Couples who raise their children together are happier

Raising children It is a task as complicated as rewarding, although it has many hard moments. Now, who is responsible for the upbringing? According to a study developed in the United States,couples who take care of children together and share responsibility equally are happier than those in which one of them is in charge of children.

This is the result of a survey of 500 couples from all over the United States. All of them were married or lived together and the goal was to know the way they divided the responsibility of caring for children, how to play and enforce the rules, as well as see their level of satisfaction about their relationship and joint life.


Through this work, the researchers found that The vast majority of respondents (73 percent of women and 80 percent of men) He assured that they divided equally the care of their children with their partners. Among the rest of the women, 24 percent responded to the survey saying that they did most of the work. As for men, only 10 percent said they assumed most of the responsibilities, while another 10 percent said their partner was the one who did it.

Division of tasks in the couple

In this regard, the assistant professor of sociology at Georgia State University (United States) and lead author of the study, Danial L. Carlson, explains that they found it "definitely interesting" thatMany couples assured that they divided the tasks of taking care of children "as equals".


Through this work, researchers discovered that couples who claimed that foster responsibilities were divided also showed the highest levels of satisfaction about their relationship and intimacy and that they fought less. "Being satisfied is a strong indicator of the stability of the relationship, so these things are a good omen for couples to stay together," argued Carlson.

As regards the cases of couples in which it was the woman who carried out most or all of the child-rearing work, they had lower satisfaction and the highest level of conflict in the relationship. On the other hand, the few couples in which the man was in charge of these tasks showed an intermediate level of satisfaction.

Different tasks of parents


Despite the interestingness of these results, the author of the research mentions a small "lagoon" in the study or explanation to such a high percentage of parents who cooperate in the tasks of raising children: the surveys asked for tasks (play, praise, create and enforce the rules) that are "typical" in parents, so it is not clear if the men also perform other tasks related to the upbringing of children such as cooking or cleaning up what they dirty, he said.

Despite this, the research suggests that women and men could be dividing tasks more evenly Well, while women are the ones who spend more time with children, men increasingly contribute more hours per day: 7.2 hours on average in the United States versus 2.5 hours in the 60s.

Upward trend: more time for children

This trend observed in the North American country is present, but it is not known if it will continue to the point that women and men invest the same amount of time in the care of children, according to the CNN, the research professor of family and children studies at Syracuse University Margaret L. Usdansky. In fact, this expert tells that there is evidence that this process has stopped, something that could be explained by factors such as wage inequality between men and women.

This study corroborates other previous studies that say that couples who are more egalitarian in their child care responsibilities tend to have better relationships. "Not everyone wants to share, but most couples need two tickets of moneyIt is not a choice, and when two people work, then I think that in most cases couples will be happier when they share more different types of work, "she argues.

Finally, another interesting topic of this work is that lCouples who shared the care of their children equally did not necessarily spend more time together. "It is plausible that you can have a positive impact on satisfaction [in the relationship] without having to change the amount of time couples spend together," says Usdansky about it, although she has not participated in the study.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: Study Shows Same-Sex Couples Raise Happier, Healthier Children


Interesting Articles

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Learn to reeducate the palate of your children

Teaching children to eat is a mission that every father must assume. Once again, remember the old saying "we are what we eat"Taking care of what is put on the table is very important as it will...

The first baby teeth

The first baby teeth

If lately your baby has a certain tendency to keep his mouth open, dribbles excessively, tries to suck everything he finds and has his finger constantly in his mouth, his teeth are probably coming...

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

Nursing care that every mother must take into account

What mother does not want the best for her children? Since they arrive in the world, the intention is to offer an adequate treatment to the demands of the youngest ones and this is to respond to...

Paare, die ihre Kinder zusammen großziehen, sind glücklicher

Kinder großziehen Es ist eine Aufgabe, die so kompliziert wie lohnend ist, obwohl sie viele schwierige Momente hat. Wer ist nun für die Erziehung verantwortlich? Laut einer in den Vereinigten Staaten entwickelten Studieglücklicher sind Paare, die gemeinsam auf Kinder aufpassen und die Verantwortung teilen als diejenigen, bei denen einer von ihnen für Kinder verantwortlich ist.

Dies ist das Ergebnis einer Umfrage unter 500 Paaren aus den gesamten Vereinigten Staaten. Alle waren verheiratet oder lebten zusammen und das Ziel war zu wissen So teilten sie die Verantwortung für die Betreuung von Kindern, wie Sie die Regeln spielen und durchsetzen sowie deren Niveau sehen Zufriedenheit über ihre Beziehung und das gemeinsame Leben.


