Teachers, increasingly concerned about mental problems in children and adolescents

The mental health of students worries teachers more than any other issue related to their well-being, according to a survey carried out among more than 1,180 teachers in the United Kingdom and which ensures that two out of every three teachers mention the mental problems of children and adolescents as their main concern.

The study, although carried out in the United Kingdom, tells us a lot about how society evolves and what seem to be the growing problems of the present. In fact, behind the mental problems of the students, what worries British teachers the most is the domestic violence and cyberbullying who suffer their pupils.


In all these cases the professors assure that they feel worried because they do not they know how to support and help their students, according to the British public broadcaster BBC, which has echoed this worrying survey in the Anglo-Saxon country.

Family context

"Without a doubt, there is a significant increase of students with mental problems," says Brian Lightman, representative of the association of school directors ASCL. As he explains, this is usually related to conflicting family contexts or after going through some type of abuse, as well as other types of mental disorders such as attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).


The survey, carried out by the company 'The Key', has also found that many British schools have chosen to hire their own team of psychologists with the aim of giving the best psychological help to their students.

Still, another representative of north London schools has assured the BBC that this is not the solution, and has put on the table the need to carry out a whole state pact to help this class of young people who, either because they come from conflictive environments or because they have suffered negative experiences in their lives, are suffering some disorders that, if not treated from the first moment, can have very negative consequences in your adult life.

Internet and Smartphones

This attention call is related to a controversial statement by a well-known child psychotherapist in the United Kingdom called Julie Lynn Evans. As he said in March of this year, the arrival of smartphones and Internet access It has elevated the cases of mental problems in adolescents.


According to him, the problem is growing because every time there is more cases of young people trying to take their own lives. "In the '80s, I had one or two suicide attempts a year, mainly by teenagers who did drug's use. Currently, I can have up to four in one month, "he told the British newspaper The Telegraph.

The psychotherapist also referred to the official data of the British government: the emergency income in the rooms of child psychiatry they have doubled in the last four years in both children and young people. In fact, self-harming teens have increased 70 percent this decade.

"Something is happening, the number of people who come to my practice has increased and problems usually have to do with the computer, the Internet or mobile phones", warned the expert, who was especially concerned about cyberbullying, something that is nothing new but has worsened with new technologies.

Given this, the expert recommended the parents of young people to monitor in a more continuous way what their children do with smartphones. Evans is clear: children should not have their privacy on mobile phones until they show a certain mental maturity.

Also at this point urges parents to set an example: they should leave the mobile aside more often. Thus, he concluded by saying that it is necessary to find a balance so that the youngest find the valuable qualities of life in different places and not only through the Internet.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: The prevalence of mental illnesses in youth | McKenna Knapp | TEDxEdina


Interesting Articles

A trip full of small-big steps

A trip full of small-big steps

By Dr. Eva CiruelosEvery October 19 we celebrate with illusion and hope the Day Against Breast Cancer. This year we can talk about new research that improves the treatment of this disease. Now we...

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

The coveted educational pact: ten basic proposals

TheNational Catholic Confederation of Parents and Parents of Students (CONCAPA), with the objective of claiming aeducational pact to resolve as soon as possible the difficulties experienced by...

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

Against ADHD, an early diagnosis

The premature abandonment of studies is increasingly frequent among young people under 19, many of them driven by suffering what is known as Attention Deficit Disorder with or without hyperactivity...

Lehrer, zunehmend besorgt über psychische Probleme bei Kindern und Jugendlichen

Die psychische Gesundheit der Schüler macht den Lehrern Sorgen Laut einer Umfrage, die unter mehr als 1.180 Lehrern im Vereinigten Königreich durchgeführt wurde und die sicherstellt, dass zwei von drei Lehrern die psychischen Probleme von Kindern und Jugendlichen als ihr Hauptanliegen betrachten, ist dies mehr als jedes andere Problem, das mit ihrem Wohlergehen zusammenhängt.

Obwohl die Studie in Großbritannien durchgeführt wurde, erfahren Sie viel darüber, wie sich die Gesellschaft entwickelt und was die wachsenden Probleme der Gegenwart zu sein scheinen. Hinter den mentalen Problemen der Schüler ist das, was die britischen Lehrer am meisten beunruhigt häusliche Gewalt und Cybermobbing die unter ihren Schülern leiden


In all diesen Fällen versichern die Professoren, dass sie sich Sorgen machen, weil sie dies nicht tun Sie wissen, wie sie ihre Schüler unterstützen und ihnen helfen könnenNach Angaben des britischen öffentlich-rechtlichen Senders BBC, der diese besorgniserregende Umfrage im angelsächsischen Land widerhallte.

