Route through the best castles of the Community of Madrid

The Community of Madrid is rich in history and testimony of this are its castles. They are not only strengths, in most cases very well preserved or restored, but also pretend to be living scenarios in which to enjoy theatrical recreations, concerts or exhibitions that show the past life of these medieval monuments.

8 castles of the Community of Madrid to visit as a family

1. Castillo de Manzanares el Real

Located at the foot of the Santillana reservoir, is the castle of Manzanares el Real, the most emblematic and best preserved of the Community of Madrid. It was built, in style "Gothic Isabelino", in 1475 by Diego Hurtado de Mendoza. The quadrangular castle is built entirely of granite stone. It has four towers, three circular and the tribute, octagonal. Its vertices are adorned with balls in true Elizabethan style.


2. Castle of Villarejo de Salvanés

The castle of Villarejo de Salvanés is located in the homonymous municipality in the southeast area of ​​the Community. Although only the keep is preserved, it is a unique architectural example in Spain, as the cubicles are grouped on the sides and not on the edges, as is usual in Spanish military architecture.

There is no consensus when it comes to establishing the date of foundation of this castle. What is certain is that the castle of Villarejo de Salvanés was part of the defensive system that protected the passage through the old Camino de Toledo (or Toledano), as well as for the so-called Senda Galiana (Roman road linking Gaul and Hispania, in use during the Middle Ages).


3. Buitrago del Lozoya Castle

The town, which extends over a meander of the Lozoya River, is in the Sierra de Guadarrama, was one of the main geostrategic enclaves of the Middle Mark of Al-Andalus. From this time dates its walled enclosure, considered the one of greater length of the Community and, next to the same one, is the castle of Buitrago de Lozoya.

Its defensive enclosure is of Muslim origin. Built in the 11th century, it was almost continuously restored up to 400 years later. The wall is constituted by two main elements in a route of more than 800 meters: the low adarve and the high adarve

Its architectural style is Mudejar and its plant is almost square, about 45 meters on each side. It consists of seven towers, which have various shapes (square, rectangular and pentagonal), ashlar and brick, with arches and horseshoe. It has a central courtyard, which is occasionally used as a bullring. It also had a barbican and a pit, but it was destroyed in the 18th century and, since then, it has not been reformed.


Between his visitors and illustrious inhabitants, they appear the pre-renaissance writer Íñigo López de Mendoza, first Marquess of Santillana and count of Real de Manzanares, and Juana the Beltraneja.

4. Castillo de la Coracera

The Castillo de la Coracera is located in the municipality of San Martín de Valdeiglesias, in the southwestern corner of the Community. It is also known as Castillo de San Martín de Valdeiglesias. The denomination "of the Coracera" comes from one of its old proprietors, Antonio Corcuera, whose last name would have degenerated with the passage of time. It was an errata in a publicity pamphlet of the seventies that gave rise to its current name.

The castle was ordered to be built by Álvaro de Luna in the 15th century, as a residence and a hunting lodge. However, there are references to a previous construction, dating from the time of Alfonso VIII of Castile, in the 12th and 13th centuries.

In addition to Álvaro de Luna and his heirs, the fortification has been used by different historical personalities, including Queen Isabella the Catholic, who lived there when she was proclaimed heir to the Crown of Castile.

5. Castle of Aulencia

Located in the municipality of Villanueva de la Cañada, the castle of Aulencia stands on the hill Horcajo, located near the confluence of the rivers Aulencia, current from which it takes its name, and Guadarrama.

The castle could have a Muslim origin, although there is not abundant documentation about it, it is supposed to be the residence of the Arab chief of the area, to whom all the surrounding villages paid tribute. The first written references are very later. It is known that, in the 14th century, its owner was García Fernández, and that, in the 15th century, it passed into the hands of Alfonso Álvarez de Toledo, a nobleman in the service of Juan II of Castile. Until almost the 19th century, there are no written references about the castle.

