The family with teenage children

When the children reach adolescence, the family must adapt to this new situation. In this new stage of the life cycle, children leave behind childhood and preadolescence, to live a new stage of growth and formation where parents must expose themselves to new challenges and learn to treat their children. teenage children

The new identity of adolescent children

During the transition from child to adult, the adolescent goes through an important critical process that is the formation of his identity. At this stage the question arises in them: who am I? And to answer this important question is the assessment of self-concept, that is, the image they have of themselves, as well as the perception that others have of them and, in the latter case, parents play a very important role.


Among the main challenges that parents must face when their children reach adolescence are:

1. The treatment they give their children. Although it is difficult, it is convenient to avoid confusing them by treating them at times as small children and at other times as adults. It is important to recognize that our child is no longer the child who was told things and obeyed them without asking questions, now he is more aware of his emotions, thoughts and feelings, and a critical sense emerges.

2. Dispel the idea that adolescents are a problem. For this, it is convenient to educate adolescents in the responsibility so that they themselves are aware of their own actions. In this stage of life, the young person faces many changes, not only physical, but also emotional that will affect the relationships with their parents and siblings. The bond with the parents is not and will not be the same.


What to do when children reach adolescence

The tasks that are presented at this stage for parents with teenage children are:

1. Make the limits more flexible: try to see the adolescent as someone who is in the process of change, development and that comes from another stage of previous life (childhood). The limits that were established in childhood must change and adapt to the new changes of the adolescent. For example, in study schedules or outings with friends.

2. Understand: that you are not an adult, but an adolescent with many changes in process, who seeks independence, and in this process can be exposed to negative friendships and some vices such as alcohol, snuff, sexuality ... before which must have resources of performance.

3. Favor the process of adaptation to age-appropriate changes, doing everything possible to put on the shoes of their teenagers and see what they see. It is advisable to find moments to share with them, listen to them, value their actions and recognize all the good things they do.


4. Respect your ideas, opinions and initiatives: if as parents we try to impose our ideas and opinions, without explanations or negotiations, the consequence may be that the adolescent moves away from the family.

5. Negotiate the rules: During childhood, parents set the rules and decided. But with teenagers it should not be the same. If adolescents help define the new rules and limits, for them it will be easier to respect them and assume the consequences of not fulfilling them.

Jeymi Febles. Clinical Psychologist, Family and Couple Therapist.

Video: Super Nanny - Teenager Faints Due to Stress - Most Emotional Episode Ever!


Interesting Articles

Drug treatment treatments: when are they necessary?

Drug treatment treatments: when are they necessary?

When parents discover that their children are using drugs, initial reactions often include feelings of guilt, anger, shame or even not wanting to accept reality. In the middle of this gale of...

Where do children come from

Where do children come from

Children are curious by nature and it is inevitable that, sooner or later, They throw us that question so feared by many parents. It is best to answer their questions with great affection and tell...

Die Familie mit Teenagern

Wenn die Kinder die Adoleszenz erreichen, muss sich die Familie an diese neue Situation anpassen. In dieser neuen Phase des Lebenszyklus verlassen Kinder ihre Kindheit und Voradoleszenz, um eine neue Phase des Wachstums und der Ausbildung zu leben, in der sich die Eltern neuen Herausforderungen stellen und lernen müssen, mit ihren Kindern umzugehen. Teenager Kinder

Die neue Identität jugendlicher Kinder

Während des Übergangs vom Kind zum Erwachsenen durchläuft der Jugendliche einen wichtigen kritischen Prozess, nämlich die Bildung seiner Identität. In diesem Stadium stellt sich die Frage: Wer bin ich? Und um diese wichtige Frage zu beantworten, ist die Beurteilung des Selbstverständnisses, dh das Bild, das sie von sich selbst haben, sowie die Wahrnehmung, die andere von ihnen haben, und im letzteren Fall spielen Eltern eine sehr wichtige Rolle.


