How teens understand their freedom

They feel older, they demand more freedom, but they are still immature to use it responsibly. They cry out for them to trust them, they want to free themselves from certain ties and seek to be masters of their own decisions. How can parents get to understand why they want more freedom? And above all, why will they use it?

A characteristic of adolescents is to believe themselves in possession of the truth, that they can do what they want. This rebellion is often accentuated in the holidays, when they demand more freedom to decide for themselves what they want to do: go out, dress as they want, wander, not be tied to anything, have fun and exceed.

What does it mean to be free for a teenager?

Juan Manuel Burgos in his book Anthropology, a guide for existence, says that freedom suggests independence, openness, autonomy, capacity for choice, power, love, will, love. I am free when I choose and when I can choose. It is true that on many occasions, the choice of adolescents is not the same as the decision of their parents. Given this situation, parents and children should seek and find a balance between what the teen wants to do, wants to choose and parents can allow, always looking for their good.


Freedom is then opening, opening up and interacting with the world and it is also a choice. But it is much more than this. "Freedom is the ability of the person to dispose of himself and to decide his destiny through his actions, this is the core of freedom" (Karol Wojtyla).

The power of freedom and the consequences in adolescents

Teenagers enjoy the newly released freedom. They are aware of their greater self-control, of their inner independence. They question the norms and values ​​imposed by their parents, by the school, by society. They want to think and decide for themselves. And his self-affirmation is necessary and essential in this stage of life. The problem arises when their desire for independence collides with the "no" of their parents.


That is when we must reflect with our son on the power of freedom and its consequences. Power to do what ?, for what purpose or for the benefit of whom? James B. Stenson in his book, How to treat adolescents, states that "freedom, which means power, must be directed by responsibility, that is, by an ethical consideration on how the use of that power affects the rights of others".

Today's teenagers find themselves with "a lot of freedom and power" at their fingertips: more freedom of movement to come and go where they please, economic power, the possibility of the use and abuse of alcohol and other drugs , the ability to have sex without the commitment to procreate, etc. Therefore, adolescents must learn to make good use of their freedom with responsibility, knowing the consequences of their choices and actions. That is to say, freedom must be understood not only in terms of their own rights, but also of their corresponding duties.


Personal identity in adolescents

To train our adolescent children in the proper use of their freedom, they must become aware that elections conform our personal identity. They are at the right moment to determine what kind of person they want to be, their life project. That is the path they will travel thanks to freedom.

Juan Manuel Burgos explains the meaning of choosing: "Choosing an act or another means betting, taking a risk, nobody assures me that my choices are appropriate or correct ... Therefore, the use of freedom is always linked to happiness or the frustration in the measure in which I approach or I move away of my vital project ".

Tips for the responsible use of freedom in adolescents

1. Trust Leave him free to tell you with calm what he thinks, thinks, wants to do. Do not react with surprise to possible rebellions. In conversations, listen without imposing. Give opportunities, logical and reasoned, to go using their freedom to certain plans.

2. Patience.You have forbidden him something because you think he is not mature yet to assume that responsibility. Tell him to be patient and that in a few years he will be able to answer for himself. Denying something or saying no, will help you overcome other difficulties later.

3. Responsibility Freedom is conquered with responsible acts. If you are in Babia all day, you do not fulfill your orders, you spend an hour trying on clothes, you have gotten bad grades for getting too attached to Messenger, etc., it shows that you are not yet mature enough to use your freedom at will and therefore, it needs order and discipline.

4. Assertiveness One is freer in so far as he has more capacity to give to others and worry about his personal enrichment.Also, when you have the ability to say "no" to your friends because it goes against your inner freedom, your ideas.

Learn from mistakes

He has come later than the agreed time. He has misused his freedom. That it serves as an experience, as a precaution to know how to act next time. You must repair your bad performance with some show of responsibility in another task, but do not make a world of it. The mistakes will make you more free. Do not stay with the idea that you have lost all your confidence.

Marta Santín

You may also like:

- How to say NO to a teenager

- Personality test: are you a mature person?

- Adolescents and the use of their freedom

- Alcohol and its effects on adolescents

- How to negotiate your teen's night outings

Video: How To Be A Good Parent To A Teenager


Interesting Articles

Renault Talisman Sport Tourer: balance of qualities

Renault Talisman Sport Tourer: balance of qualities

The contribution of the French brand in the market segment is huge family cars means, 46 years ago that the Spanish market arrived on the Renault 12 family, which curiously is still seen on our...

