Shame on children, tricks to overcome it

Shame is an emotion that we all have experienced at some point. Around two years of age, children begin to experience shame, it is normal and natural that at first we should not be too alarmed. It is important to provide children with resources to overcome shame and nurture their self-esteem so that they are able to cope with situations that cause them to blush.

Children of that age begin to become aware of the opinion of others, and since they have not yet fully formed their criteria, nor their self-esteem, they need positive opinions and are ashamed of the possibility of doing something that deserves a negative opinion. However, in some cases, either because of a more introverted temperament, or because of not treating well the shame of the child, shyness can become extreme and become a problem.


Shame can paralyze them and become an obstacle to achieve their goals can be extended to adulthood. Treating the subject naturally, without pressing or forcing our children is very useful to allow effective emotional management.

What is shame and how is it manifested

Shame is a natural emotion of human beings. The shame is based on a negative evaluation of the self by the person and arises from the fear of receiving that evaluation from others. Shame is the fear of being judged negatively by others, the fear of negative opinions and thoughts about one's own person.

The feeling of shame provokes a need to disappear, to hide and become invisible, in a desperate attempt to hide from others, to avoid negative criticism.


Shame on children

Children begin to experience shame around two years of age. In this age you are already aware of your own self and need positive opinions from others. They are forming their self-concept and their self-esteem, and for that they rely on the opinions of others that come to them as the image that reflects a mirror.

Shame begins at this age and accompanies us throughout our lives. Shame is natural and as all emotions have an adaptive function, in this case protect our self. It is not bad to experience shame, it is natural. However, when this shame is too intense and interferes with the child's daily life, this is a problem to which we must pay attention.

How can we help children overcome shame?

It is essential to help children overcome their shame, in this way we free them from the fear of others' opinions and allow them to be without fear. Let's see how we can do it:


1. Shame is fueled by low self-esteem and low confidence. Therefore, the higher the self-esteem and the lower the confidence will be the shame. The first step in getting children out of embarrassment is to nurture their self-esteem and confidence.

2. Provide the child with a self-adjusted image, so that in this way you can create a positive self-concept. Beware of criticism and comparisons, avoid doing them.

3. Praise their achievements, In this way, little by little you nourish your self-esteem.

4. Treat your failures and / or errors naturally. Failure is natural and should not be cause for shame, show your love and support in their mistakes.

5. Do not force the child, or press him when he feels ashamed, you will create an unnecessary and counterproductive tension. Instead, treat the situation naturally and encourage him to face the situation little by little.

6. Avoid overprotecting them and try to face them alone to different social situations.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Clinical health psychologist. Specialist in pedagogy and child and youth psychology. Director of Educa and Aprende.
Author of the collection Stimulate the reading and writing processes

Video: How to Deal with Embarrassment


Interesting Articles

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Early bilingualism is questioned by this study

Learn a second language it is an indispensable requirement in any curriculum. It is not surprising that many schools bet on these teachings in their academic catalog. In fact, there are those who...

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Autism in children, what signs should alert parents?

Each child needs specific needs. Knowing the reality of each of them will help parents to apply the right tools to ensure a good quality of life for their children. This issue becomes especially...

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Preschool games, how to get the most out of it

Playing is one of the most important activities in the child's development since it directly influences this process. The toys they enter the scene to accompany, be touched and watched, to discover...

Customize your children's education

Customize your children's education

Why educating all children equally, are they finally so different? Obviously no two people are the same and, therefore, in the face of the same stimulus, each one captures and acts in a different...

Schande über Kinder, Tricks, um es zu überwinden

Scham ist eine Emotion, die wir alle schon einmal erlebt haben. Im Alter von etwa zwei Jahren erleben Kinder Scham, es ist normal und natürlich, dass wir zunächst nicht allzu beunruhigt sein sollten. Es ist wichtig, Kindern Ressourcen zur Verfügung zu stellen, um Scham zu überwinden und ihr Selbstwertgefühl zu stärken, damit sie mit Situationen umgehen können, die sie erröten lassen.

Kinder in diesem Alter werden sich der Meinung anderer bewusst, und da sie ihre Kriterien und ihr Selbstwertgefühl noch nicht vollständig festgelegt haben, benötigen sie positive Meinungen und schämen sich der Möglichkeit, etwas zu tun, das eine negative Meinung verdient. In einigen Fällen jedoch kann die Schüchternheit entweder aufgrund eines introvertierteren Temperaments oder aufgrund einer schlechten Behandlung der Schande des Kindes extrem werden und zu einem Problem werden.


Scham kann sie lahmlegen und zu einem Hindernis werden, um ihre Ziele bis zum Erwachsenenalter auszudehnen. Eine natürliche Behandlung des Themas, ohne unsere Kinder zu zwingen oder zu zwingen, ist sehr hilfreich, um eine effektive emotionale Bewirtschaftung zu ermöglichen.