Zu den größten Herausforderungen, denen sich Eltern stellen müssen, wenn ihre Kinder die Adoleszenz erreichen, gehören:

1. Die Behandlung, die sie ihren Kindern geben. Obwohl es schwierig ist, ist es zweckmäßig, sie nicht zu verwirren, indem sie sie manchmal als kleine Kinder oder zu anderen Zeiten als Erwachsene behandelt werden. Es ist wichtig zu erkennen, dass unser Kind nicht mehr das Kind ist, dem man Dinge erzählt und ihnen gehorcht hat, ohne Fragen zu stellen. Jetzt ist es sich seiner Gefühle, Gedanken und Gefühle bewusster und ein kritischer Sinn entsteht.

2. Beseitigen Sie die Vorstellung, dass Jugendliche ein Problem sind. Dafür ist es zweckmäßig, Jugendliche in der Verantwortung zu erziehen, damit sie selbst über ihre eigenen Handlungen Bescheid wissen. In dieser Lebensphase sieht sich der Jugendliche vielen Veränderungen gegenüber, nicht nur körperlich, sondern auch emotional, was die Beziehungen zu seinen Eltern und Geschwistern beeinflussen wird. Die Bindung zu den Eltern ist und bleibt nicht gleich.


Was tun, wenn Kinder die Pubertät erreichen?

Die Aufgaben, die an dieser Stelle für Eltern mit Teenagern präsentiert werden, sind:

1. Machen Sie die Grenzen flexibler: Versuchen Sie, den Jugendlichen als jemanden zu sehen, der sich im Prozess der Veränderung, der Entwicklung befindet und aus einem anderen Stadium des vorherigen Lebens (der Kindheit) stammt. Die Grenzen, die in der Kindheit festgelegt wurden, müssen sich ändern und sich an die neuen Veränderungen des Jugendlichen anpassen. Zum Beispiel in Studienplänen oder bei Ausflügen mit Freunden.

2. Verstehen Sie: dass Sie kein Erwachsener sind, aber ein Jugendlicher mit vielen Veränderungen im Prozess, der nach Unabhängigkeit strebt und in diesem Prozess negativen Freundschaften und einigen Laster wie Alkohol, Schnupftabak, Sexualität ... ausgesetzt sein kann, bevor er Ressourcen haben muss Leistung

3. Begünstigen Sie den Anpassungsprozess altersgerechte Veränderungen, alles Mögliche, um die Schuhe ihrer Teenager anzuziehen und zu sehen, was sie sehen. Es ist ratsam, Momente zu finden, um mit ihnen zu teilen, ihnen zuzuhören, ihre Handlungen zu bewerten und all die guten Dinge zu erkennen, die sie tun.


4. Respektieren Sie Ihre Ideen, Meinungen und Initiativen: Wenn wir als Eltern versuchen, unsere Ideen und Meinungen ohne Erklärungen oder Verhandlungen durchzusetzen, kann dies zur Folge haben, dass sich der Jugendliche von der Familie entfernt.

5. Verhandle die Regeln: In der Kindheit haben die Eltern die Regeln festgelegt und entschieden. Aber bei Teenagern sollte es nicht dasselbe sein. Wenn Jugendliche helfen, die neuen Regeln und Grenzen zu definieren, ist es für sie einfacher, sie zu respektieren und die Konsequenzen einer Nichterfüllung anzunehmen.

Jeymi Febles. Klinischer Psychologe, Familien- und Paartherapeut.

Video: Playmobil Film deutsch | HANNAH IN PUBERTÄT? Teenager außer Kontrolle | Kinderfilm Familie Vogel


Interessante Artikel

China gibt die Auferlegung des einzigen Kindes auf

China gibt die Auferlegung des einzigen Kindes auf

Etwa 90 Millionen chinesische Paare werden von der neuen, von ihrer Regierung genehmigten Maßnahme profitieren können, die es erlaubt, bis zu zwei Kinder zu haben. Die Politik von die Auferlegung des...