Durch diese Arbeit fanden die Forscher das heraus die große Mehrheit der Befragten (73 Prozent der Frauen und 80 Prozent der Männer) Er versicherte, dass sie die Betreuung ihrer Kinder zu gleichen Teilen mit ihren Partnern teilen. Bei den übrigen Frauen antworteten 24 Prozent der Befragung, dass sie die meiste Arbeit verrichteten. Bei den Männern gaben nur 10 Prozent an, dass sie die meisten Verantwortlichkeiten übernahmen, während weitere 10 Prozent angaben, dass ihr Partner derjenige war, der das getan hat.

Aufgabenteilung im Paar

In dieser Hinsicht erklärt der Assistenzprofessor für Soziologie an der Georgia State University (Vereinigte Staaten) und Hauptautor der Studie, Danial L. Carlson, dass sie das "definitiv interessant" fandenViele Paare versicherten, dass sie die Aufgaben der Kinderbetreuung "auf Augenhöhe" aufteilten.


Durch diese Arbeit entdeckten die Forscher, dass auch Paare, die behaupteten, dass die Verantwortlichkeiten für die Pflegeleistung geteilt wurden, sich zeigten die höchste Zufriedenheit über ihre Beziehung und Intimität und dass sie weniger gekämpft haben. "Zufriedenheit ist ein starker Indikator für die Stabilität der Beziehung, daher sind diese Dinge ein gutes Omen für Paare, um zusammen zu bleiben", argumentierte Carlson.

In den Fällen von Paaren, bei denen die Frau die meisten oder alle Kindererziehungsarbeiten durchführte, Sie hatten eine geringere Zufriedenheit und das höchste Konfliktniveau in der Beziehung. Auf der anderen Seite zeigten die wenigen Paare, bei denen der Mann für diese Aufgaben zuständig war, eine mittlere Zufriedenheit.

Verschiedene Aufgaben der Eltern


Trotz des Interesses dieser Ergebnisse erwähnt der Autor der Studie ein kleines "Lagune" in der Studie oder Erklärung für einen so hohen Prozentsatz von Eltern, die bei der Erziehung von Kindern zusammenarbeiten: Die Umfragen baten um Aufgaben (spielen, loben, erstellen und durchsetzen der Regeln) das sind "typisch" bei ElternEs sei daher nicht klar, ob die Männer auch andere Aufgaben im Zusammenhang mit der Erziehung von Kindern übernehmen, wie Kochen oder Aufräumen, was sie schmutzig machten, sagte er.

Trotzdem deuten die Untersuchungen darauf hin, dass Frauen und Männer dies könnten Aufgaben gleichmäßiger aufteilen Nun, während Frauen mehr Zeit mit Kindern verbringen, leisten Männer zunehmend mehr Stunden pro Tag: Durchschnittlich 7,2 Stunden in den Vereinigten Staaten gegenüber 2,5 Stunden in den 60er Jahren.

Aufwärtstrend: mehr Zeit für Kinder

Dieser im nordamerikanischen Land zu beobachtende Trend ist vorhanden, es ist jedoch nicht bekannt, ob er bis zu diesem Punkt fortfahren wird Frauen und Männer investieren genauso viel Zeit in die Betreuung von KindernLaut CNN studiert die Forschungsprofessorin für Familie und Kinder an der Syracuse University Margaret L. Usdansky. In der Tat sagt dieser Experte das Es gibt Hinweise darauf, dass dieser Prozess gestoppt wurdeDies könnte durch Faktoren wie Lohnunterschiede zwischen Männern und Frauen erklärt werden.

Diese Studie bestätigt andere frühere Studien, die besagen, dass Paare, die in ihrer Kinderbetreuungspflicht eher egalitär sind, bessere Beziehungen pflegen. "Nicht jeder möchte teilen, aber die meisten Paare benötigen zwei GeldscheineEs ist keine Wahl, und wenn zwei Leute arbeiten, denke ich, dass Paare in den meisten Fällen glücklicher sein werden, wenn sie mehr unterschiedliche Arten von Arbeit teilen ", argumentiert sie.

Schließlich ist ein anderes interessantes Thema dieser Arbeit, dass ichPaare, die die Betreuung ihrer Kinder gleichberechtigten, verbrachten nicht unbedingt mehr Zeit miteinander. "Es ist plausibel, dass Sie die Zufriedenheit [in der Beziehung] positiv beeinflussen können, ohne die Zeit, die Paare zusammen verbringen, ändern zu müssen", sagt Usdansky, obwohl sie nicht an der Studie teilgenommen hat.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: Eine XXL Familie mit 8 Kindern


Interessante Artikel

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Volkswagen Touran: kontrollierte Amplitude

Die dritte Generation des Touran beträgt 13 Zentimeter länger als die vorherige Version, hat sieben Sitze Serie und hat eine Größerer Kofferraum Es stellt sich heraus a Familienauto Dies muss für...