History of All Saints' Day on November 1

Every year, the first day of the month of November in Spain we commemorate All Saints' Day. It is very likely that on some occasion you have asked yourself why this is so. Although over the years in Spain more and more people commemorate the American holiday of 'Halloween', in our country the Catholic party is this. We tell you the story

History of All Saints' Day

The primitive Church, as happens now, celebrated the anniversary of the death of a martyr (or a group of them) on the day of his death in the place of martyrdom. However, in the Great Persecution of Diocletian the number of martyrs became so great that one day could not be separated for each. Therefore, and understanding that each martyr should be venerated, one day was established for all of them: whether they were known or not.


Why on November 1?

However, not always All Saints Day has fallen on the same date: it was not until the eighth century when Pope Gregory III fixed it on November 1 in response to the pagan celebration of Samhain (the Celtic New Year), It was celebrated on the night of October 31. It was Pope Gregory IV who, in the ninth century, extended this Christian feast to the whole Church.

The traditions in the Feast of All Saints

November 1 is a very marked date on our calendar, and as such is covered by different traditions. The most widespread is the visit to cemeteries: as November 2 honor the deceased, it is tradition to visit them and bring flowers to their graves, while praying in front of them for the souls of our deceased relatives.


For these times, the cemeteries are decorated: not only the relatives visit their families on November 1st and 2nd, but often they go before to leave the tombstones as arranged as possible, which also makes a walk through these Places prove very nice.

Another tradition of this era is more pagan: the theater. In many theaters and even cemeteries the work of 'Don Juan Tenorio', written by José Zorrilla, is usually represented. It is one of the great literary expressions of the Spanish myth of Don Juan, and its final act takes place precisely on the Night of All Saints.

The sweets of the feast of All Saints

As a good 'party' worth its salt, these days are characterized by typical sweets. From those made with nuts of the time such as chestnuts, to others that could really be made at any time of the year but which, in general, are only enjoyed these days.


.-Fritters: It is a fried dough filled with cream, chocolate, cream, chantillí or coffee that has the shape of a ball.

.-Panellets. They are made with a sweet dough made with sugar, raw ground almonds, lemon zest and egg. They are usually covered with egg white and a layer of pine nuts is placed on it.

-The bones of saint. Marzipan dough in the shape of one-finger thick tubes that, after cooking with syrup, turn beige.

Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Geschichte aller Heiligen am 1. November

In Spanien feiern wir jedes Jahr am ersten Tag des Monats November den Allerheiligen. Es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass Sie sich gelegentlich gefragt haben, warum das so ist. Obwohl im Laufe der Jahre in Spanien immer mehr Menschen an den amerikanischen Feiertag "Halloween" erinnern, ist dies in unserem Land die katholische Partei. Wir erzählen dir die Geschichte

Geschichte aller Allerheiligen

Die Urkirche feierte, wie es jetzt der Fall ist, den Todestag eines Märtyrers (oder einer Gruppe von ihnen) am Tag seines Todes anstelle des Martyriums. Bei der großen Verfolgung von Diokletian wurde die Anzahl der Märtyrer jedoch so groß, dass nicht ein Tag für jeden getrennt werden konnte. Daher wurde für jeden von ihnen ein Tag festgelegt, in dem verstanden wurde, dass jeder Märtyrer verehrt werden sollte: ob sie bekannt waren oder nicht.


Warum am 1. November?

Allerheiligen sind jedoch nicht immer auf den gleichen Tag gefallen: Erst im 8. Jahrhundert wurde sie von Papst Gregor III. Am 1. November als Antwort auf die heidnische Feier von Samhain (das keltische Neue Jahr) festgelegt. Es wurde in der Nacht vom 31. Oktober gefeiert. Es war Papst Gregor IV., Der im neunten Jahrhundert dieses christliche Fest auf die ganze Kirche ausdehnte.

Die Traditionen im Fest aller Heiligen

Der 1. November ist ein sehr markantes Datum in unserem Kalender und unterliegt daher unterschiedlichen Traditionen. Am weitesten verbreitet ist der Besuch von Friedhöfen: Da der Verstorbene am 2. November geehrt wird, ist es Tradition, sie zu besuchen und Blumen zu ihren Gräbern zu bringen, während sie vor ihnen für die Seelen unserer verstorbenen Verwandten beten.


Für diese Zeiten sind die Friedhöfe geschmückt: Nicht nur die Angehörigen besuchen ihre Familien am 1. und 2. November, sondern gehen oft vor, um die Grabsteine ​​so arrangiert wie möglich zu verlassen, wodurch auch ein Spaziergang durch diese gemacht wird Orte erweisen sich als sehr schön.

Eine andere Tradition dieser Epoche ist heidnischer: das Theater. In vielen Theatern und sogar auf Friedhöfen ist gewöhnlich das von José Zorrilla geschriebene Werk von Don Juan Tenorio vertreten. Es ist einer der großen literarischen Ausdrücke des spanischen Mythos von Don Juan, und sein letzter Akt findet genau in der Nacht aller Heiligen statt.

Die Süßigkeiten des Festes Allerheiligen

Als eine gute "Party", die es ihres Salzes verdient, zeichnen sich diese Tage durch typische Süßigkeiten aus. Von denjenigen, die mit Nüssen der Zeit hergestellt wurden, wie Kastanien, zu anderen, die wirklich zu jeder Jahreszeit hergestellt werden könnten, aber im Allgemeinen nur in diesen Tagen genossen werden.


.- Buñuelos de viento: Es ist ein gebratener Teig, der mit Sahne, Schokolade, Sahne, Chantillí oder Kaffee gefüllt ist und die Form einer Kugel hat.

.-Panellets. Sie werden mit einem süßen Teig aus Zucker, rohen Mandeln, Zitronenschale und Ei hergestellt. Sie sind normalerweise mit Eiweiß bedeckt und darauf wird eine Schicht Pinienkerne gelegt.

-Die Knochen des Heiligen. Marzipan-Teig in Form von Fingern mit einem Finger, die nach dem Kochen mit Sirup beige werden.

Video: Warum feiern wir Allerheiligen?


Interessante Artikel

Schulrucksäcke, besser im Wagen als im Rücken

Schulrucksäcke, besser im Wagen als im Rücken

Die Schulrucksäcke Sie sind eines der Produkte, die mehr Aufmerksamkeit erfordern. Sie nehmen das Material auf, das Kinder in der Schule verwenden, und ein übermäßiges Gewicht in diesen Gegenständen...

Spanisch, die zweite Sprache bei Facebook und Twitter

Spanisch, die zweite Sprache bei Facebook und Twitter

Die neuesten Daten eröffnen eine vielversprechende Zukunft für Spanisch, das bereits die zweite Sprache der Welt mit den meisten Sprechern und die zweite Sprache der internationalen Kommunikation...