Familiärer Kontext

"Zweifellos gibt es eine deutliche Zunahme von Schülern mit psychischen Problemen", sagt Brian Lightman, Vertreter des Verbandes der Schuldirektoren ASCL. Wie er erklärt, hängt das normalerweise damit zusammen widersprüchliche familiäre Kontexte oder nach einer Art von Missbrauch sowie anderen Arten von psychischen Störungen wie der Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit-Hyperaktivitätsstörung (ADHD).


Die von der Firma The Key durchgeführte Umfrage ergab auch, dass sich viele britische Schulen für die Einstellung ihrer eigenen entschieden haben Team von Psychologen mit dem Ziel, den Studenten die beste psychologische Hilfe zu geben.

Ein anderer Vertreter von Schulen im Norden Londons hat der BBC versichert, dass dies nicht die Lösung ist, und hat die Notwendigkeit auf den Tisch gelegt ein ganzer Staatspakt dieser Klasse junger Menschen zu helfen, die entweder aus konfliktreichen Umgebungen stammen oder negative Erfahrungen in ihrem Leben gemacht haben einige Störungen leiden Wenn Sie nicht gleich vom ersten Moment an behandelt werden, kann dies sehr negative Auswirkungen auf Ihr Erwachsenenleben haben.

Internet und Smartphones

Diese Aufmerksamkeitsaufforderung bezieht sich auf eine umstrittene Aussage einer bekannten Kinderpsychotherapeutin in Großbritannien namens Julie Lynn Evans. Wie er im März dieses Jahres sagte, die Ankunft von Smartphones und Internetzugang Es hat die Fälle von psychischen Problemen bei Jugendlichen erhöht.


Seiner Meinung nach wächst das Problem, weil es jedes Mal gibt mehr Fälle von jungen Leuten, die versuchen, sich das Leben zu nehmen. "In den 80er Jahren hatte ich ein oder zwei Selbstmordversuche pro Jahr, hauptsächlich von Teenagern Gebrauch von Drogen. Derzeit kann ich in einem Monat bis zu vier haben ", sagte er der britischen Zeitung The Telegraph.

Der Psychotherapeut verwies auch auf die offiziellen Daten der britischen Regierung: das Noteinkommen in den Zimmern von Kinderpsychiatrie Sie haben sich in den letzten vier Jahren sowohl bei Kindern als auch bei Jugendlichen verdoppelt. Tatsächlich haben selbstverletzende Teenager dieses Jahrzehnt um 70 Prozent zugenommen.

"Etwas passiert, die Anzahl der Leute, die zu meiner Praxis kommen, hat zugenommen Probleme haben normalerweise mit dem Computer, dem Internet oder Mobiltelefonen zu tun", warnte der Experte, der sich besonders über Cybermobbing Sorgen machte, etwas, das nichts Neues ist, sich aber mit neuen Technologien verschlechtert hat.

Aus diesem Grund empfahl der Experte die Eltern von Jugendlichen auf kontinuierliche Weise zu überwachen, was ihre Kinder mit Smartphones tun. Evans ist klar: Kinder sollten ihre Privatsphäre nicht auf Mobiltelefonen haben, bis sie eine gewisse geistige Reife aufweisen.

Auch an dieser Stelle fordert die Eltern auf, ein Beispiel zu setzen: Sie sollten das Handy öfter zur Seite legen. Er schloss damit, dass es notwendig ist, ein Gleichgewicht zu finden, damit die jüngsten die wertvollen Lebensqualitäten an verschiedenen Orten und nicht nur über das Internet finden.

Angela R. Bonachera

Video: treffpunkt medizin: Helikoptereltern & Tyrannenkinder - Gesunde Kindheit vom 28.02.2018 / ORF TVthek


Interessante Artikel

Die Routine ist nicht so schlimm

Die Routine ist nicht so schlimm

Wir haben einen neuen Kurs mit dem aufgeladenen Akku begonnen. Es kostet aber in Wirklichkeit unser Gewöhnliche Arbeit verleiht dem Leben Stabilität und ZusammenhaltDas bedeutet, dass wir einen Tag...

Folgen von zu lautem Musikhören

Folgen von zu lautem Musikhören

20 Prozent der Jugendlichen haben eine Dauerhaftes Klingeln in den Ohren Englisch: www.goethe.de/ges/mol/thm/tre/en1571343.htm Nur 5 Prozent ergreifen Präventionsmaßnahmen, wie eine Studie des...