Was ist Schande und wie manifestiert es sich?

Scham ist eine natürliche Emotion der Menschen. Die Schande beruht auf einer negativen Bewertung des Selbst durch die Person und ergibt sich aus der Angst, diese Bewertung von anderen zu erhalten. Scham ist die Angst, von anderen negativ beurteilt zu werden, die Angst vor negativen Meinungen und Gedanken über die eigene Person.

Das Gefühl der Scham erweckt das Bedürfnis, zu verschwinden, sich zu verstecken und unsichtbar zu werden, in einem verzweifelten Versuch, sich vor anderen zu verstecken, um negative Kritik zu vermeiden.


Schande für Kinder

Kinder beginnen im Alter von zwei Jahren eine Scham zu erleben. In diesem Alter sind Sie sich bereits bewusst und brauchen positive Meinungen von anderen. Sie formen ihr Selbstverständnis und ihr Selbstwertgefühl und verlassen sich dabei auf die Meinungen anderer, die zu ihnen kommen, als das Bild, das einen Spiegel reflektiert.

Scham beginnt in diesem Alter und begleitet uns durch unser ganzes Leben. Scham ist natürlich und da alle Emotionen eine adaptive Funktion haben, schützen Sie unser Selbst. Es ist nicht schlecht, Scham zu erleben, es ist natürlich. Wenn jedoch diese Scham zu groß ist und den Alltag des Kindes beeinträchtigt, müssen wir darauf achten.

Wie können wir Kindern helfen, Scham zu überwinden?

Es ist wichtig, Kindern zu helfen, ihre Schande zu überwinden. Auf diese Weise befreien wir sie von der Angst vor den Meinungen anderer und lassen sie ohne Angst sein. Mal sehen, wie wir das schaffen können:


1. Scham wird durch ein geringes Selbstwertgefühl und ein geringes Selbstvertrauen angeheizt. Daher gilt: Je höher das Selbstwertgefühl und desto geringer das Vertrauen ist die Schande. Der erste Schritt, um Kinder aus der Verlegenheit zu bringen, besteht darin, ihr Selbstwertgefühl und ihr Selbstvertrauen zu stärken.

2. dem Kind ein selbst eingestelltes Bild geben, so dass Sie auf diese Weise ein positives Selbstverständnis schaffen können. Hüten Sie sich vor Kritik und Vergleichen, vermeiden Sie es.

3. loben ihre Leistungen, Auf diese Weise ernähren Sie nach und nach Ihr Selbstwertgefühl.

4. Behandeln Sie Ihre Fehler und / oder Fehler auf natürliche Weise. Versagen ist natürlich und sollte keine Schande sein. Zeigen Sie Ihre Liebe und Unterstützung in ihren Fehlern.

5. Erzwingen Sie das Kind nicht und drücken Sie es nicht, wenn es sich schämt. Sie schaffen eine unnötige und kontraproduktive Spannung. Behandle die Situation stattdessen auf natürliche Weise und ermutige ihn, sich der Situation nach und nach zu stellen.

6. Vermeiden Sie einen übermäßigen Schutz und versuchen Sie, sich ihnen alleine zu stellen auf verschiedene soziale Situationen.

Celia Rodríguez Ruiz. Klinischer Gesundheitspsychologe. Spezialist für Pädagogik und Kinder- und Jugendpsychologie. Direktor von Educa und Aprende.
Autor der Sammlung Stimulieren Sie das Lesen und Schreiben

Video: Doku - 10 Dinge die Millionäre verstehen und Arme Menschen nicht wissen


Interessante Artikel

Die großartige Lehre des schlechten Lehrers

Die großartige Lehre des schlechten Lehrers

Nicht alle Eltern sind immer großartig, und wir machen nicht ständig Fehler. sowie nicht jeder Fachmann, der immer als Lehrer tätig ist oder ein "Herr", der unserem Sohn ein Hobby gemacht hat und...

Das beste Alter, um Werte zu vermitteln

Das beste Alter, um Werte zu vermitteln

Unter den sechs und zwölf Jahre - die Reife der Kindheit -Die Kinder haben eine natürliche Neigung, eine intensive Aktivität zu entwickeln. Sie sind die optimale Zeit, um die intellektuellen und...

Trampolin für Kinder Lesen Sie zuerst diese Tipps

Trampolin für Kinder Lesen Sie zuerst diese Tipps

Das gute Wetter, die Abende (und die Morgen) sind ewig mit den Kindern zu Hause, und wenn wir ein schönes bekommen Trampolin eine tolle Zeit haben Zweifellos ist es eine Option, wenn wir die haben...