Chronic diarrhea in children: why it occurs and what diet to follow

It is common that children have diarrhea But what should we do if it lasts too long? First it is necessary to know when it is a question of prolonged diarrhea, since the time in an adult is not the same as in a nursing baby, for example. We answer several questions that may arise about it and we tell you what you should do.

As explained by the Spanish Association of Pediatrics (Aeped), the number and consistency of the depositions of people varies throughout life: thus, it is normal for a baby who takes the mother's breast to perform eight or 10 semiliquid stools a day during the first days of life.

Instead, it is rare for children to poop more than three times a day after two years of age. At this point, they assure that most diarrheas resolve in a few days (they are called acute diarrhea), whereas when they last several weeks they are known as prologue or chronic diarrhea.


The reasons for diarrhea

These pediatricians explain that there are different reasons for children to develop diarrhea. Sometimes, it is given by "functional processes in which the intestinal transit is accelerated", they indicate, assuring that this usually occurs, as with constipation, due to bad eating habits, such as taking too many fruit juices.

Food intolerance, such as celiac disease or lactose intolerance, are other causes that lead to diarrhea. Also, diarrhea may be a symptom of a more rare disease, such as cystic fibrosis, but this occurs less frequently.

How prolonged diarrhea is diagnosed

To assess prolonged diarrhea, the pediatrician takes into account the child's nutrition and if he has had weight changes in recent days, as well as its development or if you have frequent respiratory infections. He also asks about the caquitas: if they have mucus or blood, if the child gets up at night to go to the bathroom, if there is any new food in the diet or you have gone abroad, et cetera.


As these pediatricians explain, in many occasions it is not necessary to make tests and it is enough to wait a while until the problem resolves on its own. "In other cases, different types of analysis or studies are required", they clarify.

The diet during diarrhea

Many times we think that the first thing to do when we see that our child has diarrhea is to vary the diet, but it is not advisable to do so until the pediatrician sees it. The reason is that the astringent diets that we use to treat acute diarrhea can be the cause of prolonged diarrhea if they last for a long time, and can also lead to a worsening of our child's nutritional status.

The pediatrician will be the one to determine which treatment has to be followed, This will depend on the cause of the diarrhea (maybe you are advised to reduce sugars, use special milks, stop taking certain foods, increase fiber intake, etc.). These dietary changes should be made with care and evaluating their effectiveness so that the diet only lasts the necessary time.


Angela R. Bonachera

Video: How to Treat Diarrhoea | Foods & Healthy Recipes


Interesting Articles

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Opel Zafira: a large space communicated

Since last September, the new Opel Zafira, heir of the previous Zafira Tourer, that maintains its proven qualities as family car, with capacity for five or seven passengers.The new Opel Zafira...

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

Cooperative learning: benefits for children

New didactic techniques such as cooperative learning are innovating traditional educational systems of children with excellent results, as they allow improve the understanding of a subject together...

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

They blame the repetition of early school leaving

Exams, school work, and many other tests serve to measure academic performance. In case of obtaining the pass, the student continues with his itinerary, if the opposite happens, the student is...

Chronischer Durchfall bei Kindern: Warum tritt er auf und welche Diät ist zu befolgen?

Es ist üblich, dass Kinder haben Durchfall Aber was sollen wir tun, wenn es zu lange dauert? Zunächst ist es wichtig zu wissen, wann es sich um eine anhaltende Diarrhoe handelt, da die Zeit bei einem Erwachsenen nicht dieselbe ist wie beispielsweise bei einem Säuglingspfleger. Wir beantworten einige Fragen, die sich möglicherweise stellen, und sagen Ihnen, was Sie tun sollen.

Wie der spanische Verband für Pädiatrie (Aeped) erklärt hat, variiert die Anzahl und Konsistenz der Ablagerungen von Menschen im Laufe des Lebens: Daher ist es normal, dass ein Baby, das die Mutterbrust braucht, seine Mutter leistet acht oder 10 halbflüssige Hocker ein Tag während der ersten Tage des Lebens.

