Letting children choose which book they read improves their reading skills

If at any time of the year It is good to encourage children to read, more so during the summer, when they have so much free time. If you are already thinking about what books your little one will read, we give you a clue: let your child choose which book he wants to read during the holidays, as this will reinforce his reading skills.

This is suggested by a study, which also says that this prevents children from receding in reading skills, as highlighted by the scientific association Scientific American, who have echoed the interesting research.

Reading during the holidays

According to this work, children who can choose which books they will take home for the summer they read better when the next course begins that those who read books that have not been able to choose, according to the authors of the study, researchers from the University of Rochester, in New York


"We are beginning to understand that reading is a key determinant of health", has assured the main author of the research, Dr. Erin Kelly, who ensures that if students can choose between a variety of titles appropriate for their level, the best is free reading, because the children "will find something that interests them instead of an assigned task".

Research on reading during the summer

In order to reach these conclusions, a book fair was organized with 18 second-grade students from the North American city of Rochester, who were able to choose 13 books for the summer. In the meantime, another 20 students were chosen and imposed what they should read during the holidays.


The reading assessments that took place before and after the summer break showed that children who had been able to choose which books they wanted to read had improved their reading more than the other group (called the control group).

When observing these results, a year later the experiment was repeated with more students (from preschool to second grade of Primary), and the conclusions were the same: the level of reading improved substantially.

Therefore, if we have to draw a conclusion from this, it is that It is good to encourage children to read, but never force them to choose the book that we want. There are many different titles adapted to ages and reading levels, so if the little ones can choose which one they like best, it will be much better: more pleasant for them and with better results for the next year.


Angela R. Bonachera

It may interest you

- 10 books for children to fall in love with reading

- Tips to acquire taste and habit by reading

- Read in summer: benefits for the whole family

Video: Read, Understand, and Remember! Improve your reading skills with the KWL Method


Interesting Articles

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

10 keys to teach them to take care of the Planet

Raise awareness of children about the importance of take care of the environment is transcendent in the face of a future in which new generations will have to know manage natural resources. On the...

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

Fiat Type 5 doors: compact at the price of urban

The family is completed Kind with the five-door body, an interesting option for its versatility for family use, with a lot of space and that is put on sale from 15,190 euros.The family of Fiat Type...

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Childhood autism, types and symptoms

Autism is a set of disorders, known as autism spectrum disorders, which are classified as Asperger syndrome, Rett syndrome, childhood disintegration disorder and generalized developmental disorder...

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

To the dentist for the first time, after 4 years

Many of the dental problems of adults can be prevented during childhood. However, since the first baby teeth have replacements with the second dentition, dental check-ups during early childhood take...

Wenn Kinder auswählen, welches Buch sie lesen, werden ihre Lesefähigkeiten verbessert

Wenn zu irgendeinem Zeitpunkt des Jahres Es ist gut, Kinder zum Lesen anzuregen. Umso mehr im Sommer, wenn sie so viel Freizeit haben. Wenn Sie bereits darüber nachdenken, welche Bücher Ihr Kind lesen wird, geben wir Ihnen einen Hinweis: Lassen Sie Ihr Kind wählen, welches Buch er in den Ferien lesen möchte, da dies seine Lesefähigkeit verstärkt.

Dies geht aus einer Studie hervor, die auch besagt, dass dadurch Kinder nicht in Lesefähigkeiten zurückfallen, wie der wissenschaftliche Verein Scientific American hervorgehoben hat, der die interessante Forschung wiederholt hat.

Lesen während der Ferien

Nach dieser Arbeit können Kinder auswählen, welche Bücher sie für den Sommer mit nach Hause nehmen Sie lesen besser, wenn der nächste Kurs beginnt diejenigen, die Bücher gelesen haben, die laut den Autoren der Studie nicht in der Lage waren, Forscher der University of Rochester in New York zu wählen


"Wir fangen an, das zu verstehen Lesen ist ein entscheidender Faktor für die Gesundheit", versicherte der Hauptautor der Studie, Dr. Erin Kelly, die sicherstellt, dass die Studenten zwischen verschiedenen Titeln wählen können, die ihrem Niveau entsprechen. Das Beste ist das freie Lesen, weil die Kinder "etwas finden, das sie interessiert, anstatt einer zugewiesenen Aufgabe".

Lesen Sie im Sommer nach

Zu diesem Schluss wurde eine Buchmesse mit 18 Schülern der zweiten Klasse aus der nordamerikanischen Stadt Rochester organisiert, die 13 Bücher für den Sommer auswählen konnten. In der Zwischenzeit wurden weitere 20 Studenten ausgewählt, denen sie in den Ferien lesen sollten, was sie lesen sollten.


Die Lesebewertungen vor und nach der Sommerpause zeigten, dass Kinder, die auswählen konnten, welche Bücher sie lesen wollten, ihre Lesefähigkeit stärker als die andere Gruppe (Kontrollgruppe genannt) verbessert hatten.

Bei der Beobachtung dieser Ergebnisse wurde das Experiment ein Jahr später mit mehr Schülern (von der Vorschule bis zur zweiten Klasse der Grundschule) wiederholt, und die Schlussfolgerungen waren die gleichen: Der Lesestand verbesserte sich erheblich.

Wenn wir daraus eine Schlussfolgerung ziehen müssen, dann ist es das Es ist gut, Kinder zum Lesen anzuregen, aber niemals zu zwingen das Buch zu wählen, das wir wollen. Es gibt viele verschiedene Titel, die an Alter und Lesestufe angepasst sind. Wenn also die Kleinen wählen können, welcher ihnen am besten gefällt, wird es viel besser: Für sie angenehmer und mit besseren Ergebnissen für das nächste Jahr.


Angela R. Bonachera

Sie könnten interessiert sein

- 10 Bücher für Kinder zum Lesen

- Tipps zum Erlernen von Geschmack und Gewohnheit

- Lesen Sie im Sommer: Vorteile für die ganze Familie

Video: telc B1/B2 Pflege Mündliche Prüfung Bildbeschreibung #1


Interessante Artikel

Variieren Sie von Tag zu Tag

Variieren Sie von Tag zu Tag

Frauen sind in der Regel sehr gewissenhaft bei Veränderungen unseres Gewichts. Wenn Sie jemals gemerkt haben, dass sich Ihr Gewicht von Tag zu Tag drastisch ändert, müssen Sie sich selbst versichern,...

Sprachprobleme bei Kindern: Alarmsignale

Sprachprobleme bei Kindern: Alarmsignale

Sprache ist ein charakteristisches Merkmal der menschlichen Spezies. Für seine Entwicklung sind eine Reihe von Fähigkeiten und Fähigkeiten erforderlich, die mit der psychomotorischen, psychologischen...