6. Castle of Villaviciosa de Odón

The Castle of Odón was built at the beginning of the 15th century on the initiative of the first Counts of Chinchón. During the communal uprising, Captains Diego de Heredia and Antonio de Mesa, razed the Castle in 1521. In 1583 Don Diego Fernández de Cabrera ordered his reconstruction to Juan de Herrera, the royal architect.

In 1846, the Special School of Forestry Engineers was created, which would occupy and adapt the Castle and the annexed farm two years later. The fort recovered military use in 1886, with the installation of the Colegio de Educandos of the Carabineros Corps, although for a short time. Like other castles, it was used as a barn and house of labor for many years. The Spanish Civil War turned it into a barracks for troops. Finally, in 1965, the State acquired it to restore it in depth and, since 1972, it hosts the Historical Archive of the Air Force.

7. Castillo de Chinchón

Also called Castillo de los Condes, Chinchón Castle is located south of the town center of the town of the same name. Built in the fifteenth century, it is made up of two imbricate quadrangular bodies, with corners topped by cylindrical towers that are placed in the corners of each of the bodies.

The current castle was built on a former fortress that suffered considerable damage in the attack that made the common troops in the year 1520 so it was demolished and in its place the current one was built between 1590 and 1598. The current building suffered several fires and plundering during the war of the Spanish Succession. Already in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries it was used as a farmhouse and liquor factory.

8. Atalaya de Torrelodones

The watchtower of Torrelodones or tower of the Lodones is in the municipality of Torrelodones. It was erected at some undetermined time of the Umayyad period of Al-Andalus, between the ninth and eleventh centuries and had as mission to monitor one of the roads that led to the passes of the Sierra de Guadarrama. The watchtowers were raised at a distance from the natural passes of the Central System, south of the current ports of Somosierra, Tablada or El León, on hills not far from the towns and through successive humadas, warned of possible Christian attacks that they could produce against the most avant-garde Andalusian populations, such as Buitrago del Lozoya, Torrelaguna or Talamanca de Jarama.

The building consists of two parts, the cylindrical tower of eleven meters high and massive up to a height of approximately three meters from the ground. It is crowned by an alternate succession of nine prismatic battlements and nine pyramidal battlements, with a rectangular body on the side. Its sides measure around 5.3 and 3.5 meters. It is also crenellated, with a total of four battlements.

Dove Cambrero
Advice: BungalowsClub

Video: Rick Steves' Andalucía: The Best of Southern Spain


Interesting Articles

How to get a soccer scholarship to study in the US

How to get a soccer scholarship to study in the US

The AGM Foundation and the Laureus Foundation are going to make possible the American dream of many young Spaniards: to educate themselves in the United States thanks to sports with a scholarship...

Route durch die besten Schlösser der Autonomen Gemeinschaft Madrid

Die Gemeinschaft von Madrid ist reich an Geschichte und Zeugnis davon sind ihre Burgen. Sie sind nicht nur Stärken, die in den meisten Fällen sehr gut erhalten oder restauriert sind, sondern geben auch vor, Szenarien zu sein, in denen Theaterrekonstruktionen, Konzerte oder Ausstellungen gezeigt werden, die das vergangene Leben dieser mittelalterlichen Monumente zeigen.

8 Schlösser der Autonomen Gemeinschaft Madrid als Familie zu besuchen

1. Castillo de Manzanares el Real

Am Fuße des Santillana-Stausees liegt das Schloss Manzanares el Real, das Wahrzeichen der Stadt Madrid. Es wurde 1475 von Diego Hurtado de Mendoza im Stil "Gothic Isabelino" erbaut. Die viereckige Burg ist vollständig aus Granitstein gebaut. Es hat vier Türme, drei Rund und der Tribut achteckig. Seine Ecken sind mit Bällen im wahren elisabethanischen Stil geschmückt.


2. Schloss von Villarejo de Salvanés

Das Schloss von Villarejo de Salvanés befindet sich in der gleichnamigen Gemeinde im Südosten der Gemeinschaft. Obwohl nur der Bergfried erhalten ist, ist er ein einzigartiges architektonisches Beispiel in Spanien, da die Kabinen an den Seiten und nicht an den Rändern gruppiert sind, wie es in der spanischen Militärarchitektur üblich ist.

