Live with psoriasis

The psoriasis is a skin disease, not contagious, that affects about one million people in Spain, that is, 2% of the population, of which between 15% and 20% suffers from moderate or severe . Each year, 60 people out of every 100,000 begin to suffer from psoriasis, with the proportion being slightly higher in women than in men.

It is estimated that 100 million people around the world coexist with the problem of psoriasis, seriously affecting their daily lives and it is estimated that between 10% and 30% of these will develop psoriatic arthritis. There is a great ignorance in society, which leads to situations of anxiety and fear on the part of the patient when it is diagnosed.


What is psoriasis?

Psoriasis in a chronic disease of the skin, recurrent and non-contagious. The skin becomes inflamed, producing red, thickened plaques with silvery scaling, usually located on the scalp, elbows, knees and lower back area. It frequently affects the nails and in 30% it affects the joints. Psoriasis appears in the form of outbreaks.

When and how does psoriasis manifest itself?

1. Age Psoriasis usually appears between 15 and 35 years, although it can occur at any age. The average age is 29 years, with a certain tendency to start earlier in women than in men (28 years in women, 32 in men). In general, at the age of 30 years more than 60% of patients have started their disease.


2. Symptoms. It manifests with obvious physical signs such as itching, redness and scaly lesions, swollen and inflamed, varying the extent of skin affected from one person to another.

The most common physical symptoms of psoriasis are: scales (94%), itching (79%), superficial inflammation of the skin (erythema, 71%), infiltrated skin (31%), bleeding (29%), burning (21 %) and fatigue (19%).

3. Presentation. Plaque psoriasis is the most common form (80% of cases), although it can also appear in the form of drops (psoriasis guttata) or, as an extensive redness that affects a large part of the skin surface (pustular or erythrodermic). On the other hand, the common occurrence of psoriatic arthritis and psoriasis is common, with the appearance of pain, redness and swelling of the extremities of the fingers and toes.

4. Injuries. In severe cases of psoriasis the lesions can cover a large part of the skin surface and between 13% and 50% of the people with psoriasis, it has affected the nails. Its frequency increases when the disease starts before the age of 30, is accompanied by arthritis (where it reaches 70%) or reaches an important severity.


The new treatments against psoriasis

The most novel are the biological treatments based on proteins directed specifically against the mechanisms that produce the disease. The administration of this drug manages to whiten the skin, control the manifestations and the progression of joint damage produced by psoriatic arthritis.

The dermatologist is the one who individualizes the treatment according to each patient: severity of the disease, medical history, moods, etc., applying later topical treatments, phototherapy, systemic treatments or new therapies. In addition, psychological support is important to both the patient and the family.

The main objective of the treatments is to improve the disease so that it does not interfere in the daily life of the patient, because although psoriasis is not cured, at present there are medicines that allow to control the disease and, therefore, improve the patient's life quality .

Psoriasis and atopic dermatitis

Many people wonder if atopic demartitis has a direct relationship with psoriasis. In principle, there may be a greater risk of suffering psoriasis in those who had atopic dermatitis, but does not mean that the fact of having one inevitably leads to suffer the other.

Atopic dermatitis in 90% of cases is suffered by children and psoriasis appears as of adolescence. The confusion between one and the other is given by their similar external manifestations. What is certain is that they have a similar immunology and similar treatments.

Psoriasis affects the quality of life

In addition to external signs, psoriasis has an important impact on the quality of life of patients, as it affects very seriously the development of daily activities and has a marked component of psychological affectation: depressive symptoms, isolation, aesthetic, social rejection and labor, shame, etc.

In fact, its impact on the quality of life of the patient can be compared, or even overcome, to other chronic diseases such as hypertension, cancer or coronary heart disease.The best knowledge, by society, of what psoriasis means and what it means for the patient is, without a doubt, the first step towards full integration of the patient.

Vicen Ramón

It can stimulate you:

- Psoriasis, a barrier to sports

- The hidden dangers of gel nails

- How to take care of children's nails

- How to take care of the nails

Video: Jon Lovitz on Living with Psoriasis Medical Course


Interesting Articles

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Suction instinct, how to stimulate it in babies

Get a good lactation in the first days after the birth of the baby is the basis of good nutrition. In addition, breastfeeding also creates a very special bond between mothers and children. These two...

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

Tips before buying a baby changing mat

The large number of different products that exist for babies they force us to be very alert not to make mistakes and regret later. If you are thinking about getting a Changer for your little one, the...

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

Calendar of seasonal fruits and vegetables

When you talk about how important it is eat fruit and vegetables, all nutritionists advise especially take those that are seasonal. However, today in supermarkets you can find practically everything...

Mit Psoriasis leben

Die Psoriasis ist eine nicht ansteckende Hautkrankheit, von der in Spanien etwa eine Million Menschen betroffen sind, d. h. 2% der Bevölkerung, wobei zwischen 15% und 20% mäßig oder schwer leiden . Jedes Jahr leiden 60 von 100.000 Menschen unter Psoriasis, wobei der Anteil bei Frauen etwas höher ist als bei Männern.

Es wird geschätzt, dass 100 Millionen Menschen auf der ganzen Welt mit dem Problem der Psoriasis zusammenleben und ihren Alltag ernsthaft beeinträchtigen. Es wird geschätzt, dass zwischen 10 und 30% von ihnen eine Psoriasis-Arthritis entwickeln. Es gibt eine große Ignoranz in der Gesellschaft, die zu Angst- und Angstsituationen des Patienten führt, wenn er diagnostiziert wird.


Was ist Psoriasis?

