Half of the websites and apps share information about children

The Privacy It is an essential right of every person who, in some cases, takes risks. Many websites or mobile applications do not ensure privacy or security of data on the Internet and, in fact, share information of its users. This is the case with half of the world's websites.

An international project that has analyzed a total of 1,494 web pages and applications from around the world has found that 67 percent of them collect personal information of children, and that half (50 percent) shared it with other organizations, something that represents an immense danger.


From the data collected in this study carried out by the Global Network for the Reinforcement of Privacy (GPEN, in English) it is extracted that 31 percent of the pages analyzed have effective controls to limit the collection of information staff of the children, and that half shared that personal information with third parties.

Also, 22 percent of the websites I asked the children to give their mobile phone, while 23 percent let them upload videos or photographs. On the other hand, 58 percent of these online portals offered children the opportunity to redirect to a different web page, as explained in Global News, which has echoed this investigation.


Other data extracted from the analyzes indicate that only 24 percent of the portals included in the sample encouraged parental participation, while 71 percent did not provide children with the methods to erase information from their accounts.

On these important data, which give a global idea that how other websites work in the world, technology expert David Papp explains to the aforementioned Canadian media that many websites and mobile applications they need the personal information of their users because they use them to direct the advertisements and to verify that, in effect, the user is of legal age to use said application.

Education on safety

In this sense, this expert mentions a maxim remembered by many other professionals: the need to educate our children about online security and privacy. Papp's first advice is clear: "teach your children to be open with you".


"Depending on the age of the child, the computer should be in a common area in the house where you can see it, maybe in the kitchen or living room, not in private rooms ", advises this expert when talking about the methods to teach children methods to protect themselves from lack of security on the Internet.

Another important issue when educating children in this matter is teach them to ask themselves if the website really needs to know that information and what could be done with it. "The problem that exists with generations of young people is that they treat social networks in a context of popularity," laments this expert, who mentions that most young people do not know all the people with whom they are connected in these networks. and that this is something that can be "very dangerous".

This information that children and adolescents share on the Internet every day could "hurt" them with the passage of time in two ways: on the one hand, by the access of third parties to information that is private and, on the other, by "funny" images of young people who, although they may seem "dumb" at a certain moment, pass by to be part of the fingerprint of young people.

A moment of reflection

Every day more people are aware of the danger that can involve sharing their private information on the Internet, because This can be used by third parties with other objectives. Information like this study should make parents reflect: why would organizations want to know so much about my son? What are the potential benefits and risks for my child? How could I better control my children's information?

However, the study (which does not provide the complete list of websites analyzed or which were those that least protected the rights of children) has also found that There are some pages that do provide effective protective controls, such as those designed for parents or systems that protect children to avoid, by mistake, they themselves sharing their personal information.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: How to Set Parental Control on iPhone and iPad


Interesting Articles

The older brother's example

The older brother's example

With the arrival of new brothers and with the passage of time, the first child becomes the elder brother. It is not an easy role: on the one hand, it will have more freedoms and will be the one that...

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

Week 10. Pregnancy week by week

You are in the tenth week of pregnancy and that means you have two and a half months of pregnancy. It has been a time of constant changes that will now be relieved while others arise. There are only...

Die Hälfte der Websites und Apps teilen Informationen zu Kindern

Die Privatsphäre Es ist ein unabdingbares Recht jeder Person, die in einigen Fällen Risiken eingeht. Viele Websites oder mobile Anwendungen gewährleisten keine Privatsphäre oder die Sicherheit von Daten im Internet und tatsächlich die Weitergabe von Informationen seiner Nutzer. Dies ist bei der Hälfte der Websites der Welt der Fall.

Ein internationales Projekt, das insgesamt analysiert hat 1.494 Webseiten und Anwendungen aus aller Welt hat festgestellt, dass 67 Prozent von ihnen sammeln persönliche Informationen von KindernDiese Hälfte (50 Prozent) teilte es mit anderen Organisationen, was eine immense Gefahr darstellt.


Aus den in dieser Studie gesammelten Daten des Globalen Netzwerks zur Stärkung des Datenschutzes (GPEN, in Englisch) wird dies extrahiert 31 Prozent der untersuchten Seiten verfügen über wirksame Kontrollen, um die Sammlung von Informationen einzuschränken Mitarbeiter der Kinder, und diese Hälfte hat diese personenbezogenen Daten an Dritte weitergegeben.