What do the trips bring to the children?

What do the trips bring to the children?

There are many activities that can be done as a family. A catalog that varies according to the time of year, such as travels taking advantage of summer vacations. A choice that has many benefits for...

Bullying, the main concern of adolescents

Bullying, the main concern of adolescents

The bullying or bullying It is a reality and a global problem. Many efforts are made to raise awareness among young people and their parents about the harmful consequences of bullying in schools, and...

Improve self-esteem through fun

Improve self-esteem through fun

The self esteem It is a fundamental piece in the day to day of any person. Before being comfortable with other people, the first step is to enjoy the company of oneself and know how to make the most...

Wie Teenager ihre Freiheit verstehen

Sie fühlen sich älter, fordern mehr Freiheit, sind aber noch unreif, um sie verantwortungsvoll einzusetzen. Sie fordern sie auf, ihnen zu vertrauen, sie wollen sich von bestimmten Bindungen befreien und versuchen, ihre eigenen Entscheidungen zu meistern. Wie können Eltern verstehen, warum sie mehr Freiheit wollen? Und vor allem, warum benutzen sie es?

Ein Merkmal von Jugendlichen ist, sich an den Besitz der Wahrheit zu glauben, damit sie tun können, was sie wollen. Diese Rebellion wird oft in den Ferien verstärkt, wenn sie mehr Freiheit verlangen, selbst zu entscheiden, was sie tun wollen: Ausgehen, sich nach Belieben kleiden, wandern, nicht an irgendetwas gebunden sein, Spaß haben und übertreffen.

Was bedeutet es für einen Teenager frei zu sein?

Juan Manuel Burgos in seinem Buch Anthropologie, ein Leitfaden für die Existenzsagt, dass Freiheit Unabhängigkeit, Offenheit, Autonomie, Entscheidungsfähigkeit, Macht, Liebe, Wille, Liebe bedeutet. Ich bin frei, wenn ich wähle und wann ich wählen kann. Es ist richtig, dass die Wahl der Jugendlichen bei vielen Gelegenheiten nicht die gleiche ist wie die Entscheidung ihrer Eltern. In dieser Situation sollten Eltern und Kinder ein Gleichgewicht finden zwischen dem, was der Teenager tun möchte, wählen will und den Eltern erlauben kann, immer nach seinem Besten zu suchen.


Freiheit öffnet sich dann, öffnet sich und interagiert mit der Welt, und sie ist auch eine Wahl. Aber es ist viel mehr als das. "Freiheit ist die Fähigkeit des Menschen, über sich selbst zu verfügen und sein Schicksal durch sein Handeln zu bestimmen, dies ist der Kern der Freiheit" (Karol Wojtyla).

Die Macht der Freiheit und die Konsequenzen bei Jugendlichen

Jugendliche genießen die neu veröffentlichte Freiheit. Sie sind sich ihrer größeren Selbstkontrolle, ihrer inneren Unabhängigkeit bewusst. Sie hinterfragen die Normen und Werte, die ihre Eltern, die Schule, die Gesellschaft auferlegt haben. Sie wollen für sich selbst denken und entscheiden. Und seine Selbstbestätigung ist in dieser Lebensphase notwendig und wesentlich. Das Problem entsteht, wenn ihr Wunsch nach Unabhängigkeit mit dem Nein ihrer Eltern kollidiert.


Dann müssen wir mit unserem Sohn über die Macht der Freiheit und ihre Folgen nachdenken. Macht, was zu tun, zu welchem ​​Zweck oder für wen? James B. Stenson stellt in seinem Buch "Wie behandelt man Jugendliche?" Fest, dass "Freiheit, das heißt Macht, von Verantwortung geleitet werden muss, das heißt von einer ethischen Überlegung, wie der Gebrauch dieser Macht die Rechte von andere Leute. "

Heutige Teenager finden sich mit "viel Freiheit und Macht" an ihren Fingerspitzen: mehr Bewegungsfreiheit, wann und wo sie wollen, wirtschaftliche Macht, die Möglichkeit des Konsums und des Missbrauchs von Alkohol und anderen Drogen , die Fähigkeit, Sex zu haben, ohne sich zu verpflichten, usw. Jugendliche müssen daher lernen, ihre Freiheit verantwortungsvoll zu nutzen und die Konsequenzen ihrer Entscheidungen und Handlungen zu kennen. Das heißt, Freiheit muss nicht nur im Hinblick auf ihre eigenen Rechte, sondern auch auf ihre entsprechenden Pflichten verstanden werden.


