1 in 7 children live in poverty in OECD countries

How is life in general going? An OECD study has measured the 11 dimensions of well-being today. Among its conclusions, it shows that the OECD countries follow different patterns with respect to their strengths and weaknesses in terms of well-being, and that there are inequalities that mainly affect the well-being of the family and that of children in particular.

The disparities in welfare vary widely from one country to another and involve much more than shortfalls in family income. In several aspects, the average citizen of the OECD lives better now than in 2009. In most of the OECD countries family income began a slow recovery with respect to the levels reached in the economic crisis. The countries that experience the most serious falls in family income since 2009 such as Greece, Portugal, Italy and Spain continue to be affected in other areas such as high unemployment, lower wages and lower housing affordability.


The lives of children in OECD countries

All children do not have the same level of well-being in the OECD countries. In fact, the study notes that 1 in 7 children live in poverty, almost 10 percent of children live in unemployed families and 1 in 10 is a victim of bullying.

The inequalities in the well-being of children related to the family socioeconomic situation are:

- Children from families with greater resources have better health, higher copetetences, greater civic commitment and better relationships with their parents and peers.

- Students from more favored families are less likely to have a sense of belonging to the school.


Therefore, these results suggest that welfare inequalities among adults become inequalities of opportunity for their children.

The place of family residence and well-being

The place of residence of the people has a great influence on the life of the human being, especially on personal safety, atmospheric pollution, employment opportunities and access to basic services. Thus, in 2014 the difference in the unemployment rate between the regions with the best and the worst performance in Turkey, Spain and Italy was close to 20 percentage points. This figure is almost as big as the difference in the national average of unemployment between Greece and Norway.

How is life in Spain?

In recent years, Spain has faced several challenges in relation to the material well-being of its inhabitants. Average disposable household income per capita and average income fell significantly between 2009 and 2013, the years of the economic crisis. Spanish employees also have very little job security. Between 2009 and 2014, the long-term unemployment rate increased by 8.7 percentage points, the second highest rate in the OECD.


Spain has a good life-work and health balance. Life expectancy for Spaniards is 83.2 years, one of the highest in the OECD and free time (dedicated to leisure and personal care by full-time employees) is also higher than the OECD average.

Regarding educational attainment, Spain is located at the lowest level of the OECD: only 55.6% of adult Spaniards of productive age finished at least upper secondary education, in contrast to the OECD average of 77.2%.

The skills of Spanish adults in reading and mathematics are also low on average compared to adults in other OECD countries. In social support networks, 94.7% of Spaniards report having friends or relatives they can count on when they need it, compared to the OECD average of 88%.

The welfare of children in Spain

The material well-being of Spanish children reflects the difficult economic conditions that prevail in Spain. Thus, the income poverty rate of children is one of the highest in the OECD: 21.7% of Spanish children are members of a family with an available income less than half of the average Spanish income.

On the other hand, Spanish children report a high level of health, and the adolescence rate among adolescents is the second lowest in the OECD.

However, in "ni-nis" we are above average. 10.7% of Spanish adolescents aged 15 to 19 do not work or study or are studying, a figure above the OECD average which is set at 7.1%.

The skills of reading and creative problem solving of Spanish students is below the average level of the OECD. At the same time, 20.7% of Spanish students feel very pressured by homework, the second highest percentage of the OECD.

Spain is classified in the upper end of the OECD in personal safety of children. And is that Spanish children have the highest life satisfaction in the area of ​​the CDE.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Advice: OECD Report How is life going? 2015 Measurement of well-being

Video: Children of austerity: impact of the great recession on child poverty in rich countries


Interesting Articles

Educate from the tranquility

Educate from the tranquility

Being a parent is not an easy task, nobody has taught us educate from the tranquility and the day to day does not make the task easy, from the alarm clock until we go back to bed we have done a lot...

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

What my pre-teen son should know how to do

As they get older, our children will have to assume new roles at home. Around 9 or 10 years old, these are some of the daily Homeworks that they should be able to do for themselves.8 skills that...

Reasons to encourage running in the family

Reasons to encourage running in the family

The sport is necessary. Go for a run or to do 'Running' It can be a very good option to exercise and, in addition, it is fashionable. But why not practice it in family? The truth is that, although...

In den OECD-Ländern lebt jedes siebte Kind in Armut

Wie läuft das Leben im Allgemeinen? Eine OECD-Studie hat die elf Dimensionen des heutigen Wohlbefindens gemessen. In seinen Schlussfolgerungen zeigt sich, dass die OECD-Länder hinsichtlich ihrer Stärken und Schwächen hinsichtlich des Wohlergehens unterschiedlichen Mustern folgen und dass es Ungleichheiten gibt, die vor allem das Wohlergehen der Familie und insbesondere der Kinder betreffen.

Das Wohlstandsgefälle ist von Land zu Land sehr unterschiedlich und hat weit mehr als nur Einkommensausfälle zur Folge. In einigen Aspekten lebt der Durchschnittsbürger der OECD heute besser als 2009. In den meisten OECD-Ländern begann sich das Familieneinkommen in Bezug auf das in der Wirtschaftskrise erreichte Niveau langsam zu erholen. Die Länder, in denen das Familieneinkommen seit 2009 am stärksten sinkt, wie Griechenland, Portugal, Italien und Spanien, sind weiterhin in anderen Bereichen wie hohe Arbeitslosigkeit, niedrigere Löhne und geringere Erschwinglichkeit von Wohnraum betroffen.