Psoriasis bei einer chronischen Erkrankung der Haut, wiederkehrend und nicht ansteckend. Die Haut entzündet sich und erzeugt rote, verdickte Plaques mit silbriger Schuppung, die sich normalerweise auf der Kopfhaut, den Ellbogen, Knien und im unteren Rücken befinden. Es betrifft häufig die Nägel und in 30% die Gelenke. Psoriasis tritt in Form von Ausbrüchen auf.

Wann und wie manifestiert sich Psoriasis?

1. Alter Psoriasis tritt normalerweise zwischen 15 und 35 Jahren auf, obwohl sie in jedem Alter auftreten kann. Das Durchschnittsalter beträgt 29 Jahre, wobei eine gewisse Tendenz besteht, bei Frauen früher zu beginnen als bei Männern (28 Jahre bei Frauen, 32 bei Männern). Im Allgemeinen haben im Alter von 30 Jahren mehr als 60% der Patienten ihre Krankheit begonnen.


2. Symptome. Es manifestiert sich mit offensichtlichen körperlichen Anzeichen wie Juckreiz, Rötung und Schuppenläsionen, geschwollen und entzündet, wobei das Ausmaß der betroffenen Haut von Person zu Person variiert.

Die häufigsten körperlichen Symptome der Psoriasis sind: Schuppen (94%), Juckreiz (79%), oberflächliche Hautentzündung (Erythem, 71%), infiltrierte Haut (31%), Blutungen (29%), Brennen (21 %) und Müdigkeit (19%).

3. Präsentation. Plaque-Psoriasis ist die häufigste Form (80% der Fälle), sie kann jedoch auch in Form von Tropfen (Psoriasis guttata) oder als ausgedehnte Rötung auftreten, die einen großen Teil der Hautoberfläche (pustulös oder erythrodermisch) beeinflusst. Auf der anderen Seite ist das häufige Auftreten von Psoriasis-Arthritis und Psoriasis mit dem Auftreten von Schmerzen, Rötung und Schwellung der Extremitäten der Finger und Zehen häufig.

4. Verletzungen. In schweren Fällen der Psoriasis können die Läsionen einen großen Teil der Hautoberfläche und zwischen 13% und 50% der Hautoberfläche bedecken Menschen mit Psoriasishat die Nägel betroffen. Ihre Häufigkeit nimmt zu, wenn die Krankheit vor dem 30. Lebensjahr beginnt, von Arthritis begleitet wird (wenn sie 70% erreicht) oder einen wichtigen Schweregrad erreicht.


Die neuen Behandlungen gegen Psoriasis

Die Romane sind die biologische Behandlungen auf der Basis von Proteinen gezielt gegen die Mechanismen gerichtet, die die Krankheit erzeugen. Die Verabreichung dieses Medikaments gelingt es, die Haut aufzuhellen, die Manifestationen und das Fortschreiten der durch Psoriasis-Arthritis hervorgerufenen Gelenkschäden zu kontrollieren.

Der Dermatologe ist derjenige, der die Behandlung für jeden Patienten individualisiert: Schweregrad der Erkrankung, Anamnese, Stimmungen usw., spätere topische Behandlungen, Phototherapie, systemische Behandlungen oder neue Therapien. Darüber hinaus ist die psychologische Unterstützung sowohl für den Patienten als auch für die Familie wichtig.

Das Hauptziel der Behandlungen ist es, die Krankheit so zu verbessern, dass sie den Alltag des Patienten nicht stört, denn obwohl Psoriasis nicht geheilt wird, gibt es derzeit Medikamente, die eine Kontrolle der Krankheit ermöglichen und somit die Lebensqualität des Patienten verbessern .

Psoriasis und atopische Dermatitis

Viele Menschen fragen sich, ob die atopische Demartitis in direktem Zusammenhang mit der Psoriasis steht. Grundsätzlich kann bei Patienten mit atopischer Dermatitis ein höheres Risiko bestehen, an Psoriasis zu erkranken. Dies bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass die Tatsache, dass man eine hat, zwangsläufig die andere verursacht.

Eine atopische Dermatitis wird in 90% der Fälle von Kindern befunden und Psoriasis tritt ab der Pubertät auf. Die Verwirrung zwischen dem einen und dem anderen wird durch ihre ähnlichen äußeren Manifestationen gegeben. Sicher ist, dass sie eine ähnliche Immunologie und ähnliche Behandlungen haben.

Psoriasis beeinflusst die Lebensqualität

Neben äußeren Anzeichen hat Psoriasis einen wichtigen Einfluss auf die Lebensqualität der Patienten, da sie die Entwicklung der täglichen Aktivitäten sehr stark beeinflusst und eine ausgeprägte Komponente der psychischen Beeinflussung aufweist: depressive Symptome, Isolation, Ästhetik, soziale Abstoßung und Arbeit, Schande usw.

Tatsächlich kann der Einfluss auf die Lebensqualität des Patienten mit anderen chronischen Krankheiten wie Bluthochdruck, Krebs oder koronarer Herzerkrankung verglichen oder sogar überwunden werden.Das beste Wissen der Gesellschaft, was Psoriasis bedeutet und was es für den Patienten bedeutet, ist ohne Zweifel der erste Schritt zur vollständigen Integration des Patienten.

Vicen Ramón

Es kann dich anregen:

- Psoriasis, eine Sportbarriere

- Die verborgenen Gefahren von Gelnägeln

- Wie man sich um die Nägel von Kindern kümmert

- Wie man sich um die Nägel kümmert

Video: Leben mit Psoriasis (Schuppenflechte)


Interessante Artikel