Children's breakfast: 10 data to improve it

Breakfast is key for children to enjoy adequate food and, as pointed out by the Spanish Foundation of Dietitians-Nutritionists (FEDN), the family is a determining factor in the habit of having breakfast daily and in the foods they eat. Therefore, letting children eat breakfast alone is a mistake, and yet having breakfast with parents means that children eat breakfast in a healthier way.

40% of children eat breakfast alone

According to the data of the first study presented by Tulipán, in collaboration with the Spanish Foundation of Dieticians-Nutritionists (FEDN) and the Spanish Society of Social Pediatrics (SEPS), about eating habits in the breakfast of Spanish children 40% of Spanish children do not eat breakfast regularly with family members.


A healthy diet must contain good fats, which are essential for the proper functioning and development of our body.

"Today there is still the popular belief that all fats are bad, a statement that is not true, in fact, our body needs fats and it is our duty to select those that should include our children's breakfast," says Jesus Garcia of SEPS. Some of the good fats are:

- Olive oil
- Nuts
- Vegetable oils, such as sunflower oil
- Margarines

Breakfast in figures

- Family breakfast improves the quality of it. 40% of Spanish children eat breakfast alone.


- Avoid skipping breakfast. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. 8% of children over 6 do not eat breakfast daily, which could negatively affect their development.

- Healthy food at breakfast. 12% of the population has been forced to change the breakfast habits of their children since the beginning of the economic crisis. Of these, 39% say that since the beginning of the crisis consume more homemade pastries, compared to the processed (13%).

- The crisis has affected family breakfast a little. Only 3'5% of the parents surveyed admit that they have been forced to do without breakfast for financial reasons.

- Avoid industrial pastries at breakfast. 32.6% acknowledge giving their children a piece of pastries every day, being 65% of this industrial bakery.


- Make breakfast healthy. 2 out of 10 parents give more importance to making breakfast simple, tasty or fun to be healthy.

- Fruit, dairy and cereals: a good breakfast. Only 11% of parents surveyed say they give fruit to their children at breakfast, despite the fact that 56% consider fruit the third most important element after dairy products and cereals.

- Moderates the intake of fats at breakfast. 48% of parents with children over 4 years of age believe that it is not healthy for breakfast to contain fat. Of those who consider that it is, 73% prefer margarine, compared to 27% who choose olive oil.

- Variety feeding. A healthy and balanced breakfast is essential for weight control. Only 10% of parents consider that their child does not maintain a varied and balanced diet, and even 13% know that their children have a higher weight than recommended. This figure rises to 18% in the case of children over 6 years.

"Based on the available evidence, it is prudent to strengthen the habit of having breakfast as it could be key to children's growth and food education, therefore, parents should pay special attention to this moment. company of a relative and take advantage of this moment to incorporate foods with a good nutritional quality such as fruits, foods based on whole grains, low-fat dairy products or foods that provide healthy fats such as olive oil, nuts or margarines " , affirms Giuseppe Russolillo, of FEDN.

Sara Pérez

Video: Morning Routine (10 DIY Ideas, Makeup, Healthy Recipes)


Interesting Articles

Family leisure: the eldest also comes

Family leisure: the eldest also comes

It is logical thatour older children Make more and more plans separately with your friends. However, as the family continues to exist, they will also have to participate in some family leisure plans....

Remedies for the colic of the nursing baby

Remedies for the colic of the nursing baby

One of the most frequent concerns that parents have in the first year of their child's life are those sudden cries, which one does not know how to calm down. His origin is as varied as unknown: he...

Strollers for the car, forward or reverse?

Strollers for the car, forward or reverse?

To travel quietly in the car with our children we have to know how to best place the approved seats and avoid shocks. In this way we will live great experiences and we can be assured that nothing...

Kinderfrühstück: 10 Daten zur Verbesserung

Das Frühstück ist für Kinder der Schlüssel zu angemessenem Essen. Wie die spanische Stiftung für Ernährungsberater (FEDN) betont hat, ist die Familie ein entscheidender Faktor für die Gewohnheit, täglich zu frühstücken und die Nahrungsmittel, die sie essen. Daher ist es ein Fehler, Kindern das Frühstück alleine zu erlauben. Trotzdem bedeutet das Frühstück mit den Eltern, dass Kinder gesünder frühstücken.