Das Leben von Kindern in OECD-Ländern

In den OECD-Ländern haben nicht alle Kinder das gleiche Wohlbefinden. In der Studie wird sogar festgestellt, dass 1 von 7 Kindern in Armut lebt, fast 10 Prozent der Kinder in arbeitslosen Familien leben und 1 von 10 Kindern Mobbing ausgesetzt ist.

Die Ungleichheiten beim Wohlergehen von Kindern in Bezug auf die sozioökonomische Situation der Familie sind:

- Kinder aus Familien mit größeren Ressourcen haben eine bessere Gesundheit, höhere Copetenzen, ein höheres bürgerschaftliches Engagement und bessere Beziehungen zu ihren Eltern und Gleichaltrigen.

- Schüler aus begünstigten Familien haben weniger ein Gefühl, zur Schule zu gehören.


Daher deuten diese Ergebnisse darauf hin, dass Ungleichheiten in Bezug auf das Wohlergehen von Erwachsenen zu ungleichen Chancen für ihre Kinder werden.

Der Ort des Familienwohnsitzes und Wohlbefindens

Der Wohnort des Volkes hat einen großen Einfluss auf das Leben des Menschen, insbesondere auf die persönliche Sicherheit, die Luftverschmutzung, die Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten und den Zugang zu grundlegenden Dienstleistungen. So lag der Unterschied in der Arbeitslosenquote zwischen den Regionen mit der besten und der schlechtesten Leistung in der Türkei, Spanien und Italien im Jahr 2014 bei knapp 20 Prozentpunkten. Diese Zahl ist fast so groß wie der Unterschied im nationalen Durchschnitt der Arbeitslosigkeit zwischen Griechenland und Norwegen.

Wie ist das Leben in Spanien?

In den letzten Jahren stand Spanien vor verschiedenen Herausforderungen hinsichtlich des materiellen Wohlbefindens seiner Einwohner. Das durchschnittliche Haushaltseinkommen pro Kopf und das Durchschnittseinkommen sanken zwischen 2009 und 2013, den Jahren der Wirtschaftskrise, deutlich. Spanische Angestellte haben auch kaum Arbeitssicherheit. Zwischen 2009 und 2014 stieg die Langzeitarbeitslosenquote um 8,7 Prozentpunkte, die zweithöchste Quote in der OECD.


Spanien hat eine gute Balance zwischen Leben und Arbeit und Gesundheit. Die Lebenserwartung der Spanier beträgt 83,2 Jahre, eine der höchsten in der OECD, und die Freizeit (die sich der Freizeit- und Körperpflege von Vollzeitbeschäftigten widmet) liegt ebenfalls über dem OECD-Durchschnitt.

In Bezug auf den Bildungsstand befindet sich Spanien auf dem niedrigsten Niveau der OECD: Nur 55,6% der erwachsenen Spanier im produktiven Alter haben mindestens die Sekundarstufe II abgeschlossen, im Gegensatz zum OECD-Durchschnitt von 77,2%.

Die Lese- und Mathematikkenntnisse spanischer Erwachsener sind im Vergleich zu Erwachsenen in anderen OECD-Ländern ebenfalls gering. In sozialen Unterstützungsnetzwerken geben 94,7% der Spanier an, Freunde oder Verwandte zu haben, auf die sie sich verlassen können, wenn sie es brauchen, verglichen mit dem OECD-Durchschnitt von 88%.

Das Wohlergehen von Kindern in Spanien

Das materielle Wohlergehen spanischer Kinder spiegelt die schwierigen wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen in Spanien wider. Somit ist die Einkommensarmutquote von Kindern eine der höchsten in der OECD: 21,7% der spanischen Kinder sind Familienmitglieder mit einem verfügbaren Einkommen, das weniger als die Hälfte des spanischen Durchschnittseinkommens beträgt.

Auf der anderen Seite berichten spanische Kinder über ein hohes Gesundheitsniveau und die Jugendrate bei Jugendlichen ist die zweitniedrigste in der OECD.

In "ni-nis" sind wir jedoch überdurchschnittlich. 10,7% der spanischen Jugendlichen im Alter von 15 bis 19 Jahren arbeiten oder studieren nicht und studieren nicht, ein Wert, der über dem OECD-Durchschnitt liegt, der bei 7,1% liegt.

Die Fähigkeiten des Lesens und der kreativen Problemlösung spanischer Studenten liegen unter dem Durchschnitt der OECD. Gleichzeitig fühlen sich 20,7% der spanischen Studenten durch Hausaufgaben, den zweithöchsten Prozentsatz der OECD, unter Druck gesetzt.

Spanien ist in Bezug auf die persönliche Sicherheit von Kindern im oberen Ende der OECD eingestuft, und die spanischen Kinder haben die höchste Lebenszufriedenheit im Bereich der CDE.

Marisol Nuevo Espín
Hinweis: OECD-Bericht Wie läuft das Leben? 2015 Messung des Wohlbefindens

Video: Jedes fünfte Kind lebt in Armut: Ein Schande für unser Land


Interessante Artikel

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Tipps zum An- und Auskleiden Ihres Babys

Das An- und Ausziehen Ihres Babys ist eine Aufgabe, die Sie fast mit geschlossenen Augen erledigen müssen. Zu Beginn kann es jedoch kompliziert sein, vor allem wenn Sie ein neues Elternteil sind. Die...