The start time of classes, best at 10 o'clock in the morning

The school environment is, in many cases, a place of intense debates: do children have many duties? What kind of education is the best, private or public? And of course, the hours at which the classes begin. The return to school has already become a fully established routine, but the debates continue. According to experts from several prestigious universities, classes should start at 10 in the morning.

A schedule almost impossible to think of in countries like Spain, where on average the students of Institutes begin classes at 8 in the morning and, those of Primary, at 9 o'clock. However, there are experts who cry out to change the rhythm: doctors and scientists from the universities of Oxford, Harvard and Nevada make a international appeal so that the institutes begin the day at ten o'clock in the morning.


In an article entitled 'Synchronizing education to adolescent biology' that has been published in the journal 'Learning, Media and Technology', these experts insist that the classes must be adapted to the needs of the students and not those of adults (parents or teachers), as is the case today.

Schedule of the classes

"Almost everyone believes that teenagers should go to bed early to get up early," says Paul Kelley, a scientist at the Institute of Neuroscience at Oxford University and the study's first author. However, in his opinion, it is the adults "who would have to adapt" to changes in the sleep cycle experienced by children of that age, according to the newspaper La Vanguardia, which has echoed the investigation.


In this way, the work of these experts work reviews the latest research in sleep patterns and its consequences on academic performance, and ensures that, with the advent of puberty, the biological clock changes and it becomes slower, something that must be taken into account when classes are scheduled.

Dreaming of teenagers

Researchers say that teenagers fall asleep later for a physiological reason and not habits but, still, they still need to sleep about nine hours a day since his brain is forming. "A teenager who gets up at 7 in the morning is equivalent to an adult who gets up at 4.30 in the morning," says the work.

For this reason, the text indicates that, with the current schedules, if a student of 15 or 16 years old begins classes at 8, he has to wake up between 6 and 7 in the morning. To be well rested to the institute and meet the necessary nine hours of sleep, you should go to bed between 9:00 p.m. and 10:00 p.m. That's fine, but who knows a teenager who goes to bed at that time? The problem is in his brain, because this "does not allow them to go to sleep soon"Kelley insists.


According to the researcher, the vigil at this age comes after 23 hours, and its natural awakening time is about 8 o'clock in the morning. Therefore, the authors of the article defend that the institutes open their doors after ten in the morning, that is, about two hours after the usual time.

Consequences of lack of sleep

All this is related to a reality that teachers in the Institute see every day: most of the students arrive in the morning with clear signs of having slept little, something that is also observed at home with, for example, the little time with which these young people wake up for breakfast, which makes them omit this important meal.

Also, lack of sleep has important consequences for children and adolescents: several studies have shown undoubted benefits of sleeping in all ages and the dangers of not doing well when you are young: for example, a study ensures that school failure increases among those who sleep little, and also that young people are more likely to suffer mental problems if they rest a few hours at night.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: Why Schools Should Start Classes Later!


Interesting Articles

5 steps to raise a good child, according to Harvard

5 steps to raise a good child, according to Harvard

If your child is outstanding, or if he is a top scorer in your school's soccer league, it is likely that there will be a good celebration at home afterwards. But, when do you do something good for...

New Fiat 500X City or adventure

New Fiat 500X City or adventure

Fiat returns to give a new twist to his model 500, maintaining all its hallmarks and juvenile character for the broadest range of ages, and launches the new model 500X. A model with two characters:...

Die Unterrichtszeit beginnt am besten um 10 Uhr morgens

Das Schulumfeld ist in vielen Fällen ein Ort intensiver Debatten: Haben Kinder viele Pflichten? Welche Art von Ausbildung ist die beste, privat oder öffentlich? Und natürlich die Stunden, zu denen der Unterricht beginnt. Die Rückkehr in die Schule hat sich bereits etabliert, aber die Debatten gehen weiter. Experten verschiedener renommierter Universitäten zufolge Der Unterricht sollte um 10 Uhr morgens beginnen.

In Ländern wie Spanien ist ein Zeitplan kaum vorstellbar, in dem die Studierenden der Institute im Durchschnitt um 8 Uhr morgens und die der Primarschule um 9 Uhr beginnen. Allerdings gibt es Experten, die den Rhythmus ändern wollen: Ärzte und Wissenschaftler aus den Universitäten von Oxford, Harvard und Nevada machen eine Internationale Anziehungskraft, so dass die Institute den Tag um zehn Uhr morgens beginnen.


