Babies are attracted to objects that challenge their expectations

A bracelet, mom's necklace, mobile light, toys with bright colors. These are things that draw a lot of attention to babies. In fact, anyone who has been with a child will have noticed how they are encouraged and paid attention if they are taught something unusual or surprising. The reason has just revealed a study: the babies are "programmed" to notice the unexpected, feeling attracted by objects that defy their expectations.

According to a new study published in the magazine Science and prepared by researchers at Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, United States), whats babies investigate

objects that defy its logic and, in this way, they learn the way in which their physical environment works, according to what they say in Scientific American, that they have echoed the research.


Toys and babies

The study analyzed a group of 110 babies for 11 months. The researchers presented a group of babies a puzzling toy: It crossed the wall, defied gravity or appeared in an unexpected place. Meanwhile, they put other babies in front of toys with normal functioning. After this, the authors of the study showed all the children a new object at the same time that they made the babies notice that the object they had seen before made a noise.

"Before both toys, babies who had previously observed the normal doll were equally entertained with the two, while those who saw that the first performed strange movements paid more attention to this and they despised the new", they explain in the magazine.


Study with babies and flashy objects

After this first phase, in the second part of the study the children were playing with objects that seemed to go against logic. On this occasion, the researchers were able to observe that the children who had had contact with the doll that seemed to cross the wall were banging with him on the table, while those who had seen toys defying gravity dropped it to the ground.

That is to say, the children were looking for in these new objects the properties they had been able to observe (and learn) during the first phase of the work of these North American researchers.

With these findings, researchers explain in their conclusions that babies are able to make predictions about the world and who know how to use them to guide their behavior. Also, the findings of the study show how babies learn.


Although real-world objects do not usually defy gravity, the main researcher of the work, Aimée Stahl, suspects that babies also learn of the most usual unexpected events and are able to perceive changes in the routine or to listen to new phrases. This hypothesis will be investigated in future works to verify how improbable events like these influence the learning of babies.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: Magazine - Can Babies Tell Right From Wrong? | The New York Times


Interesting Articles

Bullying: clues to detect it in time

Bullying: clues to detect it in time

The bullying It is a social issue with implications for pediatric patients, as well as sexual abuse or domestic violence in adolescents and affects almost 23% of the school population, according to...

Babys fühlen sich von Objekten angezogen, die ihre Erwartungen in Frage stellen

Ein Armband, Mamas Halskette, mobiles Licht, Spielzeug mit leuchtenden Farben. Dies sind Dinge, die Babys besonders interessieren. In der Tat hat jeder, der mit einem Kind zusammen war, bemerkt, wie ermutigt und aufgepasst wird, wenn ihm etwas Ungewöhnliches oder Überraschendes vermittelt wird. Der Grund hat gerade eine Studie ergeben: die Babys sind "programmiert", um das Unerwartete zu bemerken, sich von Gegenständen angezogen fühlen, die ihren Erwartungen nicht gewachsen sind.

Nach einer neuen Studie in der Zeitschrift veröffentlicht Wissenschaft und von Forschern an der Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, USA) vorbereitets Babys untersuchen

Objekte, die sich seiner Logik widersetzen und auf diese Weise lernen sie die Art und Weise, in der ihre physische Umgebung arbeitet, was sie in Scientific American sagen, dass sie die Forschung wiederholen.


Spielzeug und Babys

Die Studie analysierte 11 Monate lang eine Gruppe von 110 Babys. Die Forscher stellten eine Gruppe von Babys vor ein rätselhaftes spielzeug: Es überquerte die Wand, trotzte der Schwerkraft oder erschien an einem unerwarteten Ort. In der Zwischenzeit setzen sie andere Babys vor normalem Funktionsspielzeug. Danach zeigten die Autoren der Studie allen Kindern ein neues Objekt zur gleichen Zeit, als sie die Babys darauf aufmerksam gemacht hatten das Objekt, das sie zuvor gesehen hatten, machte ein Geräusch.

"Vor beiden Spielzeugen waren Babys, die zuvor die normale Puppe beobachtet hatten, gleichermaßen mit den beiden unterhalten, während diejenigen, die sahen, dass die ersten seltsamen Bewegungen ausgeführt wurden, diesem und mehr Aufmerksamkeit schenkten Sie verachteten das Neue", erklären sie in der Zeitschrift.


Studieren Sie mit Babys und auffälligen Objekten

Nach dieser ersten Phase spielten die Kinder im zweiten Teil der Studie mit Objekten, die gegen die Logik zu verstimmen schienen. Bei dieser Gelegenheit konnten die Forscher beobachten, dass die Kinder, die Kontakt mit der Puppe hatten, die die Wand zu überqueren schien, währenddessen mit ihm auf den Tisch schlug Diejenigen, die gesehen hatten, dass Spielzeug der Schwerkraft trotzt, ließen es zu Boden fallen.

Ich meine Die Kinder suchten in diesen neuen Objekten nach Eigenschaften, die sie während der ersten Phase der Arbeit beobachten (und erlernen) konnten dieser nordamerikanischen Forscher.

Mit diesen Erkenntnissen erklären Forscher in ihren Schlussfolgerungen, dass Babys sind in der Lage, Vorhersagen über die Welt zu treffen und wer weiß, wie man sie benutzt, um ihr Verhalten zu steuern. Die Ergebnisse der Studie zeigen auch, wie Babys lernen.


Obwohl reale Objekte der Schwerkraft normalerweise nicht trotzen, vermutet Aimée Stahl, der Hauptforscher der Arbeit, dass Babys auch lernen der häufigsten unerwarteten Ereignisse und sind in der Lage, Änderungen in der Routine wahrzunehmen oder neue Sätze zu hören. Diese Hypothese wird in zukünftigen Arbeiten untersucht, um zu überprüfen, wie unwahrscheinliche Ereignisse wie diese das Lernen von Babys beeinflussen.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: Depressionen - Von Selbstzweifel bis Suizidversuch I Y-Kollektiv Dokumentation


Interessante Artikel