40% der Kinder frühstücken alleine

Nach den Daten der ersten von Tulipán vorgelegten Studie, in Zusammenarbeit mit der spanischen Stiftung Ernährungswissenschaftler (FEDN) und der Spanischen Gesellschaft für Sozialpädiatrie (SEPS), über Essgewohnheiten beim Frühstück spanischer Kinder 40% Spanische Kinder frühstücken nicht regelmäßig mit Familienmitgliedern.


Eine gesunde Ernährung muss gute Fette enthalten, die für das reibungslose Funktionieren und die Entwicklung unseres Körpers unerlässlich sind.

"Heute gibt es immer noch den Glauben, dass alle Fette schlecht sind, eine Aussage, die nicht stimmt. Unser Körper braucht Fette und es ist unsere Pflicht, diejenigen auszuwählen, die das Frühstück unserer Kinder einschließen sollen", sagt Jesus Garcia von SEPS. Einige der guten Fette sind:

- Olivenöl
- Nüsse
- pflanzliche Öle wie Sonnenblumenöl
- Margarinen

Frühstück in Zahlen

- Familienfrühstück verbessert die Qualität. 40% der spanischen Kinder frühstücken alleine.


- Vermeiden Sie das Frühstück zu überspringen. Das Frühstück ist die wichtigste Mahlzeit des Tages. 8% der Kinder über 6 Jahre frühstücken nicht täglich, was ihre Entwicklung negativ beeinflussen kann.

- Gesundes Essen zum Frühstück. 12% der Bevölkerung mussten seit Beginn der Wirtschaftskrise die Frühstücksgewohnheiten ihrer Kinder ändern. Davon sagen 39%, dass seit Beginn der Krise mehr hausgemachtes Gebäck im Vergleich zu den verarbeiteten (13%) verbraucht wird.

- Die Krise hat das Familienfrühstück ein wenig beeinflusst. Nur 3,5% der befragten Eltern geben an, aus finanziellen Gründen auf das Frühstück verzichten zu müssen.

- Vermeiden Sie beim Frühstück industrielles Gebäck. 32,6% geben an, ihren Kindern täglich ein Gebäck zu geben, nämlich 65% dieser Industriebäckerei.


- Frühstück gesund machen. 2 von 10 Eltern legen großen Wert darauf, das Frühstück einfach, lecker oder unterhaltsam zu gestalten, um gesund zu sein.

- Obst, Milchprodukte und Müsli: ein gutes Frühstück. Nur 11% der befragten Eltern geben an, ihren Kindern beim Frühstück Obst zu geben, obwohl 56% Obst als das drittwichtigste Element nach Milchprodukten und Getreide betrachten.

- Moderiert die Fetteinnahme beim Frühstück. 48% der Eltern mit Kindern über 4 Jahren glauben, dass es für das Frühstück nicht gesund ist, Fett zu enthalten. 73% derjenigen, die dies für möglich halten, bevorzugen Margarine, im Vergleich zu 27%, die sich für Olivenöl entscheiden.

- Abwechslungsreiches Essen. Ein gesundes und ausgewogenes Frühstück ist für die Gewichtskontrolle unerlässlich. Nur 10% der Eltern sind der Meinung, dass ihr Kind keine abwechslungsreiche und ausgewogene Ernährung einhält, und sogar 13% wissen, dass ihre Kinder ein höheres Gewicht haben als empfohlen. Diese Zahl steigt bei Kindern über 6 Jahren auf 18%.

"Auf der Grundlage der verfügbaren Beweise ist es ratsam, die Gewohnheit des Frühstücks zu stärken, da dies für das Wachstum und die Bildung von Kindern von entscheidender Bedeutung sein könnte. Daher sollten Eltern diesem Moment besondere Aufmerksamkeit widmen. Unternehmen eines Verwandten, und nutzen Sie diesen Moment, um Lebensmittel mit einer guten Nährstoffqualität wie Obst, Vollkornprodukte, fettarme Milchprodukte oder Lebensmittel, die gesunde Fette wie Olivenöl, Nüsse oder Margarinen enthalten, zu integrieren. " bestätigt Giuseppe Russolillo von FEDN.

Sara Pérez

Video: Laufen / Joggen für Anfänger & Fortgeschrittene - Tipps vom Profi Sabrina Mockenhaupt - Gewinnspiel


Interessante Artikel

An diesem Weihnachten gehen wir ins Kino!

An diesem Weihnachten gehen wir ins Kino!

Dieses Weihnachten können Sie versuchen, eine zu wählen guter Film, um ins Kino zu gehen mit der ganzen Familie. Anschließend können Sie kurz nach der Sitzung einen Hamburger oder ein Sandwich, ein...