Persönliche Identität bei Jugendlichen

Um unsere heranwachsenden Kinder im richtigen Umgang mit ihrer Freiheit zu schulen, müssen sie sich bewusst werden, dass Wahlen unsere persönliche Identität berücksichtigen. Sie sind im richtigen Moment, um zu bestimmen, welche Art von Person sie sein wollen, ihr Lebensprojekt. Das ist der Weg, den sie dank der Freiheit gehen werden.

Juan Manuel Burgos erklärt die Bedeutung der Wahl: "Die Wahl einer Handlung oder eines anderen bedeutet, Wetten zu setzen, ein Risiko einzugehen, niemand versichert mir, dass meine Entscheidungen angemessen oder richtig sind ... Daher ist der Gebrauch von Freiheit immer mit Glück oder Glück verbunden die Frustration in dem Maß, in dem ich mich nähere oder mich von meinem lebenswichtigen Projekt entferne ".

Tipps für den verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Freiheit bei Jugendlichen

1. Vertrauen Lassen Sie ihn frei, um Ihnen mit Ruhe zu sagen, was er denkt, denkt, will. Reagieren Sie nicht überrascht auf mögliche Rebellionen. Hören Sie in Gesprächen zu, ohne aufzuzwingen. Geben Sie Möglichkeiten, logisch und vernünftig, um ihre Freiheit für bestimmte Pläne zu nutzen.

2. Geduld.Sie haben ihm etwas verboten, weil Sie denken, er sei noch nicht reif, um diese Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Sagen Sie ihm, dass er geduldig sein muss und dass er in einigen Jahren für sich selbst antworten kann. Wenn Sie etwas ablehnen oder Nein sagen, können Sie später andere Schwierigkeiten überwinden.

3. Verantwortung Die Freiheit wird durch verantwortungsvolle Handlungen erobert. Wenn Sie den ganzen Tag in Babia sind, Sie Ihre Befehle nicht erfüllen, eine Stunde lang Kleidung anprobieren, schlechte Noten dafür bekommen haben, dass Sie sich zu sehr an Messenger geknüpft haben usw., zeigt dies, dass Sie noch nicht reif genug sind, um Ihre Freiheit nach Belieben zu nutzen Deshalb braucht es Ordnung und Disziplin.

4. Durchsetzungsvermögen Der eine ist freier, sofern er mehr Fähigkeit hat, anderen zu geben und sich um seine persönliche Bereicherung Sorgen zu machen.Auch wenn Sie die Möglichkeit haben, "Nein" zu Ihren Freunden zu sagen, weil dies gegen Ihre innere Freiheit, Ihre Ideen geht.

Aus Fehlern lernen

Er ist später als die vereinbarte Zeit gekommen. Er hat seine Freiheit missbraucht. Dass es als Erfahrung dient, als Vorsichtsmaßnahme, um zu wissen, wie es beim nächsten Mal zu handeln ist. Sie müssen Ihre schlechte Leistung mit einer gewissen Verantwortung in einer anderen Aufgabe reparieren, aber machen Sie keine Welt daraus. Die Fehler machen Sie freier. Bleiben Sie nicht bei der Vorstellung, dass Sie Ihr gesamtes Vertrauen verloren haben.

Marta Santín

Sie könnten auch interessiert sein:

- Wie kann ich einem Teenager NEIN sagen?

- Persönlichkeitstest: Sind Sie eine reife Person?

- Jugendliche und die Nutzung ihrer Freiheit

- Alkohol und seine Auswirkungen auf Jugendliche

- Wie verhandeln Sie die Nachtausflüge Ihres Teenagers?

Video: Robert Betz: Dein Kind fühlend verstehen und unterstützen


Interessante Artikel

Trends, um das Zimmer Ihres Babys zu dekorieren

Trends, um das Zimmer Ihres Babys zu dekorieren

Zeichnungen an den Wänden, Kissen mit Formen, Gedichte an der Decke ... machen den Raum der Kleinen zu einem magischen Ort, der Ihre Fantasie anregt! Dort schlafen sie, sie machen ihre Hausaufgaben,...