Auch 22 Prozent der Websites Ich bat die Kinder, ihr Handy zu geben, 23 Prozent lassen sie Videos oder Fotos hochladen. Auf der anderen Seite boten 58 Prozent dieser Online-Portale Kinder an die Möglichkeit, auf eine andere Webseite umzuleiten, wie in Global News erläutert, was diese Untersuchung bestätigt hat.


Andere aus den Analysen extrahierte Daten zeigen, dass Nur 24 Prozent der in die Stichprobe einbezogenen Portale ermutigten die Beteiligung der Eltern, während 71 Prozent Kindern keine Methoden zur Verfügung stellten, um Informationen aus ihren Konten zu löschen.

Zu diesen wichtigen Daten, die eine globale Vorstellung davon vermitteln, wie andere Websites in der Welt funktionieren, erklärt Technologieexperte David Papp den oben genannten kanadischen Medien, dass viele Websites und mobile Anwendungen vorhanden sind Sie benötigen die persönlichen Informationen ihrer Nutzer, weil sie diese zur Steuerung der Werbung verwenden und um zu überprüfen, ob der Benutzer tatsächlich volljährig ist, um die Anwendung zu verwenden.

Aufklärung über Sicherheit

In diesem Sinne erwähnt dieser Experte eine Maxime, an die sich viele andere Fachleute erinnern: die Notwendigkeit, unsere Kinder über Online-Sicherheit und Datenschutz zu informieren. Papps erster Rat ist klar: "Bringe deinen Kindern bei, offen zu sein".


"Je nach Alter des Kindes Der Computer sollte sich in einem gemeinsamen Bereich des Hauses befinden, wo Sie ihn sehen können"Vielleicht in der Küche oder im Wohnzimmer, nicht in privaten Räumen", rät dieser Experte, wenn er über Methoden spricht, wie sich Kinder Methoden beibringen können, um sich vor mangelnder Sicherheit im Internet zu schützen.

Ein weiteres wichtiges Thema bei der Erziehung von Kindern in dieser Angelegenheit ist Bitten Sie sie, sich selbst zu fragen, ob die Website diese Informationen wirklich benötigt und was damit getan werden kann. "Das Problem, das bei Generationen junger Menschen besteht, ist, dass sie soziale Netzwerke in einem populären Kontext behandeln", beklagt der Experte, der darauf hinweist, dass die meisten jungen Menschen nicht alle Menschen kennen, mit denen sie in diesen Netzwerken verbunden sind. und dass dies etwas "sehr gefährlich" sein kann.

Diese Informationen, die Kinder und Jugendliche täglich im Internet austauschen, können sie "verletzen" im Laufe der Zeit auf zwei Arten: einerseits durch den Zugriff Dritter auf Informationen, die privat sind, und andererseits durch "lustige" Bilder von Jugendlichen, die, obwohl sie zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt "dumm" erscheinen, vorbeigehen Teil des Fingerabdrucks junger Menschen sein.

Ein Moment der Besinnung

Jeden Tag sind sich mehr Menschen der Gefahr bewusst, die darin bestehen kann, dass ihre privaten Daten im Internet geteilt werden Dies kann von Dritten mit anderen Zielen verwendet werden. Informationen wie diese Studie sollten Eltern zum Nachdenken anregen: Warum möchten Organisationen so viel über meinen Sohn wissen? Was sind die möglichen Vorteile und Risiken für mein Kind? Wie könnte ich die Informationen meiner Kinder besser kontrollieren?

Die Studie (die jedoch nicht die vollständige Liste der untersuchten Websites enthält oder die die Rechte der Kinder am wenigsten geschützt hat) hat dies ebenfalls festgestellt Es gibt einige Seiten, die effektive Schutzfunktionen bieten. B. für Eltern oder Systeme, die Kinder schützen, um zu vermeiden, dass sie versehentlich ihre persönlichen Daten weitergeben.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: How I hacked online dating | Amy Webb


Interessante Artikel

Richtlinien für die Unterrichtsdisziplin für Kinder

Richtlinien für die Unterrichtsdisziplin für Kinder

Obwohl es keinen guten Ruf hat, brauchen Kinder eine Disziplin, die sich nicht gegen die Erziehung in Freiheit oder Zuneigung richtet. Der Wert der Disziplin ist der Schlüssel zum Erfolg in allen...

Beziehen lernen: Ideen, um Kinder zu sozialisieren

Beziehen lernen: Ideen, um Kinder zu sozialisieren

Die Die Familie ist der erste Ort, an dem das Kind verwandt istdas heißt, sozialisieren. Hier lernt er die Normen, Gewohnheiten und Grundverhalten des Zusammenlebens, die für seine soziale Reife...