In einem Artikel mit dem Titel "Synchronisation von Bildung mit Jugendbiologie", der in der Fachzeitschrift "Learning, Media and Technology" veröffentlicht wurde, bestehen diese Experten darauf Der Unterricht muss an die Bedürfnisse der Schüler angepasst werden und nicht die von Erwachsenen (Eltern oder Lehrern), wie es heute der Fall ist.

Zeitplan der Klassen

"Fast alle glauben, dass Teenager früh ins Bett gehen sollten, um früh aufzustehen", sagt Paul Kelley, Wissenschaftler am Institute of Neuroscience der Universität Oxford und erster Autor der Studie. Seiner Meinung nach sind es jedoch die Erwachsenen, "die sich an den Schlafzyklus dieser Kinder anpassen müssten", so die Zeitung La Vanguardia, die die Untersuchung bestätigt hat.


Auf diese Weise überprüft die Arbeit dieser Experten die neuesten Forschungsergebnisse in Schlafmuster und ihre Konsequenzen für die akademische Leistung und stellt sicher, dass mit dem Aufkommen der Pubertät Die biologische Uhr ändert sich und es wird langsamer, etwas, das berücksichtigt werden muss, wenn Klassen geplant werden.

Träumen von Teenagern

Die Forscher sagen, dass Teenager später aus physiologischen Gründen einschlafen und nicht aus Gewohnheiten, sondern Sie müssen noch ungefähr neun Stunden am Tag schlafen da sich sein Gehirn formt. "Ein Teenager, der um 7 Uhr morgens aufsteht, entspricht einem Erwachsenen, der um 4:30 Uhr morgens aufsteht", sagt die Arbeit.

Aus diesem Grund weist der Text darauf hin, dass bei den aktuellen Stundenplänen, wenn ein Schüler von 15 oder 16 Jahren mit 8 Jahren den Unterricht beginnt, er zwischen 6 und 7 Uhr morgens aufwachen muss. Um sich im Institut gut auszuruhen und die erforderlichen neun Stunden Schlaf einzuhalten, sollten Sie zwischen 21:00 und 10:00 Uhr ins Bett gehen. Das ist in Ordnung, aber wer kennt einen Teenager, der zu dieser Zeit ins Bett geht? Das Problem liegt in seinem Gehirn, weil dies "ihnen nicht erlaubt, bald einzuschlafen"Kelley besteht darauf.


Nach Ansicht des Forschers Die Mahnwache in diesem Alter kommt nach 23 Stundenund seine natürliche Erwachungszeit beträgt ungefähr 8 Uhr morgens. Daher verteidigen die Autoren des Artikels, dass die Institute ihre Türen nach zehn Uhr morgens öffnen, also etwa zwei Stunden nach der üblichen Zeit.

Folgen von Schlafmangel

All dies hängt mit einer Realität zusammen, die die Lehrer im Institut täglich sehen: Die meisten Schüler kommen am Morgen mit deutlichen Zeichen an, wenig geschlafen zu haben. Etwas, das auch zu Hause beobachtet wird, zum Beispiel mit der geringen Zeit, mit der diese jungen Leute zum Frühstück aufwachen, wodurch sie diese wichtige Mahlzeit auslassen.

Auch Schlafmangel hat wichtige Konsequenzen für Kinder und Jugendliche: Mehrere Studien haben gezeigt zweifellos Vorteile des Schlafens In jedem Alter und in der Gefahr, dass es Ihnen nicht gut geht, wenn Sie jung sind: Eine Studie stellt beispielsweise sicher, dass das Schulversagen bei denjenigen, die wenig schlafen, zunimmt, und dass Jugendliche häufiger psychische Probleme haben, wenn sie sich ein paar Stunden ausruhen nachts

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: Schulbeginn um 9:00 Uhr! Sollten wir die Unterrichtszeiten verändern?


Interessante Artikel

Spiele, um den Schnee mit den Kindern zu genießen

Spiele, um den Schnee mit den Kindern zu genießen

Der Winter bringt die Kälte mit sich und manchmal der Schnee. An Orten, an denen wir nicht sehr gewöhnt sind, wenn ein Sturz gut ist Nutzen Sie den Schnee und spielen Sie besser. Es gibt viele...