Stattdessen Es ist selten, dass Kinder nach zwei Jahren mehr als dreimal am Tag kacken. An diesem Punkt stellen sie sicher, dass die meisten Durchfälle innerhalb weniger Tage verschwunden sind (sie werden als akute Durchfälle bezeichnet), während sie, wenn sie mehrere Wochen andauern, als Prolog oder chronischer Durchfall bezeichnet werden.


Die Gründe für Durchfall

Diese Kinderärzte erklären, dass es unterschiedliche Gründe für Kinder gibt, Durchfall zu entwickeln. Manchmal wird dies durch "funktionelle Prozesse, bei denen der Darmtransport beschleunigt wird" angegeben, sie weisen darauf hin, dass dies normalerweise bei Verstopfung aufgrund schlechter Essgewohnheiten wie beispielsweise zu vielen Fruchtsäften der Fall ist.

Lebensmittelunverträglichkeiten wie Zöliakie oder Laktoseintoleranz sind weitere Ursachen, die zu Durchfall führen. Diarrhoe kann auch ein Symptom für eine seltenere Erkrankung sein, wie z. B. Mukoviszidose, die jedoch seltener auftritt.

Wie wird ein längerer Durchfall diagnostiziert?

Zur Beurteilung von anhaltendem Durchfall Der Kinderarzt berücksichtigt die Ernährung des Kindes und ob es in den letzten Tagen zu Gewichtsveränderungen gekommen istsowie seine Entwicklung oder wenn Sie häufige Infektionen der Atemwege haben. Er fragt auch nach den Caquitas: Wenn sie Schleim oder Blut haben, wenn das Kind nachts aufsteht, um auf die Toilette zu gehen, wenn neues Essen in der Diät ist oder Sie ins Ausland gegangen sind, und so weiter.


Wie diese Kinderärzte erklären, ist es in vielen Fällen nicht erforderlich, Tests durchzuführen, und es genügt, eine Weile zu warten, bis das Problem von selbst gelöst ist. "In anderen Fällen sind verschiedene Arten von Analysen oder Studien erforderlich", stellen sie klar.

Die Diät bei Durchfall

Oft denken wir, dass das erste, was wir tun können, wenn unser Kind Durchfall hat, die Ernährung zu ändern, aber Es ist nicht ratsam, dies zu tun, bis der Kinderarzt es sieht. Der Grund ist, dass die adstringierenden Diäten, die wir zur Behandlung akuter Diarrhoe verwenden, die Ursache für länger anhaltende Diarrhoe sein können und zu einer Verschlechterung des Ernährungszustands unseres Kindes führen können.

Der Kinderarzt bestimmt, welche Behandlung zu befolgen ist. Dies hängt von der Ursache des Durchfalls ab (möglicherweise wird empfohlen, den Zucker zu reduzieren, spezielle Milch zu verwenden, bestimmte Nahrungsmittel einzustellen, die Aufnahme von Ballaststoffen zu erhöhen usw.). Diese Ernährungsumstellung sollte sorgfältig und unter Berücksichtigung ihrer Wirksamkeit vorgenommen werden, damit die Diät nur die notwendige Zeit hält.


Angela R. Bonachera

Video: Was sind die Masern?


Interessante Artikel

Variieren Sie von Tag zu Tag

Variieren Sie von Tag zu Tag

Frauen sind in der Regel sehr gewissenhaft bei Veränderungen unseres Gewichts. Wenn Sie jemals gemerkt haben, dass sich Ihr Gewicht von Tag zu Tag drastisch ändert, müssen Sie sich selbst versichern,...

Sprachprobleme bei Kindern: Alarmsignale

Sprachprobleme bei Kindern: Alarmsignale

Sprache ist ein charakteristisches Merkmal der menschlichen Spezies. Für seine Entwicklung sind eine Reihe von Fähigkeiten und Fähigkeiten erforderlich, die mit der psychomotorischen, psychologischen...