliche Folge sein. Was ist bei fallendem Zucker zu tun? Die erste besteht darin, auf ein Lebensmittel mit hohem Kohlenhydratgehalt zuzugreifen, das schnell aufgenommen wird, wie zuckerhaltige Getränke wie Fruchtsäfte, Glukosepillen oder ein Glas Wasser mit Zucker. "Es ist wichtig, dass das Kind immer etwas darüber hat, was ihm in dieser Situation helfen kann", sagt er. Der Arzt weist darauf hin, dass bei schwererer Hypoglykämie sogar intramuskulär punktiertes Glucagon erforderlich sein kann.

Krankenhäuser erleichtern die Behandlung von Diabetes

Es gibt Geräte zur Blutzuckermessung (Glukometer), die einige Teststreifen durchlaufen. Mit einem leichten Stich in den Finger erhalten Sie einen Blutstropfen, der auf dem Teststreifen analysiert wird, und teilt dem Patienten mit, wie hoch der Zuckerspiegel ist. Das Kind und / oder seine Eltern sollten wissen, wie viel Insulin sie injizieren müssen, abhängig von ihrem Zuckerspiegel und von dem, was sie essen werden. Um mit all diesen Situationen fertig zu werden, lernen Kinder und ihre Betreuer dank der diabetologischen Ausbildung, die sie im Krankenhaus erhalten.

Die Behandlung muss streng befolgt werden, da, wie bereits erwähnt, keine mikrovaskulären Langzeitkomplikationen auftreten können. Es ist eine Krankheit, die nicht geheilt werden kann, aber mit einer richtigen Nachsorge können Sie ein völlig normales Leben führen. Es wird jedoch empfohlen, sich gesund zu ernähren, sich gut zu ernähren und regelmäßig moderate Bewegung auszuüben.

Elisa García

Video: 5 Anzeichen, dass du zu viel Zucker isst!


Interessante Artikel

10 Spiele für Kinder mit Legasthenie

10 Spiele für Kinder mit Legasthenie

Die Kinder mit Legasthenie Sie haben täglich viele Schwierigkeiten. Ihre Art, die Briefe wahrzunehmen und die von ihnen übermittelten Informationen zu verarbeiten, ist unterschiedlich. Kinder mit...

Verlorene Kinder, wie sollen Eltern vorgehen?

Verlorene Kinder, wie sollen Eltern vorgehen?

Es gibt Situationen, die nicht vorhersehbar sind. Bestimmte Umstände können Eltern schlecht überraschen, von einer unerwarteten Erkältung bis hin zur falsche Platzierung eines Kindes in einem...