Bei der Festlegung des Gründungsdatums dieser Burg gibt es keinen Konsens: Sicher ist, dass die Burg von Villarejo de Salvanés Teil des Verteidigungssystems war, das den Durchgang durch den alten Camino de Toledo (oder Toledano) schützte die sogenannte Senda Galiana (römische Straße zwischen Gallien und Hispania, die im Mittelalter genutzt wurde).


3. Burg Buitrago del Lozoya

Die Stadt, die sich über eine Strecke des Lozoya-Flusses erstreckt, liegt in der Sierra de Guadarrama und war eine der geostrategischsten Enklaven der Mittelmark von Al-Andalus. Seit dieser Zeit ist die ummauerte Anlage, die als die größere der Gemeinschaft gilt, und neben ihr die Burg von Buitrago de Lozoya.

Ihre Verteidigungsanlage ist muslimischen Ursprungs. Es wurde im 11. Jahrhundert erbaut und 400 Jahre später fast ununterbrochen restauriert. Die Mauer besteht aus zwei Hauptelementen auf einer Route von mehr als 800 Metern: dem niedrigen und dem hohen Adarve

Sein Baustil ist Mudejar und seine Anlage ist fast quadratisch, auf jeder Seite etwa 45 Meter. Es besteht aus sieben Türmen, die verschiedene Formen haben (quadratisch, rechteckig und fünfeckig), Quader und Ziegel mit Bögen und Hufeisen. Es hat einen zentralen Innenhof, der gelegentlich als Stierkampfarena genutzt wird. Es hatte auch ein Barbican und eine Grube, wurde jedoch im 18. Jahrhundert zerstört und seitdem nicht reformiert.


Zwischen seinen Besuchern und berühmten Bewohnern erscheinen der Schriftsteller aus der Zeit vor der Renaissance, Íñigo López de Mendoza, der erste Marquise von Santillana und der Graf von Real de Manzanares sowie Juana, die Beltraneja.

4. Castillo de la Coracera

Das Castillo de la Coracera befindet sich in der Gemeinde San Martín de Valdeiglesias, in der südwestlichen Ecke der Gemeinschaft. Es ist auch als Castillo de San Martín de Valdeiglesias bekannt. Die Bezeichnung "Coracera" stammt von einem seiner alten Besitzer, Antonio Corcuera, dessen Nachname mit der Zeit nachgegeben hätte. Es war eine Errata in einer Werbebroschüre der siebziger Jahre, aus der der heutige Name entstand.

Die Burg wurde im 15. Jahrhundert von Álvaro de Luna als Wohnsitz und Jagdschloss erbaut. Es gibt jedoch Hinweise auf einen früheren Bau aus der Zeit von Alfons VIII. Von Kastilien im 12. und 13. Jahrhundert.

Neben Álvaro de Luna und seinen Erben wurde die Festung von verschiedenen historischen Persönlichkeiten genutzt, darunter Königin Isabella, die Katholikin, die dort lebte, als sie zum Erbe der Krone von Kastilien proklamiert wurde.

5. Schloss von Aulencia

Die Burg von Aulencia liegt in der Gemeinde Villanueva de la Cañada auf dem Hügel Horcajo, in der Nähe des Zusammenflusses der Aulencia-Flüsse, deren Namen sie trägt, und Guadarrama.

Das Schloss könnte muslimischen Ursprungs sein, obwohl es nicht viele Dokumente darüber gibt, soll es der Wohnsitz des arabischen Häuptlings der Gegend sein, dem alle umliegenden Dörfer Tribut gezollt haben. Die ersten schriftlichen Referenzen sind sehr spät. Es ist bekannt, dass sein Besitzer im 14. Jahrhundert García Fernández war und im 15. Jahrhundert in den Besitz von Alfonso Álvarez de Toledo kam, einem Adligen im Dienst von Juan II. Von Kastilien. Bis zum 19. Jahrhundert gibt es keine schriftlichen Hinweise über die Burg.

6. Schloss von Villaviciosa de Odón

Das Schloss von Odón wurde Anfang des 15. Jahrhunderts auf Initiative der ersten Grafen von Chinchón erbaut. Während des kommunalen Aufstands zerstörten die Kapitäne Diego de Heredia und Antonio de Mesa 1521 die Burg. Don Diego Fernández de Cabrera ließ 1583 den königlichen Architekten Juan de Herrera wiederaufbauen.

Im Jahr 1846 wurde die Spezialschule für Forstingenieure gegründet, die das Schloss und den angrenzenden Hof zwei Jahre später besetzen und anpassen sollte. Das Fort wurde 1886 militärisch genutzt, und zwar mit der Installation des Colegio de Educandos des Carabineros Corps, allerdings nur für kurze Zeit. Wie andere Burgen wurde es viele Jahre als Scheune und Arbeitshaus genutzt. Der spanische Bürgerkrieg machte daraus eine Kaserne für Truppen. Schließlich erwarb der Staat es 1965, um es gründlich zu restaurieren, und beherbergt seit 1972 das Historische Archiv der Luftwaffe.

7. Castillo de Chinchón

Chinchón Castle, auch Castillo de los Condes genannt, liegt südlich des Stadtzentrums der gleichnamigen Stadt. Sie wurde im fünfzehnten Jahrhundert erbaut und besteht aus zwei schuppigen viereckigen Körpern, deren Ecken von zylindrischen Türmen überragt werden, die in den Ecken jeder der Karosserien angeordnet sind.

Die heutige Burg wurde auf einer ehemaligen Festung erbaut, die durch den Angriff, der die gewöhnlichen Truppen im Jahre 1520 auslöste, erheblichen Schaden erlitt, abgerissen wurde. An ihrer Stelle wurde die heutige Burg zwischen 1590 und 1598 erbaut mehrere Brände und Plünderungen während des spanischen Erbfolgekrieges. Bereits im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert wurde es als Bauernhaus und Likörfabrik genutzt.

8. Atalaya de Torrelodones

Der Wachturm von Torrelodones oder der Turm der Lodones befindet sich in der Gemeinde Torrelodones. Es wurde zu einer unbestimmten Zeit der Umayyaden-Periode von Al-Andalus zwischen dem neunten und elften Jahrhundert errichtet und hatte als Mission eine der Straßen zu überwachen, die zu den Pässen der Sierra de Guadarrama führten. Die Wachtürme wurden in einiger Entfernung von den natürlichen Pässen des Zentralsystems, südlich der derzeitigen Häfen Somosierra, Tablada oder El León, auf Hügeln nahe der Städte und durch aufeinanderfolgende Humadas aufgestellt, die vor möglichen christlichen Angriffen gewarnt wurden Sie könnten gegen die avantgardistischsten andalusischen Bevölkerungen wie Buitrago del Lozoya, Torrelaguna oder Talamanca de Jarama produzieren.

Das Gebäude besteht aus zwei Teilen, dem zylindrischen elf Meter hohen Turm, der bis zu einer Höhe von drei Metern über dem Boden massiv ist. Sie wird gekrönt von einer alternativen Abfolge von neun prismatischen Zinnen und neun pyramidenförmigen Zinnen mit einem rechteckigen Körper an der Seite. Seine Seiten messen etwa 5,3 und 3,5 Meter. Es ist auch Zinnen mit insgesamt vier Zinnen.

Taube Cambrero
Hinweis: BungalowsClub

Video: I fight therefore I am (english, german, italian and spanish subtitles)


Interessante Artikel

Muttermilch: Die Vorteile des Stillens Ihres Babys

Muttermilch: Die Vorteile des Stillens Ihres Babys

Die Geburt unseres Sohnes wird uns mit Freude erfüllen, aber auch Zweifel daran, ob es günstiger ist, zu stillen oder zu trinken. Die unbestreitbaren Vorteile des Stillens lassen jedoch keinen...